reviews for: listing #74376 - Venice, California Apartment rental

3 BRM Condo on Venice Walking Streets, right off the beach!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $299 - $385 /nt
    $1,795 - $2,310 /wk
    $6,283 - $8,085 /mth

sort by:

Misleading Photos and Disappointing Rental

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

I rented this condo I found on VRBO and booked it for 6 nights. It is an upstairs 3 bedroom suite in a private house two story house.

The unit was in poor condition with worn and stained carpets and furniture; the paint was chipping and baseboards broken. The bathrooms still had hair in the shower and on the walls from another guest. The TV in the Master bedroom did not work and the washing machine was broken.

When we went to cook dinner we found no bowls; no cutting knives; an old dirty fry pan and gas barbeques that did not work properly. Even my kids called the place a dump.

We complained to Globe and they did address the kitchen issues but they never did get the washing machine fixed and the general poor condition of the unit was something we had to live with.

Upon our departure I twice tried to connect with someone at Globe homes to discuss our disappointment and no one of authority responded to our issues. Here is the email I got from their concierge person on my second communication but Dale never contacted me:

John,
I have passed this email to my manager. Dale Branch. He will be in touch with you when he returns to the Office Weds 4/2 in regards to the issues you experienced during your stay.
Joi

I never heard from Dale.

So I thought I better let you - a potential renter - know. I do not recommend this Dudley/Santa Monica unit or Renting from Globe Homes and Condos. Avoid disappoint and feeling like you paid too much for a place you will not be happy with.

John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious, clean and great location, needs more longterm upkeep.

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

My husband and I loved the convenience of the property and that we could walk to the beach. Also close to Whole Foods and Abbott Kinney shopping. The condo was very spacious even though the surrounding area is very crowded. When I left something very valuable to me - an irreplaceable journal - behind when we checked out, staff member Carolyn at Globe Homes searched for it and sent it to me promptly.

It is a little shabby inside though clean, the area rug in master bedroom has spots, and the baseboard in bathroom needs replacing. The bath/shower at other end of the apartment needs work and drains slowly. The sound insulation with the below apartment was very good, as long as they weren't in the shared yard. The gate with lock on it to the walkway also needs attention as we couldn't lock it behind us.

Beds and linens were great. Photos were accurate.

We loved the nearness of the beach, Rose Cafe, Cafe Gratitude, Whole Foods, and the shopping and restaurants on Abbott Kinney Blvd, esp Local 1204, with organic roasted meats and great freshly juiced delights. All were in walking distance. I would recommend this property to friends, with the caveat about it being run down.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kindness in review. We are very grateful you took the time to compliment and give us vital feedback to further make our guests' experiences great!

We have already started an action plan using your feedback to make improvements on the property. Thank you so much for that, and we hope you get to return soon.

Sincerely:

Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent except for the downstairs neighbours on nights 1 and 2

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We loved this property, the position was excellent and house itself was just as described. Comfortable and clean (although the insect screens do need a bit of a clean).

Our only problem with our 6 night stay was the downstairs neighbours on the first 2 nights. The first night they partied until 3am (not appreciated after our long haul flights from Australia). The 2nd night they came home at 2.30am, bought others back with them and partied until 6am with loud music and noise and banging doors.

The area itself isn't the quietest, but you have to expect that in this area, I guess and the convenience and location far outweigh any negatives with regard local noise.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you can come back again. Just as an FYI for yourself and any potential guest, we do offer a 24 hour emergency line that our guests can contact if they experience any issue with another guest or their property. We encourage you to use it in the future for any issue that might come up, we are happy to help!

Sincerely:

Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location, daily commute to the Los Angeles Convention Center was only 35 minutes

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Much better place to stay than a stuffy hotel in downtown LA.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Awesome!

Really glad you enjoyed your stay and saw the difference between renting a house versus staying in a hotel.

Sincerely:

Globe Homes and Condos

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Close to Beach and Spacious, but could use some updating

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

The property managers here were very nice and responsive. The apartment was clean and spacious. We are a family of four so we had plenty of room to spread out, and it was great being so close to the beach. We also appreciated having a washer and dryer, so we didn't return with a bunch of laundry. While the apartment was definitely clean, it's a little worn out in the bathrooms and kitchen. The tub needs to be re-glazed or replaced and the shower head in one of the bathrooms does not move, so I had to stand in the corner of the shower in order to get water. Also, there is no dishwasher; so that's worth noting if you plan to cook. And while the area in general seemed safe, you will definitely see homeless people roaming through your alley and going through the trash. I never felt threatened, but there were definitely some interesting characters walking in the alley behind the apartment.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback and compliments are very important and is definitely appreciated.

We hope you get to come back again and experience another vacation rental with us soon!

Sincerely:

Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Girlfriend Getaway

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

My girlfriends and I had a fabulous weekend at the Dudley Upper! The condo was beautiful, and we had a lot of fun talking the mornings away under the bougainvillea on the patio. It was a perfect short distance from the beach, close to cute shops and restaurants, and very convenient to the airport and the freeways to get anywhere in LA that we wanted to go. We had plenty of space, and the kitchen was well stocked. I would definitely recommend this location!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad that you were able to enjoy this vacation rental to its fullest!

We hope that you get to spend another girl's weekend with us in the future!

Again, thank you so much!

Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beach getaway

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

The location in Venice Beach is great. Basically it's a one minute walk to the beach. The rental is in very good condition and clean.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a gem

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

Travelling as three couples, hotels in the Santa Monica/Venice area were proving costly so we opted for a house rental.
Upper Dudley at Venice totally fitted the bill for us.
Just half a block from the famous sands at Venice Beach, this property was just fantastic.
Three generous sized bedrooms - one with en-suite - a well stocked kitchen and the biggest washing machine I have ever seen helped to make this a really comfortable stay. The linens and towels were provided too ... Even down to beach towels.
The keyless entry meant we could all do things separately without having to worry about access to the property.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

I grew up in LA and know it well. This is without a doubt the best location for a pleasure trip, steps from the beach and the boardwalk that goes on for miles, and an easy walk to Main Street with its totally cool restaurants and stores. Also it's not far from the freeway (10) and the airport. The apartment was clean and well appointed, exactly as described.The master bedroom is on the opposite end of the apt. from the others, which is good for privacy. An outstanding feature of the rental was the professional and helpful staff. They were responsive and ready to accommodate. For example they were flexible about meeting us when we arrived, and promptly made a repair hours after we called. Having a parking spot in this area is a big bonus! It was upstairs and therefore probably not good for young children or others who can't climb stairs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Condo a block from Venice Beach boardwalk

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We had a great time at the Dudley Beach condo. It was in an amazing location, 1.5 blocks away from the beach and the Venice boardwalk. Also, it was very close to Abbot Kinney and Santa Monica. The management company was very helpful. We would love to stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice place to stay right on the Venice Beach promenade

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

The house was perfect for our group of 7 younger people (two couples and 3 single guys). The beds were clean and comfortable and the living room and dining table were nice, although we never had a meal in the house. Spare linens were provided for the person sleeping on the sofa in the living room. The location is excellent - just off the venice beach promenade. There's a CVS just around the corner in walking distance and lots of cool stuff to see and do in the area.

The rental company was especially nice to work with. I'd left a cake serving knife at the flat and they managed to find it for me and put it aside for a relative to come and pick up. Very considerate and quick and helpful on the phone and via email.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay at Dudley house!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

I recently stayed at the Dudley house with my husband, two sisters and my parents. It was everything we needed - lots of room for the 6 of us, clean, fully furnished and a great location just a block away from the beach (which made it a touch noisy sometimes at night, but overall perfect for our needs). Booking and check-in was smooth and I would definitely rent from Globe again!

Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comments. Hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review