reviews for: listing #74303 - Long Beach, Washington House rental

1898 Cottage Long Beach, 2 bdrm
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $75 - $260 /nt

sort by:

lovely spot

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

My husband, 5-year-old and I really enjoyed our stay here. The cottage was just what we needed. The location, on the southern end of the peninsula, is great for going to Cape Disappointment and all it has to offer. Waikiki beach is fabulous. Being able to walk to the grocery store was great, too. And the blackberry bush loaded with ripe fruit was also a real plus.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy and artistic, respite in the howling wind.

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We spend a weekend with some friends in Long Beach for shellfishing, landed at this red floored cabin with a solid Lopi woodstove to stay. It was ideal for two couples, just enough space and privacy. All was clean and inviting, comfortably modernized, with a well supplied kitchen for cooking at any level. My only hesitation in raving so publicly is that I want the cabin available next time I drive that direction!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate your fantastic review. Thank you very much and we look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great little cottage in a fun town

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Quite charming and perfect for our trip. Beds were a little uncomfortable but everything else was great. Suggest bringing DVD's or you can rent from Redbox. Conveniently located. I'd come again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Early Spring Honeymoon

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We honeymooned in this cozy little cottage -- and for us it was perfect. Quiet and away from the touristy downtown of Long Beach (but close enough to get anywhere quickly!), this house provided a lovely, peaceful home-away-from-home for us. We loved being near the beach and even close enough to Astoria to make a day trip. It was beautiful!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay with friends

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Camp Hungry was a great getaway for the Easter long weekend! Steps away from the grocery store and a short walk to the beach with beautiful sand dunes. We even saw orcas from the beach! Will highly recommend to friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Adorable Rustic Cabin and Clean!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Our family has loved visiting Long Beach for over 13 years. If we could, we'd come every summer. We have stayed in various places such as cottages, condos, etc. and each one has its good and not-so-good points.

Camp Hungry was rustic and very clean. There was plenty of hot water for showers, plenty of towels, we appreciated the free wi-fi, and the four of us fit well in the cabin. It's very close to the SeaView approach to the beach which we love. The only three things I would suggest to be changed are for the gas grill to be replaced. It was in pieces and filthy when we arrived and there was no way we could have used it. In addition, while the bedding was lovely, the actual mattresses were so soft and springy that they barely provided any support at all. My husband and I kept waking each other up all night when we barely moved and we both would find ourselves rolling toward the center of the bed. One of our sons opted to sleep on the living room futon couch, but we couldn't open it up because the frame was missing some screws and it was lopsided. So he just slept on it while it was in the "couch" position.

Even so, this was a lovely place to stay. Again, I appreciated how very clean the entire place was.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for this important feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed that home, and we'll be sure to get a new grill and tend to the futon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Cottage get away

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

The house was perfect for our stay. The place was clean however we did find the microwave had not been cleaned and I had to clean the dried food out before I could use it. The refrigerator is pretty much dead and the freezer doesn't keep things frozen. My son fell through the porch chair. Even with a few negitive things we really did like staying there. The place is small but it was just perfect for our family stay. I would stay again and the weather was amazing.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Spring Break Ever!

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

We were thrilled to find a Spring Break get-away, that would allow dogs and kids, that didn't cost a small fortune. This property was so reasonably priced! It was close-enough to home. It was close to the beach, within walking distance, if the weather permits. The house is historic, so it had a sort of rustic feel; however, there were plenty of modern amenities, like a stove with an oven, a flat-screen TV and DVD player, and Wi-Fi. There was no house book, which would have made navigating the use of the wood stove, and the house itself much easier (we had to buy toilet paper, because we didn't find any extra in the house--it was located in the shed, but we didn't have that information until the night before we checked out). But, even without having the information book, we had a wonderful time, and we can't wait to get back! We loved our stay at Camp Hungry and will definitely be back. Our entire experience with Vacasa Rentals was so outstanding. It was really one of the best spring vacations ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Charming and in a great location!

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

This historic home is in a great location and has all needed amenities for a restful stay. Being country folk. we enjoyed the feeling of being in a neighborhood, walking our dog and greeting neighbors. Long Beach has many historic homes and just walking around will take you back in time. We loved the Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center and our 5 star dinner at Jimella's. Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute Place!

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Cute place to stay. The shower was a little tight but everything else was great. The beds were very comfy which is needed for us older people. We didn't get a chance to enjoy a fire but maybe next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend escape

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

I stayed at this perfect little cottage in August. It has everything you could want. Quaint but perfect. I love the walk to the beach and the 2 minute drive into town. It was the perfect simple get away where I could take the dogs.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Krens from Idaho

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

The cabin really was perfect. The best part was how kid friendly it was. It was truly a home away from home. Thank You!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It is a quiet perfect little cottage...

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

... it was right in the middle of town, yet tucked away on a side street. A grocery store with a redbox machine was about two minutes away if walking, restaurants were very close by and the beach was 5 minutes away if you drove. It was so perfect. If you drove to the left from the main road (Which is about 5 seconds away from the cottage if you drive) you drive into Long Beach in about two minutes and there are tons of places to eat and shop and if you drive right on the main road you are in Ilwaco in about 5 minutes and there are light houses and stores and places to eat there as well. There was no shortage of things to do. But just be aware that things close fairly early. Most little shops close around 5 or 6 and most places like the grocery store or the laundry mat close at 8. But if you get up early you can spend all day walking around and having fun. It was perfect for my boyfriend and I for our three year anniversary. Very quiet, great location and had all the supplies we needed to make food and enjoy some coffee and tea in front of the fireplace and watch DVDs (there is no cable TV so bring your own DVDs or be prepared to rent a bunch from the redbox machine at the grocery store). The only thing that was a little annoying was that the front door to the cottage has a fairly large window built into it and there were no blinds or covers for it... and the bathroom is located on one corner of the cottage while the bedrooms are located in the opposite far end so to walk back to the bedroom from a shower you have to pass by the front door window. Just something to be aware of. It definitely didn't ruin our trip though. Overall it was a great experience! =)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Pleased

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We just stayed here spring break 2011 and loved it! Our family of four was very cozy and comfortable in this house. The kids amused themselves not with TV shows but games and playing outside in the front yard while we sunned on the porch. Did not missTV reception as it is always good to unplug. Did use the DVD player for a movie for the kids one night. Took many walks in the neighborhood and to the beach. Camp Hungry had everything we needed plus the charm of an 1898 dwelling. It was conveniently located near shopping and good restaurants. It boasts cozy beds, a useable, stocked kitchen, a great shower all for a great price. Camp Hungry is a place we would totally return to. We loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

historic Cottage

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Long Beach. The cottage was clean and cozy with a wonderful wood stove as well as other heating. Tho we would have liked it closer to the beach, the ambiance of the place covered for it's distance. It would be nice to know ahead of time that one must bring their own movies. All in all I would recommend this place to others and hope to return again.
Chris and Kathryn

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Chris and Kathryn,

Thank you for your review and the suggestion on the movies, we appreciate your business and we hope to have you back as a returning guest!

Take care,
Cliff

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome Cabin!

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

I just got back from a 3 day stay at Camp Hungry.

I had never been to Long Beach before and I was pleasantly surprised.

Camp Hungry is TINY! Fine for me and my dog. I wouldn't recommend this place for people with little kids. It's not very big and there's not tub to wash your beach filthy kids off in. I would highy recommed this place for couples or a small family with kids over the age of 6.

The kitchen was well stocked, although the freezer was minus an ice cube tray. The bed was super comfy. There was plenty of dry, seasoned wood for the wood stove. There was no TV service but the store was a block away to rent DVD's. The wireless internet worked great. Again, perfect cabin for a beach retreat.

I had one issue with supplies upon arriving. Emailed the owner and they were more than happy to give me the code to the lock on their storage room. They responded quickly.

Long Beach is beautiful. I would highly recommend making the 10 minute trip South to Cape Disappoinment State Park. Great beaches, lighthouses, & trails.

I didn't do any shopping while I was there but there are a couple of shops that seemed neat. I didn't eat out but there were quite a few dining choices around. From fine dining, to bars, to the one fast food in town, a McDonalds.

You really don't need to do anything else on Long Beach except spend your days on the beautiful beaches. Public accessess every couple of miles.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great vacation!

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend at your cottage in Long Beach! It is truly charming.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review