reviews for: listing #73809 - Ruidoso, New Mexico House rental

Casa Buena Vista - Ruidoso/Alto Lakes
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Alto Lakes Golf and Country Club
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $330 /nt
    $1,800 - $2,000 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Family Get-Away

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

My family enjoyed this house! It had everything & then some! The pictures do not do this house justice. It was so much better than it even appears! The owners were amazing to work with. The views from the decks were spectacular. We hope to get to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Every day brings a memorable sunrise and sunset, and the cool mountain air relaxes the soul. Thanks for staying with us. Come back soon! Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Undeniably The Best!

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

To say we enjoyed our vacation at this home is such an understatement. The home is beautiful, the view is magnificent, the amenities are perfect for large families. We hope to stay here again. The owners are very accommodating and a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks to our Oklahoma guests and their extended family. Please come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring break getaway

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

Amazing home. We had 9 adults and 2 young children in our group. Great location, too many amenities to list. Hot tub was perfect after each day of skiing. The children thoroughly enjoyed the deer each day. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us. Its hard to beat our cabin for a family getaway. Come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Mountain Getaway

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

The house was great. Spacious, clean, great views, all around amazing! Owners are awesome and easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great group getaway

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We had nine people stay,couples, friends and two children. It was a great relaxing stay! There was something for everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home !

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

This property is very welcoming and spacious. The owner was very accommodating to our needs and made us feel very welcome.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for discovering our family hideaway in the mountains. Great memories are made here. Come again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Getaway Ever

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

All I can say is WOW! Came to this property with four friends and we had a wonderful time. The house and surrounding countryside is just beautiful. The view from all three decks is wonderful and the house is very comfortable - even for five women. The house is even more beautiful than the pictures and the house was exceptionally clean for a rental property. The restaurants in town were fantastic and the locals were extremely friendly. I could not have asked for a better time and will be recommending this rental to friends. It is very large and can easily accommodate more than one family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

Casa Buena Vista is a large, comfortable home located in Alto and certainly lives up to its name...the view is beautiful. The home definitely has a decorators touch with something different continually catching the eye. As you view pictures of the property you'll see that for yourself. The lower floor has entertainment down to a fine art. There is a game table, pool table, foosball table, dry sauna, and hot tub. There are decks, fireplaces and televisions on all 3 floors. We were able to hand feed apples to the deer and even managed to pet one of them. It was a great weekend and we would love to spend more time there in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

'68 Girls Get Away!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

Wow! What an amazing stay at such a wonderful property. No detail was left unanswered as we embarked on our long weekend Girls Get Away! The view took our breath away! What a way to start each morning while sipping coffee on the expansive decks and also watching for the "oh so friendly" deer. Having them eat out of your hand was such fun! We were there for 4 days and could not get to do all that this property offers...pool table, games galore....on an on! We probably spent too much time shopping till we dropped! Great little shops and restaurants! Thank you Jim and Dinah!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

I would highly recommend this property to other people. It was beautiful and the views were breath taking. However, we had a 3-year old grandson and thought there were too many stairs to watch him on.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for coming. Large families enjoy our spacious 3 story vacation home, but yes its hard to get 3000 sf without stairs in the mountains. We have installed a metal gate on the spiral staircase, but still keep a watchful eye on our own grandkids. Please come again when the kids get older and can enjoy to the fullest the great game room on the lower level. Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It is everything and more!!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

This home is absolutely beautiful! We had a family get together and it was plenty of room for all of us and we each slept comfortably! The home has everything you need. Every morning we were greeted with deer in the back patio, it was wonderful! Great owners and great experience!!! Will definitely rent again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are the perfect spot for families and friend gatherings. Come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Scenery, Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

A truly amazing home. Great for large families! The game room downstairs was wonderful. The teens in the group would have been content staying in the game room and hot tub the entire time. Very clean. Jim was great. Answered all of my questions promptly, and was very accommodating. Feeding the deer off of the back porch was truly a treat, especially for the young kids in the group. The home was located very close to Ruidoso and all of the other activities in the area. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fiftieth wedding anniversary celebration

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

Our family of eleven had a wonderful vacation In This mountain home. Views were incredible from every deck. The lower level is a teen paradise!! The home met our every need. These home owners even have the resident deer trained. Corn on the upper deck was tossed down each am. Eventually, our kids went down and enticed the deer to eat from their hands. The entire family got into the Act! Such a fun event morning and evening. Try the Flying J Ranch for family entertainment. Wholesome entertainment. The horse races were a kick!!! Quarter horses at that.....fast and furious. We will return to NM!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Mary. Spot on. Besides the spectacular views of Sierra Blanca ski mountain and the abundant wildlife that stroll through our property daily, we've tried to provide all the comforts a family could ask for in a fun mountain getaway. Come again soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fourth of July

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

This was an amazing home which we truly enjoyed. The views are one of a kind and the home was well stocked. The downstairs area included every game you could think which provided plenty of entertainment. We hope to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week with Family

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful week at your mountain home. We made a lot of family& friend memories to cherish forever, late night lounging on the deck and in the hot tub. The kids enjoyed the game room, everything was perfect. Thank you for one of our best vacations...so relaxing...we loved it.

Three families from Plainview, TX

We love CASA BUENA VISTA!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful and Perfect!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Thank you very much for letting us stay in your beautiful home. I was wonderful and perfect. We hope to come back soon. Will definitely stay here again, next time for more than two nights.

Hobbs, NM & Point, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Buena Vista

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Very beautiful home. Had anything and everything you needed. Amazing views and the deer where there every morning. Can't wait to stay there again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us. There is a game trail along the back of our acreage and the deer families like to come by every day to see if we have guests. They will eat apple slices out of your hands. Come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our New Favorite

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

There are no accurate words to descrice the way this house has it all. There is fun for everyone for entertainment with a view that is perfect of Ruidoso's mountains and valleys. This is our new favorite rental while we are away to Ruidoso.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for discovering our mountain hideaway...come again soon!

Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My family enjoyed our stay at this house. The house was spacious enough for my family of four, my sister's family of four, and my parents. We loved seeing the deer that walked by the house daily. The owners of the house sent us useful information about the town and places to see. Overall we had a very good experience staying at this property.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks. Our mountain home is perfect for family gatherings. Come again. Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

My family had such a great stay. We were able to get all seven siblings and parents in the same house at the same time for the first time in years. The cabin is marvelous; the rooms are comfortable and clean, all the amenities can’t be beat, the views incredible, and Jim and Dinah are great to work with. It pleased every member of my family and that is hard to do. We all agreed we will definitely stay here again next time we are in Ruidoso. Fast communication, amazing accommodations, and excellent views what more could you ask for. Thank you so much,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. We couldn't agree more because we're a large family as well. Our mountain home has something for all ages and plenty of room to spread out. Come back soon. Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas 2012

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Thank you so much for our stay at Casa Buena Vista. Our family had a wonderful Christmas vacation! We enjoying seeing all the sights, horseback riding and snow tubing. Can't Stop Smoking food was amazing! We couldn't have found a better place for our first family vacation. The TORRES Family...Corpus Christi, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

We loved our stay at your home. Casa Buena Vista was the absolute best choice for for our stay in Ruidoso. Eleven people ranging in age from 13 to 62 could not have been happier anywhere else. So convenient to the slopes as well as town kept everyone happy. We highly recommend Cafe Rio and Can't Stop Smokin for for great food! Thank you for opening your lovely home to our family. We will definitely be back! ALANIZ Family..Lometa, TX, WARD Family..Jonestown, TX, NEGLIE Family..Lometa, TX, ALANIZ Family..Lubbock, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

Thank you Jim & Dinah for letting us stay in your wonderful house. The weather was perfect. The pool table was lots of fun and we enjoyed playing at the game table. It was so nice having our whole family together for Thanksgiving and watching the wildlife off the back deck.. Hope to stay again soon. The SAYLES...Perry, TX, J. SAYLES..San Antonio, TX., Ditto! ..COLES from Lampasus, TX

Everything was awesome! The rainforest shower was the best. We loved the view from the decks and how easy it was to get to everything we wanted to do. Thanks for a GREAT THANKSGIVING!! The KOSTHRYZ...Houston, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Short vacation with Family!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

Wow!!!Great 5 days of vacation. Hope to have many more.. Thanks for the great views and comforts of home...mountain experience. Gene "Bubba"& Mary in spirit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gathering for HS friends

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

Thanks for the great pool room. The hot tub was s-s-s-s-s-o nice. Cafe del Rio in town was yummy and the home was just as cozy. The place is amazing. I never want to leave...maybe we can quit our jobs and......? I had such an amazing time CasaBuenaVista was so comfortable and made us feel at home. It was one of my fav vacations. We had a great weekend. Josephine, Chris, Shawn, Jordan, Marshall & Julianne..Nacogdoches & Dallas, TX.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Car Club

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Jim and Dinah thank you for letting us stay at your home in Ruidoso, I always have a difficult time accomading my large family and this year your home worked out perfect. This is the fourth year in a row that we make it on this particular weekend and all was great. We did have to leave in a hurry on our last day due to a family emergency but everyone got home safe. Your home had everything we needed except for the extra time that we did not have so we could stay longer. Hopefully we'll see you next year. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. Our home is perfect for family gatherings. Something for all ages. We look forward to seeing you again. Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Our family had a great time in Ruidoso. Casa Buena Vista was a perfect house for us. We all had plenty of room. It was a great location as we attended a wedding at the Alto Lakes Country Club. We hope to come and visit and stay there again. Thank you for sharing your house with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your stay at CasaBuenaVista. Ruidoso/Alto is a great all-seasons, mountain-themed wedding destination. Come again, and bring your friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun in the Mountains

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Our entire family visited this lovely home in Alto, New Mexico. We had 4 boys with us, ranging from 6 to 15yrs. old. This house was perfect for them and us. The basement level is set up with everything imaginable for entertainment. The boys spent hours down there. We would have to work on them to get them to leave. That was great for the adults! The main level patio was very large and we spent most of our mornings and evenings out there. The area was experiencing unnaturally warm days, but as soon as the sun went down, it cooled off and we were back outside. We normally go to the city pool but with the hot tub right there, we didn't even consider it. We also made a friend, Peaches, with one of the deer in the neighborhood. She would visit day and night and was very tame. We have pictures of the boys petting and feeding her. Jim and Dinah are the nicest owners we have come across in the 20 years we have been coming to Ruidoso and renting homes. They made themselves available to us via email/text before and after the visit. We will return to Buena Vista again and again. I have already recommended it to our friends. Hopefully the next visit will be in the normally cool weather.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us. Peaches and her friends have been coming around more since the Little bear Fire earlier this summer. Thanks for friending her.

Jim and Dinah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

The property was as described. We cooked most of our meals and found everything we needed in the kitchen to do this. The outside deck space is amazing; plenty of deck furniture and the views are spectacular. The hottub is nice as well as the large game room on the bottom level. We had a large family group of 8 adults and 5 children. There was plenty of room for everyone. There is a bathroom on every floor and the large walk-in shower on the bottom level is amazing. The house has several oscillating fans as well as airconditioning. We loved opening the windows and letting the fans circulate the fresh cool air. There is plenty to do in Ruidoso and the surrounding area. We drove to White Sands one day and let the grandkids sled on the sand. We also went to Capitan and Lincoln for some site seeing. We would recommend this property to anyone who needs a lot of space and wants all the amenities of home. Jim and Dinah were very accomodating and made sure all of our needs were taken care of.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks. We have a large family also and our home is the perfect base for all that Ruidoso has to offer. Come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Our teen daughter turned 18 while in Ruidoso, and she and four friends spent the week at Buena Vista. They enjoyed the game room and hot tub. The house was well appointed, and we had everything we needed for a great stay. My husband and I especially enjoyed the top deck view. We enjoyed drinking coffee and watching the hummingbirds in the mornings. There was more than enough room for all seven of us. We would definitely recommend Buena Vista and hope to return soon.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for coming. Yes, generally when the teenagers are happy, everyone is happy. CasaBuenaVista appeals to all the age groups.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Love Casa Buena Vista

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Our stay at Casa Buena Vista was fantastic. The house is beautiful and spacious with fantastic views. The game room area was a huge hit, and we rarely left that area. The neighborhood was nice and quiet, and we saw several deer roaming the area. We will definitely be making this a yearly visit! Thank you, Jim and Dinah, for sharing your home with us!

Michael

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: There's no better place in Ruidoso to relax and enjoy the mountain experience, any season. Come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LBK Rred Raider

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

The house surpassed our expectations! Very warm and inviting. There were 8 adults and we had plenty of room to spread out. The decks were fabulous. Would love to go back with our kids sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for spending Memorial Day weekend with us. Come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snow, snow and more snow!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

A great week (6 days) at the CASA with our kids and our grandkids. The three levels of the house were perfect for our family (6 adults and 4 children). The house was a great location for the "ski people", the games galore were cool for the kids, the view from the deck was awesome. The grandchildren had their own special room downstairs. The neighborhood was quiet. The "deer" visitors were an added touch along with being snowed in the first night here. What a joy that someone would share this experience with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ski-cation

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your home. Our girls had a great time skiing for the first time and our 2 year old son had a blast playing in the snow. It has been an awesome trip. The hot tub felt like heaven after full days of skiing. One of the best places we have ever stayed. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories Made Here

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Thank you so much for the beautiful accommodations. We ALL has a wonderful time playing pool, using the hot tub, hiking and simply enjoying each others company. Many memories were made skiing and tubing. We are certain to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving Thanks for Friends

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at this beautiful cabin with friends from Austin, Cincinati, Scotland and North Carolina. Love the views and the hot tub. Couldn't have asked for a better place to enjoy our vacation. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Buena Vista is awesome

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

The home was lovely, the view was beautiful and the accomodations were superb! There was plenty of space everyone in our party was very comfortable. With all the televisions, pool table, card table, bar ,sauna, hot tub and all the deer we were able to easily entertain everyone between the ages of 2 and 42. We are definately going back and will gladly recommed Casa Buena Vista to everyone we know.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. We have tried to make our vacation home the perfect escape in the mountains. Come again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House with the MOST pleasant view!!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

What a wonderful New Mexico retreat! Casa Buena Vista was the perfect place for our family to gather for a long weekend. Upon our arrival the house instantly wrapped us up in its cozy spaces and breathtaking views. You feel as though you have walked into a happy home full of happy memories! The house is very well kept and provides a ton of fun possibilities with the multiple fire places, game room, and hot tub to soothe your achy muscles after a couple days of skiing. The location is quite perfect. Whether you are planning on skiing your days away or strolling downtown Ruidoso, it is an easy (and beautiful )drive no matter where you are headed. Casa Buena Vista is indeed the “house with the (most) pleasant view!”

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cooper Family

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Very nice property, hope to stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for spending some quality family time in our mountain retreat. Come back soon. Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Stay

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

This house is the perfect place for 2 families. We had an excellent time. The house had all the things we needed. The owners were very kind and answered emails immediately. We will definitely stay here again sometime in the future. Thank you for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for coming. The snow and skiing have been great and we got 12 more inches a couple of days after you left. Come again. Jim & Dinah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous time

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

This house was perfect for two families. We had a fabulous time. The house suited our every need. The owner was very helpful and responded to emails immediately. We will definately stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us and hope you come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for large groups

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

This was a girls weekend away celebrating a 50th birthday and this location couldn't have been more perfect. It was large enough for everyone to spread out and have their own space, but cozy and comfortable. The view from the back deck was lovely. I would recommend to anyone, except families with very small children because of the stairs. (the home is on 3 levels, although there are gates on the stairs). This is clearly stated in the owners description. I definitely would visit here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks ladies...come again. you just missed 5 inches of fresh snow today. The stair to lower level gameroom is a steel spiral type installed by previous owners. It is sturdy and gated for safety, but there are also two alternative exterior stairs to this level.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We just returned from eight nights at Casa Buena Vista with our adult children and granddaughter. Coming from the brutal Texas heat this summer, it was a very restful and rejuvenating stay. There was plenty of room for all three families and all the necessities to cook meals, as well as restuarants close at hand.
The home was clean and well kept. We will certainly consider going again when time permits.

Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thanks Jo Beth. We escaped Texas heat several times this year to our refuge in the mountains. Our kids love the winter too, and the dry snow powder at Sierra Blanca. Come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We came in town for a friend's wedding and this was the perfect place to accommodate our group! The views are absolutely gorgeous and there is something for everyone at Casa Buena Vista. The different levels both inside and on the deck were nice for several couples because it felt like we each had our own place in a way. We would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a fabulous getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bethany. Hope you come back. Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect place for families

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

This was our second time to use this property. The views, layout and extras offered were outstanding. There was room for everyone without feeling you were on top of each other. We used the pool table, poker table, dart board and the big screen TV"s. It was nice to have different floors so that some can stay up late without keeping others awake. The house is perfect for family fun. Very Very nice. You won't be disappointed. Everything you need is there.It could not have been better.We give it 5 stars!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love repeats. There's nothing like a satisfied guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...cooler weather break....and lots of rain!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much! Like the family before us, the kids were able to feed the deer. We certainly enjoyed the cooler weather. Rain, rain...whats that? Well it was wonderful compared to Alice weather. This was our first experience to be a part of the All-American Trials at Ruidoso Downs. We'll try again next year. The filly got second and the colt got third. Pretty good for our first time! The home was perfect for us and we loved playing pool and cards. Thank you so much for making our long trip more than just a road trip....Albert & Cari Vera Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...our son will never forget!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

This weekend was an experience our son will never forget. He got to feed deer on Saturday. Three deer came to the front porch and the kids were so excited to be so close to wildlife with no fear. They love bread. My family is looking forward to the next trip. The Veras

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...what a great place!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

We all enjoyed our stay. Thank you so much. The house was perfect with beautiful views and plenty of room to spread out. We enjoyed golfing, eating at Cafe Rio & Casa Blanca...both Yummy!....Matt, Lindsey & Layton Flesher (Dallas)

Joe & Diana Rice (Houston)
Nancy & Mark Bandy(Midland)
Peggy Rice (Houston)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...blessed our family!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The Flynt/Johnston Family stayed July 9-16. Our stay at CasaBuenaVista blessed our family. Thank you for providing a welcoming and relaxing home for us to play a lot of Bananagrams and enjoy the little one's exploration of Ruidoso. The kids especially loved seeing the deer wander through at sunset and the "mini-pool". We hope and pray for many more blessed stays for those who sojourn here at CasaBuenaVista. Thanks again for a wonderful time!....Jimmy, Amanda, Laura & Creed Johnstone

Thanks so much for letting us stay at your wonderful home. What an incredible place! We hope and pray to have many years of joy in this place.....Joan and Mark Flynt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Friends w/ kids reunion....

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a great visit with friends... Bleys,Lynne,Josie, Silas & Mathias

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. The scenery was fantastic for the kids......Jeremy, Carena & Christopher

We are so much looking forward to coming abck to this beautiful home. Lots of wildlife for the kids, and awesome views....Clay, Katie, James, Ana & Tori

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'...saw a lot of deer'

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

March 16th to 21st, 2011
Had a great time. Saw a lot of deer. There was so much to do here and so much space.
Love it!
The Ibarra Family – El Paso, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'...simply amazing home'

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

March 4th – 8th, 2011
Simply amazing home! We thank you for the wonderful accommodations – more than we expected! We are a Grandma & Grandpa with three of our grown children up here with us, and six of our grand children. Thanks!
The Taylor Family – Temple, Texas

Oh my Gosh…the hot tub is amazing!
Jessica Andrews – Belton, Texas

Out of all the houses we looked at, this seemed to fit the best of what we needed, and we weren’t disappointed. There was something for everyone here. Thanks for opening your house to us!
The Andrews Family – Belton, Texas

I love it here! The hot-tub is awesome and I am in love with the pool-table. The view is amazing! We had so much fun and we highly recommend this house to others!
Callie Andrews – Belton, Texas

I love Justin Bieber. xoxox
Morgan Taylor - Wimberly, Texas

Justin Bieber is a weirdo. But the stay here is great!
Buelle Andrews – San Antonio, Texas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'...fabulous time - beautiful memories'

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

February 26 to March 1, 2011
We appreciate you renting your house to us. We had a wonderful time spending the weekend with friends and family. We began the tradition of traveling to Ruidoso and staying in family homes last year, and we hope to continue the tradition in years to come. We thank you for sharing your home as this has allowed us to build beautiful memories.
The Gaines – Floresville, Texas

Casa Buena Vista is amazing! The views are spectacular and the location is great. Our family and friends has a fabulous time and look forward to our next visit. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
The Eden’s – El Paso, Texas

Great Home! Thanks for opening up your beautiful home. We enjoyed our visit very much. We hope to continue our tradition every year and we look forward to next year!
The Cassiday’s – Floresville, Texas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'...great views, beautiful house, great game room'

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

February 20, 2011
We had a great time during our stay. Your house is beautiful and you have great views. Wind was terrible while we were here, but he game room was a great place to stay warm. Thank you!
The Webb’s – The Lopez’s – The Geske’s – Sonora, Texas
The Ham’s – Vega, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'...the photos on the internet don't do justice'

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

January 8 – 11, 2011
Thank you so much for letting us stay at your home. Everything was perfect & we couldn’t have asked for anything more. The photos on the internet don’t do justice, this place is beautiful. It truly was an awesome vacation that all of us will remember for the rest of our lives. Thanks once again.
Chris Brehm & Gang – San Antonio, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'...great family place'

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

December 28 to January 3, 2011
I LOVE Casa Buena Vista! I never fail to have a relaxing and memorable time here. Julianne Addison , Dallas, Texas

We had a wonderful visit here with our family and are looking forward to many more years of memories at Casa Buena Vista! How will we ever go back to the real world. Thank you for a relaxing and refreshing week with our family in a beautiful place. Great Vacation!!!
Katie & James Clay, Dallas, Texas

A WONDERFUL holiday season was held by all…the memories of the snow, the sledding, family time, the blackout (resulting in the need for candles and flashlights) & the games. We will not forget spending New Year holiday here and the best way to bring in 2011.
Dinah DeWitt – Dallas, Texas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'...best cabin we've ever rented in Ruidoso'

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Christmas 2010 – Dec 20th to 27th
Thank you for having us in your beautiful home! This is by far the best cabin we’ve ever rented in the Ruidoso area. We felt very at home as we celebrated Christmas here. Also, we appreciate Denton for coming to adjust the hot-tub and sauna as well as providing us with shovels for the snow. Hope to come back soon! Have a very Happy New Year! God Bless! Bradford & Family – Wolfforth, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A special place!

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

We had a great time! What a great place. We hope to be back a lot! This was our first visit to Ruidoso and the mountain experience is wonderful, the town was fun but most of all Casa Buena Vista is a special place to create some memories for all who visit. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ruidoso - Lots to do and see!

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

We had a great time! Here are some things guests should consider in and around Ruidoso: Hike (duh), White Sands - 1 1/2 hour drive west (worth it), HOT TUB!, Billy the Kid Museum in Lincoln. Watch sunrises & sunsets & falling stars - awesome! Eat at: Cafe Rio - Pizza, Greek, local brew. Rivers Edge - wraps, soups, cupcakes. Advice: Bring or buy some jugs of water if you're not used to soft water.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wreck'em Tech!!!

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

The house is amazing! It was the perfect size for our family - We love the downstairs gameroom area and the deck is awesome. We plan to use this place again! We appreciate you opening your home to us. God bless!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family reunion!

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We enjoyed your house very much. It brought our family together. May God bless you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids explored & no one were bored!

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

A great view both inside and out. We had a WONDERFUL time. The kids explored nature outside and the adults thoroughly enjoyed the inside. Look forward to coming again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Getaway in Mountains!!!

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Our extended family had a great time! We enjoyed the stay with the fantastic views from your deck. Thank you from the Orquiz Family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Huseman's, The Motl's - Midland (Guestbook)

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Enjoyed our stay. Went to the races and casino at Inn of the Mountain Gods. Your hoime was perfect for us as we were three couples and each had their own floor. All were comfortable and felt at home and cozy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

four couples enjoyed restful, peaceful vacation

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

We really enjoyed the house. Our first response was YEAH! there is a table that seats 8 comfortably, since we were planning on playing cards and games. The floor plan made it nice for people who got up early to fix coffee and sit on the patio for breathtaking views of Old Bald and allowed others to continue to sleep. The pool table in the basement was a hit, along with the dry sauna. There are no houses behind this one, so the scenery is magnificent. The place was very well stocked. The oven had 3 shelves, great for large groups. There is a convenient/gas station just at the end of the street for anything you might have left at home and need. The overseer came to welcome us and gave us info about some of the hiking trails in the area. We took him up on one. He also brought a fan down to drown out the occassional noise from the early risers. We would definitely recommend this house for your vacation, golfing, hiking, skiing, etc. It was great. Thanks for a restful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review