reviews for: listing #73918 - Seattle, Washington Condo rental

2 Bedroom Water View Oasis
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Belltown
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $295 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,850 /wk
    $3,700 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

terrible disappointment especially at the cost. we left after 4 days!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

i have rented from vrbo for many years and i have never been so DISAPPOINTED. the condo at the 'oasis' was excruciatingly small and was situated directly over the garage entrance and exit which had an open framework metal door that made terrible noises as it went up and down, all hours of the day and night. also the garbage dumpster was at the garage entrance. trucks, buses and cars constantly drove the street directly in front of the unit. the continuous noise level was intolerable. the weather was 94 degrees and the owner's had made only a feeble attempt to provide renters with some reprieve from the heat. the only air conditioning was a rather large, rectangular machine that sat on the floor and had a huge hose which 'snaked' out the dining area window and took up half the teeny 'dining area.' the air coming from it cooled about 1 square foot of space. when we tried to sleep at night we opened the windows but, once again, the noise and filth from cars and trucks and buses below us was ghastly. the unit's bedroom windows and living/dining windows looked directly (about 8 feet) into other apartments. there was NO privacy whatsoever. also, i was charged an extra $100 for a 'parking card' which i had left (as directed) in a basket on the kitchen counter. please note, the parking spaces were so tiny that putting a small suv in the space was a herculean task. one evening we sat in the unit's little enclosed 'park' area (surrounded on four sides by the condo) and there was a couple fornicating on the balcony of their apartment in full view of us. we complained to several people but the damage was done. last but not least, the furniture was old and very cheap and the couch was in terrible shape. after four nights without sleep we decided to forfeit our $ and leave. all in all, this special time of our vacation was totally ruined by the awful smells, a teeny view of the sound (when that was one of the big perks offered), the really tacky furntiure, the constant loud noise and the lack of respect for guests by others.

Owners response: Future Guests,

While we are sorry that this guest was not satisfied, we encourage you to take a look at all of our other 5 star reviews for this property. We take pride in providing a great vacation rental experience for all of our guests, and when given the opportunity, fix any issues.

This guest stayed 5 of the 6 nights they were scheduled to stay, and didn't say anything about dissatisfaction they had with us until the morning of their departure. We encourage all of our guests to contact us if something is not to their standards when we check them in. To facilitate this, the number to reach us is posted on the back of the entry door, in our unit binders, and in our welcome basket. In addition, my personal business card is in all of our condos.

To address some of this guest’s concerns, our condo is 710 square feet, and that information, as well as pictures of the views, including even the chair that sits in front of the window, are included in the property description for a frame of reference. It is unfortunate that the guest either did not see this, or did not know how much room 710 square feet is. Many find the view spectacular from this unit, as mentioned in previous reviews.

This condo is a corner unit and sits on the sixth floor of a seven floor building facing Wall Street. There is an alley which sits on the side of this condo. Garbage trucks do travel the alley, however there is no bus traffic on either Wall or the alley. Trucks or cars accessing the condo building do use this alley, 50+ feet below the windows to this unit.

Guests who have stayed in this exact condo later hired us to design their own condo. While everyone has different home décor tastes, our designer has also been hired by competing Vacation Rental management companies due to her great style and ability to find great quality furnishings that stand the test of time. Everything in this condo was purchased in the summer of 2008, so just four years old when this guest stayed.

Lastly, this guest unfortunately did not leave the parking pass in the condo on check out. She declined to try to track it down, and we are charged by the HOA every time a key, entry fob, or parking pass goes missing. This guest initially claimed that they did not use it, and when we reminded the guest we gave it to them at check in so they could park their car in the garage, they recanted their story, claiming they left it in the condo.

We look forward to hosting you.

Helpful votes: 5 / 11

 

Amazing Place, and Awesome Views

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We spent a week at this terrific condo just last week, and were thoughly impressed with everything. Easy to find, easy to collect keys, and get settled. Condo has everything you need, including full kitchen if you wish to make your own meals. Beds are comfy, and the entire place is very clean. Location is amazing, as everything is so handy to walk to....like Pike Place Market, Seattle warterfront, Seattle Space Needle, Ball Park, Football Stadium and tons of great dining places. We loved Macrina bakery on the ground floor of this unit. Handy to pick up a morning treat to enjoy with your morning tea or coffee, and enjoy the spectacular views of Puget Sound. We will be back !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Macrina may be my favorite features of this building! The location is excellent if you would like to explore Seattle sans car. Thanks for the kind words, and its so good to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great location!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Our family had a wonderful stay! What a great location and a short walking distance to everything! The condo was very clean and really felt like home away from home. Dont miss the 3rd floor courtyard in between buildings and Macrina Bakery! We will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Andrea,

You are right, we are lucky to have that beautiful courtyard on the third floor. Its actually won awards! Its great as it constantly changes so every time I walk through its a new experience. And Macrina, as well as all the restaurants on the first floor of the building are great. We are truly lucky to have such great Commercial tenants! Let us know when you are back in town, happy to host again!

Darik and Sally
The Urban Oasis
"Redefining Accommodations"

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Little getaway

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Couldn't have asked for a cleaner condo, great price, and even better location. When in Seattle, I will stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susie --

Thanks for staying with us! We do pride ourselves on offering great places, and have extremely high cleanliness standards. Thanks for staying, and let us know next time you are in town, we'd love to host you again!

Sally and Darik
The Urban Oasis
"Redefining Accommodations"

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Exceptional in every way!

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

This place had everything - location, view, an outdoor patio/grilling area atop the sister condo building, an impressive exercise facility, pool/spa. We travel extensively for business and pleasure and this VRBO condo was one of the very best. In fact, it was so pleasant that we regretted that we didn't leave enough time to simply hang around the condo. Owner met us in front of the building and answered every question we had. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words! We are extremely lucky with all the great amenities our building has. We also work hard to try and provide the very best in accommodations not only amongst Vacation Rentals, but accommodations of all types. This is why our motto is "Redefining Accommodations" as we strive to be the very best.

Just so you know both buildings have rooftop grill decks, however I always point out the one acrross the Terrace as that one has the spectacular view. If Sally and I ever move to that building, I'll grill every night thanks to that view!

Thanks for staying, we look forward to hosting you again,

Sally and Darik
The Urban Oasis
"Redefining Accommodations"

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

The Urban Oasis condo rental 7/8/10 to 7/17/10

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) stayed at this condo and loved it! The description provided on VRBO accurately described the condo. It was centrally located in Belltown and allowed us easy access to all areas of interest within the city. We did not need to rent a car as most points of interest are within walking distance or have access points near public transportation. The condo is well supplied with normal everyday supplies (paper products, shampoo & conditioner, dishwashing and laundry detergents). Darik, Sally, and their staff were very friendly and quickly took care of any problems/needs that we encountered. Also, the tenants of the condo were very warm and helpful. Lastly, the kids loved the pool which was refreshing after sightseeing all day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stephanie --

Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad you were able to take full advantage of our condos great location, as well as amenities. Please let us know next time you are in town, look forward to hosting you again!

Darik & Sally

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

My family had a great time during our stay. The condo was well stocked with just about everything one could need. We really enjoyed the view of the Sound and the mountains (when the weather is clear). And the location was perfect ... within walking distance of all the major sights. It was fun to feel like we were residents of Seattle rather than just visitors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chad, I'm glad you and your family had a great time. Please let us know next time you come into town, we'd love to host you again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect Seattle home-away-from-home

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My son wanted to try Seattle urban living during his school spring break and chose this condo because of its water view. (We didn't realize that on a clear day, it also has an Olympic Peninsula mountain view.) The view and all other aspects of the condo did not disappoint us. Its location is perfect walking distance to downtown Seattle attractions including the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, Olympic Waterfront Park, Westlake Shopping Center, the ferry landing (a trip to Bainbridge Island is a must), and more. We did rent a car and were glad we had the secure garage so we didn't have to worry about parking. Getting on and off the interstate was easy so when we did venture out, we had no problems getting places. There are restaurants galore in the neighborhood, although we chose to eat in quite a bit -- I can't think of anything we wished the kitchen had that it didn't. We have stayed in hotels in Seattle before but now I can't imagine going back to the city and staying any place else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

Our family vacations every year during the week of Christmas, typically using VRBO to locate great accommodations. This year we were pleasantly surprised with a week of snow in Seattle and delighted by our stay at the Urban Oasis. This is a great launching pad for everything Seattle has to offer. The Space Needle, Pike's Place Market, all Tom Douglas restaurants (Lola was so good that we ate there two nights) and the Whole Foods, for any meals in, were all within walking distance. The Urban Oasis is tastefully decorate and well appointed; linens and kitchen. We will stay again in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 5, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment in July 2008 and had a fantastic time. Darik and Sally are offering a beautifully designed place to stay which we would highly recommend to anyone visiting Seattle. The beds were extremely comfortable; two great sized TVs with cable and dvd and the newly fitted kitchen had every mod-con you could want. We wished we could transport the whole apartment back to the UK!. It is very light with lovely views of the water and the ferries. We made use of the excellent gym and swimming pool and the outdoor courtyard. The apartment is on the sixth floor with lift access and the building has a great range of restaurants, cafes (make sure you have some bread/pastry from there!) and Cyclops across the street, is a great place for brunch. All of Seattles main attractions are in easy walking distance. Belltown is perfectly situated between downtown and the Seattle Centre/Space Needle. We were in email contact with Darik before booking and he was most helpful and made the process very smooth. We didn't get to meet because we arrived late at night but everything was in place for us to collect our key and let ourselves in. We hope to return one day.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review