reviews for: listing #74014 - Santa Monica, California Cottage rental

Charming Cottage Off Montana
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $160 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,120 /wk
    $3,900 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

Listing and description was spot-on. Charming; very quiet cottage apartment with the advantage of a residential feel and yet short walking distance to stores, restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cottage near Montana, Santa Monica

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The cottage was wonderfully quiet and comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway Cottage

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

A great place for a quiet getaway. Very convenient to shops and a short ride to the beach. Very clean and comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay at the Santa Monica Cottage in December 2013

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this quaint and very comfortable cottage!! Everything you need is provided. We were surprised that the washer and dryer were full size and we did use them (detergent provided). The fire place was lovely and together with the wall heater provided plenty of warmth. There was also a space heater in the closet that we did use but did not always need. The closet was great for all of our clothes, plenty of shelving and doors have full length mirrors. All of the decor is from Pottery Barn...I recognize this as I always get their catalogs and shop their stores!!! We walked daily to the beach which is beautiful and has great paths for walking, jogging and biking!!! Pete's coffee is just across the street and grocery stores are within walking distance. There was also a Von's grocery within an easy 5 minute drive. Several restaurants are within walking distance and the food is fabulous!! A parking space is provided in the alley behind the cottages, very easy access!! The grounds are very picturesque and well kept!! It is a great place for those looking for clean, comfortable and quiet amenities. So cozy and quaint!!!!!! Have already recommended this cottage to some of our friends and family!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming in a great location

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

This is a terrific little cottage. It's well outfitted, has all one needs from bath through kitchen, and is in an unbeatable location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming cottage, killer location

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We will be back for sure. Evelyn has exquisite taste

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovley location!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We had a great stay in cottage #4 during a week in the end of July this summer. The cottage had everything we needed and expected it to have. The surrounding area is great and there´s lots of restaurants, bars and shops on Montana Ave, The few questions we had during our stay, Evelyn answered right away. We would definitely recommend this rental to friends and family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Monica Cottage

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

It was a lovely, quaint cottage located in a quiet location in Santa Monica. I felt like I had stepped into a Pottery Barn catalog as the cottage was beautifully decorated and much prettier than the photographs on VRBO. The owner, Evelyn was most helpful with all of my questions and nothing was too much trouble for her. The cottage was just off Montana Ave where there were many restaurants, cafes and shops to enjoy. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacationer

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We had a great time. The cottage was so much more than expected. It is quiet,very clean,safe & close to a lot of shops and markets. The beach is close by so the weather was perfect. All is provided in the cottage all you need to being is a few clothes and some food. There is beautiful flowers and plants all around the property. The owners are excellent in everyday possible. We will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

During our 5 night stay in Santa Monica, we preferred to stay in a vacation rental, rather than in a hotel. We chose this property and it was absolutely fabulous! The cottage is clean and comfortable, and the location is great. The description and pictures on the HomeAway website are accurate.
We, as a young couple, would definately recommend this property to others. The owner, Evelyn, is very friendly and always ready to help or answer any questions. Thanks, Evelyn, we loved it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5-Night Visit With Family

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

The property was an excellent option for visiting our daughter and tour the area for five days. The space was priced well and just as advertised in the photos...cozy, clean, and beautiful inside and outside. Within walking distance were a good coffee spot (perfect after a early-morning run through the safe neighborhood), Whole Foods (groceries), Father's Office (good burgers and beer options), and shops. The parking spot was convenient for our daughter to swoop in and take us away for short rides to Venice Beach, Getty Villa, and some great restaurants. Thank you, Evelyn.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Picture Perfect Cottages!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Could not have been any more picturesque! When we first arrived my husband and I were blown away by the idyllic charm of the vintage rose covered picket fence and lush floral pathway leading to our cottage. Inside, the charm just kept coming, from the crisp cottage decor to the secret garden patio, it was love at first sight. We almost hated to venture out! Location was perfect, we were within 20 minutes of "all things Los Angeles", even during morning commuter traffic! Loved, loved, LOVED our stay at the 14th Street Cottages, wish we could live there ALL the time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Cottage

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

Very comfortable bed. Cozy feel to the cottage. The only drawback is the distance to the beach and third street promenade -- too far to walk. Otherwise great location.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Montana cottage

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

Just wanted to write a quick review of this Santa Monica property before too much time had passed. We really enjoyed our month long stay. It's a special little enclave of beautifully decorated cottages that are maintained with great care. I even bought similar linens for my own bedroom. Evelyn is a true
professional and a pleasure to work with. Any concerns/questions were addressed immediately
and thoughtfully. Nicely located a few steps from Whole Foods and Montana Ave. Check out the Aero Theater too.
Thanks for everything, Evelyn!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

The cottage suited our purposes perfectly. We do not like the cold and inpersonal feel of staying in a Hotel. We love feeling like we are in the community and experiencing everyday life there. The cottage itself was clean and provided everything that you would have at home - from fridge to washer and dryer. It is close to everything and a great place to set out from for sight seeing and adventures throughout LA and area.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent cottage in great location

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Reluctant to write a review as want to keep this one a secret. However, I feel I owe it to the owner as it was very obvious that she wants her guest to have a well catered for carefree stay, even giving you her home number should you have any concerns. Truth is she thinks of everything so we had no need to disturb her.
Not only was the cottage spotlessly clean and have everything you could need it has the added advantage of being in a superb area. We are from the UK and if like me you do not want to drive on the opposite side of the road this is an ideal place as you can walk to everywhere, to local supermarket and restaurants to the beach and 3rd street promenade shopping area. In fact the LA tour bus stops just around the corner on Montana. This area is a lovely area and the cottages are fabulous and look as lovely as their photo's . Will definitely book again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An oasis in the middel of it all

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

This cottage was everything as described and more. If you take advantage of the "included" parking - you enter through the back gate to a view of a garden with a lime tree in the middle of it. There is a pathway between a row of cottages that face each other - all surrounded by gardens that delight the eye fill your senses with wonderous scents. Each cottage has its own private patio where you can have your morning coffee. If you exit through the front - you are greeted by a white picket fence topped by white roses. emerge and in a few steps you have access to anything you might need - best of all great coffee - Whole Foods if you don't want to cook or if you do, many great eateries, and some incredible shopping. Return home with a bottle of wine and turn on the fireplace and dream away. Everything you need is included... we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Santa Monica experience

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

We (aged couple) enjoyed our stay very much - perfect location, quiet, spacious, very relaxed house. nearby amenities werde very comfortable (wholefoods, Pete's coffee, nice restaurants). One of the highlights of our stay was the ride with the beach-cruisers with a subsequent meal at Shutter's on the Beach. Thank's Evelyn for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ideal

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights with my wife and 2 babies. Quaint and charming row of cottages are like something out of a postcard. The location is ideal - literally steps from shops, restaurants, cafes and grocery, but still tucked away so that you felt like you were in the countryside. The cottage itself has everything you need, from the fully stocked kitchen, to the well appointed bathroom and bedroom, washer/dryer, wifi/cable, and dedicated parking right outside the unit. And if you should need anything at all or come across any problems, Evelyn is super responsive and really goes out of her way to ensure you have everything you need. We added on an additional night to our stay at the last minute and Evelyn was very accommodating - she responded to all of my emails immediately, within minutes.

Can't imagine finding better deal in Santa Monica. Definitely recommend, and will definitely be back our next time through.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

female renter

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Perfect location, impeccable customer service by owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing stay just blocks from the Ocean

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

I took my boyfriend for his birthday to Santa Monica. Instead of renting a hotel I found this gorgeous cottage just blocks fromm the Ocean and the Promenade! The cottage was perfect, equipt with a fire place, washer, dryer, hair dryer, iron, wifi, direct T.V with all available channels. There was even a parking space behind the cottage, so no need to worry about finding street parking. Also the area is such a peaceful place to stay. I highly recomend this place, it was definitely more than we expected and will most likely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cottages on 14th Avenue

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

This was a perfect get-away! The cottage is located just off Montana Avenue which has delightful shops, Whole Foods, Peets Coffee, the unique Aero Movie theater and amazing burgers at Fathers Office. It was a quick trip to the beach at Santa Monica and easy access to major freeways. The cottage was immaculate and charmingly decorated. High marks for the extremely comfortable queen-size bed! It was a treat to sip my morning coffee and read the newspaper (available at the wine shop on Montana) outside on the private, side patio. Evelyn, the proprietor was accessible for any questions. Without hesitation I would recommend this property to friends and look forward to our return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Cottages on 14th Street

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

This was a perfect get-away! The cottage was immaculate and comfortably furnished with many amenities. There is a private side patio to enjoy your morning coffee. There are cruiser bikes available for a ride to the beach.The cottage is well-equipped with a flat screen TV (offering every imaginable channel), a washer/dryer and heavenly down blankets.
We loved the neighborhood and took advantage of a quick walk to Whole Foods, the wine store, local restaurants and the magical Aero Moviehouse.
Evelyn, the owner, was accessible to answer any questions and concerns.
We are looking forward to a return visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect stay

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the cottage for one week. The location is excellent. The beach is an easy fifteen minutes walk down Montana Avenue, a street lined with a great selection of shops,cafes and restaurants. We recommend Peet's, Cafe Luxxe, Louise's and all of the frozen yoghurt shops. The pedestrianised shopping area and Santa Monica Place Mall are also within walking distance

The cottage is one of several on the same plot. They are very picturesque and set in lovely gardens which look even better than they do in the photographs. Inside the cottage was very well equipped, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. There is off road parking and we were able to make use of the free shared bicycles. There is also free WiFi.

Evelyn was great and responded quickly to any questions we had. Our stay could not have been better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful cottage- amazing stay!

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

This was SUCH an amazing cottage- it far exceeded our expectations!!

Location was perfect- close to Peet's coffee, many lovely restaurants, wholefoods, frozen yoghurt shop, retro cinema, and lots of pretty boutique shops. Honestly the location could not be better. We also used the complimentary beach cruisers and rode to Venice beach which was so much fun!

The cottage itself is decorated so beautifully- and with such quality items. Fluffy white towels, quality linen, beautiful candles, hand/body wash etc. The kitchen is stocked with everything you would need and it also has a patio that is great for morning coffee. The gardens are just stunning!! We just loved everything about it- we honestly didn't want to leave!

A big thank you to Evelyn for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely be back and I recommend it for anyone visiting the area!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

santa monica cottage

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

Fantastic place. Beautiful cottage, great neighborhood. Was lucky to have found Evelyn. SHe is very nice and was quite accommodating with my schedule. I hope she'll have me again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

My wife, daughter, and I stayed in Evelyn's cottage #4 for six days, and thoroughly enjoyed our time. It was so quiet. The property, furnished with Pottery Barn and modern conveniences, is tucked into beautiful landscaping allowing each place a completely private patio. That, and a few steps to a film house, coffee and gelato shops, Whole Foods, and the beach, we felt regret walking any further than minutes away each day. It was wonderful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Charming, friendly home away from home

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Everything was wonderful, quiet and lovely environment for singles or couples. Close to all our favourite cafes and great coffee at Peet's. Second time we stayed here and would stay again definitely. Evelyn is a very nice lady and goes to great lengths to make one's stay enjoyable. Miss Santa Monica already!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bigger and better that imagined

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a cottage for nearly two weeks. There was lots space and the place was beautifully clean and quiet. We had a car space but the shops are a minute walk away and it's a 30 minute walk to Santa Monica Blvd. This a true cottage with a separate kitchen and the dinning area is bigger than it looks with a nice big table. I loved the claw foot bath! I would recommend to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Cottage off Main Street

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

As lovely as the first time which was just a few weeks ago. My home away from home with every detail attended to. Sublime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Cottage off Montana

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

This has surely become my home away from home and there is no place else I would rather stay. I just wish it wasn't so popular.
Every detail is attended to and the location is the best. Charm, sophistication, quiet, and beautiful surroundings make this a rare treat for any traveler. I could live here year round.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Like Home

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

I felt like I was at home, great alternate to hotel stay. In the 10 days I used my car 3 times (to go to Downtown LA), walked or took "Big Blue" bus everywhere. A treat was seeing "Sunset Boulevard" on the big screen at the Areo theatre around the corner.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

I had an awesome stay here. I surprised my boyfriend with the stay here and he was thoroughly impressed. Very romantic 'homey' feel.Great location, walk to everything. Will definitely come back for another visit. Evelyn the property manager was very helpful and accommodating.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

While visiting family in Santa Monica spent 3 wonderful weeks in this lovely cottage. It's well located close to Montana Ave. and is well equipped, nicely furnished, cozy, comfortable and quiet. We especially enjoyed the working fireplace on a few cool November evenings. Would recommend this property to family and friends and would love to stay there on our next visit, The property owner, Evelyn is very responsive and helpful.
L & D - Toronto

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect stay in Santa Monica

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

I recently stayed in the cottage the second week of June during my daughter's graduation from UCLA. It was a wonderful place. Everything was immaculate and the pictures don't even do it justice. The cottage is fully stocked with everything you might need. All the units have lovely well-maintained gardens surrounding them. There is a great flat screen tv, fireplace and washer and dryer. Much better than any hotel room. Montana Avenue is just one block up where you can find shops, Peets Coffee, good restaurants, Whole Foods, movie theater, etc. The ocean is about 1 mile away as is Third Street Promenade, a very nice walk. If you don't have a car, no problem. Santa Monica has a wonderful bus system--the Big Blue Bus that is very efficient and can take you anywhere you need to go. If you do have a car, there is a parking spot in the back and also street parking. My stay was quiet and peaceful and the owner is very easy to work with. Don't think twice about reserving your stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Another Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

As a repeat visitor to the Charming Cottages off Montana, we enjoyed another stay here! You really can't beat the location and it's only ~40 miles to Disneyland (the highlight of our trip for our 3-year old).

The kitchen is fully stocked with all the necessities (including wine glasses and an opener) and basic condiments (salt, pepper, oil olive). There are lots of great boutique shopping, Whole Foods and great restaurants within a 1-3 blocks radius. And, the owner is so pleasant to work with.

We hope to make a tradition of staying here - year after year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location. Great value.

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

Perfect for visiting Santa Monica. Short walk to beach, shopping, and restaurants. Plus, Whole Foods is just up the street so you can stock the fridge. Bus stop is also very close. We loved the cottage and will certainly recommend it to friends and family!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, safe, relaxing cottage!

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We just returned (reluctantly!) to MN from a Mom/Daughter trip to LA. Our stay in Santa Monica at this adorable little cottage was exactly what we were looking for! It is 1 of 5 quaint cottages on the same lot surrounded by beautiful flowers, bushes & a white picket fence. Each has it's own private patio for relaxing in the sun/shade. We even had a garage for our rental car! (Small, but our VW jetta fit!) The ocean beaches, the Pier, 3rd St Promenade, shops & restaurants of Montana Ave are all within walking distance from the cottage. We bought groceries at the nearby Pavillions grocery store. We also enjoyed meals at the recommended neighborhood restaurants. We did something different every day & it was so comforting to return "home" to the cottage. Everything about it from the overall cleanliness, Pottery Barn dishes, clawfoot tub w/shower, antique door handles, luxurious linens & towels, flatscreen TV, wood floors, comfortable bed & sofa, makes you feel right at home. If you are looking for a centrally located place to stay in a beautiful, safe neighborhood, this is the spot! We loved it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

This cottage was perfect.

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

I just got home after spending nine days at the cottage. I want to go back right now... First of all, it is every bit as beautiful as the photos. The furnishings and the kitchen dishes and silverware are high quality. The bed and the bedding are really comfortable and the landlord has stocked this place with everything - plenty of fluffy white towels, very nice soap in the tub/shower etc. The closet is big with plenty of wooden hangings and shelves to organize. Plus there is a stacked washer dryer and real wood-burning fireplace. I have stayed at many VRBO properties throughout the US. This one is really special.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

jewel of montana ave

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

without question the best place to stay in los angeles. a beautiful neighbourhood lovely people we especially enjoyed the organic market on sunday morning. Evelyn is a real lady and the place was spotless. it really was home away from home, everything that you needed was there. I cant reccommend this cottage highly enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review