reviews for: listing #7372 - Maggie Valley, North Carolina House rental

Ponderosa: great views,hot tub,wifi,air hockey, foosball
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $125 /nt
    $790 - $790 /wk

sort by:

Great Getaway Cabin-Awesome Views

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

My wife and I and our Labrador Retriever had an outstanding time at Ponderosa. We found the cabin furnished with everything needed for a very comfortable stay. We 'hunkered in' for the full week, enjoying outstanding mid-September weather with cool, crisp evenings and very comfortable daytime temps in the 70's. Views are outstanding and this cabin is very private. Hot tub is excellent and the back porch is a great spot to read a book or just relax outdoors, taking in the views and sounds. Samantha (the Lab) and I hiked every day on a network of jeep trails that traverse the hills. We checked out the Smokey Mountain National Park and Masonic monument (about 4-5 mile trek). On the cooler nights we made a fire in the wood stove located in the living room. We never turned on the TV but as other reviewers have mentioned there's a huge library of DVD's and the technology is current. Owners were highly communicative and gracious. Security deposit was returned within a couple of days. We definitely plan to visit Ponderosa again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice!

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

The cabin was as advertised, plenty of room and a great view from the rear deck where hot tub is. I would recommend having good front tires to make it up the long steep gravel road but the ride is worth the little bit of trouble. The owners were very easy to deal with and I would recommend this place if you don't mind the road to get there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jean & Greg

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

What a beautiful & magical view! We enjoyed wonderfully cool weather & awe-inspiring views all day long! Location is excellent & cabin is very clean & nicely furnished. The road up was not a problem & we did not have front wheel drive (we did when we made reservations but then changed cars).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As advertised

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

The cabin was as advertised. Road up is steep and a little rough, but using low gear and taking it slow made it doable without any parts falling off. It could be a challenge in a hard rain or icy conditions. Very quiet and the owners were quite helpful in answering questions and providing local information. The internet connection is slow, so it matches the lifestyle. Need to take your time sorting out the remotes for the TV/DVD/Soundbar, but not too difficult. Owner handled a minor plumbing problem very well. Snappy's for Italian dinner and Joey's for breakfast are recommended by us. About 20 minutes to Harrah's in Cherokee.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

50 something enjoying a relaxing vaca in the Smokies

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Myself and 3 girlfriends spent a week in this beautiful retreat. I cannot say enough how smoothly everything went once we got settled it. One of the best vacation spots ever. You will not be disappointed with a visit to the Ponderosa!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Incredible view, Hot Tub and floor plan

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We booked the Ponderosa for a week, but were only intending on staying the night before and the night after our backpacking trip, the view and accomodations were perfect! The house was just as advertised and shown in the pictures. Very clean and the hot tub and rocking chairs on the front porch were very nice to enjoy the view. We will be back to enjoy a full week in the future if possible. I highly recommend the ponderosa and you really do get used to the drive up, at least this time of year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ponderosa Cabin

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

What a great place to go. Nice cabin and a beautiful view. So peaceful and the colors were outstanding. The first day we arrived, I didn't think we would make it up the moutain. Road very bumpy and all gravel. We started up the mountain and started spinning and got stuck. My husband put car in reverse, backed down to main paved road and floored it. Yea we made it. Very rough. The cabin had all you needed and very clean. Sitting on the back porch and watching the sunrise was beautiful. We saw NO wildlife, not even edgar. Went sightseeing around town and found a fruit stand called Old Gray Mare. Nice people and great prices. We bought a king Quilt at a great price, some jelly and honey. Yum Yum. Ate dinner at the Mountianeer Rest. at bottom of mountain. Good home cooked meal and a million dollar view. Overall a great place to stay except the road.(someone needs to re gravel and compact it). I WOULD go back again. Thank You for the use of your cabin

Mike & Vera LaForce
Stuart, Fl.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Trip!!

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

After driving several hours to get to the cabin, my wife and I got to the road up to the cabin. Yes, it was somewhat steep and bumpy but we made it in a chevy impala rental with no problems. It does take getting used to and a 4x4 would be a great help if you have lots of things, but not necessary after unloading the car. The road up is a bit confusing at the midway point but the trip up was well worth the view when you arrive at the cabin. The cabin was in great shape and the house was well prepared for visitors exactly as described. The views from the back deck were great in the monring, especially the sunrise!!! It turned the whole inside of the house pink to orange for about 15 min. The house was exactly as shown in the pictures and was very very well maintained. We had a great time just relaxing by the fire and watching DVD's in the evenings. Maggie Valley is a great little tourist town and Ashevellie wasn't far away, lots of local breweries and eateries. Tried to go up the lift at Ghost Town but didn't work up the nerve, will try again next time. The week flew by and hopping in the hot tub on the deck in the evenings was great for soaking the cares away. We can't wait to go back next fall and are already sending in our deposit!!! Thanks for a great vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Even better....

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

We just had a wonderful week at the Ponderosa and it was even better than we could have hoped for. The pictures just don't do the view justice - you have to see it for yourself. Even with all of the great things to do in the area, we chose to stay at the cabin for one day just to enjoy the peace and quiet and relax in the cabin and on the porch. The cabin was bigger than expected and had everything we needed an more. Paula did a wonderful job with every detail. The road up was not a problem - just follow the directions, arrive during the day for the first trip up, and take it slow; by the end of the week you will be a pro. Thanks for a great week!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation at The Ponderosa

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

What a wonderful week we had at The Ponderosa. The steep road to get to Ponderosa was quite frightening and took several trips to get used to it. By the middle of the week we Floridians were finally comfortable with mountain driving. We loved the 3 hummingbirds who made us laugh so many times throughout our stay. The view was spectacular and the front porch was where we started all our mornings with coffee and ended our evenings with cocktails watching the mountain views. Enjoying the cooler weather and amazing view from the hot tub was the best. Spent many hours at The Ponderosa walking down mountain paths, eating wild blackberries, and walking along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Paula had the house well stocked with many items which made it feel like a home away from home and it was very well maintained. We hope to be back next year & can say this was one of the best vacations ever at a spectacular rental home. We would highly recommend The Ponderosa for your next vacation and can say that everything presented about the Ponderosa was spot on. Cheers to a wonderful week in Maggie Valley North Carolina.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything we expected and more

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

A little piece of heaven....the view from the front porch is amazing and it was hard to get out of those rockers to do anything else. A delightful log cabin on top of a mountain, far enough off the beaten path to be peaceful, but close enough to neighboring towns for shopping, entertainment and restaurants....if you ever want to leave the mountain!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PEACEFUL!!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

Yes the road to the cabin is extremely rough but it is the mountains and you can't expect a smooth ride almost a mile up. Once at the cabin you are totally in awe of it's peacefulness and beauty. The view is just awesome. We spent the first day at the cabin. Second day we went to Waynesville which is quite charming and lovely to shop and just walk around. We went horseback riding at Queens farm riding stables off of RT.19. Most of the time was spent at the cabin walking the many roads and trails. The map Paula provides for the hike to the park is easy to follow. Never saw any bear but did see quite a few fresh track on the dirt roads. Had an Elk visit the cabin on the second day.It wasn't Edger so my daughter named him Bart.Enjoy this wonderful part of God's country in the mountains. Paula made our stay very comfortable and relaxing.

Thanks,

The Knotts famly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

Such a late review...but I'm putting it up now! The road up was rough, yes, but do not let that discourage you!! It is worth this Heaven on Earth. My now fiance proposed to me at the fire pit on Thursday September 1st 2011. I cannot imagine a more beautiful, relaxing, wonderful place to get proposed to. It was so romantic! We plan on coming there for our honeymoon(hopefully late April-May 2012) for a while longer than we were able to stay this time. I cannot get enough of this place. Looking at our pictures makes my heart ache. I miss the hummingbirds and the chipmunks...I was not able to see the elk though. On our last morning there I saw 2 dogs on the driveway(maybe those were the 2 dogs that were lost since we left on the 4th of September?). I must say thank you to the hostess for a very well stocked kitchen. We forgot creamer for our coffee the first morning, but tackled the road and went into town. I also suggest going to the bookstore in town and purchasing the Moonshiner's Daughter...it is a tough book but very good...and you can meet the writer! Other than going into town for a few things, we never left this "cabin"(as my fiance called it, but I corrected him. This place is HUGE!!) As much as I went up to the Smokies as a kid, I cannot remember a better place I stayed in, or a better time that was had. Our hearts are up there and we hope to move away from the city and live in the mountains for the rest of our lives. Thank you for sharing this amazing place with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

This was the best vacation I have ever had. Though the road up the mountain was stressful, it was well worth the trip. The view was spectacular. The cabin was like stepping into a different world. It was so comfortable and inviting, we felt right at home. It had everything that you would need and more. The hot tub was very relaxing and the air hockey table was great fun. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from it all. The road up to the mountain was very steep and bumpy, but our Mitsubishi Galant made it up every time. Would recommend Mason's sapphire and ruby mine in Franklin, it was great fun. Of course, check out the Biltmore House and Jarrett House and taste some of the local fare, such as Joey's Pancake House and Maggie Valley Restaurant. There are multiple areas to check out on the Blue Ridge Parkway and wonderful waterfalls in Pisgah Forest National Park. But in the end, what I would recommend the most, watching the sunrise and sunset from the back porch of the cabin; simply breathtaking. Paula was very accomodating and very easy to work with. A word of advice, if you take a pet, please keep a close eye on them. There are a lot of different smells and sights and they could get away from you quickly. We came across a couple who were staying on the mountain and they had lost their two dogs, it was heartbreaking. All in all, I would highly recommend staying at this cabin. It was absolutly wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to rest and recharge.

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

Just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had at your
home. It was just what the doctor ordered - peacefulness and
tranquility. We didn't do anything for the first three days but sit
on the porch and take in the view. Our friends asked us if we were
out looking at the scenery and we replied that it didn't get any
better than our porch. Finally about Saturday we went gem mining,
horseback riding and sightseeing. But the mountain kept drawing us
back so we usually weren't gone but a few hours. Everything about
your home was perfect for a vacation getaway. We even loved the
drive up - I guess some people just don't have an adventuresome spirit!

Thanks again for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous !!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

We arrived during the day, as we had been instructed, and wow... that is some road !
Our suburban had no problem with it, we even had a VW golf make it up there.. interesting, but not impassable if you take it slowly.

The cabin was stunning... the view even more so!
It had everything you could ask for in a cabin, the fireplace (which we used on the chilly evenings), the hot tub (which we used no matter the weather) the porch with the magnificent view, which was perfect for the first cup of coffee in the morning or evening cocktails, we even had Edgar the Elk show up for a visit!
The cabin was immaculate, just as described by the website & the other reviewers, in fact it exceeded our expectations.
We loved Maggie Valley, the people were very friendly & we ended up with lots of great places to hang out. We found a home away from home at Hurley's. The food was excellent & the people even nicer !
We went white water rafting, went to the casino in Cherokee, hiked and shopped at all the local and eclectic places.. the weather was beautiful, around 70-80 all week, but cooler in the evenings allowing us to sleep with the mountain breeze.

Great area, great people, awesome cabin. We will be back for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

It was a dream come true to be in such a beautiful and peaceful place. The cabin has anything you might need to have an awe inspiring vacation. Lot's of wildlife, right in your backyard. Not to mention a fantastic view. Perfect setting for a couple or family get together. Lot's of nearby activities, anytime of the year. The road to get there is an adventure all in itself. Check it out, you won't be dissappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall 2010

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

This house and the view exceeded our expectations in every respect. The house is well maintained and more than comfortable for 4 adults. The view - simply spectacular. The road up and down, nerve-racking the first time, was just a typical mountain dirt road by the end of the week. The owners were excellent to work with and very responsive.
I wish we could say that we were all totally relaxed by the end of the week, but the Maggie Valley/Asheville area is so full of things to do that we were on the go from morning to sunset and beyond. Barely able to keep our eyes open in the evenings.
That road up is truly challenging the first time. We were glad to have taken the owner's advice and arrive during daylight. The signage is a little difficult to make out from the road and we kept stopping at the wrong house the first 3 times up. Just be patient. It's worth the drive and the bumps.
An all around excellent vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

John & Eric Vacation 2010

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

The pictures do not do the cabin justice. We have been coming to the smokies for nine years now and this is the best cabin we have rented.Paula has thought of every detail to provde a worry free, relaxing, and peaceful vacation. Thank You !!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: June 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Ponderosa last week, 5/30/09 - 6/6/09. The house and view were worth every bump and bounce up the mountain. We have a Hyundai Sonata so it was pretty slow going and rough but we made it. The house is beautiful and all the furniture is comfortable for lounging. Every morning we enjoyed our coffee on the deck as the sun lit up the valley. This is a great place to just kick back and unwind.

The owner was easy to work with. We scheduled our stay about three months in advance so we didn't have to rush anything. As a result, everything went off without a hitch. We are already talking about when we want to come back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

What a gorgeous cabin

Review submitted: May 14, 2009   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

This is our second trip to the Ponderosa.

What a gorgeous cabin! The interior decorating of the cabin is wonderful. This cabin has many embellishments that you do not find in other rentals. Very cozy. Very romantic.

The view from cabin is breathtaking. We spent the night in the hot tub taking in the beautiful wooded trees around us and gazing at the mountain range and stars. You can see Lake Junaluska lights at night. Of course we did stare into each others eye too. :) The hummingbirds were very busy at your feeders and great entertainment. Took a walk up to the smokies with map Paula provided;

There are also numerous recent DVD movies to watch on that new TV . And Paula and Jim do an excellent job and the best owners I have dealt with. Thanks again for sharing your piece of heaven.

Most important thing, I have to say is that I am the foosball Champ.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

This is our second trip to the Ponderosa.

What a gorgeous cabin! The interior decorating of the cabin is wonderful. This cabin has many embellishments that you do not find in other rentals. Very cozy. Very romantic.

The view from cabin is breathtaking. We spent the night in the hot tub taking in the beautiful wooded trees around us and gazing at the mountain range and stars. You can see Lake Junaluska lights at night and the hummingbirds were very busy at the feeders. Took a walk up to the smokies with map Paula provided;

There are also numerous recent DVD movies to watch on that new TV . Paula and Jim are the best owners I have dealt with yet. Thanks again for sharing your piece of heaven.

And most importantly: I am the foosball Champ.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful secluded getaway!

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Ponderosa for a week and found it a serene retreat from all the activities we tackled during the day. The cabin is so very secluded, very quiet and peaceful, and was well-appointed with everything we needed for "at home" comfort. We could have easily invited 3 or 4 other visitors, but I'm glad we had the hot tub to ourselves. The leaves in October were like tiny prisms that greeted the sunrise each morning, and we were truly able to relax while having coffee on the porch and watching the birds at the feeder. We had only one day of rainy weather, and with the Internet access, DVDs, game tables in the garage, and puzzles handy, we made the most of the uncooperative weather. Our only complaint was the somewhat steep gravel road used for access, but we would simply leave out in the morning and return before sundown, since there's no streetlights and the road is a little narrow. We sat on the front deck area watching shooting stars one evening, and my husband is glad he brought his telescope. I would certainly recommend this property to others who really do want to "get away from it all", but would suggest a 4-wheel drive vehicle, if you have one. My Volvo S80 managed OK, but we kept it in low gear coming up and going down to the main highway. The owners did a wonderful job of staying in touch to make sure we had everything we needed - made it really difficult to leave and come back to face the "real world".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

We just returned from a 3 night stay in the Ponderosa. This house is very nice. The drive up the mountain to the house is a little rough but well worth it once you arrive. The house is very modern and comfortable. The view is breathtaking. The house is located to many attractions. We enjoyed a drive down the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway and dinner at Mt Pisgah Inn.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Two thumbs way up for the Ponderosa!! Kathy and I have stayed in bed and breakfasts and vacation condos literally from coast to coast and the Ponderosa ranks as probably one of the best places we've ever stayed based on comfort, amenities, inside beauty and surrounding scenery. Kathy has an extensive background in working in one of the top hotels in the nation and she just loved the Ponderosa. Good job and as Arnold once said "We'll be back!!!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 18, 2004   Date of arrival: May 18, 2004

Just wanted to let you know, I have mailed you the key back to the Ponderosa. By the way, you got an absolute "glowing" report from everyone on the cabin, views, hot tub and your attention to little details, like your in-depth instructions, abundance of needed items (utensils, lighters, salt/pepper, flashlights, etc.) and the quality of the cabin itself; my husband was totally intrigued by the buck stove - he could not believe how well that worked. My sister and I just loved getting in the hot tub on cool nights. All of our college-aged kids really enjoyed the cabin, the tour of the Biltmore and most of all, I think, Chimney Rock Park.

We were in awe of the beauty surrounding us in the NC mountains, and now we are all talking about taking a rafting or a train trip for our next adventure there. If we do, I will definitely see if the Ponderosa is available.

Thanks for going "above and beyond" as it is so rare anymore.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2004   Date of arrival: May 11, 2004

Thanks again for everything. I have to take 5 minutes to sit down tonight and e-mail you pics from the trip. We had a blast and have been bragging this week about your place and showing pics. The whole VRBO experience has been a good one. I thanked my friend for recommending it. She has rented 4 places in the past 4 years with great results.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review