reviews for: listing #74239 - Hatteras Village, North Carolina House rental

"Blue Heaven", private pool, hot tub, game room
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Dunes East
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $500 /nt
    $595 - $3,345 /wk
    $1,700 - $1,975 /mth

sort by:

2nd visit!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much last summer that we came back this year! I really can't say enough about Blue Heaven. The house is absolutely perfect. This year we rented bikes and enjoyed daily rides to the coffee shop or the local restaraunts. The men went fishing and had a great time. The beach is a very short walk and we loved spending our mornings there. We love how uncrowded it is! The pool (which we chose to have heated) provided hours of fun for everyone. We cooked dinner at home most nights. Most anything you could need is provided in the well stocked kitchen. We look forward to returning again next summer. Thank you!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review Meg; we enjoy having repeat customers. I don't know which company you went with on bike rentals but that's a nice thing to do in the village. There are 2-3 places in the village that rent bikes, kayaks and such and there are a couple of companies that (deliver and pick up their rental supplies) and they rent almost anything that could add to the Blue Heaven stay inc. beach linens, beach buggies, beach umbrellas and chairs, coolers, play pens, cribs, high chairs and much more. We look forward to having your family back Meg! Let me know when you want me to send you a Rental Agreement; cost is very little until 6 months out and you reserve your spot now. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wisconsin Visitors

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

10 family members- 6 adults and 4 children vacationing together- chose Blue Heaven since none of us had ever been to N. Carolina and the pictures of the house were beautiful. We were NOT disappointed! The house was clean with a well supplied kitchen and large enough to allow us to have our own bedroom and bathroom with the kids sharing the bunk bed room. The living room and dining room were large enough for all of us to be together but there were several areas where you could get away for some quiet time. A beautiful pool and hot tub, along with a stocked game room provided extra entertainment.
Blue Heaven is conveniently located to the ferry, shopping, and restaurants and was only a short walk to the beautiful beaches over the dunes. We even had a fire on the beach one night while enjoying smores. Neighbors- both owners and renters were so friendly and helpful, one even took the men out on his boat for a morning of fishing.
Chris was helpful from start ( suggesting places to visit, where to rent equipment, what extras to bring ) to finish( after we left my grandson discovered he had forgotten a necklace he just bought and Chris handled making the contact to get it mailed back to us).
Thank you Chris, Jan, and Teresa

Owners response: Thanks for the very nice review Norma! It sounds like your family had a great vacation. Thanks for visiting Blue Heaven; we'd love to have your family come back and visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, Updated and Super Clean & Organized!

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

We have been traveling to OBX/Hatteras/Ocracoke Island for years. Blue Heaven was by far one of the nicest homes we have stayed in. We traveled to Ocracoke Island twice in one week...it was great to be so close to the ferry and shops!

We loved that the linens were provided. The layout of the house is great. The outdoor spaces were used a lot by us; between the screened in porch, decks, hot tub and pool, we were outside more than we were in.

We couldn't believe how organized the kitchen was. It literally has everything you'll need.

Thanks for everything! We'd highly recommend Blue Heaven to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review Amber and thanks for the nice things that you mentioned. These reviews are very important to our advertising in letting potential guests know about the house, amenities and the area. We're glad that you enjoyed the stay and we hope Blue Heaven will be your "go to" OBX destination.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place to stay while you are fishing in Hatteras!!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

We found this house on VRBO in March. My fishing buddies and I needed a place to stay while we fished the Hatteras Village Offshore Open. It was perfect for us as our boat is located at Teach's Lair Marina. We could walk to the marina if we wanted. The location was just perfect for us as there were activities nightly during the tournament. Place was very clean just as mentioned in the listing. we hardly stayed there as we fished in the Gulfstream 4 out of the 5 days we were there. But, when we were there it was pleasant and relaxing after coming off of the water for 10 hours. We are already making plans to return next year for the 21st annual HVOO. Chris was great to work with and we had absolutely no problems what so ever with anything. From check in to check it. This was a trip that I will never forget as I landed my first 450lb Blue Marlin and I swear it was because I was staying at BLUE HEAVEN!! Thanks Chris and to all that made this trip one that we will never ever forget!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review Shane, we really appreciate it! I'm glad you guys made some good memories and I'm glad you had good luck with the Blue Marlin and Tuna. We'd be glad to have you back for the 2015 HVOO! Teach's Lair is a nice marina and it is great to have it that close by....I use the convenience store part fairly often. When walking for exercise....we often walk the Teach's Lair lot and check out the boats, then we walk to Hatteras Landing and the ferry docks before heading back to Blue Heaven. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enough space for group of friends.

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

We had 9 ladies in our group and we enough bathrooms/beds to spread out. Table was large enough so we could eat together. We had the pool heated so we could enjoy that too.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the nice email with picture and review, Mary. I hope you ladies will come back to Hatteras to visit us at Blue Heaven again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for the family!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

An absolutely wonderful house for the family. My wife and I and 3 of our kids (ages 10-13) had very nice and relaxing time in Blue Heaven and Hatteras over our Spring Break. The house was clean and organized and welcoming. The kids had no problem at all feeling at home. The beach was a short walk away with easy access. We took the ferry to Ocracoke one day for a nice outing and had dinner that the Hatterasman one evening for a nice quick and casual meal. Overall a great vacation, a terrific house and an nice relaxing town (in the off season). We would recommend it to anyone!

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review David; I'm glad your family enjoyed the trip. We'd love to have you back again and hopefully when you can stay longer. Thanks for visiting and let us know if we can help you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at Blue Heaven and OH MY! The house is beautifully kept, everything is clean and organized, it was so easy to unwind. It was plenty large enough for the 9 of us (4 adults, 5 kids) to spread out, but still feel connected. The adults were able to enjoy the late nights and early mornings without tip-toeing around in fear of waking the children. Any parent will tell you how wonderful that is!! The beaches are beautiful, only wish it had been a little warmer! We were given a nice list of things available to do/see in the area, which was extremely helpful since many things close in the off season and we didn't want to spend too much time trying to search out the things that were open. While we had an issue with the hot tub, I can't even complain about that because it was fixed the next morning and we never even missed out on it. The ferry to Ocracoke is right there and free, the children really enjoyed that. There is a pull-off on 12 heading north away from the house where we saw a very large pod of wild dolphins right off the beach, that was possibly the highlight of our trip. Thank you so much for sharing this home with us!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We are glad your family enjoyed bringing in the New Year at Blue Heaven, Katie. We hope you'll come back and visit many times in the future. Thanks for visiting and posting the nice comments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Blue Heaven is an excellent house for anyone vacationing in Hatteras. It is so quiet, so serene. The house has many nice little areas to read or have a quiet cup of morning coffee, and yet the main great room is open and bright, with plenty of room for a large group. We totally loved our time in Hatteras, and staying in such a well-cared for home (with a GORGEOUS pool!) and hot tub makes it so extra fun, especially with kids. Pool in the morning, beach in the afternoon, evening bike ride, hot tub before bed. All around, great place for relaxing!

The owners are incredibly attentive to details, and provided us with very helpful information on the area when we were looking for some ideas of things to do, places to see. When a minor incident came up at the house while we were there, they were immediate in their response. Excellent experience all around.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I could take out all of my advertising words and numbers and just put up your review and it would be a great ad for Blue Heaven! Thank you Elizabeth; we're glad your family enjoyed their stay. Come back and visit again if you can.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

First time to Hatteras and lived in NC for >20 years. Well, I won't wait another 20. What a beautiful location - so nice to see the area natural, without a whole lot of development. I can only hope it stays exactly the way it is.

The house? Perfect, indeed. Clean, perfect location, and lots of room. The pool was an absolute PLUS. You can definitely tell that a lot of work goes into maintaining this house......I absolutely LOVE the color of the bathroom on the 2nd floor!

Even though the house was well-stocked for cooking, we did minimal. Hey, I'm on vacation and not interested in cooking! Lots of good restaurants in close proximity.

We do not get to the beach each year, as we try to plan different locations for vacation {next year = San Fran!}. However, when we do decide to 'do' a beach vacation, Blue Heaven will be our house.

A BIG thanks to Jan, Teresa and Chris for being awesome to work with. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review Cheryl! You're close enough for a 3-4 day trip in the off-season when the rates are fabulous and it is an even better place to unwind. Winter weeks are off the charts cheap...I can't do much better for 3 or more nights. We close the pool in late October and open it back in the spring but the hot tub is running and the beautiful Cape Hatteras National Seashore is there to view and enjoy with nature's beauty abound.....and Blue Heaven is a good spot to enjoy it from. Tell your friends to come visit us too Cheryl; thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Slice of Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

It's been 13 days since we said a tearful goodbye to Blue Heaven and my four year old twins are still asking when we're going back to "our Blue Heaven." An impressive feat considering how short of an attention span 4 year olds tend to have.

Words can not express how perfect our time was in Hatteras, and specifically Blue Heaven. The house is a vacationing family's dream! Beyond the fact that the house was impeccably clean, it was also perfectly sized and furnished, allowing us to spread out happily and comfortably. The kids absolutely LOVED the bunk bed room and my husband and I were more than pleased with the master suite on the third floor.

The house was also impressively equipped to keep every person in our family happy and entertained. From the pool and jacuzzi, to the game room (with foosball and PlayStation) and even the DVDs (both adult movies in the living room and children's movies in the bunkbed room) so thoughtfully provided by the owners, it was often times hard to drag ourselves away from the house to explore the beautiful town of Hatteras. Though, when we did decide to venture out of the house and hang out at the beach, we were lucky to be so conveniently located. The beach was just an extremely quick walk down a short residential street and over a dune. We were there in minutes!

I will never be able to say enough about how amazing our visit was. It was so amazing, in fact, that I'm finding it hard to pick a different location of our 2014 family vacation, when it would be so easy, and so awesome, to return to Blue Heaven for another year. If I am able to resist the call, and we choose a different location next year, I have no doubt that we will return the year after. Blue Heaven has found a permanent place in our hearts.

I can not imagine anyone being disappointed in the decision to choose Blue Heaven as their home away from home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: What a great review Desiree; we really appreciate your thoughtful words! Let us know if we can help you again, we'd be glad to have you visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place and great owners...

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

We made an unplanned trip to Hatteras in the early part of May this year and were lucky enough to find Blue Heaven. The house is beautiful and just a short walk from the beach. We found the house to be very comfortable, well maintained and nicely decorated. I would not have any problem whatsoever recommending the house (and the owners) to any of my friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for that nice review Corby! Let me know if I can help you again. We appreciate you taking the time to write it; good reviews are always welcomed, we work hard to keep Blue Heaven in great shape for our guests and for us to enjoy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Beach Home!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our stay at Blue Heaven was so wonderful that it was hard to leave. Besides the house being immaculate, it had everything we needed for our comfort. The interior design was beachy without being tacky, it was soothing on the main kitchen/family room level and bright fun colors with the bathrooms/bedrooms...very well done. All but one bedroom was on one level (the second level), along with the laundry room, which was convenient when we did the laundry. The kitchen had all the supplies we needed. The furniture was comfortable, not worn, and just right for the 10 of us. Again, very tasteful for a vacation home. We could tell the owners are diligent with upkeep. Walls, paint, floorboards etc were in excellent condition, like new. Outdoor furniture was comfy and perfect. Loved the tall chairs on the top deck for sipping coffee and enjoying the breeze/view of the Sound. Loved the hammock for mid-day siestas, but we had to get the kids off first in order to use it!! The pool was so beautiful and clean. Surprisingly large compared to other pools. Pool area more than big enough for all of us with plenty of outdoor seating. We swam in pool as much as we went to the beach! The little kids (and big kids AKA the husbands) loved the game room foosball table. Was nice to have the outdoor shower and garden hose to clean up from the beach before going inside.

We used the house to its entirety, in fact, because it is three levels deep (actually 4) we had some nice separation from the kids and noise!! Perfect! They really claimed their bunk bedroom to hang out in, with their own T.V./DVD player ...What kids?

Short walk to the beach. No complaints from kids! It was shorter than I expected. Plus, the public beach access is not far away (just down the road) if you want to drive to the beach.

For a nice dinner out we LOVED Dinky's (very close by).Got DELICIOUS steamed shrimp a couple of nights from the fish house next to Dinky's. We ate in quite a bit, as we stocked the fridge when we got there. Huge kitchen table seated all of us, along with the bar stool/counter area.

Captain's Nook is small but sweet! Great for reading, devotionals, computer work etc

Must see:
-Hatteras lighthouse
-Ferry to Okracoke (least busy on weekends) rent golf cart to zip around island:) Eat @ The Jolly Roger
-Beach (wind surfers are so fun to watch) Sand castles and splash in surf!
May want to buy/bring: (definitely toilet paper!), extra kitchen towels from home, beach gear, laundry detergent

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Maggie for the great detailed review. I'm sure other potential guests will love reading it. I had 4 people email about weeks in 2014 today. Thank you for the emails you sent me, I enjoyed hearing/reading your thoughts! Jan and Teresa and myself and sometimes friends work on Blue Heaven every spring, fall and winter and we have great local caretakers. It's a fun kind of work to me...I actually like doing it. I think they may paint the outside this fall or next spring, in the same colors (hire it out)? We touch it up every spring and fall, inside and out, but to stay ahead of the salt air...it's probably time. I hope your family comes back and visits Blue Heaven again! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Great Visit

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

We spent Memorial Day week at Blue Heaven. It was our second time there. Just like the first time, we enjoyed ourselves immensely! We love renting this house. The location is terrific, the owners are meticulous about the cleanliness of the home, the house is well-appointed (the adirondack captains chairs on the deck at sunset time among my favorites!), and the linens are included! The pool and hot tub are a plus too. It is a stone's throw from the ferry ride to Ocracoke. It's just a beautiful, relaxing vacation! We will return, again and again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks again Robin and Jay! I hope your kids' school schedule will be good to you and I hope we'll see you at Blue Heaven again. Repeat customers prove that we're doing things right and we'd love to have your family come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful ,well maintained and very clean

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

The house Is all it claims to be and more..
We had a wonderful time and we had everything we needed. Thanks for the stay at your house , it was very accomodating for our obx trip. Will definitely recommend for friends whom may be headed that way!! Chris was great with all information we needed, Diamond Shoals and the Fish House are our favorite places to eat. Risky Business has the best fresh shrimp!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Donna; I hope you can come back again and thanks for visiting this time. I'm sure others will appreciate your suggestions of seafood markets and restaurants.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

The minute we walked in we were blown away! The house exceeded all expectations. We enjoyed cooking dinners in the fully stocked kitchen and drinks on the top balcony watching the sunset. With 5 adults and 3 kids under 4 everyone had plenty of space. We couldn't believe how kid friendly the house was! We spent our mornings on the beautiful beach and afternoons by the pool. The beach is a super short walk that even our littlest kid happily walked. Easily one of the best homes in Hatteras! We can't wait to go back next year! Thank you so much

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for that very nice review Meg! We really enjoy reading about our guest enjoying Blue Heaven and their stay in Hatteras. We enjoy using the house ourselves and we try to keep it in tip-top shape amenity wise and for functionality and comfort and our caretakers, (Shore Details), does an excellent job in helping us keep it that way.. We welcome your family back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation home!

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Our trip to the Outer Banks for a friends wedding was made even more special by our stay at Blue Heaven! All the comforts of home, a great hot tub that warmed us on those cold evenings & allowed us all some space for privacy! We highly recommend Blue Heaven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review Debi! I wish the weather had been a little warmer for you but in March, it can vary a good amount and you caught a cold snap. If we can help you again, we'd be glad to do so. Thanks for choosing Blue Heaven!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Beach House

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

This house is truly as good as all the reviews claim it to be! It is the nicest beach house we have ever stayed in, and was very reasonably priced. It is spacious, clean, updated and in excellent condition. Only a few houses down from the beach access, it is a 3-5 minute walk to the ocean. The hot tub and pool were in excellent condition. Our favorite area of the house was the kitchen/family area on the third floor where we cooked, ate, played games and watched TV. There are a lot of stairs and the bedrooms are on the second and third floors, but that wasn't a problem for us. The game room on the bottom floor was nice, but small, and we didn't use it because we just wanted to hang out together on the top floor. (There were six of us). I think it would be great for teenagers who wanted some space. The booking agent (a family member of the owner) was very helpful and always quick to reply to our needs during booking and during our stay. The concierge service was also helpful. While it is quite a drive from the northern towns of the Outer Banks and lighthouses (2 hours from Currituck Lighthouse), there are plenty of little shops and restaurants on Hatteras Island. The Hatteras Lighthouse and visitor center is a very short drive. You might want to bring most of your groceries with you as the local stores were a little pricey and have a very limited selection. The upside is that it is a little quieter and less commercial. We also loved the free ferry to Ocracoke (a three minute drive). There is a lighthouse and visitor center on that island as well, along with several things to see and do. We loved our stay in the Outer Banks and were very pleased with Blue Heaven and it's location. I would absolutely recommend this house to anyone and would definitely try to book it again if we return to the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review Dawn. Groceries and gas are a little more expensive on the island; distributors have to ride one way in and take that same route out instead of heading to another destination. Burrus Red and White first opened for business in 1866 and the same family owns it today....renovated to the current red brick in 1962. Home of very friendly people and a very nice hometown store, in that Burrus grocery store. Conners in Buxton is about the same, there's an even smaller store in Frisco and the Food Lion in Avon is much bigger of course. Lee Robinson's general store is only 1/4 mile away and it has some grocery items. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay; come visit us again at Blue Heaven in Hatteras, NC.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved Every Minute!!!!!!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Have stayed at the Blue Heaven for 6 or 7 yrs. The new owners have definately improved this beautiful home on all levels.Loved the hammock!!! Spent a rainy afternoon reading on it and enjoyed every minute. The new deck chairs are a perfect spot to watch the sunset. Have been coming to Hatteras since 1959.... Love you Hatteras...and the Blue Heaven!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the very nice review Amy! There's no doubt that you and your family love Hatteras and really like staying in Blue Heaven! We'll try to keep it very nice for you and add things when we can! Just to clarify for anyone who should read this....Amy actually stayed the last 3 years with my brother and sister-in-law as owners. In 2010 she had already rented through a Realtor and she missed her 2 weeks in 2011 because of the Hurricane. Thanks a bunch for your family's patronage Amy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing location, amazing house

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at Blue Heaven in July. When we arrived, the house was immaculately clean, and it looked even better than the online pictures. We have three young children, so the short walk to the beach, pool and outdoor shower were all greatly appreciated. We had never stayed in Hatteras before, and we enjoyed jogging and bike riding around town. Hatteras is remote, but there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby within walking distance. Blue Heaven is well maintained, homey and has a location you can't beat. The owner was also very responsive to emails and following up with us. I highly recommend renting this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Michael and Lisa, Thank you for the nice Review! If I can help you again, let me know. Chris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Hatteras Vacation

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We loved Blue Heaven! We have vacationed at least one week of every year for thirteen years on the Outer Banks, even staying in several houses on the streets surrounding this property. This was the best - by far!

The house was spacious and clean. The pool and hot tub were sparkling. It was easy to see the effort and attention to detail put into this house to make it the great vacation home it is.

Among my favorite things is bed linens and bath towels included during peak season!! It has always been difficult when renting other properties to gather appropriate sized bedding, make up beds when arriving (while unpacking groceries and clothes) and taking dirty sheets home to launder at the end of the vacation. That was not necessary this time, and I hope never to have to do that again after the luxury of having it included this year!

My boys enjoyed the foosball table and XBOX, when we weren't in the pool or on the beach. My parents, my husband and I enjoyed the sunsets over the Sound and drinks on the upper decks. The close proximity to the Ferry is also a plus. This was truly an enjoyable week.

We highly recommend this house - I just hope you won't be renting it the week we hope to return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review Robin. We do strive to take care of Blue Heaven and add nice amenities when we can. We also have good local caretakers who respond quickly when needed; as a team we stay on top of things fairly well. We got that slow drain you told me about on Tue., worked on a couple of hours after you told me; things such as that can be taken care of when guests let us know. Thank you for letting me know. Linens are also available during the off season; we give guests with low numbers going a choice of bringing their own fitted linens to save a little money if they would like. We rent linens for the whole house but those guests with few people going can also rent linens from our caretaker by the bed. Reserving a week for next summer is minimal cost right now with the RA; let me know when you decide. We’d be glad to have your family back any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

This is our second year staying at Blue Heaven - we love it! The house is comfortable, inviting, and offers enough space for active young ones, and family in need of a little R&R. We love the short walk to the beach and the ability to enjoy the pool as well. This year we visited the Hatteras Lighthouse and enjoyed dinner at the Captain's Table across the street from the entrance the lighthouse. Would highly reccomend both. Our week flew by and left us all anxious for new adventures next year - we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: "We didn't want to leave" - That's how I feel when I go Katie and most of the time I'm going down to work on Blue Heaven (house and property). It's a fun and enjoyable kind of work and having repeat customers like you, makes that work enjoyable. We want to have a nice place to stay too and keeping it that way for ourselves and families like yours, makes that work fun....that and the enviroment the work is done in. I agree with your statement on the Captain's Table...I enjoy eating there too! For anyone with good knees, climbing the Hatteras Lighthouse and seeing the amazing views is something that should be done when visiting. The history of the area and the lighthouse told by Cape Hatteras Park Rangers in some of the cabins next door to the lighthouse is very interesting too, especially to history buffs. Thanks for visiting again Katie; we're glad to have your family back any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heavenly Stay

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks and it will not be our last. And on our return, we can not imagine staying anywhere, but Blue Heaven. In fact, we already booked our week in 2013. The property was splotless and even more beautiful and more spacious then what the pictures reflect. The beach is a very, very short walk and will not disappoint. When we were done with sandcastles and body surfing we were enjoying our private pool and hottub. By the way, we left plenty of sandcastle making gear behind for those that follow. Thank you again for sharing your home. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Lynnette and we're glad you and your family will make Blue Heaven your vacation destination for 2013! We've had 2 families from CO stay so far in 2012 and both seemed to really enjoy their time in Hatteras.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House - great location

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

This was our first time at Blue Heaven...we weren't disappointed in any way. The couches and chairs and beds were way beyond what we were expecting...very comfortable, right down to the pillows. As a family of three it was way more than what we needed, but we thought we might have visitors during part of our stay. It would have been plenty big enough for another family, grandparents, etc. From what I understand, there are a lot of available activities in the area; however, we couldn't get enough of the bodysurfing and swimming so we spent all of our time on the beach. There's a fella named Captain Aaron who'll take you out on his boat for a very reasonable price, so we did take a morning and go fishing, coming back with speckled trout, and 150 clams...he even let us raid his crab pots. The Hattersman restaurant will take your fillets, bread and fry them and make a sandwich on the spot. The clams and crabs go on the grill -- wait till the clams open up, dig them out with a fork and dip in lemon and butter. We didn't pay to have the pool heated, which turned out to be a good idea because it was good cool down from the hot tub. Everything was very clean and tidy. It's not directly on the beach, so even though you can technically see pieces of the sound and the ocean, if you need wide open expansive views of the water you won't find that here. We didn't find it necessary as we were so close to the beach, just a couple of minutes on foot. It was one of the nicest vacations my family has ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: That's an excellent, informative and accurate review Michael; people will enjoy reading it and some may take in some things that you did. When I first saw that I had a review, I thought it was from the family who stayed last week; they are from CO too. I hope you come back again and bring more people if you'd like. Thanks for the review!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awsome trip!!! Beautiful Place!!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We had a awesome time at Hatteras. I went in the summer of 2011 also and it only gets better. We will be back again. This is truely a most beautiful home close to all the amenities and has everything. We really enjoyed our 20 year anniversary!!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm glad your family enjoyed the trip Tracie and hopefully it was a memorable anniversary. You've been a great guest here and at the condo in North Myrtle. Thanks and my best to you and your family and pineridgeretreat.net. May your rentals do well!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

My family really enjoyed our stay at this very comfortable home. We could not begin to use all the amenities that were offered. The pool and hot tub were particularly inviting after a long day on the beach. The chairs and hammock strategically placed on private outside decks provided convenient escapes for naps or sunset viewings. This house had everything that we needed and more for a very comfortable stay. We look forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a bunch for the nice review Ron! Come back and visit anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay - Great fishing!!!!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

Totally enjoyed our stay at "Blue Heaven" - VERY clean and a great setup - 3rd floor being the main living room, dining area, kitchen and porch and deck - with vews to the Ocean and Pamlico Sound. Lots of additional amenities - fishing cleaning station and outdoor storage areas. Very convenient to beach and marina and seafood and food markets. Just a short walk over to the ferry also. Will DEFINITELY return for next fishing adventure!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Rich! We'd be glad to have you back this fall for more fishing with the great Hatteras fleet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Didn't want to leave...

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Our vacation was WONDERFUL. We are all homebodies in our family but truthfully, no one wanted to leave at the end of the week. The house is absolutely beautiful and could not have been more accommodating. I think we used every square inch of the home. We took naps on the hammock, read in the nook on a rainy day, had foose ball tournaments in the downstairs, etc. Hatteras was also a great place to visit. We enjoyed the ferry, found some good local restaurants, and the fudge shop. Our vacation to Blue Heaven provided us with great family time. Thank you for providing a beautiful backdrop for the perfect vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Joseph and Jennifer for the nice review and thanks for staying at Blue Heaven. Come back and visit us again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A slice of heaven...

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

What an amazing place! Blue Heaven is a beautiful home with everything you could possibly need for your vacation. The location was fabulous. Very short walk to beach, across the street from small shopping area, and the ferry to Ocracoke. Friends said all week how we really had the greatest place around! Will definitely consider Blue Heaven for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Natasha and we'd be glad to have your family back anytime. We'll try to keep Blue Heaven in great shape for our use and use by our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Outer Banks Beach House!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We were down at Blue Heaven from June 19th -26th and had a wonderful time. The house is just great and we could not have been happier. We had plenty of room with 6 of us (all adults) and there was even an extra bedroom. The pool and hot tub were great and the decks are large and provide a great view. The neighbors were very nice and the entire area is very small town which we loved. The ferry to Ocracoke was fun, even if the ride back was through a rather rough storm and the docks are right around the corner. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone who loves the beach but maybe not the sand (that’s why the pool is so great). Our whole group would love to stay at Blue Heaven again; I really hope we get the chance!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Kris! We'd be glad to have you back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous home in a perfect location!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

We had a wonderful vacation in your home and on Hatteras Island! We enjoyed coffee each morning on your upper deck with views of the ocean and boats on the sound. One of our favorite things was the short walk to the beach for a stroll along the shore each day. The fishing was good in the evenings! The house itself is beautifully decorated and is very comfortable. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need for cooking and entertaining. The kids loved the pool and game room. We all absolutely loved it and cannot wait to come again! "Blue Heaven" it is, inside and out!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review Kim! We look forward to having your family back anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Felt like I was home!!!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

I loved it!!! Can not wait till next year. Very clean and well appointed! Close enough to water and shopping without driving.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Tracie! We'd be glad to have you back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Spring Break Location

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

Our family stayed at Blue Heaven for Spring Break. The home is beautiful, clean and had more than enough room for the 5 of us. Our boys (ages 6, 3 and 2) loved the house. The house has everything that you need for a pleasant vacation (well appointed kitchen, quiet porches to enjoy the scenery or read, activities for the kids, reliable wifi, pool, hot tub). I also found that the house worked well for small children -- which was a huge plus. The house is very close to the beach and a short walk to the ferry over to Ocracoke. The owners were VERY responsive and were great to work with. We have rented several homes from VRBO in both the NC mountains and the coast and the Alfords are the best owners we have worked with. On our next visit to Hatteras, we will definitely plan to stay at Blue Heaven.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Catherine. We'd be glad for you to stay at Blue Heaven again! We try to provide a place that families will enjoy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice!

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

easy, helpful folks to deal with, great location close to Teach's Lair, well appointed house, comfortable-perfect! we've always dealt with a local realty company but no need to now-great service and thorough manager made the renting process hassle free. the house is super nice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: George,

I hope you had good luck with the fishing and thanks for the review! Come back anytime.

Chris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful spring break!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We loved our stay at "Blue Heaven" last week!! The house was beautiful and immaculate--the pictures really don't do it justice and we felt at home immediately. It is furnished nicely and the kitchen has any utensil, dish or glassware you could possibly need; the rooms are large and the house feels light and airy even on lower floors. We enjoyed the x-box, foosball table and reading nook on several occasions although my favorite was just sharing the hammock with my husband one afternoon. We loved this area of the island and the fact that we had the beaches to ourselves almost every day since it was still considered "off-season" for most restaurants, stores and hotels.
We were very happy with service provided by Shore Details, who are the caretakers, and found the grocery delivery to be a wonderful thing when you arrive in the dark and exhausted after a 9+ hour drive! Also would recommend Beach Jeeps tour in Corolla to view the horses and 4-wheel on the beach. Found the best burgers to be up the road at Pop's Raw Bar. The owners were a pleasure to deal with. We will definitely return and would recommend this property to anyone looking for the perfect Outer Banks vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Jamie and Jim! We'd be glad to have you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter in Blue Heaven 12/26/10-1/1/11

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

After driving through blizzard conditions in VA we were so glad to arrive, relax and listen to the 40mph winds gusting across the island. We stayed inside where it was warm and cozy and relaxed for the first time in weeks and loved every minute of it! Blue Heaven was clean and well maintained and the owners go out of their way to make sure eveything for your visit is perfect. They care about their property and it shows. We loved reading in the "book nook" with a view of the ocean and the spectacular sunsets that we could view right from the living room couch! The children enjoyed playing downstairs with the XBOX. We love OBX in the Winter when the crowds go home and leave the beach to us. We even saw temperatures in the 60's the last 2 days of our stay! The beach was beautiful and the children picked up the most interesting shells! We saw dolphins, pelicans, shrimp, hermit crabs, blue crabs, and blue fish. Loved the ferry ride to Ocracoke Island and had lunch at Jason's. Then off the next day to tour Hatteras lighthouse and pick up our piece of pottery from Red Drum Pottery. Everyone is so nice and laid back. Blue Heaven is a great place to relax! We look forward to coming again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Dawn, we appreciate it! We'll be glad for your family to visit again and again! I'm like you....my favorite time in Hatteras is when there are a few visitors. I like visiting local establishments; the people are very friendly and they appreciate your business.

Chris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW!

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

WOW! What a beautiful house! We were thrilled on arrival that the house was even better than described. The house was so immaculately clean that I let my baby crawl around everywhere. Furthermore, I never get in hot tubs but this one was so clean that I jumped in right away and stayed in it most of my free time while the baby was napping. The kitchen has everything you need, there are TV’s in every room, the decks have tables and chairs, the beds have mattress covers, the house is beautifully decorated, books and DVD’s are available……EVERY detail has been carefully thought out for your enjoyment. The top floor has great views of the water and while we were there the sunsets were an AMAZING brilliant red! It is a short walk to the BEAUTIFUL beach! The owners were great to work with and responded immediately to any questions we had. The people in Hatteras are very helpful and friendly! We bought our groceries at Burrus Red and White and our wines at Lee Robinson General Store (they have an amazing collection). Dinky’s and Breakwater were terrific places for dinner and watching the sunset over the water (you do not need to get dressed up). The Dancing Turtle is a wonderful place to get coffee and relax. We took the lovely ferry ride over to Ocracoke Island and enjoyed the day discovering the island! On our ferry ride back we saw dolphins! We LOVED the house and had such a wonderful vacation that we are planning to rent the house again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Elizabeth! It's great to have customers appreciate us working hard for them and in turn....for ourselves. Let me know when we can help you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our 9/29-10/3 stay at Blue Heaven

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

Our stay at Blue Heaven was amazing. The listing and description are very accurate, and it's even more beautiful in person than it is in pictures! The house is immaculate and beautifully maintained, the kitchen is well-equipped and there is plenty of space for everyone to hang out, relax, and ENJOY. The large decks, in-ground pool, and hot tub were fantastic! The gorgeous beach is just a short walk away, our kids (ages 4, 5, and 7) just loved riding their scooters down the quiet street to the beach access, then hunting for shells along the beach. The owners of Blue Heaven went above and beyond to make sure all of our questions were answered in a timely manner, and they were such an absolute pleasure to work with! We can't wait to go back to Hatteras, and we'll definitely be staying at Blue Heaven again, and again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a bunch Patti; we'll be glad to have your family back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gift

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

We came to the Outer Banks for a long weekend, but we got so much more. Hatteras and Ocracoke are great little towns. We went to the lighthouse and explored the area. The beach was nice, driving along the water and watching people fish. We had a great time hanging out with friends, talking and playing cards. Waking up to the sounds of the ocean is a gift from God.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday Present

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

This place has been a wonderful getaway for my husband and I. This was a birthday present for me and a great one it was. A retreat to relax and enjoy just my husband away from our 3 little ones. We came with great friends and had a blast. The Hatteras Lighthouse is huge and a cool sight to see. We also took the ferry to Ocracoke Island, very cool small town. Would be cool in the summer renting bikes and moseying around, parasailing would be cool too. Thanks for the stay it was great.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Something for Everyone

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

Wonderful week at Blue Heaven! The "Hot Tub" was much appreciated after many long walks on the beach! The ferry ride was fun and the weather for the most part was good. We did have a heavy thunderstorm and lots of lightning but was overnight so didn't hold back any activity. We took many photos of the dunes and beach. Good place for sunset pix is over behind "Dirty Dicks" on the dock. The dunes at Pea Island were beautiful as well as the beach. There's something for everyone...Our Lady of the Seas has a beautiful church..sits back by the water!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2008

"Blue Heaven" was a perfect haven for our family vacation. The heated pool and hot tub were very relaxing. Weather was practically perfect the entire week, except one cloudy shopping day. Area was nice and quiet, and the beach was in perfect walking distance.

Dirty Dick's had fresh seafood that was fabulous. Dinky's has the greatest view at sunset and their Seafood Marinara and Pasta Primervera were delicious! All together it was a wonderful vacation for us all. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love this Beach

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 21, 2008

Love this Blue Heaven and signed up for same week next year. Dinky's is a great place to eat. Weather was a little windy but the sun was out most of the time. Went to Ocracoke and shopped, saw horses. Wings is a great place to buy gifts. Beach was great. Patrick caught a few fish. My husband and I have been coming every year since 2004. Every year we find something new we didn't see before. We love this Beach!! See you next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2007

We found "Blue Heaven" last year when we visited the area. WOW, it is everything everyone else said plus more. I love the textured walls and colors! Each room is so special! The decor is fabulous! Sitting on the porches and reading was my favorite. Our favorite place to shop is the strip mall with these places - You must go to Family Jewelry to look at the beautiful glass jewelry that the owner makes in her shop. Every year the girls and I leave with a new piece of jewelry. Also (can't remember the name) is another fun dress shop. The unusual shoes are neat. The deli there is wonderful, especially the Greek salad. Playing at the playground at the ferry shops is a must. That is a great playground for the children. We had fun fishing at The Marlin Club. We've signed up for "Blue Heaven" next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2007

Had a great week stay at "Blue Heaven". Been coming to Hatteras Island for many years and this was the perfect stay for our family. The pool and hot tub were a great asset to this house. Beach access was also great. We loved the screened in porch! A great place to play cards in the evening!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Year's visit

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Fantastic place to unwind after the Christmas Holiday season and welcome in the new year. Unseasonably warm weather contributed to our enjoyment of the beach. Foosball was a hit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home for Family Vacations

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2006

What a great week. Blue Heaven was/is a great home to share Family Vacations!! Beautiful weather, fishing was nice, walk to the beach was easy and a nice private area. Enjoyed the pool area as well as the Hot Tub!! Both very relaxing. Used the outdoor shower for my daily shower and it was very nice with the way the weather has treated us so well. The previous pages are all true!! Have a Good Vacation, We All Did!!! Great House!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time at Blue Heaven

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2006

What a wonderful time we had at Blue Heaven! The weather was awesome everyday. We loved the Pool and Hot Tub. This house is truly cozy. We spend Friday at Ocracoke, we went shopping and went to Howard's for drinks and dinner. What a ferry ride! Thank you for the wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

We came to the Outer Banks for a long weekend, but we got so much more. Hatteras and Ocracoke are great little towns. We went to the lighthouse and explored the area. The beach was nice, driving along the water and watching people fish. We had a great time hanging out with friends, talking and playing cards. Waking up to the sounds of the ocean is a gift from God.

Thanks for sharing your house with us. We had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

This place has been a wonderful getaway for my husband and I. This was a birthday present for me and a great one it was. A retreat to relax and enjoy just my husband away from our 3 little ones. We came with great friends and had a blast. The Hatteras Lighthouse is huge and a cool sight to see. We also took the ferry to Ocracoke Island, very cool small town. Would be cool in the summer renting bikes and moseying around, parasailing would be cool too. Thanks for the stay it was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

I might be the furthest traveler to OBX Blue Heaven! Beautiful house, can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Had a great time at the "Blue Heaven". 3rd year in Hatteras - second at the "BH". Was a great stay. Sunny every single day and beautiful every night!

"Hatterasman" has the best burgers on the Island and we also enjoy "POPS" in Buxton. Can't wait to come back next year and do it all over again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

Wonderful week at Blue Heaven! The "Hot Tub" was much appreciated after many long walks on the beach! The ferry ride was fun and the weather for the most part was good. We did have a heavy thunderstorm and lots of lightning but was overnight so didn't hold back any activity. We took many photos of the dunes and beach. Good place for sunset pix is over behind "Dirty Dicks" on the dock. The dunes at Pea Island were beautiful as well as the beach. There's something for everyone...Our Lady of the Seas has a beautiful church..sits back by the water!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2008

"Blue Heaven" was a perfect haven for our family vacation. The heated pool and hot tub were very relaxing. Weather was practically perfect the entire week, except one cloudy shopping day. Area was nice and quiet, and the beach was in perfect walking distance.

Dirty dick's had fresh seafood that was fabulous. Dinky's has the greatest view at sunset and their Seafood Marinara and Pasta Primervera were delicious! All together it was a wonderful vacation for us all. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

Love this Blue Heaven and signed up for same week next year. Dinky's is a great place to eat. Weather was a little windy but the sun was out most of the time. Went to Ocracoke and shopped, saw horses. Wings is a great place to buy gifts. Beach was great. Patrick caught a few fish. My husband and I have been coming every year since 2004. Every year we find something new we didn't see before. We love this Beach!! See you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2008

What a beautiful house!!! Our family had a wonderful time. Fishing wasn't good at all until last night. I caught a 30" blue fish, my husband was beside himself. The biggest fish I've ever caught from the surf. Thank you for a great week our family had! Hope to return in the fall. God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2007

This week was amazing! The weather was almost perfect! Blue Heaven was all we hoped it would be and more; without the pool and hot tub this trip wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable. After going to the beach every day we enjoyed eating at the Shrimp Shack and Sammy's for breakfast and dinner. Thanks for making our 4th trip down here just as enjoyable as the first.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2007

We found "Blue Heaven" last year when we visited the area. WOW, it is everything everyone else said plus more. I love the textured walls and colors! Each room is so special! The decor is fabulous! Sitting on the porches and reading was my favorite. Our favorite place to shop is the strip mall with these places - You must go to Family Jewelry to look at the beautiful glass jewelry that the owner makes in her shop. Every year the girls and I leave with a new piece of jewelry. Also (can't remember the name) is another fun dress shop. The unusual shoes are neat. The deli there is wonderful, especially the Greek salad. Playing at the playground at the ferry shops is a must. That is a great playground for the children. We had fun fishing at The Marlin Club. We've signed up for "Blue Heaven" next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2007

Had a great week stay at "Blue Heaven". Been coming to Hatteras Island for many years and this was the perfect stay for our family. The pool and hot tub were a great asset to this house. Beach access was also great. We loved the screened in porch! A great place to play cards in the evening!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Fantastic place to unwind after the Christmas Holiday season and welcome in the new year. Unseasonably warm weather contributed to our enjoyment of the beach. Foosball was a hit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2006

What a great week. Blue Heaven was/is a great home to share Family Vacations!! Beautiful weather, fishing was nice, walk to the beach was easy and a nice private area. Enjoyed the pool area as well as the Hot Tub!! Both very relaxing. Used the outdoor shower for my daily shower and it was very nice with the way the weather has treated us so well. The previous pages are all true!! Have a Good Vacation, We All Did!!! Great House!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2006

What an absolutely beautiful house. We kept trying to figure out how we could pitch in and buy it. Relaxing by the pool, watching TV from the hot tub through the windows, morning walks on the beach, and laughing and relaxing with good friends. Hatteras makes going back to work sound so dreadful. This place is truly a piece of Blue Heaven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2006

What a wonderful time we had at Blue Heaven! The weather was awesome everyday. We loved the Pool and Hot Tub. This house is truly cozy. We spend Friday at Ocracoke, we went shopping and went to Howard's for drinks and dinner. What a ferry ride! Thank you for the wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2006

We had a "heavenly" time at Blue Heaven! Weather was great, beach was fun and the house, pool-jacuzzi were awesome! Thanks for providing a much needed vacation in truly a fabulous setting. I'm sure we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2006

We had a delightful time at Blue Heaven. Its the closest thing to "Heaven", I have experienced in Hatteras Island. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review