reviews for: listing #73748 - West Jefferson, North Carolina House rental

The Views at Laurel Mountain
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Laurel Mountain
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,600 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Blue Ridge Beauty!

Review submitted: August 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

We enjoyed a relaxing week in this beautiful cabin home. The cabin is cabin is clean and has such a warm feel to it. The kitchen is well equipped as is the game room downstairs. The master has a large bath with a walk in shower and Jacuzzi tub. The cabin has all the comforts of home and then some. I promise you're favorite room will be the screened in porch (where we ate all our meals). It boasts long range mountains views and the relaxing sounds of nature will challenge any hard working brain to slow down and enjoy the moment. There are two decks - one off the 2nd master with 180 views - a beautiful spot to enjoy your morning cup of coffee or a good read. The expansive deck off the main floor runs the full length of the house. The porch swing off the master bedroom was my favorite spot to sit and watch the hummingbirds. We enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire pit and s'mores for dessert nightly under the stars. The perfect way to end the day! Make sure you stop in Todd and go to the Mercantile and then into Boone for dinner one night. We also went to Grandfather Mountain (another must see and you can also see it long range from the deck). The owners are very responsive and truly nice people. Thank you for sharing your gem in the mountains!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! Reading it, made me want to pack up the car and head up there! And I already knew how nice it was. :) You were wonderful guests and I so hope that you can come back again sometime! Thanks again, we really appreciate the time you took to write this, and are so happy that you enjoyed the cabin and views as much as we do.

Sydney & Steve Peterson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

We needed a weekend getaway with quiet solitude and WOW!... this was GREAT! The view from the deck to the south across the mountains is amazing! We spent each evening on the spacious deck, by the fire pit, sipping wine, and watching the sunset. We also had deer come through the woods and stand just below the deck. The cabin is also very close to RiverGirl Fishing Co. where you can book a great fly fishing adventure or rent bikes for a ride along the 22 mile riverside rails-to-trails path... we did both! Truly a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

~~A Perfect Getaway~~

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

We loved the space; cleanlinest and quality of this cabin! The views of the mountains are awesome! The service road is very easy to maneuver and is well maintained. We rented the cabin due to a family reunion being held in West Jefferson. It was a convenient location; we felt very safe; we were comfortable and so well pleased with the entire setting and the amenities provided with this cabin. When you visit, please take care of this property and respect the hard work Steve & Sydney has provided to those of us who come to visit . They are super nice people! Thank You for sharing your "Home Sweet Home" with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review our place! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It is too bad there isn't a place to review our guests, because you were certainly fantastic guests. You left the place sparkling clean, and we really appreciate it, especially given the time restraints we had with the guests checking in on your exit day. We so hope that you can stay with us again!

Sydney and Steve Peterson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

West Jefferson/Todd cabin

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful mountain retreat. It was well located for the activities we enjoyed-golf at Mountainaire, canoeing on the New River and hiking at Doughton Park. The cabin was cldean, well-equipped and we particularly enjoyed the screened porch to take in the mountain views. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind review! You were great guests and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves. Please tell your friends about us and we really hope that you can make it back again soon!

Thanks again!

Sydney & Steve Peterson

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow!! Amazing, Picturesque, Surreal Views! Perfect family vacation!

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Our families had vacationed at this cabin during the 2012 Christmas week. The place was clean and beautiful; the wooden floors and fireplace gave it a nice homely feeling. The den on the top floor offered a wide area for our family to enjoy games and each other’s company. From the den we could see the surreal view that was the back yard: trees, mountains snow tops, it was all very picturesque. The living room was also quite cozy, the morning cup of hot chocolate next to the view of falling snow really brought out the Christmas feeling.

Our children’s favorite place in the cabin was the basement. In was a Ping-Pong /billiards table as well as an air hockey table. It was there that we would have our “Family Olympiad” and a new found talent for Ping-Pong was realized.

Coming from Florida, we were overwhelmed with the Snowfall and the snow covered mountains. Kids enjoyed the outdoors in the snow throwing snow balls, making snow man and snow angels. Although it was sometimes tough to leave the cabin during the snow fall, the nearby cities were also very lovely places. The cabin was only 12 miles from Boone so that allowed us to go down to the city for a nearby attraction such as snow tubing, skiing, snowboarding and the Grandfather Mountains.
Overall it was a very lovely cabin that our families had enjoyed staying in very much.

The owners were always available on the phone to answer any questions we had while we were there and it was very helpful.

We would highly recommend - If you are looking for a perfect family vacation, this is it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for this awesome review! I never even saw that it was posted until I got a notification for a new one that was just posted. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I hope that you can come back again, although, after reading your review, I felt kind of jealous that I missed that trip! :) We always seem to miss the snow when we get to go up and I really love it too! Thanks again, you were fantastic guests.

Sydney & Steve

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Retreat and Outstanding Views!!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

My husband and I rented this retreat and it is everything it states and more. The home was very clean, had all the amentities anyone would need and the views were the best. We would definitely rent this again. A long weekend was not long enough!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING views!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

My family enjoyed our long weekend in the mountains at the Peterson's cabin. The house was very comfortable and stocked with all of the amenities you could need. We spent lots of time on the back deck enjoying the spectacular views and in the basement playing ping pong and air hockey. We have stayed at many homes in the mountains, and the views from this cabin equalled or surpassed the views from every other NC mountain cabin we have visited. The cabin was an easy drive from Charlotte, NC and a 30-min trip to Tweetsie Railroad. The cabin provided us exactly what we were hoping for in our weekend away!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Petersons home in Todd,NC. The views are beautiful and your can see for miles. The cabin is very well maintained and clean. We appreciated the easy contacts for information and contract.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING,WONDERFUL,A TRUE MOUNTAIN RETREAT

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Thank you for this beautiful place! We had such a great stay and really enjoyed the amazing views. The screened area and the deck became our gathering area. We roasted marshmellows and watched the sun go behind the mountains. This week was living "the good life at it's best." This is such a wonderful home,so cozy,yet so roomy. It offers everything to make a vacation stay wonderful. We are already making plans for our next stay. If anyone is looking for a perfect get-a-way,this is it!
."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for posting this review! We really appreciate it. You were terrific guests and we are really looking forward to your returning again. We are so fortunate to have guests like you. Thanks again. The Petersons

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mountain Views - Boone and West Jefferson

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

A lovely cabin with all the conveniences of home. However, the best part is the great Blue Ridge vistas that you will enjoy every night while you sit in your rocking chair and listen to the night sounds of the mountains. There are plenty of nearby activities and places to see but you can also just sit back and read. The amenities were as described and owners were always responsive.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. You were a wonderful guest and we do hope that you will come back again! The Petersons

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Find!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

The minute we walked through the door, it was a cacophony of "WOW!!!"'s...It strikes you immediately how clean the house is. Then every corner you turn, is oooh my gosh! Look at this, look at this! The views were killer. There was another OMG moment when I spotted a clear and obvious view of Grandfather Mountain. That was somehow unexpected.

A real plus was how comfortable and generous the seating was. We arrived in the late afternoon, uncorked some adult beverages, settled on the porch, and mused how sad it was that everyone else in Charlotte was burning up in the 97 degree temperature, and here we were ever so comfy, here in the trees. Oh well.

We had breakfast on the screened in porch, perched high at a table for four, full access to the view.

Everything was delightful, comfortable, the kitchen well stocked with cooking and serving pieces. The bedding was great, the bathrooms all so clean and everything working.

A great experience! and just FYI, the owners were wonderful to deal with, patient with our questions, and our last minute timing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW. That was really an amazing review. We really appreciate it! I know you are an artist, from your e-mail signature but you obviously should be a writer as well. That was really beautiful! We really hope you can come back again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to submit the review

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 16, 2006   Date of arrival: October 16, 2006

Sandie & Chuck Hires here. We spent a long weekend at this gorgeous mountain-top home Oct.4, 2006. We met up with old friends Max & Bev Cruse we hadn’t seen in years. They came from Illinois, and we came from Florida. Our reunion turned out absolutely perfect. This “cabin” is actually a mansion in our opinion, and it far exceeded our expectations. Extremely nice, with huge glass windows exploding the view. The great room is spectacular. Nice bedrooms & bathrooms, it gave us the perfect respite. It’s warm and inviting, and it feels like home. There are neighbors close by, but it seemed very private… unlike some rentals, this one has trees and woods, and you feel secluded. We were awe-stuck by the mountain views. Perfect, in every direction. Talk about America the Beautiful, you feel you are on top of the world. You will suddenly understand why it is called the Blue Ridge Mountains. “Blue ridge” vistas in every direction. The house has a screened porch, too. We set up a zig saw puzzle on the porch, and worked on it constantly until it was done. Trivial pursuits, but quality time together and a lot of laughs. Moments spent together reminiscing old times. We are professional people, and the weekend was very relaxing, the perfect down-time. The landscape stops you in your tracks. It makes you feel very humble. It made us realize what a beautiful homeland we have in America. How lucky we are, being able to travel to this place and time. We are blessed as Americans.The house is also close to Jefferson and restaurants, and grocery stores! Super Wal-mart is just 20 minutes up the road. Also many things to see & do. It is really perfect.On Saturday afternoon I sat in the porch swing for an hour or so, staring off into the beautiful mountain landscape, reflecting on my life and my family. My Dad died in 1998. I got real melancholy. I think he was sitting with me in the swing. Dad always had a desire to go to N. Carolina but we never got together and did that. We procrastinated, and let time slip away. I felt he was there with me. Real or not, I understood. Sometimes, you need to seize the moment, and plan your life accordingly.Our heart-felt thanks to the owners, Mr. & Mrs. Peterson. We will be back! We are already planning a family get-together next summer.Chuck & Sandie Hires,DeLand Florida

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2006   Date of arrival: February 23, 2006

Our family stayed in the cabin 2/10/06 thru 2/12/06 while it was snowing! We had a wonderful time. The cabin was beautiful and the accomodations were excellent. We plan on returning next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2005   Date of arrival: July 27, 2005

I can't say enough about this wonderful retreat. The accommodations more than met our expectations and views from every direction were wonderful. We had a family reunion here and everyone had a great time. A trip to Boone, which was a lot of fun added a bonus to our vacation. I would recommend this home to all of our friends and plan on returning. Karen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2005   Date of arrival: July 25, 2005

We grew up in the foothills and for a lifetime have traveled the Blue Ridge Parkway admiring the wonders. God has created a majestic and beautiful handiwork in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. This past weekend we discovered, without a doubt, the best place we have ever viewed the mountains from. The location of the home, each furnishing, the screened porch, expansive decks to see long range vistas from and every other detail provided us the best experience possible. The moon even cooperated with a full exposure. If you're looking for clean, comfortable, and quiet, in peaceful surroundings make your reservations now! We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 24, 2005   Date of arrival: July 24, 2005

This is a beautiful home with incredible views of the Blueridge Mountains. The interior is tastefully decorated, and the home is well equipped with great attention to all possible needs of the guests. We enjoyed watching the full moon from the upper deck, and listening to a passing thunderstorm from the screened room on the upper floor. This home is a 10, the owners are terrific, and we plan to return next summer!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2004   Date of arrival: November 18, 2004

We found this place through a friend and it turned out PERFECT!
I was completely impressed with every aspect of our stay. The price, the location , the property was brilliant. Thank you sooo much . We had the best honeymoom ever!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2004   Date of arrival: November 9, 2004

We truly enjoyed our stay. There was plenty of room for two couples and our 4 kids. I wish I could say that the cabin felt like home - but it was better. We were far more comfortable than we are at home. It was beautiful, and very restful. Thanks again, and keep up the good work. I can't wait to tell others about it.

Jenni Burkhart

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2004   Date of arrival: November 9, 2004

Thank you so much for a relaxing week. I can not begin to tell you how much we enjoyed your cabin and the surrounding area. The views were spectacular, and the amenities were supurb! You truly thought of everything! You were a pleasure to work with. The only negative thing was that we had to leave. We had such a wonderful time, and can't wait to book another vacation! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 30, 2004   Date of arrival: September 30, 2004

Welcome to our cabin. We just recently finished construction on it. We built it ourselves for our family to enjoy and are sharing it with you. We know you'll see all the quality and care that went into it. It's a wonderful place to unwind! We hope that you'll enjoy it as much as we do!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review