reviews for: listing #74048 - Jekyll Island, Georgia House rental

6BR/4BA-Oceanfront w/ POOL
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $405 - $1,200 /nt
    $2,900 - $5,400 /wk
    $4,800 - $18,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Place for family Trip!!!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We found this house to be a wonderful place to spend the week with family.
It was beautiful and everyone loved being together. Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We enjoyed our time in this very large home! It was wonderful to have all of the space for just six of us. We could come together in the large "community areas"... but also have places to get away when we needed time alone. It was nice to be able to walk right out to the beach and around the neighborhood. The home and the age of it gave us more of an appreciation for the challenges of maintaining a large residence. We were content with the condition of things since we were paying off-season rates. The water pressure was not great... but overall provided a fun holiday and there would have been room for a few more people without feeling crowded. Jimmy was very responsive and easy to work with... definitely appreciated the information he provided and the ease of the transaction. We enjoyed the 4-H Tidelands Nature Center (near the water park on the island)... the center has a great exhibit building that has loads of information about the wildlife in the area and has live animals and a touch tank. We went on a kayak tour in the marsh that was also informative and fun.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mso

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

Perfection! A lovely, bright, sunny, expansive and easy home for our 3 generation family to relax and be with each other in. It had everything we could possibly need. A beautiful, natural island with wildlife, awesome trees, beautiful beaches, great food, historical interest....wonderful for biking.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jekyll House

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The house was just right for our family of 10 and enough space for a family gathering. The pool was a hit with the young family members.
My only issue was with the kitchen. The kitchen faucet was not connected well, I had to purchase
dish towels, ( it would be helpful to have them included in the linens) and the dishwasher was not allowing the soap door to open.
All fixable and minor.
We really enjoyed the house and would use it again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Week!!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We rented this house for my parents 50th wedding anniversary! Our entire extended family stayed comfortably in this gorgeous home...property was beautiful and well appointed...steps to the pristine beach!! The rental manager was super and quickly resolved any questions we had. Loved the local fish market in Brunswick. During our stay we rented an Electric Red Bug Car ...such a fun way to explore the picturesque island. The four bikes at our disposal were used every day...a good time was had by all!! This property did not disappoint...Truly looking forward to returning soon....

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We spent a week making many memories in this wonderful house. We had three generations together (17 of us from 2-65) and there was plenty of space for everyone. The upper deck and family room were spacious and fun. The proximity to the beach and the beach club was so helpful with little ones and we appreciated the availability of the heated pool at the club since it was still a bit cool for the pool at the house (although some of the adventurous ones used it.. We made good use of the bikes and cooked on the grill many evenings. The island is beautiful and the dolphin tour was a high point for everyone. My husband and I went out for lunch at the Courtyard at Crane and it was excellent. We found shopping at the Publix in Brunswick had a good selection and was just a bit further than the Winn Dixie. This is a great place for a big family gathering with a variety of activities for all ages. Some of the group played golf. Would have liked to stay longer and would love to visit again.

A few suggestions would be for more recycling bins and improving the dishwasher. We figured out that the dispenser did not open many times, so we just didn't close which resulted in clean dishes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfectly Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

My family has vacationed on Jekyll for over 40 years. Over the years we have rented many different homes but this one takes the cake. The house and its modern amenities accomodated our group perfectly. Enough space for everyone to sleep comfortably and to dine together. The interior was as breathtaking as the exterior. The beautiful renovation, the size of the home, and the amenities were perfect for our large group and more than justified the rental fee. All communications I had with the owner were timely and very helpful. I would recommend this property without hesitation. Thanks so much and hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beachview

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Beachview and had very few complaints. We did have trouble with the icemaker and had to buy ice from the store.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

What a wonderful space for a group

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

We spent our wedding weekend here in Oct 2009 -- I can't believe we found it online-it was such gem then and I'm so glad to see they've renovated! We are looking to bring our family and friends back. It holds such wonderful memories for us and we look forward to many memories to come! It is the best place on the island and I grew up here so I should know!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

It was a wonderful experience. The bike trails, the beach and the pool helped to give something fun for everyone in our group. The house was big, spacious and very nice. We will be returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

GREAT MEMORIES

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

THIS HUGE HOUSE WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT FOR OUR BUNCH OF 11. WE HAD 7 ADULTS AND 4 KIDS UNDER 5. THEY LOVED THE POOL AND CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE BEACH. THE ONLY HICCUP WAS WHEN WE ARRIVED THERE WERE NOT MANY BATH TOWELS THAT FIRST EVENING. MY SON SOLVED THE MYSTERY WHEN HE LOOKED IN THE DRYER AND FOUND 15 BATH TOWELS, 10 WASH CLOTHS, 8 HAND TOWELS AND 3 SHEETS. THEY WERE STILL VERY DAMP. AFTER WE GOT THOSE ALL DRIED NO PROBLEMS WITH TOWELS. WE DID HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE GAS GRILL AND THEY WERE VERY QUICK TO BRING BRAND NEW GRILL OVER. THE HOUSE WAS JUST AS DESCRIBED ON VRBO. ALL THE KIDS AND GRANDKIDS HAD A GREAT TIME. THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

June 30-July 7, 2012

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had our 3 sons, 3 daughters-in-law, and 6 grand kids along, and there was plenty of living and sleeping room. The spacious sun room was taken over by the grand kids as their "turf" and there was plenty of room for the adults to congregate and relax. Often the pictures shown of the property are somewhat dated, but these were right on the money. House was immaculate upon arrival, save for the pool which needed to be cleaned. That was attended to in a timely manner, and we proceeded to enjoy the short walk thru the dunes to the beach, refreshing dips in the pool, the quiet neighborhood, and just everything the island had to offer. Golf courses are in great shape, and we even took a charter out for some shark fishing. Kids enjoyed the sea turtle rescue tour immensely, and the food and atmosphere were great at the Driftwood Lounge.
Should we visit Jekyll again, this property would definitely be on our list of preferred places to stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Leeman Reception Event

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

This house is amazing!!! The pictures do not even begin to show how spacious and open it is. I was very pleasantly suprised when we walked into this house after renting it for a place to have our small wedding reception. I was expecting each room to look like it does in the pictures but every single room pictured there is 75% more that is not....even in the "little" breakfast room and the sunroom!!!! The beds and their rooms are awesome, there are games and movies, for kids and adults, books, enough utensils and cups and plates and cutlery to feed atleast 20, i can protest to 20, as our elopement ceremony was in the morning and our guests stayed til into the next morning!! NO ONE was on top of anyone else, everyone was very impressed with the house, and the beach access, and we had a caterer come there and serve two different meals if that gives you more of an idea of how spacious this house really is!!! The pool is huge!! There is a glass table outside in the pool area with umbrella that seats 6-8 and there are more than several lounge chairs by the pool and on the SUNDECK that is on the top story that i didnt even know was there until the day we got there, i guess i over read it in the description but its there and it has lunge chairs like i stated and a bench that wraps around three sides, the other side is a glass sliding door which you go thru to get on the deck, via the room upstairs with the fold out couch and TV (above). Great view from the sundeck and every room on the top floor except for the master room, because it has a huge bathtub and is bigger than my living room at home! The Master bedroom has a fireplace, walk in closet, another closet, great big flatscreen, and this room is bigger than two of my bedrooms put together!!! I was leary about the house because of the pictures but for once traveling i was floored in A GOOD WAY! Also, quick mention, the owners/Beachview Club employees are so friendly and quick to help with anything you may need to find in the home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beachview Cottage Review

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We were at this property for a family reunion (ages 19 to 58) in early June of 2011. We had fantastic weather and the house was even better than expected. My husband was very happy to cook for 14 in this kitchen. Plenty of utensils and pots and pans--also dishes and silverware. Though he did bring a few of his favorite frying pans! The bedrooms were wonderful--we were fortunate enough to get the master bedroom---spectacular. But everyone else had plenty of room, too. The house is big enough that we could spread out and not be on top of each other---or we could be all be together in the great room. Walk out the backdoor and over the dune and we were at the beach! And the pool---what can I say----having it screened in was such a treat----we enjoyed that everyday. The owners of this home really have done a lovely job. I highly recommend it. The folks that service the house are very friendly, too. There was a problem with the downstairs shower (it wouldn't drain) and they came out immediately to fix it. The only thing I would suggest to the owner is to take out the microwave that sits on the counter---it doesn't work and it would give more counter space. The microwave above one of the ovens works just fine. Here are a few hints if you are going to enjoy this island and you like to cook. We went into Brunswick on a daily basis (15 minute drive at most--get the week pass to go off/on the island) to get fresh seafood from City Market and groceries from the Winn Dixie--they have GREAT whole grain baguettes. Everyone is so very friendly. Make sure you get a Winn Dixie card to save on specials for your groceries. The sea turtle center was enjoyable and we were lucky enough to see the center release 5 turtles that had been rescued---one was several hundred pounds. Take the bikes that are at the house and ride to Driftwood Beach---oh my---that was a favorite of everyone's. For a day trip---some of the group went to Savannah and had a wonderful time taking a tour of the historical district. Personally, I enjoyed walking or running the beach each morning and reading a good book in the afternoon. It was a perfect week. Thank you for providing such a wonderful house.

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Great home

Review submitted: June 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

We loved this home. It is beautiful, clean, spacious and so quiet! The kitchen is well stocked and there is plenty of space for a large family to spread out and relax. The beach is breathtaking and also seems quite private. Our family loved the pool and spacious back yard. We will definitely return

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review