reviews for: listing #73904 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

Ooh la la, Beachfront, private heated pool, firepit
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $5,500 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

A very nice home away from home with ALL the amenities

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

This was the first time I had ever went this route for a vacation and the whole experience went extremely well. No hassles no worries. I took a whole lot more things than I needed because this place truly has everything you need except personal items. It was convenient, quiet, comfortable and homey. My whole family wants to make this a tradition for our family vacations!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break Paradise

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

This trip was our first time to Cape San Blas. We fell in love with the area and the house right away. Ooh La La is one of the nicest homes we have rented and we have rented many over the years. The home was very clean upon arrival and we had no issues during the stay that maintenance did not fix right away (couple light bulbs out). The decor in the home is amazing. Very nicely decorated! So many unique touches that make the house feel like a home and not just a rental. The home is even better in person than the pictures on the site. The screened in porches are great for watching the sun set, relaxing with a good book, or enjoying a glass of wine. All the outdoor furniture was really comfortable and good quality. The outdoor entertaining areas of this home are outstanding. The pool is very nice and the pool guy actually told us it is the nicest one he services. Our 2 boys loved swimming in the heated pool. Outdoor grills and kitchen were great for cooking out. We were also able to use the firepit a couple times and really enjoyed looking at the stars and watching the beach fireworks. Kids enjoyed s'mores! The home offers beach toys and beach chairs. It was nice not having to bring that in the car. We would definitly rent this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We had our second annual family vacation at Ooh La La, and it was a hit in every way. There was plenty of space to spread out and be comfortable, and the imaginative decorating added an element of fun. Our adult kids lived in the pool, which we had heated. It's extremely close to Scallop Cove, for rentals and minor groceries. I would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cape San Blas - had a BLAST!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Great house, great pool, great beach. Couldn't be better! Everything gets a top score!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Third time renter with Sunset Reflection!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

This is the third time we have rented from Sunset Reflections..That in its self should speak for it's self... We know we can feel secure in choosing any rental house when it is owned by them. Our family looks forward to another year with them in 2015... Thank you for a wonderful vacation Sunset Reflections!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3 Family Spring Break

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. We really enjoyed our stay. We had 3 families. 6 adults and 6 kids. The house had plenty of space for all of us. It was nice that the bottom floor had a hangout area for the kids to watch TV and play games. The heated pool was a big hit. None of us had ever been to Cape San Blas. We loved that it was laid back and not super commercial like some other areas. We would rent again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very nice home away from home

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was very clean. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. This was the first time I had ever went this route for a vacation and the whole experience went extremely well. No hassles no worries. I took a whole lot more things than I needed because this place truly has everything you need except personal items. It was convenient, quiet, comfortable and homey. My whole family wants to make this a tradition for our family vacations!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Break Paradise

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

This trip was our first time to Cape San Blas. We fell in love with the area and the house right away. Ooh La La is one of the nicest homes we have rented and we have rented many over the years. The home was very clean upon arrival. The decor in the home is amazing. Very nicely decorated! So many unique touches that make the house feel like a home and not just a rental. The home is even better in person than the pictures on the site. The screened in porches are great for watching the sun set, relaxing with a good book, or enjoying a glass of wine. All the outdoor furniture was really comfortable and good quality. The outdoor entertaining areas of this home are outstanding. The pool is very nice and the pool guy actually told us it is the nicest one he services. Our 2 boys loved swimming in the heated pool. Outdoor grills and kitchen were great for cooking out. We were also able to use the firepit a couple times and really enjoyed looking at the stars and watching the beach fireworks. Kids enjoyed s'mores! We would definitly rent this house again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. We had our second annual family vacation at Ooh La La, and it was a hit in every way. There was plenty of space to spread out and be comfortable, and the imaginative decorating added an element of fun. Our adult kids lived in the pool, which we had heated. It's extremely close to Scallop Cove, for rentals and minor groceries. I would highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Ooh La La was a lovely home. The kitchen was well-equipped and the house was exactly as advertised. Lots of great movies, games & books to keep you entertained. The outdoor space is absolutely wonderful, with the fire pit being the crowning glory. The location can't be beat. We would definitely both rent this home again & recommend it to friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our trip to Cape San Blas was one of the nicest

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

Our trip to Cape San Blas was one of the
nicest trips we have taken, and staying
at Ooh La La was one of the reasons.
The home was very nicely decorated and
comfortable for our group of nine. We
had fun making S'mores in the fire pit
and the pool was very nice. We will
definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A pleasurable stay

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in this lovely home. The beds are comfortable,the kitchen is well equipped,the pool is wonderful,and the view and access to the beach are great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The spaciousness allows many people to be completely comfortable, the wifi works well, and there were plenty of towels and hot water. I cannot think of a single problem. Any needs we had were addressed promptly. I am looking forward to a return trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ooh La La!!!!!!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We had a wonderful spring break vacation at Ooh La La. With three families;
6 adults/7 children, we used every bit of the house and it fit us perfectly.
The pool was a big hit, and walking the beach, surf fishing, biking to the
two convenience stores for candy and ice cream and hitting the neighboring
restaurants filled up the week. We had a great time and already discussed
booking again for next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ooh La La gets oohs and ahhs!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

After all the oohs and aahs when we looked out to the beautiful view of the Gulf from the second floor, we settled down to have one of the best vacations ever. We had a Low Country Boil from the outdoor kitchen, walked the beautiful beaches, rode bikes to the park. All in all this vaction was a 10. It was a unanimous vote we all would return again. We loved the house, it had everything we needed, the pool was great, and we all fell in love with Cape San Blas !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tranquil Getaway

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We had such a wonderful time at Ooh La La beach house. It is such a tranquil place to get away. Each room is beautifully decorated-- I could hardly decide which room to sleep in :) The kitchen is so open and clean, it was the perfect place to broil fresh fish and make cookies. We loved playing bocce ball on the beach, kayaking in the ocean, making smores by the fire, and hearing the sound of the ocean lull us to sleep each night. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

From the time we walked in the door until the time we sadly said goodbye to Ooh La La, we felt like we were in paradise. The beach was quiet and tranquil. The pool was very relaxing, even in February. The view from every room in the house was amazing. The entire property was spotless and well kept. Roasting marshmallows in the fire pit by the beach on a cloudless night while listening to the outdoor sound system really was quite a treat. The owners made us feel welcome and were always a phone call away. We can't wait to go back! We would recommend Ooh La La to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing House in a Beautiful Location!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

When I first arrived at Ooh La La in 2010, I was blown away by the house and spent 30 minutes exploring it's uniqueness before I even brought in my luggage. This is not your cookie cutter beach house. Every detail inside and out seems to be chosen with care. This house has personality! After my first stay, I often found myself daydreaming about returning! Then my 2011 visit was even better than the first! The house is absolutely amazing and the location on Cape San Blas is beautiful.

I love waking to sound of the waves coming through the open door to the beach. After leisurely sipping several cups of coffee, I would go for a walk or a run on the beach. One morning, I ran for 15 minutes before encountering another person. This gorgeous setting on the Cape renews my body and refreshes my spirit for the months to come.

My days were spent reading, swimming, and playing bocce ball on the beach. The house is right on the beach making it easy to go back and forth. My wife's favorite experience was renting a kayak right across the street and paddling around Pig Island in bay. We ate lunch on the kayak alongside the sea turtles, horseshoe crabs, fish, and birds. We even witnessed a crab fight! Evenings were spent grilling fresh fish and watching the sunset into the sea. Then smores made a perfect dessert when roasted over the fire pit under the stars.

The late night people among us loved having the whole second floor devoted to entertaining. All the bedrooms are strategically located on the first and third floors. When going out, we loved the Indian Pass Raw Bar.

I would highly recommend Ooh La La to you! The pictures and description of the property are accurate, but the house is even better in person. The property is squeaky clean and well-maintained. I noticed several improvements to the property between my two visits. The owners were a joy to work with and seemed to truly care about my vacation experience.

Over the years, I have dealt with indifferent 3rd party property managers to book vacations in cookie cutter beach houses that were a long walk (or even a drive) to the beach. This will not be your experience at Ooh La La. Your vacation here will be breath of fresh air and will create memories that stay with your family and friends for years!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

PICTURES DON'T DO IT JUSTICE!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

This nicely sized three-story luxury beach house was all that my wife and I were looking for to enjoy a Valentine's Day getaway on the coast. Beautifully and newly decorated, we loved the proximity to the beach, the landscaped back yard complete with pool and firepit, and the quaint beach town 10 minutes down the road. We loved the spacious kitchen and balcony off the second and third floors with the view toward the beach, and we enjoyed a dip in the heated private pool despite it being mid-February. The owners obviously spared no expense, as was evidenced by the shimmering model--ship shaped chandelier on the second floor. No problem getting access upon arrival, as there is a lockbox on site, and the owners were very helpful not only giving us the combination for the key, but also directions to this remotely located property as well as local preferred eateries (Joe Mama's provides authentic quality pizza at an affordable price in a beach-town atmosphere). I would recommend to newlyweds like myself, as well as young families and older couples that enjoy forgetting about life for awhile. Plenty of space and bedrooms for multiple couples/families.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

not very good

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

place was dirty when we got there. Sand and dirt on floor. Sheets and bedding's also dirty. Vacation was put on hold until cleaning person got there and cleaned it up. They forgot about all the beer cans in the yard. Owner sent no apologies, only complained to us he pays a lot of money to maintain the place...why are you telling us that?

Used outdoor grill once, and propane ran out. Backup was empty as well. My feeling is owner is really not serious about this property as he was very difficult to reach for obtaining house key prior to arrival.

house is nice, but not well managed.

Owners response: This individual was not the party that the owners had contracted with. The other people in the party were thrilled with the house. Updated August 2011. The owner has moved the management of the house to a property management firm. We are very responsive to renters needs. This house is awesome with the nicest pool and outside area of the entire Cape San Blas area. We know you will be thrilled with the house and its wonderful amenities. Take a look at the other reviews!

Helpful votes: 7 / 13

 

All Around Wonderful

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

I could go on and on about how beautiful the house/location was but it's really something you have to experience first hand to truly appreciate. The weather was also perfect (70's, no rain), which was particularly impressive to me given the time of year (mid March).

The only possible downfall that some people may cite is that the location is rather far from the main town where all of the stores and restaurants are. However, I personally found this to be appealing.

Bottom line, the house was beautiful, the beach was picturesque, the weather was fantastic and the people were very nice. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Adamm!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rick & Wanda

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

Rick & I had a really good time in your house. It is beautiful! You have it decorated great!! We were on the 3rd floor with Tom & Rhonda can't decide who was snoring the most. And the 1st floor was noisy from all the laughing. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marvin & Carol

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Thanks for use of your amazing house. It is beautiful and well planned. We enjoyed our stay so much (but our friends upstairs were a little on the noisy side!) Marvin enjoyed the pool, I enjoyed the beach.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ooh la la

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

This was so nice to be at while the week passed us by! Music was good-food was good- water in pool was (ooh-la-la!) the best! This plase is so creative with its stuff. I had a terrific oohlala time! So, gotta get back to doing nuthing!!! Tom

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Trip to Ooh La La

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

Wow. That is the best way that I know how to describe Ooh La La Beach House. I was lucky enough to be invited to go with my best friend and her sister and some other ladies and it was, I have to say, one of the best vacations I have ever had. It is so peaceful. The home is absolutely gorgeous and probably the most tastefully decorated home I have ever been into. The pool is wonderful and the beach is great, no crowds, just ocean, beach and shells, oh yea, we also saw some sea turtle eggs which was something you would not see at most beaches. The views from the porches are incredible. I hope that I am lucky enough to get invited again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

What a BLAST at Cape San Blas!

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

Six of us girlfriends went down for a few days in August, 2010. We had the BEST time eating, swimming, relaxing ----- and laughing like hyenas! We COULD b/c every amenity was available to us in this wonderful house and its luscious surroundings! Talk about style, taste, comfort and cute little surprises everywhere one looked--that's Ooh La La! The place was SO expertly decorated (pictures do not do it justice!) but not w/the "usual" beach colors, etc. It was WAY better. WAY, WAY better! Plenty of towels, comfy beds, fluffy pillows and lots of choice spots to just sit and enjoy ourselves! No shortage of kitchen stuff or TVs, no lack of privacy (if that's what one wants), no crowded beaches, wow, I could go on and on and on. Only 2 things were lacking--the time we had alotted to stay there and the surf was a little rough due to storms at sea. Both were beyond our control. I will recommend Ooh La La to all my friends who want an unspoiled beach, less commercialism and a superb house for a special time of rest and relaxation! GO there! You will NOT be sorry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful ladies' getaway

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

I recently stayed at Ooh La La with a group of women friends and had a fantastic, relaxing vacation. The house is very accurately depicted in photos and descriptions and the decor is beautiful. It looks as if a designer planned the interior. It has a very relaxing feel to it, and the views are excellent from every level. There are very good restaurants at Port St. Joe and Appalachicola and interesting shopping as well. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Home and Decor with ambiance

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

Ooh La La is fabulous! The home interior is beautiful; the outside pool and surrounding areas are unique and impressive. My friends and I loved staying in the house; playing in the pool; sitting in the sun; and relaxing on the beach. The house and amenities made our vacation memorable and wanting to stay longer. Everything about the Ooh La La property is exactly what we wanted in our vacation residence. We will definitely return whenever the property is available for occupancy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review