reviews for: listing #73984 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

its sold
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $200 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Family getaway

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Wonderful! Family coming in from north and south, so this was a perfect meeting place. So much to do in Pigeon Forge, gatlinburg and even a day trip to Cherokee and of course the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. We were down the mountain daily, but the cabin is spacious enough that the 8 of us could've easily lounged there comfortably. We put the porch to good use almost every night and had a raccoon visit after dinner one evening. We were disappointed that we hadn't seen a bear, but on the last morning my dad and sister were run back inside because a bear cub decided to nose around on the porch! Anything we called Kevin about he was very helpful, even allowing us to access the cabin earlier! Would definitely recommend this as a rental for families! The drive up and down the mountain was beautiful, but took about 10 minutes each way. Already talking about the next time we come up for vacation, thinking it would be beautiful in the fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Christi, I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin. It definitely lets you unwind and relax so you can recharge your batteries. Do call on me for a fall vacation. I'll tell you the best week for colors and return guests always get a discounted price! I'm so glad you finally got to see my bear.That's always a highlight to see one so close! Talk to you soon - Kevin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best deal in Gatlinburg!

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

After 20 years of coming to the mountains, we have finally found the cabin that truly meets our needs. Everything was perfect. The cabin was clean and the home theater was just an added bonus. Also, the price can't be beat.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Carl, I really appreciate the compliments. See you next year! - Kevin

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Smoky Mountain Cabin

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Kevin's cabin was perfect for a week's stay in the Smokies. It was clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed. Kevin was available by phone if there were any problems (which there really weren't except for the bears getting into the trash one time). The bears came around the cabin on 3 or 4 different days...there was a mother bear with two cubs and a grown, but young looking bear who came separately. Also, a raccoon came up on the deck one day and hung out for awhile. They were all fun to watch from a safe distance inside the cabin. We went rafting on the Little Pigeon River and we drove to Cherokee to the casino one day. The rest of the time we spent hanging around the cabin and just relaxing. The weather was perfect the whole week, cool and pleasant enough to sit on the deck and take it easy. I would recommend this property to anyone going to the Gatlinburg area. It was close enough to town to go and walk around, have dinner, etc.; yet, the cabin felt very secluded and private. It was a great week in general and we will go back the next time we get a chance. Kevin, thanks so much for letting us use your cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Pigeon River has some great white water rafting trips and the guides really make it enjoyable. Next time you'll have to go ziplining. It's as much a thrill as the rafting. Glad to have met you and hope to see you next year. Thanks, Kevin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Cabin

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We just left the "Smoky Mountain Diamond" and had a fantastic time. For the first time in 7 years we finally were able to see a mother black bear and her 2 cubs! The baby cub came back a few times in the early evening for a sneak attack while we were sitting on the front porch! The cabin was absolutely terrific in a great location. Their is a great movie collection, and no issues with running 3 laptops at the same time! Kevin thank you for allowing us to stay in your cabin and we hope to come back again in 2013!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That's too funny about the little sneak attacks!The cubs are adorable for sure. I'm looking forward to seeing you next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation, loved the cabin!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The cabin is beautiful and very comfortable. We used the pool table every night. There is so much to see and do, we could not do it all during our stay. We would definitely rent this cabin again and the owners are very nice and helpful. Our only disappointment was we didn't see the bear while we were there, hopefully next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So sorry Linda,about the bears! I usually predict their arrival within minutes!! This just means you'll have to return. Remember you get a larger discount for returning guests.Thanks for taking care of my home - Kevin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at your cabin. It was peaceful and quite and sitting on the porch when it rained was the best. We used the hot tub which was great and the jacuzzi tub was awesome. We played some pool and some video games and enjoyed the surround sound very much. Even our pet enjoyed the stairs even though he couldn't figure out. If you went downstairs he would go and look at the stairs that went up...We tripped into town everyday and enjoyed returning home and relaxing. I would tell anyone we know to stay at this cabin. You and your wife were very helpful and pleasant when we called. Thanks again for the Awesome cabin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chris, I'm glad you enjoyed it, and you have a laid back puppy! He looked so small in the huge cage,but he's not. Glad he was friendly and thanks for keeping him crated when you were out.You can rent my cabin anytime! It was nice meeting you and your family and 1 soon to come! Hope everything will be fine.FYI I sent your stuff out today (16th). Don't worry about the cost. It's on me- Kevin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beware Of BEDBUGS!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We rented this cabin for spring break. It was a beautiful cabin, but the beauty of the cabin did not make up for the fact that the main bedroom in the cabin is infested with bedbugs. Not just a few,but many, many bedbugs, adult and babies. My poor father slept in the bed the first night and was awake most the night feeling like his skin was crawling. In the morning there were blood spots and actual bug. Small little white babies and full size adult bugs that were a redish brown/black. I told Kevin about the problem. He apologized and came over washed the bedding and then told us that it was just fleas!! So my husband and I switched beds with my father. Same thing blood stains on the sheets. I also had my baby's playpen in that room and she even ended up with bites. Although Kevin seemed like a nice guy. Our trip to this cabin left me horrified. I'm still going crazy trying to clean and get rid of the ones we brought home with us. Let alone the embarrassing itchy bites all over my father,daughter,husband and myself. No matter how many times you wash the sheets it will not get rid of the problem. I have spent hundreds of dollars on mattress covers, bed bug sprays, steaming, washing, anti-itch creams.And all of the stress to go along with it. We loved Tennessee, the Pancake pantry, Tucaleechee caverns, waterfalls, and Wonderworks, but bringing home BEDBUGS was not worth this cabin!!! I think Kevin already knew of this problem and was just trying to cover it up!!!

Owners response: I gave the renter 3 weeks to give me any bills from their apparent Dr visits, the reports from the health dep't or anything else they stated they spent, so I can make sure she was compensated for any issues. In fact, not until their 4th night staying in the cabin did they said their father might have some bites.Now my cabin is in the woods in the mountains, they have been hiking in the woods to the waterfalls as they have stated in their report.This time of year,in the woods,chiggers will bite your feet as many of you know.They will drive you crazy. My wife and I take alot of pride in our cabin and have 5 years of positive reviews,so I believe we take great care in our cleaning methods.
This is what I did. I went up immediately to the cabin after receiving her phone call(she was out at a waterpark) with my cleaning crew and completely stripped everything down,new linens etc and took it to be evaluated by a professional.I followed up with my local health dep't and they knew nothing about it. I asked them to check it out and also called my regular pest control man. The very next day,I went to the cabin in the morning to apologize for the inconvenience and the dad was very nice and said it's no big deal. I handed his daughter (who made the reservation) $50.00 and said take your dad out for dinner on me. She gladly accepted the money and apology.
I have had guests immediately prior to her arrival with no complaints, and two separate reservations immediately after her departure, with no complaints.
Overall, the guests were nice,but spreading untruths about my cabin is not very kind. I have all the documentation from the pest control company stating the cabin is very well kept and bug free.
I also don't mind paying for inconveniences, as I depend on returning guests. I am not a cabin rental company,just a husband and wife team trying to keep the mortgage paid.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Smoky Mountain Diamond is a true gem!

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the "Smoky Mountain Diamond"....it is a very special place.There was 8 of us(4 adults,1-4yr old,1-10yr old,2 teenagers plus 1 dog)and everyone had their own space.The teenagers loved the game room and pool table.We LOVED the open fire and the supply of logs that were ready for us.The cabin has everything you could possibly need for a romantic weekend to a family reunion.The kitchen is very well equipped with many extras that we were not expecting.This cabin feels like a real home.We also loved the charcoal grill.The hot tub is very well located for privacy on the lower level(also close to the washer/dryer to warm up the towels!) Kevin the owner went above and beyond in helping us feel at home.We had a problem with the internet connection,we called him and he was at the cabin within 30 mins to fix it!Do not waste anymore time searching for that perfect cabin because you just found it!The location is fantastic short drive to Gatlinburg and Ober. The cabin has a great location is very peaceful,has wonderful views and has evrything and more for a perfect vacation.We returned with precious memories feeling invigorated and refreshed from our wonderful weekend.Thank you Kevin for sharing your wonderful cabin with us and for being so helpful,we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I really appreciate your kind words. You are a wonderful family and I'm glad I got to meet all of you face to face.Your son's friend Wyatt deserves his own recognition for helping me with the internet problem! Looking forward to having all of you back! Thanks again,Kevin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Cabin in Gatlinburg

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We researched a long time to find the perfect cabin for our weekend getaway and we did! This cabin is even better in person than on paper or computer screen. It was secluded like a cabin should be, had amazing views, was incredibly clean and well decorated, and the amenities were beyond excellent. They say in the contract you sign that they provide you with a starter kit of toilet paper and paper towels, but they really give you a good amount of both in case you forget to bring your own. You have a full kitchen with dishes. There is a TV in every room. There is a wrap around proch with more rocking chairs and the grill (not seen in pictures). The "man cave" on the lower level was so much fun with the pool table and big flat screen and pac man providing hours of entertainment. The men that met us were very friendly and helpful. The area is perfect as Gatlinburg is still a sweet comfy beautiful mountain town (Pigeon Forge is a little too touristy and commercial for our taste). They have so many extra touches that make your stay comfortable and wonderful, like emptying and cleaning the hot tub before each guest comes, the special touch decorations, and real mountain cabin feel of the decor. The fireplace was really nice too. I would recommend this property to anyone, in fact I already have. You cannot get more for your money in these mountains. It had everything including the most important things, view and seclusion. It was close to everything you want to do from nature hikes, caves, picnics by mountain streams,to skiing at Ober Gatlinburg. Don't pass this cabin by, you'll be sorry! My sister and I are from Alaska originally (live in Florida now) and this has the exact wilderness, last frontier feel of my home state that I miss so much. My sister and I had way more room then we needed, but we couldn't beat the price and amenities. I imagine for a bigger group, this place would be even more perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much! It's always nice to hear that all the hard work paid off! My wife and I live 15 minutes away,so it's nice to meet and greet all our guests. It makes it a little more personal. Sure hope you come back and see us. Thanks again,Kevin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

As Good As it Gets!

Review submitted: December 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

This has to be the cleanest cabin we have ever stayed in. The location cannot be beat. We searched for weeks to find the best deal, and this was it. The owner (Kevin) was very accomodating, even taking us directly to the cabin. A very clean cabin at an incredible price......

Owners response: Thank you! Since we live right here in the area, it's easy to always make our guests feel welcome. I appreciate your compliments!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible cabin!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

After 30 years of going to the mountains, we have finally found the perfect cabin. Close to town. Close to Ober. King size beds, private jacuzzi, home theater, 3 pools, and the price cannot be beat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Smoky Mtn Diamond is the nicest cabin out there!!

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

The owners of the cabin (Kevin and Dawn) met us at the Welcome Center and brought us up to their cabin. We've rented twice every year in Gatlinburg and this was a first for this special service. They gave us a private key code and a tour of their cabin when we arrived. The smell of a real wood cabin is something you'll never forget! They had new furniture,a cozy hot tub and peacefullness all around. The cabin is secluded so our dogs and kids could safely run around the cabin and play. We've already locked in our fall trip and being a return guest,Kevin gave us a better deal. We would absolutely recommend Smoky Mtn Diamond to all our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review