reviews for: listing #74155 - Dominican Republic, Caribbean Villa rental

Villa del Mar
  • bedrooms  13
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  16
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Los Nomadas
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $1,950 /nt
    $11,500 - $22,500 /wk

sort by:

Exceed all our expectations!

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

I booked this villa a while back and there were virtually no reviews on the sites about it, so really had little to go on outside of 1 review and the photos, which looked great, but as you know these can sometimes be misleading. In reality these photos didn't do any justice to how amazingly beautiful and well situated this villa actually is, the 1 review was excellent and was completely accurate.

We had a very large group, ranging from young children (5 years) to grandparents (80's) and everyone commented on how amazingly well suited the accommodation was for everyone involved. You literally walked across a short (and well kept) lawn onto a private beach, and although we were all together there was never a sense of being on top of each other.

The staff were excellent, and I must thank Jose and Omar in particular for making our trip as good as it was. We had some reservations over the set-up with the food initially, as we needed to get the staff to buy groceries and then cook, but this was completely unfounded; the food was excellent, reasonably priced and extremely well cooked, with a good variety to keep everyone happy.

There are a range of activities in the area; horse riding, scuba, trip to the waterfalls, zip lining, kite surfing, fishing, etc. so loads there for active groups like ourselves, but equally you could just relax all day in the villa and pool.

Las Terrenas town is only a short drive away, and there are a number of good quality restaurants and bars, and around the corner (and in walking distance from the Villa along the beach) there are a number of other restaurants and bars available as well. It’s definitely worth a walk (or drive) down to Louis’s around the corner where you will get the best Pina Colada we've ever tasted!

This was truthfully one of the best holidays we have had in years and I would highly recommend both this villa and the Dominican Republic in general.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marvelous Experience

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

Our stay at your villa was a marvelous experience. It was beyond our expectations. The beauty of the villa and the beach took our breath away each day. The pool, pool table, ping pong table and other amenities were used daily. The hospitality and helpfulness of the staff was greatly appreciated.. The meals were delicious and enjoyed by all, even the children. It was an experience we will always remember.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

SIMPLY SPECTACULAR

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We enjoyed the Villa for a 50th Anniversary party. Our party of 28 ranged from 6yrs of age to 80+. The place was everything it stated and more. The staff was there to greet us from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The Villa is beautiful and spacious. It never felt at all crowded. The entire week kids played on the beach and the pool and we never had to worry, the place is completely safe. No one ever felt boxed in or that people were getting in each others way. There are plenty of areas for people to relax and enjoy on their own as well as large meeting areas. The cleaning staff seems to work in stealth mode - the place is always clean and you never see them. The chef/bartender are excellent, you just tell them what you want and they make it happen, we decided on menus together and they made delicious meals. They also did two wonderful parties for us (anniversary beach bash, final night dinner), each one had it's own flair and was even better than a restaurant event. We had a pizza night with pizza's from their wood burning oven. This place has it all and I will probably not go to a large resort again as this has spoiled our entire party. The privacy is there, with all the amenities. You don't have to deal with crowds and the gorgeous sandy beach is a 30 sec walk across the front lawn. We had a great volleyball game on the beach. Each of our party had a blast and the consensus was that it was a vacation of a lifetime. The Villa is stunning and offers everything you could want. A trip to El Limon falls is definitely worth doing, it is difficult to get to so be sure you are ready for a strenuous walk and horse ride but the falls are beautiful and the swimming is like a beautiful grotto. You will not be disappointed and you can book with confidence - the place is better than it shows online. You don't have to worry about being duped or oversold and under delivered. The booking process is straight forward and Olivia and Martine are wonderful and easy to deal with. The weather was very good - a little hot at times but the scenery makes up for it. It rained often but only for a very short time. We made some absolutely wonderful memories and this Villa was the starting point.

Bhu Kapur
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The best trip/house vacation we have ever taken.

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Expect to be Blown out! this house is amazing, for once I can say that the house far exceeded my imagination or vision based on the pictures. This gets a 10/10 in al categories. from the service, the chef and food (absolutely amazing, we had seafood, pallea, pasta, steak all with his own unique touch and flavor) to the house, to the unbelievable beach/scenery.

The only thing i will say is, try to fly in to Semana airport (20-30min away). we flew in to santa domingo, and the drive was awful (2 hours!).

Overall, I would definitely come back, and would highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A Week in Paradise!

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We spent a week at Villa Del Mar with family and friends. We had 20 friends and family members ranging in ages 8-75 and everyone had an amazing time. The staff at the Villa made the whole week delightful and memorable. Olivia was very helpful in making arrangements for our stay and making sure everything ran smoothly. The entire staff were amazing hosts. They were very helpful in getting us whatever we needed at any time. We've stayed at many 5 star resorts around the world and have never received the attention and care that these fine people provided. We would go back in a minute just to visit our new friends. We miss them already! The Villa is incredibly beautiful, but also comfortable and welcoming. With a gorgeous pool, beach and game room - we were never short on activities. All the rooms are beautiful and very well appointed and they all come with their own bathroom. The villa is located directly on Playa Coson! It is an incredible beach just outside your door step. You can wake up and run for miles on this beautiful unspoiled beach. It is also very safe for children of all ages. The villa is a bit out of town and we had a blast getting around the area with the ATV's that we rented. The food was amazing - Ronal is a star in the making and was happy to make whatever we asked for. We also had a great dinner at the Ocean Grill restaurant just a short walk down the beach. It was an incredible week and we are already planning our return visit!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

If you are reading this then the question on your mind is probable: is this place for real? I'd like to assure you that the answer is an enthusiastic YES.

PROS
---
- the photos posted of the house here actually fail to do it justice -- every one of my 25 guests agreed it was even better than advertised. The beach, the grass, the pool, the tub, the living area, the rooms. Amazing.
- The staff were even more exceptional than the house. They were always a step ahead of the guests in cleaning, setting out snacks or arranging drinks, and chef Jose is AMAZING -- honestly, the food he cooked for us at home was much better than the restaurants we ate at.
- The location is great, private and safe but very close to Las Terrenas and lots of great tourist activities.
- I'm out of characters, it is just amazing...


CONS
---
- The floor in the house is wildly unsafe when wet, and with the open floor plan and the pool right there it is basically always wet. My mother fell and hit her head quite hard on a pillar.
- The day I arrived the staff approached me and asked for $350 more than the negotiated contract for someone to stay late and clean. I think it was a totally fair request but I was disappointed it wasn't handled in the contract beforehand.
- We had at least a partial power outage every day and twice we had extended total outages. This was partly expected, of course, but it happened more frequently in this house than anyplace else on the island in our 2 week stay.
- We also had a water outage and spent a whole day carrying buckets of water from the pool to the toilets to keep them working. This was disappointing.
- Pre-trip communication was difficult. The owners/managers can be slow to respond over email and hard to talk to on the phone in english. We had trouble getting directions to the house, for example, and someone had to spend a day trying to find it before people arrived.
- Some people didn't like that the rooms didn't have doors on the toilets for obvious reasons
- The open floor plan means there are more bugs in the living area than if the house was closed. This is totally worth it to me, just FYI.

After all that, I'm STILL GIVING IT 5 STARS. Why am I giving it a perfect rating even with some flaws? Because of the price. It is an absolutely insane value. it might be the best value in the world for houses of its type, at least according to my pretty extensive research on large scale rentals across the globe before picking this one

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Gorgeous place

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

Every day I was surprising with charm and beauty.
The location is close to the little town of las Terrenas,very safe with plenty good restaurants with a touch of french and italian cuisine.
Frenh bakery with croissants and pastry from the famous 'Nadine".
Horse back ridding for sunset and nice cocktails before diner with the local chef on the beach.
Very friendly staff ,who kept the house nice and clean all days.
Warming welcome with Martine and Francois ,who's always here for us ,organising trip to the water fall or the "route du cafe".
Just a perfect place to chill out and enjoy the swiming pool and make the perfect vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Phenomenal Wedding Venue

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

This villa is absolutely gorgeous! We rented this villa for our wedding and I couldn't have been happier about our choice. The house is beautiful, the staff blew me away (leury, the bartender was a life saver and the housekeepers were so sweet and helpful!), the beach was the best in the area (soft sand, shallow for a long way out, and the water was calm). The beds were so comfortable and the view is absolutely breathtaking. A slice of paradise!

One thing, there are mosquitos (it is the caribbean and it is an open house), so I would suggest getting some mosquito coils (they sell them in town) and lighting them around the house. Also, the staff will spray the rooms for you if you ask them to.

We missed the opening of the new road by just a few days, so now it's even easier to get to from Santo Domingo.

Our favorites in the area:
Mi Corazon - they catered our wedding and the food was fabulous. We had dinner at the restaurant as well and it is an amazing space. Excellent service and ambiance

Restaurant Luis - shack restaurant on the beach about 25 minute walk along the beach from the villa. about 30 of us went there one evening and they stayed open late for us, had delicious food, even drove their car over and used their headlight to give us some light as we ate.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

YOU WANT TO STAY AT THIS HOUSE!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

26 friends and I recently visited the villa for a week, and I cannot speak highly enough about the house and the service! The facilities are high quality, modern and very comfortable, and the beach is secluded and absolutely stunning. The owner and employees catered to our every need, including security at night, 3 meals a day and massages (for extra, of course). The house was always very clean, and we had a tremendous amount of privacy considering the house is open air! We thoroughly enjoyed spending time with the chef and the other employees, and they were tremendously helpful with every request or need we had. We also felt very safe around the house (in the house, on the beach, and in the larger neighborhood).

Las Terrenas also offers a variety of really fun activities that we took advantage of, including scuba diving, hikes to waterfalls, nightlife, fantastic restaurants and whale watching.

You really cannot find a better deal for the quality of the experience, and I highly encourage large groups to take advantage of this package! It is perfect for student groups, small weddings, reunions or other large occasions.

One recommendation: rent a car so that you can have the freedom to go to the grocery store and travel to various activities!

You won't regret it! Zero complaints!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

We recently came back from a one week friends/family vacation in Las Terrenas and stayed at the beautiful Villa del Mar. We had a truly fantastic time and this home which can easily be compared to a luxury boutique hotel has everything one needs for a relaxing holiday. There were 18 people in our group and we all loved the house situated on the beautiful Coson beach. The photos do not do this beautiful home any justice.

It was also a pleasure dealing with the owner and the house management. Everyone was simply delightful.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review