reviews for: listing #74381 - Hunter Mountain, New York Chalet rental

Ultimate Mountain Retreat
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $750 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,500 /wk
    $7,500 - $10,500 /mth

sort by:

Impeccable, clean, convenient

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

If you want your money's worth please stay at this house. Not only was the house ridiculously supplied with every ammenity imagined :-), it was clean, decor was a great ecclectic mix, the open space plan is a dream to spend with loved ones, and JoAnn ran everything smoothly from first email to getting deposit back. Everything was uncomplicated. Alot better than other places I have stayed in Hunter. Will come back again. (she also gives discounts if you a a returning customer!) I am so glad I read the reviews...now I am paying it forward.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: John,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. You have to give yourself some credit too as you were an absolute dream to work with and we greatly appreciated the care & respect you gave to our home. It brings us tremendous joy to open up and share our home with individuals like yourself, your family and friends. You all are welcome back anytime.

Best,

JoAnn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Our family spent a week in this wonderful home. It’s truly impeccable—in comfort, amenities, ambience and location. You could tell every detail was well thought out. Electronics – from WI-FI, to Sirius satellite radio to Surround Sound – it went on and on. As an adult, I enjoyed the fact that the playroom, pool table and games were all downstairs allowing the kids to raiser a ruckus while keeping the upstairs living room quiet and cozy! As a gourmet cook, I have always been disappointed in rental kitchens that pretend to be furnished. This kitchen is furnished with every imagineable gadget, pot, knife and colander you could ever need – and enough cutlery and plates for a seated dinner for at least 10. Plus the gas cooktop and electric oven making cooking a breeze! I also loved the fact that while I cooked I was still able to socialize with my group and even got a few of them to help me out! The view from every window was stunning, the interior decorating was beautiful and the beds & linens are outstanding. The owner, Joann., made the process simple and easy and proved to be quite accommodating to our needs and requests. Simply awesome. I was particularly tickled that the house library had several of my favorite books & movies and one book I was currently reading! We are already planning our return. Highly, highly recommended. Thank you again for an amazing vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

WE LOVE THIS HOUSE!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

My group and I stayed at this while attending an event at Hunter Mt.

This house was gorgeous. It was exactly as described and better. It was clean, very well maintained, and had every amenity we needed. The decor was beautiful. If i could, I'd pick the house up and transport it to my home town to live in it.

Joanne provided exceptional customer services from our first inquiry through the return of our deposit.

I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a really special place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Mountain Home

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend stay at this beautiful home. The description of the home, its amenities, location etc. were all spot on. The home is beautifully and comfortably furnished. There was not a single thing we could think of that wasn't furnished. The property is extremely well-maintained and the home was immaculate when we arrived. The owners, Scott and JoAnn were a pleasure to work with. You can tell they really want you to enjoy their home and the area. We found the binder which listed just about every activity in the area most helpful and the list of neighborhood restaurants was a godsend.
We spent most of our time talking and enjoying a glass of wine on the deck, but found time to walk at the nearby lake and take in the Hunter Mountain Oktoberfest. We enjoyed a lovely German meal at the Swiss Chalet and were glad we knew ahead of time that reservations were a must.
I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Comfortable Home with Uber-Nice Owners!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

My two brothers and I just completed a one week stay at JoAnn and Scott's house. Things could not have gone more smoothly! The house was just as beautiful and clean as it looks in the photos. The numerous large windows in the home, in addition to the balconies, gave the home an indoor/outdoor feeling that allowed us to enjoy the beautiful natural setting but with all the comforts of a modern home. It was also great fun to wind up our evening with a game of pool. The house is in a good location. We wanted to do a lot of hiking and this location fit our needs perfectly. I cannot say enough nice things about the owner JoAnn. She was extremely pleasant and was very responsive to any questions we had about her home or about resources in the area. We would definitely stay here again and would strongly recommend this home to others!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL HIDEAWAY COZY & COMFORTABLE!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

The Property as stated was very cozy and comfortable. It was close to the main town but hidden away in a beautiful setting. Great Home for entertaining. The owners are very nice and made sure everything went smoothly from initial booking to receiving our security deposit back. I would highly recommend this property for your vacationing activities. Thanks Again, Robert Juliano Point Pleasant NJ

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Anniversary well spent

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

From beginning to end JoAnn was wonderful she was very pleasant over the phone and had made sure our accomodations were met. The house was absoutly beautiful and very well kept. Our overall experience was wonderful I will definetly recommend this place to my friends and family. This was a perfect getaway. I hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The most AMAZING home (and home owners)!!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

I cannot express how amazing our stay was at the Catskill Cabin. The house is immaculate and completely charming in every respect. From the chef's kitchen (complete with every and i mean EVERY thing you could ever need to whip up a meal) to the gorgeous master suite to the rustic wood burning stove to the billiards room to the beautiful decks surrounding the entire house, we couldn't have asked for anything more. I rented the cabin for my boyfriend's surprise birthday party and everyone is STILL raving about the accomodations and beautiful surroundings. The location is extremely close to Hunter Mountain but is tucked away enough to truly allow one to enjoy and be fully immersed in the nature surrounding it (soooooooo much better than the sometimes noisy and a bit "worn" accomodations at Hunter Mountain - in my opinion atleast!! I spent HOURS pouring over various accomodation options and this by far was the best option). While I was more than impressed with the house, I was really taken aback by the hospitality that the owners,extended from the minute I started emailing them about the cabin. They are professional and extremely knowledgeable about the area; moreover, it is clear in the way that they handle the bookings that their cabin is not a vacation rental, it is truly a home, which is why it is really so special. In Hawai'i, they call this having the "aloha spirit" - something JoAnn and Scott exude through their home and also their interactions with guests.

I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone looking for a beautiful home to vacation in - we are thinking of going back in the summer!

Mahalo nui JoAnn and Scott!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing home and owner!

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We had so much fun in in this house. It has the perfect layout for a group of ten people. Because of the huge living room with the kitchen and that much space we could spent the whole day together. We also enjoyed cooking a lot especially because of all the spices. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning in such a peaceful and quiet location and be surrounded by mountains. The decoration was beautiful, the master bedroom is stunning (felt like being in a honeymoon). And we really enjoyed the pool table. Our special thanks go to JoAnn, the owner of the house. I've never met such a nice and friendly home owner. She answered every single question we had. It felt like talking to a friend. We are looking forward to come back and can truly recommend to stay in this beautiful home. Thank you for an amazing weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Close to perfect !

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Great place, absolutely clean, in fact minted condition - situated in middle of Catskill mountains. The place, layout, amenities were found as listed. Property is definitely a 5 star. Found it to have great movie collection, pool table, chess board. They had detailed maps, restaurant menus. Just wish they had a jacuzzi; it helps after spending full day at skiii. Thumbs up for this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This house was one of a kind, everything inside was perfect. From the living room to the beds JoAnn (the owner) had everything ready for us. The area is beautiful and peaceful. The transaction was easy and painless. Can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

amazing home! will definitely stay here again!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Everything about my experience with Joann and her home were absolutely amazing. She was answered all my questions and provided an activity guide for the area before our stay. The house itself was immaculate, everything was very clean and the kitchen/bathrooms were stocked with all the essentials. The stove fireplace added ambiance and warmth. All the positive reviews for this home speaks for itself. I will definitely be staying here again during the snowboarding season. Thanks again Joann!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

My friends and I rented this cabin for a weekend getaway in the Hunter Mountain area. We were not disappointed in any way.

The owners are extremely attentive and were available to answer questions and address concerns for the entire weekend. All of their expectations of you as a renter are clearly spelled out and very reasonable.

The cabin itself was as cozy as advertised and provided ample space for myself and the 8 friends who joined me on this trip. We spent most of our time playing pool downstairs and simply enjoying the wood burning stove and open kitchen area when we were in the cabin. They're also very close to most of the area's activities. We enjoyed a zipline adventure about 10 minutes away which was amazing and highly recommended.

Overall I would recommend renting this cabin to anyone who asked about it. I plan to make a trip back to the area sometime next year and will certainly be reaching out to the owners of this lovely home again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome cabin!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

My girlfriend and a group of us had a great time staying at the Catskill Cabin! The owners were prompt in their responses to any questions we had. The cabin is in immaculate condition and close to the Catskills Mountain trails and Kaaterskills waterfall.

Would love to stay again in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Fantastic Time!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

My wife and I got away from our busy lives for a few days and stayed in this beautiful home. It has everything you could possibly need and was kept perfectly and super clean. JoAnn was a pleasure to work with. I will most certainly be back and can say we had a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely house

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We stayed in this house while attending a friend's wedding and it was a very good experience. The house is lovely, and comfortable with lots of room. It feel quite secluded but is not far from tannersville and palenville. The owners were quite easy to work with from booking through to the stay. Really a good experience. We didn't have a chance to use the kitchen, but it was very well equipped. Would definitely come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

I came up with a group for a wedding that was in the area. The house is great for groups with great porches and lots of common areas. We didn't have the opportunity to use the kitchen, but it is very well appointed. The house feels nice and secluded, but is close to the cute town of tannersville. Definitely a great place to stay. Also, the owners were incredibly easy to reach and coordinate with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great retreat in the heart of the Catskills

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

This great cabin was the center for me and nine 30-something-year-old friends for a long weekend in the Catskills. We were pleasantly surprised to have all our expectations surpassed by this amazing house. We chose this place partly for its location to nearby Hunter Mountain, but ended up spending much more time than we had anticipated at the house due to the great amenities the house provided. The house is a beautiful A-frame structure with a wrap-around porch with comfortable patio furniture perfect for kicking your feet up and relaxing outside. We enjoyed several meals from the gas grill eaten around the patio table all the while listening to the various stations on the satellite radio. I can see this being a perfect getaway for all seasons - either the winter skiing months or the quieter summer ones. If you're visiting in summer be sure to consider the exciting zipline tours located at Hunter Mountain Ski Resort. They are one of the areas best secrets. We were very happy with the quality and cleanliness of the accommodations and would recommend this house to people for any kind of escape. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of the Best houses!

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

As soon as we drove up to this beautiful cabin, the first thought that popped into my mind was, I could live here happily. Then once I stepped foot inside, it was confirmed. When you first walk in you are invited with the downstairs lounge/ fun room which included a pool table and beautiful views of the forest. A quick walk up the stairs I was a little breathless by the cozy and fantastic rustic yet modern ambiance. With its high ceiling, exposed fire place, great kitchen with fantastic amenities and appliances, living room with plenty of space for lounging and napping :) , the dining room with its gorgeous hardwood table with space for easily ten people and the glass doors/ windows combine to give a beautiful vista of the mountains and countryside. It was safe to assume the trip would be carefree. The website description was correct but was very humble in describing the magnificent cabin. Amenities we aplenty with teas, condiments, plenty of bathroom goodies and even wifi..... I felt blessed.
Upon arrival the house was open house clean, almost like it was staged for sale but it looks that great everyday!!! The owners of the cabin provided us with great correspondence and information about the area, it was the easiest transaction and friendliest. A+++
As far as recommendations go, I have not stopped advertising this cabin to my friends and family. The location of the cabin was right between two great ski mountains, a quick ten minute drive to town and if your experiencing some blues and require retail therapy, there are a plethora of big city stores about 30 minutes away.
Thanks again to JoAnn for welcoming us to your beautiful home and I hope to ee more of it in year to come.

Thanks!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for a girls getaway

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I reserved the cabin for a weekend with my girlfriends - a chance to get away from the city. I was not disappointed. The cabin was beautiful!

I really believe the posting about the house was accurate, I got everything I was promised. The owners were always helpful and easy to contact at all times. I felt that whenever I had a question, there was no issue in reaching them and hearing from them promptly. I also felt like they always made sure to keep me posted throughout the entire rental process.

The house was clean and well maintained. The cabin is so bright and full of light. It really had the warm feel one would expect in a cabin in the Catskills. The kitchen was fully stocked and made cooking in the cabin a plus. We never went out to eat because the cabin had it all and we were so comfortable eating in. The bathrooms were gorgeous and updated, which is a plus for me. The living room was open and the wood burning stove absolutely completed the stay! The bedrooms were spacious and the linens were clean and well maintained.

The cabin was very close to Hunter mountain - no more than 15 minutes, driving slowly to take in the scenery! We went snow tubing at Hunter mountain. At first we drive there to snowtube from 3 - 5pm but they were sold out. Instead we bought tickets for the 5 - 7pm time slot. This didn't even bother us, and I believe it was simply because we were so close to the mountain that making the drive twice wasn't a huge issue.

I would absolutely recommend the Catskill Cabin to friends, relatives, ANYONE! In fact, I can't wait to return. I hope to bring my husband and have a fun weekend up here with couples sometime soon. It was such a great experience - don't miss out!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Best Vacation So Far!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

Like my title says I had the most amazing time at this wonderful cabin. The listing was very accurate down to the pictures. Furthermore, All the amenities were in working order and the cabin was quite comfortable, spacious, and warm throughout our stay. My friends and I had a great time and will definitely be back next year. However, the best part of our trip was working with Jo Ann and Scott. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make our experience as problem-free as possible. I have never worked with such honest, caring and professional people. I will be recommending Jo Ann & Scott's cabin to all my friends and family. My only regret was that I didn't book the trip for longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best house in Hunter!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Our friends spend a weekend at JoAnn's house and she was the best owner to rent from. When we arrived the house was impecable. It was so clean and was set up for us. There was everything you needed in the kitchen which was great because we cooked every single night. The setup was great, I was able to cook and be with everyone in the living room. The house had everything we needed from the TV, to games, to satellite radio. The house was very easy to get to and close to Hunter mountain. JoAnn was very accomadating to our needs, letting us check in early and also very helpful when we set off the smoke detector. The weekend ran smoothly and it was a great time for everyone. Will definitley be renting this house again in the future.
Thanks for an awesome weekend :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

HAD A GREAT WEEKEND!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

My family and I stayed in this cabin for a weekend in December mainly for snowboarding at hunter mountain. It was a breeze getting to the mountain from where this cabin was located at. The place was beautiful and had every accommodation necessary for a wonderful stay. The owners of the cabin were such a pleasure to work with that our booking process and stay was so easy and enjoyable. The house had a fireplace which gave such a cozy feeling and a great place to huddle around with the group after a long day of snowboarding. The place was extremely clean and comfortable. The kitchen was enjoyable to cook in with all the utensils one could ever ask for. You can tell how much work the owners put into this house with all the little special details everywhere. Before we even arrived, the thermostat was set to a comfortable warm temperature, the light left on low, and the music set on a nice low melody. Now that's what I call a nice personal touch. My family and I can't wait to book a stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Wonderful house. Very comfortable. Kitchen is well equiped. Great location, easy to find if you are in the Hunter area. Stayed here with another couple to do some hiking during peak leaf season Oct 2011. Very relaxing! Owner is wonderful to deal with and honest. Quick to return questions by email and phone. No problem getting security deposit back. Wonderful house just make sure you respect it and follow the rules Just like it is your own home. After stay contacted owner to let her know collander for pasta was missing. Said she was going to replace immediately. House now has everything you could need for a perfect vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home, lovely owners

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Despite the rainy weather, our group of 8 had an incredible weekend, all thanks to JoAnn and her beautiful home. Throughout the process, JoAnn was quick to respond to emails, attentive, and provided all around outstanding customer service. From the time we booked, all the way through our fabulous weekend, things were easy and seamless.

The house is perfect for groups- families or couples- looking for a relaxing weekend. The location is great because there's tons of privacy, but the grocery store is only a few minutes away for last minute needs. Beds were all very comfortable, and with the kitchen/living room at the center of the house, it's perfect for socializing and enjoying the company of those you travel with.

JoAnn has stocked the house full of necessities- everything from towels to lotions to kitchen gadgets. She's thought of everything, which means all you have to do it stock the fridge and show up! We ended up staying inside all weekend, due to the weather, but there's a great book of information with lots of suggestions for things to do in the area.

Don't hesitate- book today!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Awesome Home makes an awesome weekend.

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

My family and friends attended the warrior dash at windham mountain and we stayed at Joanns' house for the weekend. We could not have asked for a more enjoyable place to stay. The house was immaculate and had everything you could have wanted and more. We were a group of ten and there was more than enough room for all of us to have a great weekend. Joann is a pleasure to work with and we can't wait to come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very special Catskill Cabin in the woods!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We just returned from a long weekend at the Catskill Cabin and can't wait to go back! There's nothing not to love - the location is fantastic - within easy reach of Tannersville/Hunter and all the natural beauty this area has to offer - and the home itself is absolutely gorgeous with no detail left undone. We are pleased to give the Catskill Cabin our highest recommendation. We hope other traveller's find this review useful and trust that they will enjoy the property as much as we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

I celebrated my 30th birthday with a few close friends this wknd and we couldn't have felt more at home here. The weather was pretty ugly all wknd so we spent a lot of time inside - which we didn't mind. That meant a lot of cooking/eating. The kitchen is well stock with every utensil you can imagine. I love to cook and entertain so it was perfect. We spent as much time on the deck as the weather would allow us to. And when the rain started up again the open living room/ kitchen area made it quite simple to keep the conversation going. Everyone was very happy with their beds and bedrooms and the 3 showers made the morning preparations go smoothly.
I also must mention that the property owner was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. I had numerous questions for JoAnn both before and after my rental contract was signed and she always responded within a day with all the information I needed and sometime a bit more. She made sure we well prepared for our stay and thanks to her we certainly were.
I would most definitely recommend this place to friends and others. You will NOT be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jessica,

Thank you so much for the kind words! It was an absolute pleasure working with you and we love it that we could help make your 30th birthday special and memorable. Cheers, best wishes and thank you again!

JoAnn & Scott

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We had a wonderful time at JoAnn and Scott's place. The house is exactly the way it looks in the pictures only better. JoAnn and Scott clearly care about their place. It is clean and full of beautiful little details that you will not get tired of continuing to discover.
The house is perfect for a group who want to spend their time cooking and hanging out together. The kitchen is open to the living room and dining area so the cooks can spend their time with the rest of the group while cooking. The kitchen is also wonderfully equip, with everything you possibly need to make the perfect meal.
The views are spectacular and it is very close to beautiful lakes and hiking trails. JoAnn has been wonderful with responding to any questions or concern immediately which made the trip easy to plan and execute. I highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxurious Getaway

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

Having rented homes in the past, both for ski vacations and summer getaways I have always been somewhat skeptical about the descriptions of the place we’d be staying. Often the house “feels” like a rental; ie. cheap furnishing, cookware, décor. I have to say, JoAnn and Scott’s home was absolutely fabulous. It had the look and feel of a family member’s home who’d been kind enough to lend us their house for a week. The attention to detail was outstanding. They even had real cookware! Suffice to say we will be going back. I was selfishly tempted not to write this review for fear the word will get out and there won’t be availability next time. Great job JoAnn and thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent stay

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We had an absolutely fabulous time here. The house is absolutely beautiful!!! There were 10 of us celebrating my husband's 50th and we all fit very comfortably. The house was immaculate and had everything you needed! i would highly recommend this beautiful home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house and great owners

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

I would highly recommend this house. It's beautiful and spacious with a great layout--open, modern, and comfortable. The property is also really lovely, good views and quiet surroundings. The owners of the house were very easy to work with; they provided fast and pleasant correspondence and answered all of my questions about the house and the Catskills. I would definitely return to this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Smith Family Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

My special thanks to the homeowners JoAnn and Scott for providing a such a lovely space for our family Christmas vacation. Our experience was filled with wonderful memories of relaxing in their beautifully decorated home complete with everything needed for comfort. We were a family of eight with two very small children and enjoyed the options for getting away to a quiet space in the loft to read a book or the downstairs for a game of pool. The kitchen, dining room and living room was the hub for happiness, the bathrooms were spotless and comfortable. The home was warm and cozy when we arrived and JoAnn even provided decorations for a Christmas tree to make it complete. She was close by if there was any need for assistance or questions but never intruded. Mother Nature fulfilled our wish for beautiful snow which allowed for sledding and skiing and the homeowner even helped by having someone come plow the driveway! I wish we were back there watching the snow fall and enjoying the comfort of this great log cabin home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Weekend Getaway!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Joann,

Thanks so much for making our weekend getaway perfect! Your house was exactly as described on your website and was the perfect setting for our vacation. The deck was a great outdoor space and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook some great meals. We especially enjoyed grilling up some delicious filet mignons on the new Weber grill! The house was very clean and had plenty of space for our party of 8. We were also really impressed by the décor and the updates you made throughout your home.

Just like your home, the view and surrounding area was also beautiful. Thanks for the guide book as well with the clear directions to Kaaterskill Falls. Our trip there was the highlight of our weekend. We had an amazing time hiking the mountain and even made our way behind the waterfalls. It was truly awesome.

Anyone looking to rent a house in the Hunter Mountain area should not hesitate to reserve this home. Joann was very responsive before, during and after our stay and answered all the questions we had a long the way.

Thanks for everything and we look forward to coming back again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect getaway

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

My friends and I spent the Columbus Day weekend at this lovely vacation house. The house is not too far from New York downstate which makes it a perfect getaway place for the busy city people, like us. We like the fact that the house is well-appointed and maintained. I am sure the owners have put in a lot of time, money and effort in upkeeping their house at such a high level. We had a lot of fun and precious memories in the house and the surrounding areas, like enjoying the spectacular foliage, watching stars at night, and flying kites, etc. I particularly appreciate the responsiveness and helpfulness of the owners which make the reservation process easy and the stay enjoyable respectively. I’d highly recommend this vacation house to my friends and family.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a beautiful location for a getaway!

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Whoever seems interested in renting out this property should not hesitate! The cabin is kept very clean, and the area around it, is quite peaceful! Whether renting for a family or friendly get-together, you cannot go wrong! Veryyyyy nice! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

Our family loved it! From our 18 year old down to 16 month old, it was a hit. The cabin was beautiful and clean with so much character. It was hard to decide to go out and explore the breathtaking hiking trails in the area or stay in and cozy up in the secluded cabin tucked away among the trees.....so we did both...and we'd do it again! Thanks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Week Away for the Entire Family!

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Joann & Scott -

Our stay at your house was fantastic! Everything was perfect! No complaints at all about the house which was immaculate and clean, the area which suited our lifestyle, and we were completely thrilled with the entire process of renting from you both! How easy you made it! Our expectations were totally exceeded! Thank you for a terrific vacation, one that all 10 of our family members will remember forever!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Erin &Corey,

It was such a delight having you and your family stay at our home. It brings us much joy to share our home away from home with others such as yourselves. Thanks again for taking spectacular care of it also. Your family is welcome back anytime!

All the best and thank you again!

JoAnn & Scott

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peacefulaxation

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Great deck, awesome kitchen, lounging louging area, fantastic pool table, nice and quiet,too!,
Not enough time spent to enjoy other features like the wood burning stove, gas grill, rear deck etc.
Love the area of Haines Falls which is close enough yet far enough from "civilization."
Cable TV, WiFi, and Sirius radio (which I never listened to before) were nice features.
Tannersvile is a nice town and the lakes (north nand south) are very nice.
The hike to Kaaterskill falls was definately a highlight of our stay.
I would recommend staying at this cabin to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin Getaway!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

If you are looking for the ultimate Catskill Cabin, then this is it!!!
North/South Lake is minutes away!! House was very clean and updated!! Wrap around deck and pool room were a plus!!
I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great owner, nice town.

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

The cabin is absolutely great, and you'll have everything you need right at hand. Very clean, and very quiet area. Relatively close to nightlife in Tannersville/Hunter. I'm still amazed there were cab companies out there. Amazingly few bugs for being in the woods. Owner provided great service and contacts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Perfect Graduation Celebration

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

We did enjoy ourselves at the Hunter Home 242540. Everything worked wonderfully. The wrap-around porches were very attractive. We spent a lot of time relaxing on them. The owner provided very good customer service. I would recommend this place to friends and relatives. We enjoyed our food at the Swiss Chalet very much. We found information and descriptions at the home of the places to hike and picnic. It was all very convenient!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Patricia,

You were an absolute delight to work with and it brought us great pleasure sharing our home with you and your family for this special occasion.

You are welcome back anytime and thanks again!

JoAnn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Immaculate

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

This rental was extremely clean and well kept. Here you feel like you are at home. House had everything we needed and more.

The homeowner was a pleasure to work with. Very detailed and organized which made the rental process a breeze.

JoAnn - thanks again for all your help.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Mountain Getaway

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

The Catskill Cabin is perfect for a skiing get-together with friends. We spent my birthday there with 8 friends - it's a cozy A-frame with a wood-burning stove, 3 double beds, 2 single beds and a cozy couch that can also serve as a bed, and a pool table downstairs. The house is beautifully decorated and stocked with all the cooking utensils you could need. For skiing, Hunter is only 5 minutes up the road and it's a fantastic day-skiing mountain.

We had a really fabulous time and appreciated having such a beautiful house all to ourselves.

If you're looking for a house upstate to stay in, it would be difficult not to like this one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Location

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Great house in a great area. It has the perfect balance, it is secluded and private, yet the area also has everything you could need. Great skiing at Hunter Mountain was only a ten minute drive.
The property is clean, it has cable, which is a plus, and JoAnn is available to answer any questions. It sleeps eight easily comfortably without being cramped. We really enjoyed our stay and will rent this place again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun was had by all!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

My wife and I, with our three kids and one of their friend stayed at the cabin during the Martin Luther King long weekend and had a great stay. The cabin is in excellent condition, well layed out and very clean. The kids ranging from ages 10 to 17 had a great time playing pool, board games, and playing on their computers, taking advantage of the wi-fi connection. We spent the entire days skiing and snowtubing at Hunter Mountain, just a few minutes drive away, and the evenings were spent by the wood burning stove, enjoying the picturesque beauty of a fresh snowfall by the large windows.

The owners are very nice and accomodating. We would definitely use the cabin again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Times!

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

My wife and I recently rented this property with 6 other friends for New Years. There was plenty of room for all of us and we got a lot of use out of the pool table and the large dining area. It was a quick ride to the downtown area and Hunter Mountain. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider it again for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jerry,

It was a delight hosting your group over the New Year's holiday. Also, thank you for being respectful to our home. We greatly appreciate it and would love to have you back!

JoAnn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time at the Counrty Cabin

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

My family and brother in law total 8 people had a great time. Cabin is certainly big enough for all of us. Kids had a great time playing pool and on the loft. Plenty of games for them. Cabin is very clean, new bathrooms, plenty of fresh towels, decorated very nice, open kitchen dinning area. Went to both Hunter and Windham mts for skiing, both very close. Hoping to go back in summer time to JoAnn's Cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anthony,

It was wonderful having you as our guests and we would have you all back in a heart beat!

Thank you!

JoAnn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful stay at the Catskill Cabin

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

My friends and I wanted to rent a place up in the Catskills to get away from the cities (NYC & Boston) and catch up. This cabin was perfect. The owners were very easy to work with; they were attentive, friendly and helpful.

We had rain the entire weekend, so we spent more time in the actual cabin that we had hoped for, but because it was so beautiful we didn't have any problems. The wrap around porch made relaxing, talking and eating a delight.

The cabin is large- so you can get away if you want to take a nap, but cozy enough where you can all hang out.

When we arrived, we were greeted with a welcome note and a box of Brownies- and that right there was sign of true hospitality.

It was peaceful, scenic and relaxing- if you want to hike, just step out the back door.

Would I go back there again- of course. You'll enjoy the entire experience, even if it does rain!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

September 2009

Review submitted: September 24, 2009   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

This house is clean and very well appointed. The kitchen had everything we needed. There is sattelite radio, wireless internet, TV/DVD, etc. The location is quiet and secluded, but close to food shopping and restaurants. The deck is big and very appealing. And then of course there's everything outdoors in the Catskills.
The owner obviously takes pride in the house, and was very helpful and accommodating to me and my group. I'd rent it again without thinking twice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your friends stay at our home and you are welcome back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

We really enjoyed the stay at the house. It is as described. Thanks JoAnn for the great vacation.
Kes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2009   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

This house was absolutely fantastic! It is perfectly situated near everything you need in and around Hunter Mountain. The accomodations were wonderful (big driveway, comfy beds, linens & towels provided, pool table, etc.) JoAnn was a gracious host and made renting the house a breeze. Thanks JoAnn!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 24, 2009

Joann has one of the most gorgeous ski homes in the
Hunter Mountain Ski area, and she is kind enough to
share it with the public. Our stay was over the MLK
2009 weekend and the only regret we had was that we
didn't stay longer. WE WILL BE BACK! Thank you once
again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 13, 2008   Date of arrival: December 13, 2008

We absolutely LOVE this place! Immaculate, really nicely decorated and really comfortable. Secluded yet close to everything. We will definitely be back! We didn't want to leave and definitely will be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review