reviews for: listing #74368 - Nashville, Tennessee House rental

The Duck House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Green Hills
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $300 /nt
    $500 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,000 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Magical musical time in Nashville

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

We had a family group of seven who came from all over the country to meet together in Nashville to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We chose The Duck House to be our gathering place. The house itself is wonderfully centrally located, but in a beautiful residential area, and is spacious and comfortable with a lot of character. But the true beauty of The Duck House is Jan, the owner, herself. What originally seemed like it might be a little awkward - the fact that she lives at the house during your stay - turned out to be the best part of a great trip. Jan is an active songwriter who is constantly working with co-writers and putting together music. When she had people coming over to write, she said she would hide back in her bedroom - - but when we asked her if we could eavesdrop they worked in the main living areas. We were treated to the wonderful experience of hearing the music evolve. She has since sent us the demos of the songs they were working on. She also gave us a personal tour of Music Row, great advice on where to go for the songwriters' showcases, and a heads-up on free rehearsals before the CMT Awards shows, etc. She is a fun, warm, and knowledgeable lady, and we highly recommend a stay with her at The Duck House.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Magical and Memorable Stay in Music City

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

Seven of us from over the country gathered at the Duck House for a 60th birthday family celebration. The accommodations were fully as represented, and convenient to much to do in Nashville. Jan provided good directions and recommendations as might be expected generally. More than that, however, Jan truly helped make the week in Music City magical, providing much more than a place to stay. It wasn’t that she was ever-present (and she would have been perfectly willing to have been, and often was, imperceptible), but to the extent we were open to what she was doing when our times overlapped, she certainly didn’t keep us away or make us feel other than welcome.

Jan went out of her way to not only give us a glimpse of Nashville and its music scene, but to bring us right inside it - from a private tour of Music Row, recommendations/invitations for coffee shop-type songwriter venues, unexpected access to some pre-CMA fest activities, a private concert of some of her songs, and letting us watch and listen to the songwriting process up to the time that she and her budding artists left to cut a demo. This was on top of what we had already planned and did - from first-rate dining, to concerts at the Ryman and Grand Ole Opry, to honky-tonks on Broadway, to Andrew Jackson’s Hermitage, etc, etc.

It is truly difficult to see how staying in Nashville could have been made better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed our stay!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

Great location, close to anywhere you want to be in the Nashville area. We were apprehensive, at first, about sharing space with a "stranger" and possibly feeling intrusive, but Jan was a wonderful hostess who made us feel at home. She is a busy woman, given her career, doing her own thing, she was mostly out of sight giving us full reign of the house and freedom to do as we please. However, when needed for anything, Jan was accessible to us at any given hour. She was very helpful, providing directions and suggestions to must see sites, etc. We may have come as strangers, but we left as friends!

Owners response: It's so wonderful to meet such great guests who usually become friends!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Sweet Home

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

If you are looking for a home-like atmosphere, The Duck House is the perfect choice. We were going to be in Nashville for a week while my mother-in-law had open heart surgery at Vanderbilt and needed a place to stay that would allow us to bring our little dog. After inquiring about The Duck House, Jan, the owner, promptly contacted us. During our brief exchange of emails, it was very clear that she was going to be a great Hostess.

The Duck House is located in a nice residential neighborhood. In a few short turns you can be on Hillsboro Pike where there are many dining and shopping options. Jan provided us with maps and suggestions for getting around Nashville that were very helpful. With her directions, going to Vanderbilt Hospital was only a 10 minute drive using the back roads.

During this stressful time, it was nice to return to The Duck House instead of a hotel. We were greeted by Misty the cat and often Jan's smiling face. We had the upstairs to ourselves where we could relax and come and go as we pleased. The living area downstairs was comfortable and offered a lot of interesting décor, including Jan's collection of various musical awards and instruments. We shared the house with Jan, including the kitchen, laundry, living and dining areas, as well as the deck and front sun porch. We felt right at home. She even gave us fresh vegetables from her garden. During our stay, Jan was practicing for a performance at one of the local songwriter's venues so we got to enjoy listening to some great music. This was a nice departure from the hectic scene at the hospital. Jan allowed us time to ourselves, but she was also there to talk when we wanted. She is such an interesting lady. We left knowing that we had a new friend in Nashville.

The Duck House and the owner, Jan Buckingham, helped us get through a difficult week and we highly recommend staying there.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: I have made some wonderful new friends through renting out THE DUCK HOUSE. I am truly blessed!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly a home away from home

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

This was our best B&B experience by far. Jan is a wonderful hostess and made us feel right at home. Very few places allow pets, especially as large as the one we have; Bud a 103 lb. yellow lab. I think she was a little overwhelmed by his size at first but she whole heartedly accepted him and by the end of our visit they loved each other. The fenced in back yard made it wonderful that we didn't have to keep him confined in the house. I think with a few more days he and Misty might have even become friends!

Our room was very clean and comfortable and we had the whole upstairs to ourselves, privacy was never a concern. We really enjoyed our morning coffee chats. Jan was very helpful mapping out short cuts to make it easy to get around. She's very accommodating and has no problem with erratic hours of tourist.

Our trip was preliminary to moving to the Nashville area and if everyone we meet is as nice as Jan we know we will love it there. It's nice to know we will have a friend when we live there.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I meet the nicest people from this site and it is an honor to make such wonderful new friends!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Friend for Life!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

We could not have picked a better home away from home! Staying with Jan was like staying with family and we are going to miss her dearly!

The house is beautiful and feels like home. Jan is very mindful of your time there and is very accommodating. She never makes you feel like you're in her way.

The house has everything you need for a comfortable stay and there is more than enough room.

It's so centrally located that it's actually the perfect location, yet you're tucked back in a quiet little neighborhood, so it feels like you're going home at the end of the day.

I highly recommend The Duck House - but not only for the beauty of the home, but for your chance to be blessed by this wonderful woman.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Meeting wonderful people like I do through vacation rentals makes life a great adventure!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Riehlman's Nashville experience

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Awsome home! Jan is the true southern hostess. She opened her heart and home to our five children and my husband and I.

The Duck House is a sweet cottage in a very lovely neighborhood. The house is beautifully decorated, the bath and bedrooms clean and comfortable.

Our first day there Jan had already drawn us maps and had pamphlets for us about the sites in and around Nashville.Pancake Pantry proved to be the family's favorite breakfast spot.

When you are ready to visit this beautiful city, Keep The duck House in mind. It was very affordable, very comfortable, and convenient to all the attractions. We will be back. Staying with Jan will be like visiting an old friend again. Thank you, Jan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: It's always easy to be nice to such wonderful guests!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place for a sibling reunion weekend!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Duck House. Jan is welcoming, friendly, and a wealth of information for things to do in the Nashville area. The house is charming and comfortable. The neighborhood is quiet, lovely, and secluded yet very close to all Nashville has to offer. We all enjoyed our visit and Jan even treated us to a house concert which was one of the highlights of our weekend. Thanks again to Jan for being such a wonderful hostess.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It's easy to be a good hostess when you have such wonderful guests!
Thanks for listening to me play for you... One of my favorite things to do!
Come visit again and all the best to you!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend Getaway

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This was the perfect location for the entire family to spend Easter weekend together while visiting our son who attends Vanderbilt University. Our Hostess was very accomidating, friendly and quite talented. A most enjoyable time was had by all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: As often happens, my guests became my friends!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Comfortable home with welcoming host

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at The Duck House. The house is in a great location, easily accessible to everything Nashville has to offer and in a lovely residential street. Jan is very welcoming, knowledgeable and easy to get along with, and she spent time song-writing with our daughter. An added bonus was her amazing somersaulting cat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I've been blessed with great guests. :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away From Home in Nashville

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

Tucked in an attractive, quiet neighborhood, the Duck House offers it's visitors an opportunity to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, while located just a short drive away. The house if filled with instruments, awards, Grammy nominatons, sheet music and interesting musical memorabilia. The owner, Jan, who is a country music recording artist, even joined in a jam session with my kids (who were recording in Nashville). Comfortable, homey bedrooms and Living area. The deck off the kitchen allows guests to sit in the shade of the backyard. Nice neighborhood for walking. Very close to all Nashville has to offer. The owner is a lovely person to rent from.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It's easy to be accomodating when I have been blessed with such lovely guests!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Deep in the Heart of Music City

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

The Duck House is strategically located near the heart of music business in Nashville and the owner has decorated it with her personal awards and memorabilia. She is a Grammy Award winning composer. The location can't be beat, especially if you want a heaping taste of the Nashville sound. You are right near Green Hills Village with its excellent shopping and that music mecca, the Bluebird Cafe. The house also has quick access to almost any part of the city. As you would expect, Jan, your host, specializes in Southern hospitality and provides an intimate take on the music business as well as the other sights of the city. We were in Nashville for the U2 concert as well as the 4th of July hoopla and the great fireworks display on the river. The Duck House is a great base of operations for your Nashville visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Warm Welcome at The Duck House

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

If you want to stay at a place with Southern hospitality that makes you feel right at home then The Duck House is the place for you. My two brothers and I took our mom to Memphis and Nashville for her 80th birthday and stayed at The Duck House for 3 nights. Our hostess made us feel so welcome and we were close to all Nashville attractions. I really enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, Misty the resident cat, and feeling so comfortable. I would recommend to all my friends to stay at The Duck House and I would certainly return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for your great review! I love having guests like you. :)
Please come visit again...

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

home away from home

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

The Duck house is a lovely house in a very pleasant, safe and quiet neighbourhood,we stayed with a band from the Netherlands,the Folksurvivalclub, and recorded our new album at Jack Clement's Recording Spa, which was just around the corner.
We couldn't have wished for a more convenient stay ,Jan made us feel so welcome and at home. The house is very comfortable, with nice clean bedrooms, a cosy kitchen and inspiring music room ,with a piano and several guitars, and a nice living room.We would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Thanksgiving at the Duck House

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

We had a great time at the Duck House. We were looking for a location close to our son. We were celebrating Thanksgiving with him along with his sister and other relatives. Jan was welcoming and so helpful with getting around Nashville-her maps are wonderful.

Super central location, lovely neighborhood!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love the Duck House!

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

My Stay at the Duck House was wonderful! Comfy, Cozy, Homey, are words that come to mind. I was immediately made to feel like family, like I was staying at the country house of a favorite cousin. Jan, the owner, is a wealth of information about the area, and songwriting. She's a ray of sunshine, with quite a few stories to tell.

I use the Duck House as a base for my songwriting trips to Nashville. It's a great place to write, and it's inspiring to look at all of Jan's Gold records and awards on the walls of the dining room.

The location is a great combination of convenient and serene. It's a quiet neighborhood of brick houses, yet it's ten minutes to almost anywhere you need to go. I've stayed there twice, and look forward to coming back again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review