reviews for: listing #73915 - Asheville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Secluded 3000SF LODGE/5 BR/Hot Tub/MassageChair/Kid Friendly
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $325 /nt
    $1,650 - $1,995 /wk

sort by:

A Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

If you're looking for a vacation home that is quiet and secluded, yet has easy access to every place you would want to visit in the Asheville area, Mountain Laurel Lodge is the place for you. After spending three weeks there with different family members and friends joining my husband and me during the time, I can write with confidence that the home is clean and well-maintained, is comfortable for both children and adults, has everything you need in the kitchen, as well as throughout the home, has wonderful beds and linens, and is truly a delightful place to stay. The sparkling clean hot tub was a definite plus that was enjoyed by all of our group. We loved sitting on the porches for early morning coffee or visits in the evening. The children loved being able to play outside. One day they even made fairy houses and looked each morning to see if a fairy had come. White squirrels and a cottontail rabbit played along the edge of the woods. Among our favorite area activities were rafting the French Broad River with the French Broad Rafting Company, horseback riding at Cedar Creek Ranch, taking a trolley tour of Asheville, touring the Biltmore, and spending time in both Hendersonville and Flat Rock. Carl Sandburg's home and goat farm is definitely worth seeing and having barbecue at Hubba Hubbas is a good place for lunch afterwards. In fact, all of our restaurant meals were delicious. One thing we especially liked about the Hendersonville/Flat Rock area is that we didn't feel like tourists. All of the shops were authentic. There's a great children's play place on Main Street and Fired Up Ceramics was fun, too.. Another plus for this area are the wonderful locally grown food markets. Last, if you're a gardener like I am, do not miss Raymond's Nursery in Hendersonville...outstanding,...80% of the plants are propagated there. Our visit was one where tons of memories were made. We would love to come again and would definitely choose Mountain Laurel Lodge as our home away from home. Dianne Mapp, June 17, 2014

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful fit for our extended family!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We had a group of 14 stay here at Mountain Laurel Lodge. Ages ranged from mid-sixties to 4 months old. The house was large enough that we could each retreat into our own corners or mix & mingle in the main living areas. The kids enjoyed the toys & hanging out in the master suite's living area watching movies. The main bedrooms all being on the entry level was nice especially since one member of our party has knee trouble and can't easily climb stairs. Beautiful decor, very clean and welcoming!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time at this beautiful lodge!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

Mountain Laurel Lodge has everything a family needs to have a wonderful time. We were so impressed with all the fun games, movies, books and toys for our children. The outdoor play area and the fire pit were huge hits with the kids. The massage chair was so inviting. The adults and children wanted to sit in it all the time. The hot tub was a wonderful treat. We had a full house with three families but we never felt crowded. We were able to cook every meal in the large kitchen. We had the best time!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable, family-friendly mountain home

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Three generations of our family spent a delightful summer week at Mountain Laurel Lodge. We found it absolutely as advertised, with all the comforts we could have wanted--well stocked kitchen, cozy furnishings, lovely porches ,grill, hot tub, and fire pit, everything needed for children of all ages, and so many games and videos that we wouldn't even have minded a rainy day. The location offered many wonderful activities--exploring forests and waterfalls, enjoying restaurants and shopping in Hendersonville and asheville, the Biltmore home and gardens, brewery tours and tastings, mini-golf, to name a few. Literature on these was thoughtfully provided, as well as directions to grocery stores and other necessities. In fact, every need seemed to have been anticipated, making this a delightful stay for all.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 STARS! Very comfortable!

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Laurel Lodge for our annual family reunion. There were 10 of us and we spent a great deal of time in the home due to some rainy weather but felt so comfortable and at home. All our needs were taken care of by this well stocked rental with private spaces for everyone. We loved the secluded setting in the trees yet were so close to all the activities of the area. The large porch areas provided nice ourdoor time surrounded by the green of the trees and the sound of birds. Very relaxing! The kids had a blast with their own upstairs play area yet the open floor plan allowed us to still feel connected to them. We couldn't have been happier with this vacation home and highly recommend it for families and large groups.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Home & Great for Kids!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

We (7 adults + 2 infants) stayed at the lodge for a week. The home was clean and very well prepared for families with children. The owner pays great attention to detail (e.g., decorations, kitchen supplies, baby equipment, even an Ingles grocery card in the welcome/info book!). We used 2 highchairs, 1 crib, 1 portacrib, and 2 strollers. The location was secluded and quiet, but close enough to shops, grocery stores, restaurants, etc. that we could venture out easily with the children. Check in/check out was easy and simple. We would definitely consider renting this house or another house from Stephanie in the future.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would happily do it all over again!

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Our family spent Christmas week, 2012 at Mountain Laurel. Our drive up had been gloomy with heavy rain, but when we pulled onto the driveway at Mountain Laurel we found the house glowing with light, decorations, and even a Christmas tree. The home is spacious and inviting, with comfortable sofas and chairs. Stephanie has thought of everything. Throws to cuddle in, tissues, paper and pencil, games of all sorts, lots of televisions, and these beautiful night lights everywhere. The appliances are top of the line, and even an extra refrigerator in the garage. The kitchen is well equipped, and a wonderful large table that seats ten. Connecting decks surround the house. There is an exceptional master suite which we could retreat to for respite or privacy whenever we wanted to. The beds are very comfortable with good quality mattresses and bedding. The home is extremely warm, with a thermostat you can adjust to satisfy your needs. The drive is on the same level as the entry to the home, which is convenient for carrying in groceries and luggage. Three bedrooms on the ground level is especially nice for anyone who may have some mobility issues.

We found the location to be quite desirable. It is a short drive to downtown Old Town in Hendersonville which is completely charming. They have been working on their street scapes and have done an amazing job. There are restaurants, lovely shops and many places to pause, sit and enjoy a cup of coffee. McFarland's Bakery is a must. Their cinnamon buns are reminiscent of my mother in law's. Black Mountain and asheville are easily reached.

We have rented homes in North Carolina, the Bahamas,and villas in Italy. Even a castle once. All my grown children and 2 college age grand daughters loved Mountain Laurel. We found it to be welcoming and accommodating. All our needs were met, and we would happily return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home near Asheville!!!

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

12 of us stayed at the Mountain Laurel Lodge before Christmas- what a beautiful house for a family get-away! Large master with huge bathroom and sitting area, huge den and dining room, 2 more bedrooms on the main level and 2 bedrooms upstairs. It was too cool to enjoy the wraparound front porch, so we spent a lot of time in the hot tub and fire pit. Plenty of parking, and great proximity to asheville- if you're looking for a 5 bedroom house (with even more sleeping possibilities), look no further. Very well appointed- you won't be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Laurel Lodge is a charming getaway for all ages!

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

Our family enjoyed Mountain Laurel Lodge very much. It was spacious so all of us could spread out and the various age grandchildren could "hang out" together. The ambience was cozy in spite of the roominess of the house. The Lodge's hot tub and fire pit were a great hit with the teens, tweens and everyone. The well stocked kitchen with more than enough matching dishes, glasses, wine glasses, pots, pans contributed mightily to our lovely and delicious Thanksgiving dinner. There was even a variety of spices! Thank you for your hospitality and always being available for questions when we called.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond our Hopes!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

We booked this home because of the "children friendly" description. We were wrong--It was far beyond what we hoped it would be! There is not one detail overlooked to make this beautiful and extremely comfortable for both big and little people. We had 6 adults and 5 children (ages 6 to 9 months) and all of us had a wonderful time. The kids loved the playground and playroom, the adults loved the hot tub, entertainment equipment, and enough comfortable bedrooms that they did not have to share with their kids. The kitchen had everything one would want. By the way, the white squirrels really do exist and are exciting to spot. Like us, you will not be disappointed with beautiful Mountain Laurel Lodge.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, great location, great for those with kids!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

We stayed at Mountain Laurel Lodge for 5 days - the weather was absolutely perfect and it was a great time of year to visit the Asheville area. The house was really great - there are two master suites downstairs on either side of the main living area, and another bedroom beyond the kitchen. The rest of the bedrooms are upstairs. There were two couples and three kids, so the adults took the lower floor and the kids were upstairs. The house has lots of things for kids (playground, high chairs, strollers, cribs, infant bathtub, etc). And the kitchen has lots of things not normally stocked in a rental home (spices, sandwich bags, etc). It felt like we were renting someone's home instead of someone's vacation house, which was really nice. House was very clean.

The location of the house is great - it is about 20 mins from Asheville, 10 minutes from Henderson, and 10 minutes from the BRP. We were down there for a vet conference as well as to mountain bike, and the house is pretty close to the Pisgah / Black Mountain area, as well as Dupont State Forest. Hundreds of miles of trails within 20 minutes of the house.

Couldn't have asked for a better trip - wouldn't hesitate to stay at Mountain Laurel Lodge again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for large group!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this leafy retreat. Beautiful large trees surround property. The kitchen has it all (even though we barely had time to cook). The location is great with easy access to Asheville and Hendersonville and attractions. Our two granddaughters loved the kid's room. Tons of T.V.'s.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was a home that satisfied every age group!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

we all returned home safely with fond memories of our visit to asheville & hendersonville area.
the location of the lodge enable us to appreciate the many activities in the area. sliding rock was a big hit, looking glass falls on our return trip, golf, bowling and other activities.
we were impressed with the lodge. everything you possibly need was available. the message chair and the hot tub were very popular, also the front and back deck area. we would gather there, in the evening, for a drink or two. it was great fun.
the fireworks, for the 4th of july, were spectacular and our overall experience of the festivities was great.
i could go on forever, but the conclusion was that because of all the emenities and the comfort that the lodge offered, made our visit very enjoyable.
thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was the perfect home & everyone was happy!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at your beautiful home in it's beautiful location. The home is tucked away at the end of the street with trees and hills surrounding it. A walk down the long driveway takes you to a very quiet neighborhood. A short drive through this neighborhood takes you to a main road that allows you to get easily to Asheville, Hendersonville or Brevard.

We are a family with 7 adults and one 6 month old. Everyone was happy. The home was fully equipped - games, movies, every kitchen gadget and tool that we needed. The baby had everything she needed - stroller, highchair, bath. And much more! I specifically enjoyed watching the birds build a nest in the wreath that is outside on another deck. I had never seen a white squirrel before this trip, either. We would definitely return to this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

just got back from our stay at Lodge. It was GREAT!!! the massage chair was wonderful, we were fighting to see who got it next.(just kidding) No snow but we still had a blast.Will definatly consider going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great kid friendly vacation house!"

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

I just got back from a fantastic stay at the Mountain Laurel Lodge and I can't say enough what a wonderful time we had. The house is perfect for families or groups with children to get away, as it comes equipped with plenty of toys, games, and supplies (baby gates, high chair, etc.). With the luxurious beds, hot tub, and full kitchen, the house is also great for adults. Can't wait to stay there again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Many Thanks for Four Wonderful Days..."

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

We just got back from a magical four-day reunion of three army buddies who used to be lieutenants and roommates in Heidelberg, Germany...44 years ago!! Our wives have accompanied us on our last four get-togethers and pretend to listen to our war stories while they plot their next shopping trip... Mountain Laurel Lodge is fabulous, and lives up to every expectation. It is well appointed, spacious, and well supplied with cookware and tableware to handle just about any crowd. We had a fabulous time there!! We purposely came to ashville in December to tour the Biltmore Mansion, which was spectacularly decorated, just as we expected. About the only drawback we guys could see was the shoe store less than two miles away on Route 25...couldn't miss it, and the girls sure were delighted!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Girls Getaway"

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

We booked this home for a 40th birthday girls weekend. It was spectacular. The home is beautiful and spacious and was far more economical that getting 3 or 4 hotel rooms. We enjoyed the hot tub every evening and took advantage of purchasing tickets for the Biltmore estate from the owners. That in itself was a great deal - we got 2 days for the price of one including the wine tasting! Stephanie was amazing. We had an emergency our last day there and we called her at 5am to find the nearest hospital. She was incredibly sweet helping us out even though we called at such an ungodly hour. We are all talking about coming back with our families. We didn't bring kids this trip, but the kid room is super cute and I know my kids would love it! I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the asheville area!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Relax and Enjoy!"

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

My sister and our two sisters-in-law started an annual "sisters" trip last year. For our second trip we decided on asheville. After reviewing many properties in the asheville area, we chose Mountain Laurel Lodge. The house was great! Very spacious; we each has our own bedroom- so much better than sharing two hotel rooms. The house was in a beautiful wooded setting. We loved getting up (late) each morning and drinking our coffee out on the back porch, listening to all kinds of nature sounds. Some evenings we relaxed with wine and cheese on the front porch. The house was well equipped with paper products, kitchen ware (including 2 coffee pots), plenty of towels, Dvd's, Tv's in every room, books and games. Overall it was a very comfortable and relaxing experience. It was 20 minutes to Asheville and once we discovered downtown Hendersonville just down the road, we were quite pleased to spend more time there than we had planned.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

My son's wedding at The Biltmore---------------a horse drawn carriage delivering a beautiful bride, a spectacular fireworks show, an awesome band, dancing the night away and going home to Mountain Laurel Lodge-------------perfect. Mountain Laurel Lodge is spacious with wonderful beds, linens, and towels. The kitchen has top of the line appliances, dishes,spices, and cooking utensils, which made entertaining out of state guests with a wedding morning brunch easy. The babies were easy to accomodate with a crib, pack and play, bathtub, gates, playroom with toys, and playground. The TV made watching our prewedding college football game great. (our favorite team won just to enhance our big day!) Stephanie thought of everything, even flashlights! And of course, the hot tub and wine in this private setting added to our enjoyment!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

Our son's wedding at The Biltmore, a beautiful bride arriving in a horse drawn carriage, a spectacular fireworks show, an awesome band, dancing the night away with good friends and family, and going home to Mountain Laurel Lodge was perfect! Mountain Laurel Lodge is spacious with many extras, such as great beds, linens, and towels. The kitchen was stocked with spices, dishes, and pans. Hosting a wedding morning brunch for out of state relatives was easy due to the cookware, dishes, and appliances. The preschoolers were happy with the playground and playroom. Thanks for the baby essientails, such as bathtub, highchair, crib, pack & play, and gates, and of course toys and games. The TV was nice, too, for the Saturday college football game before the wedding. And our favorite team won to help celebrate our special day! And of course, the hot tub and wine made for a perfect ending. Thanks, Stephanie, for thinking of everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Mountain getaway with the kids"

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

After a full day of touring Biltmore or rafting or caving or tubing or mining we would ask the kids what they wanted to do and they always said "Go Home!" That is what Mountian Laurel Lodge truely felt to us, like home. Everything we needed was there, from toys and games to entertain the kids to wine glasses and the wonderful hottub. The house was so spatious we never felt cramped. There was plenty of towels, dishes and all the little extra's that came in so handy. Like spices, tuperware containers, the ice maker and sandwich bags for our picnic lunches. The interior was decorated so beautifuly, I picked up a few ideas to use in my own home. My favorite thing was having coffee every morning on the porch in a comfy wicker chair listening to the nature all around. Thanks for the memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

"Priceless Memories in asheville!"
I would enthusiastically recommend this home to anyone looking for a vacation home in asheville. The kitchen had everything we needed from spices to every appliance you would need. The beds were sooo comfortable and the bedrooms were situated so that everyone had separate sleeping quarters. We enjoyed all of the books, travel information and Dvd's. The hot tub was very clean and appreciated the kit provided with the instructions to ensure the tub was ready for use. The flower gardens, albino squirrels, porches and outdoor play areas for my grandchildren were very enjoyable! One of the best things we discovered was a walking trail next to the neighbor on the right- we climbed the trail daily and the view from the top of the mountain was spectacular! We never had to go to the Blue Ridge Parkway to hike. My granddaughters loved the books, stuffed animals, and all of the beds in the playroom. The upper level air hockey game became a daily competition between my granddaughter and grandpa. We also enjoyed the games provided- twister and scrabble especially. We all had an amazing stay with priceless memories at a very comfortable home. Thank you for sharing your lovely home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

The house was incredible. There were 6 of us in the party and at no time did we feel like we were cramped or in each other's way. All the rooms were very comfortable and the house was clean. The refrigerator was large enough to hold enough food for six grown men. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need for each of your meals. The family room is large and comfortable with a great entertainment system and the instructions on how to use everything was easy to understand. The best part of the room was the massage chair, which got plenty of use after our day of white water rafting. The house was set back enough to give us total privacy and there is enough room to play a full game of Frisbee golf. The hot tub was a perfect way to relax and made the house that much better. It took us only 20 minutes to get to asheville and the local grocery store was ten minutes away with more shopping not much further away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I took my four grown kids and my four grandchildren to stay for a week at Mountain Laurel Lodge. The house was awesome and had everything a person would need. The play room for the kids kept them busy the entire time. Robert and Stephanie were great host and were on top of everything. We had a little trouble with the internet when we first got there but Robert took care of it immediately. Thanks Robert. All of really enjoyed watching the white squirrels in the yard and the scenery was beautiful. I would recommend this house to anyone for their vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

My girlfriend and I took my four grown kids and my four grandchildren to stay for a week at Mountain Laurel Lodge. The house was awesome and had everything a person would need. The play room for the kids kept them busy the entire time. Robert and Stephanie were great host and were on top of everything. We had a little trouble with the internet when we first got there but Robert took care of it immediately. Thanks Robert. All of really enjoyed watching the white squirrels in the yard and the scenery was beautiful. I would recommend this house to anyone for their vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

We are a bunch of old skiers that decided to replace the ski trip with a trip to Asheville this year. This was a perfect place for a reunion. Enjoyed drinks and views on the deck, soaking in the hot tub and watching March Madness on the big screen. We are also mountain bikers and there is no better challenge than climbing the 500' back up to the house after a bike trip to the valley.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I took my four grown kids and my four grandchildren to stay for a week at Mountain Laurel Lodge. The house was awesome and had every thing a person would need. The play room for the kids kept them busy the entire time. Robert and Stephanie were great hosts and were on top of everything. We had a little trouble with the internet when we first got there but Robert took care of it immediately. Thanks Robert. All of us really enjoyed watching the white squirrels in the yard and the scenery was beautiful. I would recommend this house to anyone for their vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

I found the house to be well appointed, everything you needed was there. The playroom upstairs for the children was absolutely great… I felt it was almost sound proof; they thoroughly enjoyed their time up there, it was 2 boys and 3 girls. They had so much fun, they really weren't a problem. I felt very much at home there, the beds were comfy. I took a walk when my husband came and we visited Biltmore and malls while I was there. I would definitely come again! The appliances were the best, my daughter loved the vacuum, and my niece loved the washer & dryer, we really enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

We had a wonderful time! House has everything you could possibly need. Very comfortable and pretty. Short ride to anything you want to do. Thank you Stephanie and Robert. They always answer when you call.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

My husband and I treat our three adult sons and their wives and our granddaughter to a long week-end get-away for the holidays. We chose Mountain Laurel Lodge this year and we could not have been more pleased. When we arrived it had a lit Christmas tree waiting for us in the beautiful living room. It even snowed for us (but lightly so we were still able to drive into Asheville. My 2 1/2 year old granddaughter enjoyed the Christmas Parade in Hendersonville and loved the playroom in the Lodge. I would love to come back when it is warm enough to enjoy the outside porches, swing sets, hot tub and just walking around the beautiful yard. We picked the coldest week-end yet so the warm and cozy house was what we enjoyed the most. I would definitely recommed to anyone wanting a spacious place to stay with hosts who have thought of EVERYTHING to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Thanks Stephanie and Robert!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

Three female descendents of the Georgia Carter Clan and our 3 lovely daughters came to this lovely home for a sister/daughter retreat (plus your adopted sister, Karen). The home is beautiful and the interior decorating awesome! We visited the Biltmore, went out to eat, did a little shipping, but for the most part we stayed here, enjoyed the home and the mountains. I loved sitting on the porch listening to God’s voice whispering through the trees and enjoying the smell of the mountain air. God bless you, Stephanie and Robert, for making it possible for us to enjoy the peace and serenity we found here.

We picked the perfect venue and cabin. The Lodge is absolutely beautiful! The spaciousness of each room and the impeccable taste in interior decorations only added to our wonderful stay. I particularly enjoyed the pieces of art and was delighted each time I spotted a piece I had not previously observed. The lodge extended a warm from the moment we entered the door. We even took our family pictures inside and outside the lodge, the setting always proved to add a special touch to our priceless photos. Thank you Stephanie and Robert for making sure we were able to "spoil" ourselves. I've never before stayed in a place where the owners showed such concern for my comfort; i.e. "call us when you arrive", and the follow-up call the day we left! Thank you again for helping us to have such luxurious accommodations while we made some special and warm memories.

- Starr & daughter Tori; Neal & daughter Angie & granddaughter Jade; Holly & daughter Claudia; Karen the sister we’ve made our own.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

We stayed at the Lodge with our niece and her family. We had a wonderful time and found the house to have all things needed and more! The kids particularly enjoyed the upstairs playroom. We could relax and have meals together and enjoyed the porch for coffee in the morning and drinks in the evening.
We would highly recommend this home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

The house was wonderful & in a beautiful setting! Very well-equipped for a fun family gathering including children. They loved the air hockey and foosball tables and the swingset was a hit! The kitchen was great for cooking and the deck was perfect for lounging and hot-tubbing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

Your Mountain Laurel Lodge was the perfect spot for our 40th Anniversary family get together. The setting is peaceful and quiet. The open plan of the house lends itself to a family gathering. The whole house is very well equipped. We loved the message chair, the hot tub, air hockey, the comfy beds, the great porches, and the dining room table big enough to fit a whole family. We appreciated all the baby equipment also, it made traveling much easier. The Mountain Laurel Lodge is a wonderful retreat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Asheville Area Retreat!

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

We just got back from a wonderful stay at this property and I would recommend it highly. The home is gorgeous and well-stocked with entertaining activities from HD TV, a cabinet of DVDs, an air hockey table, and even "old school" board games! Fun for the whole family. My husband and children particularly loved the massage chair, located in the living room. I would recommend this property for parents with older children/teens, couples and retirees. Home is only 20 minutes from the Biltmore Estate and we recommend a visit. In summary - our 10 yr old, walked in, examined the house for a while, saw the "kids suite" he'd be sleeping in, saw all of the fun activities and announced "Best House Ever!" ha ha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Comment from our in home Guest Book:

The Fields family, Phoenix AZ May 9 – 16, 2010

This is our first time to Western North Carolina and now we want to move here! The beauty of the mountains and greenery everywhere was refreshing and life-giving! Wow! What a wonderful setting your home is in....so quiet and private. Our stay could not have been better! Anything we needed was there and the furnishings and interior design was exceptional. We’ve traveled extensive and stayed at many vacation homes and this is the best home by far!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Sue & Justin – Atlanta, GA May 1 – 8, 2010

As with all your homes that we’ve stayed at over the years, your new Mountain Laurel Lodge meets all we had hoped for and more! That’s saying a lot since your homes excel with super comfort, gorgeous furnishings, plenty to entertain both adults and kids. This time we came with 3 other couples for a week of relaxation and golf. It was great to come home to the hot tub, massage chair and extremely comfortable beds! Great kitchen…so well stocked with everything my husband, the gourmet chef, needs for cooking for us. That’s another reason we stay at your homes!

Our blessings to you, Robert and Stephanie. Thanks for being such gracious hosts and taking care of our every need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

The Sampson Family – FL, NY & SC April 10 – 17, 2010

Your Laurel Lodge was a fabulous place for our family reunion! I love the photos on your website, but they did not begin to do justice to how really spectacular this home is and in such a lush, peaceful setting! Thank you so much for allowing us to be one of your firsts guests here. There was plenty room for all of us, the bedrooms being so separately spaced gave us the privacy we needed and the kids loved their playroom and outdoor playground. Even though the lodge is very private, it was still very close to all the area activities we enjoyed….the Biltmore House, the Blueridge Parkway, Chimney Rock, and we even explored the trails behind the lodge.

You certainly thought of every little thing we could possibly need and then some! Loved the plush beds, the massage chair, hot tub, the covered decks for great lounging & visiting. Good job! We’ll definitely reserve the home for this fall to see the leaf colors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

We are a group of 12 women who travel twice a year to different spots and Asheville was our destination this time. We found Laurel Lodge to be everything it was described to be and more. The location was perfect and beautiful. The house easily held all of us. Six slept on the 2nd level and 6 slept on the first level. We sometimes cooked and sometimes ate out. The kitchen had everything we needed. The linens were luxurious. The porches were wonderful and so was the hot tub. There were many movies, games, and a game system to choose from. We will be going back sometime again. Loved it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

We are a group of 12 women who travel twice a year to different spots and Asheville was our destination this time. We found Laurel Lodge to be everything it was described to be. The location was perfect and beautiful. The house easily held all of us. Six slept on the 2nd level and 6 slept on the first level. We sometimes cooked and sometimes ate out. The kitchen had everything we needed. The linens were luxurious. The porches were wonderful and so was the hot tub. There were many movies, games, and a game system to choose from. We will be going back sometime again. Loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review