reviews for: listing #73820 - Anna Maria Island, Florida House rental

Shady Palms; Gulf-Front House on the Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,850 - $2,100 /wk
    $7,200 - $7,900 /mth

sort by:

WONDERFUL!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

This was the best vacation ever! We have been vacationing at AMI for the last 3 years and will continue vacationing at AMI for the next 25 years I hope! This is our first time staying at Shady Palms but will not be our last. As a matter of fact, I have already booked a week for May 2015. My husband and I usually do not spend much time in our rental house because we stay on the beach morning until after dark. But Shady Palms location is so much ‘on the beach’ that I found myself waking in the morning and just lying in bed watching the ocean from bedroom window. The house was perfect and met all our needs but the back yard was the surprisingly plus factor. To have a shady covered backyard was wonderful. The naps I took in the hammock were so relaxing and the shade with it's cool breeze; well, it was just great. Do not hesitate to book Shady Palms for your next vacation stay. We really can’t say enough about our experience!

And a special shout out to our 'bookie'! Cindy, you are the best agent ever and more than a joy to work with. You made everything so easy which made our stay even better! YOU ARE THE BEST!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Family Getaway

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We have rented many quality properties through VRBO over the years and Shady Palms is the best one, hands down. The location on the Gulf is fantastic. We were able to set up chairs and umbrellas in the morning and leave them out all day as we went back and forth from the house to the beach to attend to the various needs of our children (ages 3 and 5). I cannot overstate the convenience of not having to drive to the beach or even pick up our stuff when it was time for lunch, bathroom, drinks, etc. Moreover, the house is located in a block of similar houses with limited public access to the beach, so it was never crowded right out front, and we visited over spring break which is typically one of the busiest times of the year. The showers (yes two) accessed from outside and connected to the garage made rinsing off kids easy. The shady back yard was a nice escape from the sun.

The location of the house on the island is superb. It is one block away from a small commercial district which has a few restaurants, an ice cream shop, a hardware store, a bike rental store, a convenience store, and a few other shops. We did not have a car and didn't need one. Everything we needed except groceries was within easy walking distance. If you pick up your groceries on the way in or don't mind taking the island trolley, groceries are no problem.

The house itself is ridiculously spacious for only two bedrooms. We had plenty of room for visiting grandparents and friends, and parking is not an issue. The pictures in the listing are accurate. I imagine that this house is represtentative of what most of the Florida coast was like fifty years ago, which must have been wonderful.

In short, if you're not into the hotel/condo thing and like a more laid-back setting fending for yourself, I can't think of a better rental on Anna Maria Island than Shady Palms. If we ever go back I hope it's still available.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach Paradise

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Simply said: AWESOME! Cindy has a fantastic family home they are willing to share with those who appreciate a true beach home. From the moment we arrived, the home provided every comfort we desired. The large living space provides an excellent retreat from the day's events. The super sized back yard is simply amazing. Large palm and pine trees line the completely shaded back yard leading to the white sands of the Gulf waters. The sunset viewed directly from the back yard is simply to die for. We will return to Shady Palms every chance we get. Thank you Cindy for such a wonderful vacation spot!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice beach front house.

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Anna Maria Island. We selected this house because of its proximity to the beach. I don't think you can get any closer. The shade/sun division is perfect so no need to get all lobsterized. The house is very nice and well equipped. The location in town is also great as you can walk to shops and restaurants. It's only a few short blocks to some great dining. We plan to come back next year. Not for the "party hearty" set. Bring the kids and let them roam. You will not be disappointed. Thanks Cindy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Vacation Before School Started

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This is our second time staying here and for good reason. We don't know of a more perfect place than this to stay at. It's directly on the beach. You wake up in the morning and eat breakfast while looking out at the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Other than food and your basic personal necessities, nothing else is needed. The house is equipped with more than enough, including plenty of kitchen items, towels and sheets, and a garage full of beach toys. We had a very enjoyable time here and it was the best thing for us to do the week before school started. We would definitely recommend it to all people, of all ages. Best of all, Cindy and Gay are such amazing people. Thank you for this opportunity. See you soon hopefully!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Thanksgiving at the Shady Palms

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We stayed at Shady Palms the week of Thanksgiving and it was perfect. We live local and have a full appreciation of how great our beaches and fabulous Florida sunsets are over the Gulf of Mexico. Instead of traveling, we just drive 10 miles from our home and enjoy.

Shady Palms accommodated our friends and relatives stopping by for visits and meals. The kitchen is well-equipped and has beautiful dishes for great dinner gatherings. There is nothing like good food and good company enjoying spectacular sunsets in a comfortable and relaxing environment. We will certainly visit often.

Thanks so much Cindy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best vacation spot

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Such an amazing experience! The house is beautiful, cozy and comfortable, with every amenity you will need for your stay, including beach toys in the garage! The pictures are a good reflection of the property.

The location is like a dream! Our young kids could not get enough of playing in the large shaded yard, chasing squirrels and sitting in the hammock. Every morning we woke up and looked out the window at dolphins swimming by and then ran down to the beach to see them closer! The water was calm and perfect for the youngsters.

We felt like we were in our own little slice of heaven. Coffee in the morning on the under the trees and wine in the afternoon while enjoying the ocean view and breezes.

The owner is very friendly and helpful, we would absolutely stay here again, and have already recommended it to several of our friends!!! We had the best time!
Thank you Cindy!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Home for a Vacation on Anna Marie Island

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

I must say from the first contact with the owner Cindy Griffin to the Thank You note upon leaving my family and
I had such a amazing time at this magical place called Shady Palms. We have been coming to Anna Marie Island for
many years this was our first time here and it had more than everything needed to enjoy on family vacation. The house is charming with lots of space to spread out, the backyard is the perfect way to experience the beach. The towering pines trees provided shade and one could sit back and enjoy the sea breeze, watching the sun glisten off the sea grass and the waves roll in. I highly recommend Shady Palms if you are wanting to kick back and relax in this little bit of paradise on Anna Marie Island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Shady Palms Was a Home Run

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Although we have rented through VRBO numerous times, every new property presents it's own anxieties-will the place look anything like the pictures, will it be clean, will the owner be intrusive, will we able to get in???? Well, no strikes here. It was all good. I walked up and down the beach daily in both directions and didn't see a house with as perfect a location on the beach as Shady Palms. The house was set back far enough that you had complete privacy from pedestrian traffic and the trees in front were perfect for sitting under while still being in full view of the gulf. After the first day we never even sat on the beach, just relaxed in the comfortable chairs and enjoyed the breeze that was always there. Everything was exactly as portrayed on the website-nothing fancy, just homey, just perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

My family and I just got back from a stay at Shady Palms. We miss it already. The house has every thing you could want, down to beach toys. This is our second trip to Anna Marie Island and it was better than the first. The house and the property was like living in paradise for a week. The Gulf of Mexico is literally out your back door. The pictures don't do it justice. The house had plenty of room to spread out in and all amenities to eat in if you so desired. The shell collection within the home was awesome and something you really want to take the time to see. We couldn't have picked a better location and will definitely be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Our family of four (my husband, my two teenage boys, and myself) stayed at Shady Palms over spring break of 2012. When you walk in the door you feel like you've entered your own personal paradise. You can see and hear the ocean from every room in the house.

Most of our days consisted of a morning walk on the white sandy beach collecting shells or walking to the all you can eat pancake breakfast at Manatee Beach, hours on end of laying in the sun and playing in the crystal blue waters at our own private beach, reading in the hammock, then dinner outside in the spacious yard, followed by a sunset walk.

The house is in the perfect location, very clean, and was furnished with everything we needed to feel right at home. There's nothing more relaxing than laying in the comfortable king size bed at night feeling the ocean breeze and being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves hitting the shore right outside your window!

The boys enjoyed being able to take the trolly around the island to go exploring. Anna Maria Island is the perfect location to feel like you're getting away from it all, but close enough to Lakeland (Tigers game), Bradenton Beach (parasailing) and Tampa (USF and golfing) to keep teenage boys entertained.

Cindy was great to work with before, during, and after our trip. We can't wait to return to Shady Palms!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Place for a beach wedding

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We planned a beach wedding in June 2011 and were lucky enough to find Shady Palms to be our location. Not only was it the most beautiful beach on which to have the ceremony, it also had the large shady back yard where we set up the reception. The home is furnished with more than you will ever need, so much so that it feels more like home than a rental. It could not have been more comfortable and inviting. Many guests commented on the beauty of the location and home. The wedding couple used the home for the balance of the week for their honeymoon. You will not find a better location or owner to work with. Please enjoy the history of the home and the stunning shell case when you visit.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Dream Home

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This is the best vacation house I have ever rented. The location is beyond perfect. Waking up to see the Gulf of Mexico from my pillow was heaven. Having the house so close was most convenient, especially having the 2 showers on the side of the house. Everything was spotlessly clean and there are lots of things to do within walking distance. Plus there is a free trolley for the kids if you don't feel like taking them anywhere. The public beach was very close if you feel the need to be around other people, but the beach in front of the house is like your own private beach. Perfection!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect beach stay

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Shady Palms. It was all that it was promised to be...

-So close to the ocean, we loved opening the windows and listening to the ocean breezes/waves crashing on shore.

-Everything was nice and clean and well furnished. We enjoyed making pancakes in the kitchen in the morning and heading straight to the beach. The garage also had everything needed to make the beach play time enjoyable.

-I loved that the trees give it a private feel in the back yard, yet you are right on the ocean!!!!

-The area was gorgeous and interesting. I loved the life size or even larger than life sand castles that were built down by the restaurant a few miles away. My daughter enjoyed those so much.

-We have heirloom ocean/beach pics that will allow us to always treasure our stay there. I can look at the pics and almost feel that ocean breeze.

-We can't wait to return!!

Kim

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review