reviews for: listing #73911 - Ocean City, Maryland Condo rental

Magnificent ocean front unit
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $450 /nt
    $900 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Future renters beware

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

rented this unit and the owner just asked for cash. I meet the owners daughter in the unit and signed the contract. I noticed an odor in the chalked it up to perhaps something they could have been cooking. When I checked in to the condo, the odor was over powering. There were no pillows on the master room bed and the comforter had an incredible smell of body order. When you rent a unit you have an expectation that there would be appropriate bedding that at least would be clean and have pillows. With no pillows and the state of the comforter, I immediately sent an email and did not get an response until the next day. It was late at night and I had to go to walmart, and had to purchase a mattress cover, pillows and a quilt just so I could sleep. I also had to purchase plug in glade air fresheners so it would mask the odors. The carpet was dirty and spotted and over-all the unit is Very dated Part of the balcony is used for storage of beach chairs, etc. I rent a lot of condo units and this by far was the worst. I could only tolerate one night and had to leave. In essence I paid for a weeks rental for one night. I leave it up to you future renters if you ever want to take a chance on choosing this unit for your vacation. All I can say is buyer beware.

Owners response: BEWARE of this renter " Rosann Mary"

This individual visited and inspected the premises to her satisfaction before signing the contract and payment
She haggled about the price repeatedly until it was reduced to her satisfaction.
The balcony area has 3 foldable beach chairs and an umbrella provided free for the enjoyment of the renters.They occupy a small area.
Pillows were in the bedroom closet as she had been informed.
The previous week renter were highly satisfied (see review).
The unit was inspected after she left and the report issued indicates no odors on the unit or comforter.
This individual never returned the unit keys as stipulated in the contract, causing the extra expense of changing the lock.

The true reason she was dissatisfied was her need for a secure private server to perform her highly classified internet job, which I do not advertise or provide. The unit has access to public internet service for a nominal fee.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Condo!!!!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Thank you very much for letting my family rent your condo in Ocean City, MD. We had a wonderful vacation and would love to do it again next year or maybe even during the offseason if it's available. The condo was perfect for what we needed and what we were looking for! The views of the ocean were amazing and the weather could not have been any nicer while we were there! We found your condo to be very COMFORTABLE, CLEAN AND CONVENIENT to everything. The private beach was the perfect place for my 16 month old daughter to experience the sand w/ a safe place to play while my wife and I were able to enjoy food and drinks @ the tiki bar on the deck. We really enjoyed all the great restaurants and shops that were very close to the condo as well as the convenience of the grocery store just a couple blocks away.
Our favorite part of the vacation was probably hanging out on the top floor with the indoor pool and game room. There were some FUN and competitive games of ping pong and billiards being played in between the Beach Time and Crab Legs. When we were not out and about we spent much of our time just relaxing in the condo while playing cards and enjoying a coffee on the balcony overlooking the Ocean! I would definitely recommend your condo to anyone who is thinking about staying @ the beach in Ocean City, MD especially those families with kids because of all the amenities the condo has to offer! Thank you again - we had such a good time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Owner is great, Condo....not so.

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We arrived late (past midnight) and could not wait to just make our beds and go to sleep. Instead we had to clean the entire condo before we could lay our stuff anywhere in it. The first thing I noticed as I was checking out the rooms was dirty black male underwear lying next to the bed in the room (my room) with the ocean views. The bathrooms were dirty: there were splashes of toothpaste all over the faucets and mirrors. The kitchen counters had not been wiped down and some utensils had food dried up on them. The fridge was dirty, and the carpets had not been vacuumed. There was sand in the bathtub, evident that no one cleaned up after the previous guests. The showerhead was kind of broken and splashed water on the ceiling and outside the shower curtain thus wetting the bath rug. There was dust on the furniture and a large dirt spill under (but visible) the refrigerator that looked like it had been there for a while. The window in the room with street view had what appeared to be months of old dust (I have photos of all these things before we cleaned and after). I had my two small children (2.5 yrs and a 3 month old)with me and was very disgusted with the condition of the condo I was putting them in for the weekend.
I called the owner the following morning after we arrived and let her know about the dirty condition of her condo. She was surprised but understanding. She suspected that someone may have been living there without her permission, hence the mess. She said she might have to change the locks to avoid this from happening again. She gave us an option of getting the place cleaned while we were there, or refunding our cleaning charge. Since we had already cleaned the place, we settled for the refund.
In future, I would be very hesitant to rent from an owner. Had this been rented from a company, I think they would have switched us to a cleaner condo immediately and we wouldn't have had to do all that cleaning. Part of the reason we went for a condo with a cleaning fee was because we thought it would actually be clean......... it was the opposite.

Now for the positives: the ocean views were spectacular from the bedroom and the living room. The second bedroom only has a street view (not ocean/water views as seen in the photos here).

Owners response: I have taken the appropriate measures to ensure this will not happen again.

I have already changed the cleaning company and requested the new one to email me on a regular basis the condition they found the apartment. I have also changed the locks on the condo.

I am hoping that by taking these steps we will avoid EVER having this problem again!

The master bedroom has Ocean View and the second bedroom face the front of the building with a bay view.

My GOAL is to have the apartment ALWAYS in excellent condition and to have happy renters.






steps we will avoid EVER having this problem again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing view, wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We LOVED our vacation in Ocean City at the Golden Sands! The property and grounds were very clean. The deck had wonderful entertainment each night. The food and drinks were VERY REASONABLE and YUMMY!!! There were so many options for entertainment right on sight...volleyball, shuffle board, tennis, video games, pool table, just to mention a few. The fitness center on the 22 floor was wonderful. It had state of the art equipment and a view that postcard worthy. Bayside and ocean side beauty depending on the side of the gym you were enjoying! Our condo was fully equipped and very comfortable. The owner has a very helpful binder that gives information about EVERYTHING in the condo and surrounding area. The view from the balcony and master bedroom was BREATH TAKING. I loved waking each morning with the sun shining through the floor to ceiling, full wall window (my husband graciously allowed me to leave the blinds open so I could watch the sunrise each day from bed). During our stay, we had a minor concern. I contacted the owner and she replied very promptly and even checked back the next morning to be sure all was well, which it was. Because I read reviews to make my decisions when renting I will put my only disappointment, but you should know that it in no way would deter me from going back again. Very, very minor. The stairway is next to the garbage chute. They smell. For my family, this way not a problem. They are elevator people. I always walk the stairs. I walked them everyday, everytime. I would go back to the Golden Sands again in a heartbeat. The facilty was wonderful and the owner is friendly, helpful, and made sure our vacation was enjoyable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Arrival was a bit delayed because of traffic thru Delaware. Once we arrived and I went to check in the person at the desk was not as helpful as he should have been, in my opinion. During our travel, the printed paperwork was lost. When I tried to ask if he could find Elina G.'s name and apt.number and he refused. I had to pay an additional $50 to get internet access so I could find my emails (even though it would be free once I got to the apartment) Once this was all settled, we got to our rental. It was beautiful. There were a few things we noticed. The photos show 2 bedrooms, both with ocean views. This is not true. Only one has the ocean view...rather deceiving photography and disappointing - since that is really what I based my rental choice on. The cabinets are a bit dated - but all was clean and very pleasant to stay for a week. Over all....we had a great week!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Good Time for the whole Family

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We were looking to plan a last minute vacation to OCMD and this condo unit made the stay fantastic. It had all the needed like-home features. It was clean and in a great location north of the boardwalk. The outside patio for the condo had several shops including an ice cream shop that we went to a lot. Plus the Golden Sands had super fun activities for everyone. We will be coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Great condo, kid friendly and my family had a great time at the Golden Sands. I would highly recommend this condo to anybody. Looking forward to going back again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean City Condo in Golden Sands Building

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

The condo looked exactly like the picture. It was clean and comfortable. Plenty of room for the five of us. People were very friendly and the outdoor Bar and Grill was great. Very convenient to stores, etc. The only drawback is there are only so many elevators int he building so when check-in days or check-out days, you may have long wait time. We did not want to use the stairs from the 9th floor.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great for family

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

This was very nice place for a family. The apt was clean and beautiful views of the ocean. There was alot of activities provided by the golden sands on the deck, even the kids were included in all the activities. I would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable with Phenomenal View

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

This is a comfortable unit with great views. The Golden Sands building is very nice and offers amenities that make even a short visit very pleasant: indoor and outdoor pools, mini-mart, food/beverage service. There were only 2 of us, and we had plenty of room. The owners were prompt in replying, and most helpful with making a quick getaway 'happen' for us, even on short notice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review