reviews for: listing #74414 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Beach Front Condo
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tiki Condos
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $90 - $225 /nt
    $695 - $1,300 /wk
    $1,650 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

My husband, 6 year old son, and myself recently stayed in Mario's condo for 7 nights. This was our first time visiting South Padre Island, and we loved it. The condo was great. The description and pictures were very accurate. My son loved the Murphy bed and the King size bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with all the necessary items needed to prepare meals. There is a Wal-Mart located close by where you can purchase anything you might need during the stay. We bought groceries and fixed most of our meals at the condo. Mario was very easy to work with and checked in on us during our stay at the condo. He wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We really appreciated the extra effort he put into making us comfortable.

We arrived at the end of Holy Week which brings several extra people to the beach. We had difficulty finding parking over the weekend due to the extra traffic in the area. After the weekend passed, parking was excellent for the remainder of our stay. There are many things to do on the island or you can just relax on the beach. My husband and son went on a fishing trip which they really enjoyed. We also went on the Black Dragon Pirate Cruise. This is a great cruise for children. It is very interactive for the whole family.

There were a few minor issues but they did not effect our vacation. Wash clothes are not provided, so we bought and 18 pack at
Wal-Mart for $4 to use while there. If you have a child, I would recommend you pack a small hand held broom and dust pan or buy one when you get there. This would have come in handy during our stay. It would have made cleaning up a little easier.

We would definitely recommend this condo. There was plenty of space for the 3 of us. It is located just steps from the beach with easy access. Thank you Mario for sharing your home with us. We greatly enjoyed our vacation and I'm sure we will be in contact in the future.

Sincerely,
Charity

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful commits and suggestions you had. The broom and dust pan are on the side of the refrigerator and can be hard to see if you don't know they are there. We will look for a place more visible to store them. The hand towels should have been in the bathroom and thank you for letting us know. I will make sure I get with the cleaning company so it does not happen to the next renter.

Thank you the Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beach Paradise

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

This was our first vacation to South Padre Island. What a treat it was to stay in this condo. It was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and right on the beach. I loved that it was on the third floor. This gave a fabulous view of the beach . The property was clean and well-maintained. Mario checked in as we arrived and when we left, to ensure our stay was pleasant. The restaurants recommended by Mario were excellent. I noticed the relaxed, friendly attitude displayed by all the restaurant servers. Everyone was pleasant and easy to deal with. My children loved the easy beach access and the condo swimming pools. The condo kitchen was well stocked with supplies, making it easy to cook during our stay. We had a great vacation staying at this beach paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We work hard at making sure each and every guest has an enjoyable experience. Your feed back is invaluable to use in making sure we offer the best possible accommodations at the best possible rate. We are continuously looking for ways to improve our property and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you,

The Villarreals

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We rented this condo for a week for our family vacation. This was our 1st trip to S. Padre Island. Communication with the owner was A+ as well as the accomidations at the condo. The owner called us a few hours after we arrived to see if we needed anything. The kitchen is fully equipped and the bed is by far the most comfortable bed we have EVER slept in. The condo is much bigger then what we expected by the photos and it is obvious the owner wants you to feel at home when you rent their condo. The property is well maintained and there was securitythat walked the grounds to ensure anyone parking at the complex or using the pools had the appropriate permission to be there. The staff was very nice and friendly. We will return to S. Padre Island and we will rent this condo again!

Beach access is literally less then 1 minute from stepping out of the front door. If the beach is not your thing you are also the same distance from the pool. There are many activities within walking distance for all age groups.

Thank you to the owners for allowing us to rent the condo and for providing us with A+ accomidations, A+ customer service, and A+ communication. I would not hesitate to recommend this condo to anyone! Thank You!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review! - We are always pleased to hear that our guests had a great stay. We look forward to having you back! The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Five star experience

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

When we arrived at our unit our first impression was that we were walking into our own home.It was very clean,tidy and well decorated with pictures and wall hangings.The unit is well equipped with all the essentials for home cooking as
well as a washer/dryer, iron/ironing board etc.It is quite spaceous with a patio door off the living room. The king sized bed is nice as well as the patio
door off the bedroom. The balcony offerred an excellent view of the beach area.
Being situated near the end of all the busy hotels meant not having to deal with hordes of people while still being in walking distance of restaurants, grocerery/convenience stores etc. If you like to party there is a nice outdoor bar close by.If you do not have a car, there is a FREE bus service covering
South Padre and Port Isabel that you can catch at the end of the street.We found the owners of the unit to be very freindly and accomodating and highly recommend it as a vacation getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our condo. We work hard to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as yours. Most of our renters are return customers and take great pride in knowing we offer "a very nice, up to date and remodeled condo" for everyone to enjoy day in and day out.
Thank you,
The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

February Retreat

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

The condo was everything as described on the rental sites. The owner has made several improvements and has kept in contact with us to make sure everything was going smoothly. The ocean view from the balcony and the continue breese will be sure to please any guest. The unit was very clean and well maintained.

We would recommend Daddy's for seafood and Gabriels for pizza. Teds was a good place for breakfast. We enjoyed the walks on beach, the fishing from jetti, the boat tour of the Brownsville ship yard, the turtle rescue, and the trips to Progresso Mexico.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are so glad you had a great time. We have done many upgrades to our condo the last few months to make everyone's stay as relaxing as possible. Our reviews are testimony that we work hard to make sure everyone's stay is as enjoyable as ours.

Thank you,

The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Fantastic Value

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

This is a very nice condo in a great location. The pictures provided are accurate, but really is much more spacious than it looks in the photos. The balcony is more than adequate in size. We even had our two dogs with us, and it didn't seem crowded!

The kitchen is well stocked, we were able to cook a nice Christmas turkey dinner without problems! Be aware that there is no automatic dishwasher.

The bed and other furniture is indeed, very comfortable. Very easy to settle in and relax. The location is great--away from the touristy area just enough, with the beach just a shout from the condo.

Even though it was Christmas, the grounds were kept very clean and the outside trash cans were always empty when we had to dispose of our extra trash! It seems to be in a very safe area, we walked to several places without any issues.

The bar next to the condos is expanding with good food and lots of seating. They have beach volleyball nets up as well.

Mario is very interested in making sure everything is ok, and you won't have to worry about a thing. I would definitely rent here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to your next visit.
The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's Beautiful

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Just wanted to send a big Thank You!! I was one of Josie's friends, that stayed there a couple of weeks ago. We loved your place. Thanks again for allowing us to borrow your home away from home, it's beautiful. May God continue to bless you and your family.

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Clean Comfortable Condo

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

We had a great time staying at this condo in South Padre. The condo was very clean and comfortable; the king size bed and linens were a dream. Plenty of closet space and soft towels in the bathroom. The kitchen was well supplied with everything I needed and more to entertain friends.
We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the morning having coffee and in the afternoon with a glass of wine - all without excessive wind.
Check-in was quick and everyone with the complex was very polite and accomadating. The beach was clean and just steps from the condo. It has to be the best beach on the Island. We have visited South Padre at least once a year for the past five years and I can assure you that we will be staying at this condo again if there is an opening, it looks like it is booked solid through out the year and now I understand why !!
We appreciate Mario checking on us throughout our stay to make sure we had everything we needed. We were able to meet the cleaning crew before we left and were very impressed with them - they do a wonderful job of keeping the condo clean and Mario did a great job of making sure we had everything we needed to enoy our stay. I could go on and on about how nice our stay was but you need to see for yourself.
Until the fall,
Marjorie & Richard

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Marjorie and Richard,

Thank you so much for your wonderful commits, we really enjoyed having you at our condo and look forward to having you back soon.

Thank you, The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 34 / 35

 

Little slice of Paradise

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

The location of the Condo is fantastic - only yards from the beach and a fantastic view from the balcony! The condo is clean and very neat, and decorated very tastefully. The staff and neighbors were very friendly and helpful. The pictures on the listing are very accurate. The condo has all the amenities required for your stay, and is very comfortable. Mario, the owner, is very pleasant and accommodating, and remains in contact throughout the rental process.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a pleasant beach getaway. The local restaurants offer menu's that will please all ages and appetites, and are priced reasonably for a resort area. The shelling on the beach is so-so if you are interested in that type of thing. The dunes at the end of the road are a must see if you have not experienced them before. There are several nice restaurants and bars with sunset views on the Bay side. The shop owners along the "main drag" are pleasant and accommodating. Hope this review helps those that trying to make a decision.
Thank you Mario, we are looking forward to a return visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dan and Carole thank you for the great review we are so pleased that you had a great time. We hope to see you back so.... Thank you, Mario and Toni

Helpful votes: 35 / 36

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

Great place to stay. Very close to the beach, great views.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 33 / 33

 

Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

This condo is an excellent retreat for our vacation. It is clean and supplied with all ammenties. The balcony view of the gulf side was fantastic, yet sheltered from the wind. The sunrise was outstanding in colors.
Mario was in contact to make sure all was well.
We very much enjoyed our time here and would.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you and hope to see you again..

Helpful votes: 38 / 38

 

Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

This condo is an excellent retreat for a weeks vacation. It is clean and supplied with all ammenties including extras such as hair dryer, iron,washer/dryer etc.
The balcony faces the gulf side for a fantastic view and also shelters you from the wind which during our trip was well needed. The sunrise was outstanding in colors.
Mario was in contact to make sure all was well with us which we appreciated.
We very much enjoyed our time here and would certainly rent this unit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking such good care of our Condo, so others can enjoy it as much as you did. We hope to see you back soon!!

Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 37 / 37

 

Dec. in SPI

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Super vacation, condo grounds very nice all under new managment. The condo was very tastefully decorated, every gadget you could want in the kitchen, great location, great view of the gulf. We will definitly be back.This was a very nice condo, you can see that the owner has taken great lengths to upgrade the unit they have done a great job!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

AWESOME location - great getaway!!!

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This condo is absolutely adorable! It's very clean, has everything you need for a comfortable stay, and is on the beach :) You can hear the waves with the windows open - very relaxing. The pool was enjoyable, as well. I recommend this condo for everyone, and definitely will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

For those of you looking for a place to stay in S. Padre, you need to consider this place. The condo was very clean and has all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. The view from the balconey is incredible and you are just steps away from the beach. There is also a grass area between the condos and the beach where you can sit with your lawn chairs and enjoy the beach without the sand. I highly recomend this place for a relaxing getaway.

Richard

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review