reviews for: listing #7423 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Sea Watch, an Oceanfront Jewel, perfect
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hawaii Paradise Park
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $185 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,245 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful and Relaxing Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Watch for a week and just loved our time there. The house is spacious and beautiful. My husband cooked breakfast and supper there each night and the kitchen was well equipped to create lovely meals with fresh food on the island. The lanai is relaxing and overlooks a beautiful view of the ocean. The house was very clean and comfortable. Sam, the owner, was helpful and kind. I couldn't recommend this place more highly!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sublime holiday retreat

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

I hardly know where to begin....it is hard to recommend this venue more highly. The welcome is so friendly, the property absolutely perfect. There was nothing I could fault. Everything you could possibly need has been thought of. The whales we saw from the terrace took our breath away. If you are thinking of holidaying in this part of Hawaii , look no further than Sea Watch!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

M Cournoyer

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

I highly recommend this vacation site. Everything about this home is more than anybody could ask for. Myself and two others stayed here for two weeks. The owner was professional, polite and when we needed anything she took care of us immediately. We enjoyed the beautiful view in the morning for sunrises and evenings. Truly a paradise one will never forget and hate to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highest Recommendation Possible!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

Home was clean as a whistle- no mold whatsoever, as in some seaside residences. The kitchen had every possible convenience possible imaginable including bread and rice makers! Nice laundry room serves as a second bathroom with shower. Very private. Great location on the coast line. Hardly knew other houses were nearby. All windows were spotless for viewing the ocean. Sam was delightful to work with and a binder of reviews and recommendations from Sea Watch over many years was helpful in deciding where to go and how to best spend our vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Most Relaxing, Romantic, Comfortable and Inspiring Home.

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We arrived at Sea Watch on the afternoon of our 27th Wedding Anniversary, and stayed for 7 nights. They had to be the fastest 7 days we'd ever experienced! Our first trip to the Big Island, Sea Watch, and Sam, were all perfect. The mornings, sitting there on the lanai, sipping coffee and watching the sun slowly rise over the ocean will live in us forever, as will the afternoons watching the sea turtles in the waves below. Absolutely the perfect sleeping environment too, with the gentle trade winds and soothing surf. We definitely would not hesitate to stay at Sea Watch again, or recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

See whale watch

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

I did not want to leave. Spotless, everything we needed, and Sam our owner was a delight. The views were breathtaking. The home was comfortable. I hope to return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place for a retreat and battery charge!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

This was our second stay in less than a year. As soon as we walk through the door we feel at home. The view is unsurpassed, the spinner dolphins welcomed us the first night. The first time we stayed for just 3 days, this time for 7! This was the first time we have ever stayed in one place on vacation for a week, we are usually on the move, it is that special! Samatha is a dear and manages the property with a loving hand!
Any one who stays here will not be dissapointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place for a Big Island holiday

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

Hawaii's Big Island is definitely a place worth flying half way around the planet for. Sea Watch is the icing on the cake. With so much to see and do on the island, coming back and listening to the crashing waves on the rocks below whilst sipping a glass of your favourite beverage is definitely luxury to the extreme. If you are at Sea Watch early enough in the year you will see whales without even having to leave the House. Although we were later in the year we had the joy of dolphins instead.

The Volcanic National Park is a must have, if it is raining down at Hilo it is almost guaranteed sun at the top. The views are spectacular, and the lava fields immense. Worth taking the drive down to the coast and just stopping off at the various pull-ins just to take it all in. Walking to the fresh lava flows was the highlight of our holiday (as well as snorkeling and scuba diving), and a real education. Take good walking shoes or hiking boots as the hardened lava can be quite tough to walk on.

Definitely worth hiring a car for the holiday, as there is so much to see. It took us about 6-7 hours to go all the way around the island, but you will want to stop off in so many places it is guaranteed to take longer.

The exceptionally clean Sea Watch has everything you could possible need, including a delightful owner in Sam, who is happy to leave you alone for the week, or answer numerous questions from sight-seeing to weather to restaurants. (Excellent restaurants about 10-15 minutes’ drive, and not expensive.) Sea Watch is a place you can relax in for your whole vacation, or like us use as a place to return to at the end of the day and listen to the wave lapping below you.

Will we return? – DEFINITLY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A return stay at Sea Watch!!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

This was a second stay at Sea Watch and it was as great as our visit back in 2002! The view is breathtaking and you see the ocean out of almost every room in the house - including the master bath shower! This house is spotless, so bright and cheery. Sam the owner has stocked it with everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. We loved Sea Watch so much we spent 3 days during our stay never leaving the house! Such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay!! A third visit will be in our future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Will stay here again!

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

We really loved staying at Sea Watch! It is, by far, the best rental home either of us have ever encountered. Sam really has thought of everything to make it comfortable. Mahalo nui loa!

I absolutely plan on coming back. I don't usually say that because I have so many places I want to see in the world that I don't feel I have time to revisit those I've already seen. But I really want to come to Sea
Watch and just stay at the house and relax next time.

Aloha a hui hou!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Before submitting this review, I read all the others. Every superlative is spot on, so I'll not go over it all again; just read them and know they are true. Our stay (mother and daughter) in February was our second, and every bit as enjoyable as the first. We especially like Sea Watch's location, it's so quiet and peaceful, and is a great "base camp " for exploring the island, north, south , and west. You can expect rain but it's warm and generally soon passes. (We get a Mustang convertible rather than a Jeep as the top goes up very quickly when necessary!)

Without a doubt, we hope to return. We have loved our experiences at Sea Watch.




Silly, but one of the things that impressed me most about this home was that it has a good set of knives, actually sharp! I did not have to use my own which I always bring along since almost no vacation rentals have sharp knives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Don't blame me...

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

...if you decide to stay somewhere else than this place!
As a returning guest of Sea Watch, I'm telling you this; If you're looking for a nice and comfortable rental home, away from the tourist-centres, you just found it.
It's a well-kept house with a personal touch and a friendly host. Nestled on a rugged lava cliff in a residential area, you will enjoy unspoilt 180 degrees ocean-view from the lanai and most rooms, even from the shower.
Sea Watch offers just everything a guest can ask for, and much more.

Als wiederkehrender Gast von Sea Watch kann ich Ihnen folgendes sagen; sollten Sie auf der Suche nach einem schönen und gemütlichen Ferienhaus sein, abseits der Touristen-Centren, dann haben Sie es soeben gefunden.
Es ist ein schönes Haus, mit einem persönlichen 'Touch' und einer netten Besitzerin. Es steht direkt an einer wilden Lava-Klippe in einem Wohnviertel, mit 180 Grad Meersicht vom Gartensitzplatz und den meisten Zimmern, sogar von der Dusche aus.
Sea Watch bietet einfach alles was sich ein Gast wünschen kann, und noch mehr.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spectacular Setting

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Sea Watch is a perfect name for this comfortable and very relaxing vacation spot because all you want to do is sit, watch and listen to the ocean. We forced ourselves to explore the area most days though. Sea Watch was about 30 -45 minutes from the Volcano National Park which we spent several days exploring. The Hilo area is lush and has beautiful gardens and rain forests to walk around and these places are all within 30 to 45 minutes from the house as well. Extreme Exposures Gallery in downtown Hilo had some amazing photo prints at reasonable prices that is worth checking out. The kitchen was well stocked. We cooked most of our evening meals there because after being out all day, we just didn't want to leave again. Sam was very a gracious and easy to work with. The house was very clean. There are windows all around and they were sparkling. If I ever came back to Hilo, I would definitely stay at Sea Watch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Patti, Brent and Terra (ca)

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

What a beautiful place!! Thank you Sam for the fresh flowers throughout the house, that personal touch meant so much. The house was immaculate, the view gorgeous, well equipped with all the kitchen stuff you needed, the abundance of towels (you thought of everything Sam). If you want a peaceful and relaxing vacation, this is it. We all loved Sea Watch, again what a stunning place!!! Loved it!!!!

We also enjoyed doing the tourist things like going to the volcano, mauna loa factory and just driving around Hilo.

On a personal note, Sam was a delight to meet and I think I've just made a new friend.

Mahalo Sam and Aloha~~~~Until we meet again~~~

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Special Place

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Our stay at sea watch was just beautiful. Waking up the fist morning looking out of the bedroom window at the ocean took our breath away. We didn't want to leave.
Sam the owner lives right next door and is such a wonderful person. It was such a pleasure getting to know her!
The house is very, very clean and has everything you could ever need.
I struggled a little to write this review, since it will be hard to find free time for a stay at this wonderful place, if more people find out about it. ;-)
The island, the ocean - so much magnificence!
Kai and Stephanie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved Sea Watch!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

I have never stayed in a vacation rental:
With such a well stocked kitchen
So perfectly maintained
So well thought out. Sam certainly pays attention to Every detail. I highly recommend this property. I wish I could have stayed for at least a month

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dreaming of my return to this amazing place

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

For starters, this is the most wonderful rental property I've ever seen and I can't wait to return to Sam's Sea Watch!

As others commented, photos don't do it justice. I was drawn to the place by the photos listed, the clean sight lines of the blue Pacific against the beauty of lava rock bluffs and the sparkling white interior. But now that I've seen it with my own eyes, taking dozens of photos myself, there is no substitute for being there in person. A picture is worth a thousand words yet those who travel know that photos never fully capture the essence of a place.

Sam is a very conscientious innkeeper and a friendly host full of tips to assist you in enjoying the island. Someone else made an analogy to the concierge you would find in a fine hotel. The home has brochures and many pages of typed information, books, maps - and Sam is just a phone call away to help answer any question. And phone calls are free from Sea Watch to anyone in the USA or Canada. Free internet access is also provided.

This sizable light and airy home really is as clean as you could hope it to be. She has a team of people devoted to prepping the home for the next guests and they are very thorough as it truly is spotless.

It was so peaceful to relax in a quiet residential area by the sea. Lush foliage and large lots make it feel quite private and secluded. Remote enough to feel secluded yet a short drive to stores and restaurants when the need arises. Sam provides very detailed and accurate directions to Sea Watch.

We enjoyed cooking large family meals, including one prepared on the grill. There are copious amounts of spices, condiments etc. provided. And it seems many guests leave dried goods, etc. they couldn't consume. I know we paid it forward by leaving things behind. All of the appliances and gadgets you need are here for you. And cupboards full of every size of cookware, dishes, glasses, mugs - you name it. Loved the bay windows surrounding the dinner table. All ocean all the time!

Nice to have a washer & dryer. Sam provides laundry detergent. Water pressure and temps were always great in the shower by the way, and that isn't always true in hotels, let alone rental homes. Dozens of towels to choose from. Sorry if I sound like a broken record but you really do have everything you need at this place.

Sighing as I realize it's impossible to express how much I loved my time by the sea at this tasteful, relaxing, special home - heaven on Earth. Mahalo, Sam!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Outstanding views and location

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the house, location and owner. Samantha went out of her way to help us when we had a minor medical emergency. The location was perfect. It was great to wake up and eat breakfast on the porch where we could watch and listen to the surf. Unlike other rentals we've used in the past, Seawatch did not have any mildew smell.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stop looking, this is the place.

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

If I could imagine the most perfect vacation home, I could not come close to imagining this wonderful house. We were so happy there, I did not want leave, ever.

Thank you Sam for being the best hostess ever. I hope we can come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sea Watch, The Beautiful

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

Walking into the doors of Sea Watch is an experience that will stop the hands of time and leave you completely awestruck.

The first thing you will see is the large bay window across the room from the doorway into the home. The scene displays the lava rock on which the house is built. Out of that rock grows a low-lying shrub in beautiful green. Less than 100 feet away is a cliff against which waves crash and spray upward in majestic splendor and beyond that is the spacious ocean. The rolling waves are the most beautiful blue-turquoise color that you can imagine. The sound of the waves will rock you to sleep at night.

Once you can release your gaze from the beauty beyond that bay window and you focus on the house itself, you will be engulfed by the calm, clean colors and exquisite home design. The vaulted ceilings and spacious living quarters of the main room is cheerful, calming and captivating. The openness of this home is delightful. No matter which room you occupy, whether it be the kitchen, dining area nestled in the bay window, sitting room that faces the sliding glass doors that lead to the lanai, the bathroom shower or the master bedroom, you have a large view of that beautiful ocean. The pictures that can be viewed online do not give this beautiful piece of art justice.

I found Sea Watch to be one of the most medicinal havens I’ve ever had the pleasure of visiting. It embraces your heart, mind and soul and leaves you with a memory that will drive you to return.

Sam, the owner, is a treasure. She is very accommodating and extremely intelligent. Her wealth of information relative to the area in general, where to shop and other places of scenic interest was extremely helpful. Her hard work with the property upkeep and friendly spirit has made her a friend of this family forever.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sea watch

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

We loved our vacation at Sea watch. The house is beautiful and kept perfectly. We loved the view from the patio doors and especially the corner glass above
the kitchen sink. No obstructions to spoil the view.
The fishing was fantastic. Being a fresh water fisherman, it took me awhile to figure out a stragey. The waves and cliff weren't a problem once I learned what to do. By using a large bobber, or float, and attaching a heavy sinker just under it will give the distance and depth you need. Attach a small hook 6ft. below the bobber and let the current and waves provide the action. I used squid, cut up, in strips for bait. Buy frozen instead of fresh. Then there isn't a bad smell. I left a tackle box with necessary gear. Wash off salt water after each use and spray the reels with the WD-40 left with fishing equipment that way the equipment will last a long time.
We will recommend this rental to everyone. We loved it. Larry and Sandy from Crystal Lake, Illinois

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unbeatable

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

I stayed here with my wife and 5 year old daughter and we had a fantastic time, so much so that we are planning a return. This place is everything you would hope for and much more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

Aloha Sam and future guests.

I truly enjoyed my stay in Sea Watch for the second time.
The house is beautiful, well maintained and everything was there to enjoy vacation.
Saw many many whales just in front of the house everyday.
Today, March 28th 2010. Sam and I kept watching a Mom and baby whale swim by early afternoon.
I travel a lot and I should say this is the best place in the whole world to refresh your mind and rejuvenate your soul.

I loved the bed in the master bedroom. I usually have a hard time to used to with hotel beds, however in Sea Watch, I could fall a sleep and wake up in the morning with totally rested.
If there is a book to rate Vacation Rentals in the world, I will give 5 stars to Sea Watch!
Will come back again in September.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best-outfitted Rental Ever

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

The pictures of Seawatch do not do it justice: the view is panoramic with the bay wrapping around on both the north and south ends, endless vistas look straight out to sea, and crashing waves against the cliffs in the distance as the sun rose each morn made our breakfasts in the nook unforgettable. We could only imagine what it would be like to see this every day, rather than just for the precious week we spent here.
Our experiences with other vacation rentals has been mixed, with our biggest complaint being missing essentials, such as salt, or paper products, but at Seawatch we were amazed to find the cupboards and shelves brimming full with every kind of dish, utensil, pan, appliance, condiment, enetertainment items... the list on their seawatchhawaii.com website gives an impressive rundown. What is so wonderful about this is that you can settle in and begin your vacation immediately. If you shop for food, all you'll need to buy is the food itself, and not any expensive extras.
This neighborhood is very quiet and only 25 minutes away from Hilo shopping but well removed from the crowds and bustle. We wanted a quiet, peaceful vacation experience, and we could not have been happier with our week in Paradise on Paradise Drive!
We saw whales every day and loved having wine on the oceanfront lanai as the setting sun created rainbows over the water, and seeing the full moon rise over the horizon was magical.
Seawatch is bordered by a vacant oceanfront lot on one side, and the quiet owner on the other. Very private, very quiet. The perfect getaway.
We recommend Seawatch for its beauty, magical location, welcoming neighbors and close-by but unobtrusive hosts, and the wild nene that came everyday to knock on the window for a handout.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fully equipped and well maintained home

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

My husband and I spent a week at Sea Watch in November 2009. It was highly recommended by friends who stayed there in 2007. The home is everything they reported and even more than advertised. The home is so well equipped you need only your clothes. It is very clean and well maintained. If you like to cook, the kitchen is fully equipped. For entertainment, there is cable, DVD's, CD's, and board games. There are travel/tour books to plan your outings. There are beach chairs, towels and coolers and even some snorkel masks and fins. And after a day of sightseeing, the lanai at Sea Watch was the best place to relax with a glass of wine and watch the ocean.
This home is on a lovely residential street a bit away from the tourist crowd but close enough to Hilo and many attractions. If you want quiet relaxation, this is the place to be. And your innkeeper, Sam, is most gracious and helpful. The information she supplies is better than any hotel concierge. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful place - highly recommended!

Review submitted: November 30, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

Paul, my partner and I stayed at Sea Watch in October 2009. I was there for one week on my own while Paul was observing at one of the telescopes on Mauna Kea, and then we had a week there together. We enjoyed everything about Sea Watch and its location, and it was great to have the friendly and helpful owner, Sam, on hand to answer any queries. The house itself is fabulously stylish and airy, making the most of the light and the sea view. It is also very clean, well equipped, and with an attention to detail that included wonderful flower decorations in different rooms. Somehow it is both spacious AND cosy, which was important for me when I was on my own. The compact desk area was ideal for emailing and skyping, but not intrusive and the open kitchen layout was delightful. Whether sitting in the comfortable living area or relaxing outside on the front deck, we loved hearing the noise of the ocean and watching the spray rise up above the black volcanic rock.
The location is absolutely ideal for Hilo and its wonderful farmers' market; exploring the Hamakua coast, its waterfalls and the fantastic tropical botanical gardens; snorkelling at Richardson Beach Park; and exploring the two live volcanoes of Mauna Loa and Kilauea - from seeing the orange glow of molten lava at night to hiking along well marked and fascinating crater trails.
The only thing to bear in mind is that you are dependant on the car - no stores in walking distance. But not a problem as long as you are aware of this. And good restaurants a short drive away in Pahoa.
We would definitely recommend Sea Watch!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly a Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

Truly a Home Away From Home - I thought Wal-Mart was my home away from home until we stayed at Sea Watch. This amazingly immaculate and beautiful home is truly a jewel of a rental. My husband and I have rented many times and Sea Watch has absolutely been the best one. Sam and Dan have done an amazing job decorating, furnishing and supplying this home. They thought thoroughly through an entire day and week of anything one could possibly need and provided accordingly - from gorgeous fresh flowers in every room, filtered water, free long distance, makeup mirror, tape measure, scales to weigh your suitcase, tea bags, zip bags, garbage bags, discount grocery cards, paper, pens, desk, and much more.

Sea Watch can make anyone feel right at home and it is truly a home with two living areas, two bedrooms, huge master bedroom overlooking ocean with an extremely comfortable king size bed with huge bath w/shower even overlooking the ocean, laundry room which is an entire room, not just a closet with a washer and dryer, beautiful lanai where you can sit and watch the sunrise, gorgeous kitchen that overlooks the ocean with a corner kitchen window at the sink where you can stand as you clean up and watch for whales. I could go on and on, but Sea Watch is truly amazing. Her pictures do not do it justice. We thought it looked very nice from her pictures, but we were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It was a million times more gorgeous than it looks in the pictures.

Sea Watch was very easy to find with Sam's very detailed directions, and is conveniently located to the Hilo airport. Hilo with all of its breathtaking waterfalls such as Rainbow Falls and Boiling Pots Falls, farmers market, Liliuoklani Gardens and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens are all a must. Volcanoes National Park is only 30 miles away and also is a must. If time permits, a day trip around the whole island is a must. Kona Coast also is very pretty, but is much busier and congested. North of Hilo is Laupahoehoe Point which is quite beautiful as well as South of Hilo Punaluu Beach, a black sand beach. Both are a must see.

As you can see, there is much to see on the Big Island. You can travel all day and return to relax at Sea Watch, a beautiful and comfortable home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We love it here!

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

We hate to leave this beautiful, ocean front, "home away from home". It's hard to imagine better accommodations. It had every amenity we could have hoped for, down to a brand new Tiger rice cooker!!, and the place is spotless. What a quiet, relaxing spot for a much needed vacation. We highly recommend Volcano national park, but the even closer tide pool for some of the best snorkeling on the islands. Lava flow should not be missed, as the island continues to grow. We saw whales from the front porch and even from the dinner table! Sam and Dan are most welcoming - don't forget to ask them for one of their famous (and delicious) mai tais!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise on the Big Island

Review submitted: December 23, 2008   Date of arrival: November 23, 2007

Seawatch is one of my favorite destinations on the planet. The minute you walk into Seawatch you feel at peace and like you are in your own home. Sam and Dan provide everything you need to have the most luxurious, comfortable experience you will ever have. The crashing waves, beautiful cliff views of the ocean, spacious and open design make you feel like you don't want to ever leave. However, you should since the volcano, Hilo, waterfalls, hiking and fun in the water are all within close proximity. When we think of paradise, Seawatch is where we go. It is very cost effective also for such luxury. I would recommend Seawatch to anyone traveling to the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A family affair with the Sea Watch

Review submitted: September 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 6, 2008

My husband, our 7-month old baby and sister stayed at the Sea Watch and it was fantastic! We had tried other vacation places before we arrived at Sea Watch and what a big difference. We would definitely go back to the Sea Watch on our next trip (which we hope will not be too far in the near future). The place was easy to find and very very clean. I was surprised on how clean it was compared to the other vacation places we stayed. My baby girl loved to crawl all over the place. The outside property was very well-maintained. The owners are wonderful and amazing people. They were very accommodating especially with my baby girl. We needed a crib and we got one right away. They thought of everything for the house especially something small like offering a discount grocery card for food shopping. I would definitely recommend this place to all my family & friends.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review