reviews for: listing #73855 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Fantastic Ocean/Shore Vu for One Person--Spring from $49/nt.
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Seashore
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $200 /nt
    $395 - $695 /wk
    $1,170 - $1,695 /mth

sort by:

Outstanding!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

This unit was just wonderful, and Mike was simply outstanding in accommodating me. I had an uncertain schedule and stopped over in Honolulu on my way to be with an ill relative on the mainland. Mike's instructions were excellent, and he even called me personally to help me through the process. The unit was great- very tastefully decorated and appointed, and has a secure entry system both on the building and on the apartment. And it is in the heart of Waikiki with a fantastic view of the beach and ocean. No vehicle needed here - you can easily walk to everything. I arrived on the evening of the Pro Bowl block party, and all I had to do to be in the heart of the action was put on my shorts and flip flops and walk out the door. This is a high quality unit in a great location with an outstanding customer service manager. I highly recommend it! Thank you Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. And such a glowing one at that--so much so people could think that I paid you to write it :-). I was happy to help you in your time of need. Although this unit is normally rented long-term, I'm also glad that it it happened to be available when you needed it. Take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lanai with a view.

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

This is a very comfortable small studio for a single person on the go or looking to relax on a large lanai looking out towards the near by surf. The location of this condo is ideal for being central in Waikiki and only a block away from the beach. Mike has equipped the condo with a little bit of everything. Also if you should have any concerns, Mike is readily available to remedy any unexpected surprises. Its a great little place to stay and enjoy all that Waikiki has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you as a guest, and I'm really glad that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the condo. Thank you also for highlighting the location of the condo, central to everything yet only 150 ft. from the beach.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great starter place for new residents

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

I rented this studio apartment for six months because I knew it'd be easier for me, personally, to not have the pressure of immediately running around and looking for a longer-term apartment rental as soon as I hit the ground in Hawaii. Mike's rental was just what I needed, and he was a wonderful property manager from the very first email contact. Very thorough, so you know he's legit and not out to scam you, and very responsive to any problems you may have along the way. The apartment is fully furnished (including pots/pans and utensils), so it was great not to have to run around and purchase all these things right after landing on island, and just be able to settle in and get acquainted. Location cannot be beat, as it's just literally one block to the beach and so close to so many useful bus lines to get you all over the city and island. The views from the lanai are wonderful, especially the sunsets. Considering the area, noise isn't really that big a problem due to being on the 9th floor. I did sleep with earplugs, but probably didn't need them. There are lots of restaurants of every price range surrounding the apartment building, and it's very close to the only grocery store in Waikiki should you want to make use of the fridge, stove, toaster oven or microwave in the apartment. Even for just a short vacation, this place is a bargain if you don't need to be pampered in a hotel. For those worried about safety, I never once felt in danger since the building is so close to the Waikiki police station, and the area in general is safe due to the police presence and tourist crowds. Since it's mainly vacationers on the floor of the condo building, you don't really have to worry about long-term resident problems, either. There were a few problems with the apartment during my six-month stay, and Mike made sure to stay in constant contact, made repairs and took care of any concerns better than any landlord I've had to date. And he was so helpful and friendly to a newly-arrived resident like me that I wish he could manage my current apartment rental! Thanks for everything, Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: And thanks to you :-). You were a terrific tenant, and why it was easy to be responsive as needs arose. Very nice of you to take the time to write this review. You know that I wish you all the best in your new place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely PERFECT for budget-minded solo surfer

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

I stayed here for 9 nights in August and couldn't have been happier. As a surfer, I especially loved the location (1 minute walk to beach) and the large balcony with a view of the Canoe's and Pop's surf breaks. Two surf shops with board rentals are on the same street, one right next door (Moku) that's open early and closes late, and one a half block away (Koa) that's got shorter business hours but has more boards and board lockers so you can come and go before/after business hours. I'd prefer to take my own boards and usually do, but for short budget trips, renting from these shops is a good option.
The owner did a great job capitalizing on the space, which has a comfie twin bed, half-sized soaker tub, decent sized fridge, 2-burner stove, small microwave, and decent stock of pans, dishes, and other kitchen utensils. I also found the storage space ample enough to accommodate all I'd need to actually live there instead of just hanging out for a couple of weeks.
Finally, the owner, housekeeper, and building manager were all super responsive and helpful.
I've stayed in dozens of private condos in Waikiki over the years, many that are much larger and more elegant (and expensive), but none that are any more convenient. Given the price, view, location, amenities, and service, this is a 5-star in my book. Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Much mahalo for the great review, and for giving so many tips on the location. I am really glad the you had a great time, and enjoyed the condo :-).

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome View

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Awesome view from lanai. Woke up to a beautiful rainbow one morning. Close to everything in Waikiki. One block from the beach and the famous Duke statue. Perfect for 1 person. Owner is really easy to work with and contact. Will stay here again!

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write. I would welcome your return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Waikiki Hideaway for one!

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

This was a wonderful studio with a view of Waikiki Beach from the lanai (balcony), and you can be standing in the ocean, just a few minutes walk away! Although it is small, the owner, Mike, has made great use of the space - there was a desk for my laptop, a great little kitchen, even a half-tub to soak in!

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you as a guests--hope to see you soon back on the island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved the ocean view!

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

I stayed here for about 2 weeks. The owner, Mike was very nice and accommodating to my need. It was perfect place for one person or may be two. Only problem I had was heavy smokers next door on the lanai. Otherwise, it was very conveniently located, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again. Thanks, Mike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your comments. I am sorry about the smokers next door. Fortunately, they were vacation renters--so not permanently installed--I am sorry that they were there during your stay. Welcome to Hawaii, btw, your new home :-).

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great experience

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

Great location in the heart Waikiki, and beautiful view. Condo is just as stated above. Would rent again.

Owners response: I am really glad that you enjoyed the condo. Whenever you would like to return, remember "Hawaii awaits." Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review