reviews for: listing #74047 - Yorktown, Virginia House rental

Beach House on the 'Rivah'
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $325 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,650 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Pops

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Great place for everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming!
We are so glad everyone had a great time.
Come again when you can.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing retreat!

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

The home and view were lovely. The upstairs deck was our morning coffee spot. We spotted many dolphins and watched the birds dive into the water for fish. We hope to return for another family get together. Thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming!
So glad you had a great time.
Please come again when you can.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing week on the river

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We stayed at this house 6/15/13-6/22/13.

It was a great start to the week to have the owner meet us on the Saturday we arrived to give us the tour of the property and answer any questions. We have been to other properties where you are just given written instructions but this personal touch was very welcomed and appreciated.

The house was great. We loved the screened in porch for meals and especially in the mornings having coffee out there and watching the birds.

The house was located in a quiet area and we enjoyed coming "home" each day after exploring the multiple tourists attractions that were in easy driving distance.

The house was well appointed. The kitchen was very well equipped to prepare some meals. We enjoyed the use of the grill as well.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a convenient relaxing environment within proximity to multiple attractions.

We toured Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Norfolk navy base, and Yorktown.

A great trip that was enhanced by the house on the "rivah". Dont miss this property. Highly recommended.

Owners response: Thank you for coming....We are so glad you had a great visit and a wonderful vacation time together.
There is indeed so many wonderful places to see and enjoy.
It's a great bonding experience as well as great, special times together in the home.
We are so glad you had a pleasant and enjoyable visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Above and Beyond

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

There were 8 of us ranging in ages from mid 60's down to a 2 year old and we all thoroughly enjoyed this house!!! It was only a short drive to all the sites we wanted to visit and then when we came back home we felt like we were back home! Our children had so much fun playing on the beach with the tubes, and catching crabs and an eel in the crab pot, and then of course, playing on the playground also. The house was very well stocked and the owners were very accommodating. We did not get in until 10:30 the first night and the Mr. David still waited for us at the house so that he could show us everything about the house and give us information on the area. Above and beyond what we had expected. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this house!!

Owners response: Thank you so much for coming and we are so glad you had a great time enjoying the sites in the area, swimming, playing on the tubes, catching crabs, etc., and playing on the swing set/playground!

We enjoyed having you--you are welcome anytime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

lovely, peaceful retreat

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Our family loved staying in your house while visiting the Historic Triangle for spring break. My kids woke up each morning and darted outside to swing on the playset while I brewed a nice cup of coffee and read a book. We cooked dinner at home a few times and enjoyed several local restaurants - all of which were excellent. Your house was such a peaceful retreat.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect weekend

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This was the perfect place for our girls getaway! Everything we needed was in the house. It is much bigger than it looks in the pictures. The view on the river was just beautiful. We were there in the fall so didn’t get a chance to enjoy the water but did get to canoe and enjoy Williamsburg. Thanks for the hospitality and a wonderful weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming!
We are so glad you got to come and enjoy your time together, the scenery and all the advantages the home and area has to offer.
Please come again real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

rivah house

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

had a great time daughter got to go out within 15ft or so with dolphins ia a canoe. house was warming and the view was the best. sandy beach. screened in porch for night. just over all great. how ever we did come back and all 7 of us got sick. could of beenanything but if you are looking for a place in virgina this is the place to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming.
It was great meeting you all and we are glad you had a great time in Virginia and at The Beach House on the 'RIVAH'.
Hope to see you all again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So relaxing!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

What a find your house was! Perfect for our family with 3 young kids and grandparents. The setting was so peaceful and the screened porch was the best sitting/visiting spot. We especially appreciated how nice the kitchen was, complete with all the extras we needed. And the toy box was a hit with the little ones. Thank you!

Owners response: Thank you for coming!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Beach House on the 'RIVAH'!!
Hope to see you all again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Graduation at the Rivah

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Everything was great inside and outside the house. The house was warm and charming and offered everything anyone would want in amenities and comfort. We even had a canoe to take rides and explore!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, the home is a great place to get together for all occasions!! We recently had a small family wedding here and it was a great time together with family and friends. The canoe is always a great way to enjoy and explore on the York River!! (Paddles and life vests are included.) So glad you could come and enjoy your time together! Hope to see you or your family soon..Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very nice home quiet and relaxing

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

Well we there in Gloucester for work...and we rented this beautiful home. Its Just the Perfect size to accommodate 5 adults. The owners were great and the house was perfect.the only thing o can say bad about this experience was the horrible smell of the water system. Other than that a great quiet place to stay and the views of the "rivah" we're breathtaking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always glad when folks can enjoy the Beach House on the 'RIVAH'. The home is in a great, accomodating area--for 'work' & especially for great, memorable vacations with places of attraction to visit, sight-see and enjoy. The home is on it's own well--as it is in a rural setting on the York River. But be assured that the water is treated, safe and there is also a purification system on the faucet for drinking and bottled waters are provided. Sometimes with well water--there may be a 'different' odor or smell--especially if folks are coming from a city setting and are not used to well water. But the water is safe and fine to use. The home does accomodate up to 8+ and also has a floatation mattress-for children, etc.
We are glad they enjoyed their visit and hope they had some relaxation time, even though they were working so hard with the long hours. Thank you for coming!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well worth the visit

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

The house was everything indicated and more. The screened porch was wonderful with views of the river and very cool with the river breeze. We had a wonderful time and spent most of it on the porch. The house is lovely, my mother and I loved the antiques and the wood floors. All in all a wonderful stay. My only small complaint and not really something the owners could do anything about was I thought the kids would be able to swim from the small beach in front of the property, it was very muddy off the sand which didn't go very far. Not sure if it was the dredging, but a neighbor did tell us the morning we were leaving he was glad the grasses were back they weren't there last year. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the Rivah and would return again. Thank you for sharing your lovely home!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your response. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and could enjoy the riverfront and the views from the screened porch, etc. We are also glad for your appreciation of the antiques and many of the wood floors, etc. which are authentic to the home. We have just installed new jetties and that work has somewhat contributed to the current consistence of the bottom of the river by the beachfront at the home. However, the new jetties are already developing the beach and bottom in that area with more sand and as you mentioned, the grasses that are also coming back to the area as well! We are very glad for this as it is getting the beachfront more enjoyable every day.

Again, thank you for coming and hope to hear from you soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, relaxing and funfilled vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We were a family of 6 adults and two children ages 7 and 5. We all had a marvelous time. The house is comfortably decorated, I loved the vanity in the bathroom. The river provided much needed relaxation as you could hear it lapping up on the shore at night. Enjoyed reading on the deck outside the master bedroom in the early hours of the morning before everybody got up. The kitchen is fully stocked. We had everything we needed. The kids had games, tv and room to enjoy themselves. We did spend a lot of time exploring the nearby attractions of Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Wild Water Country. I think we all wished we could have spent more time at the house also. There is a food store nearby and also a local movie theatre. Just across the "rivah" is the riverwalk which has some excellent seafood restaurants. We highly recommend the "House on the Rivah" and we look forward to a return visit. It would make an excellent gathering spot for a holiday celebration.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you.
It was nice meeting you all!
We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and had a great time during your vacation.
You are welcome back anytime!
Hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The very definition of 'peaceful'

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Renting online is always a risky proposition. Just ask anyone who has shopped for an apartment or house online. All of our concerns were laid to rest as soon as we turned into the driveway. AMAZING! We were greeted warmly by Mr. David, who had just finished installing an outdoor shower for rinsing off after time on the beach. Everything we could possibly need was included and then some! There was not one thing missing that we thought "Oh no, we need to run to the store."

We spent most of our time on the go. The house is conveniently located to Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown and we managed to cram it all in. Our kids range in age from 2-15 and there was plenty to do at the house for everyone. Well-stocked boardgames and plenty of outdoor activities kept all entertained. They particularly liked catching crabs on our own private little beach.

If there was one complaint, it would be that we didn't spend enough time at the house. We all wish we had more down time to spend just hanging out. The house was clean and comfortable beyond expectation! Our 4 year old daughter now refers to it as our "other house" and doesn't want to live in our real home anymore. We are already planning a return trip in the winter months!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you all and you are all welcome anytime! We are glad you had a great vacation experience in VA and at the Beach House on the 'RIVAH'. Looking forward to seeing you again!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the house. It was so nice to sit out on the screened in porch and then when we felt like it, we could just walk down the yard and go swimming. It was a hot week, but we didn't feel it. We were looking for a quiet place to stay, since we had just finished with our daughter's backyard wedding. We recharged our batteries with lots of sun, swimming and reading. I know there were sights nearby to see, but my husband and I pretty much stayed at the house. Everything we needed was there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind response. Since you submittied your review after your stay--you will receive 10% off your next visit if you are able to reserve within a year of your last stay. You were great to have at the beach house on the 'RIVAH'. We are so glad it was accomodating and relaxing for you. Thank you for coming and we hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

serenity at its best.

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We are very glad we found this beautiful home for our family. This house was more than perfect for our family of 8. very clean, neat and fresh when we arrived, with so many nice touches - we fell in love with it as we walked through the door! And then the view of water from the screened in Porch was an amazing. Everything in the house seemed brand new. The kitchen is very well equiped with everything that a big family needs. The owners are so pleasant, friendly and very helpfull. We will definitely go back there again and also recommend this incredible Vacation home to anyone who is looking for a quiet,private, peacfull getaway with many things to do near by.

Best regards

Nazar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure meeting you! As mentioned, this is a new listing but we are getting new inquiries and bookings!
Also, now we have added the usage of a canoe.
Hopefully, we'll be able to accomodate you again in the future.
See you at the 'Rivah'.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review