reviews for: listing #74454 - Grand Canyon, Arizona Cabin rental

Raccoon Ranch, Grand Canyon and GC Railway
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $285 - $350 /nt
    $1,995 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

All the comforts of home ....

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

Our family of five spent about a week at Raccoon Ranch during spring break. We were looking forward to a much-needed break, and we found it at Amy and Steve's lovely cabin. It was easy to book the cabin, even at the last minute, and Amy was very prompt in answering my enquiries by email and returning my phone call. Their instructions to get there, and what to do at the cabin were thorough. The cabin was well stocked with the comforts of home, and there was plenty for our children to do, including board games and a huge stack of dvds. It was also a great base from which to explore Sedona and Grand Canyon. We enjoyed our stay immensely, and would happily return in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice stay!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

We had a great time, and it was very comfortable. We spent the weekend to take in the sights of Williams, and our kids want to go back again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very warm and comfortable stay was had!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. It was like coming into the house of a friend, with all the extras that you need to have a relaxing evening. We were very impressed to find the BBQ ready for use and a range of foods and condiments in the kitchen with a choice of DVD's making the evenings complete. The house is in a very accessible position for the Grand Canyon and Williams and the instructions provided to the location were easy to follow, even in the dark.I would recommend this property to families who want a relaxing evening after a fun packed day in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Super Stay at Raccoon Ranch

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

This cabin in the woods is perfect for family fun. It is centrally located (by car) to the surrounding area attractions including the Grand Canyon. There is so much to see and do as well as relaxing at the cabin with friends or family. Amy and Steve have done a great job on making the cabin cozy and have provided all modern amenities. The full kitchen and 2 bathrooms are a big plus as well as the provision of all linens.
The passing trains bothered us one night, but then we got used to them. Our family made great memories at Raccoon Ranch and are sure other renters will too.
I was cautious about renting from an internet site. I have to say that Amy and Steve are fantastic people to rent from and don't hesitate to recommend this property and the owners. Thanks for being understanding and welcoming hosts.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beautiful stay at Raccoon Ranch!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

This beautiful cabin matched EXACTLY the description and pictures from the listing. It was clean and stocked with everything you might possibly need. (Unless you are making mashed potatoes. I couldn't find a masher and had to use a fork! Although, if that is the biggest complaint, it can't be too bad, eh?) The owner was extremely helpful and expedient in responding to our last-minute request for rental and not only would we recommend this cabin to family and friends but we would LOVE to stay again ourselves, only next time for more than just two nights. We'd like to have another family with us as well, as it was only my husband, myself, and my six-year old daughter that stayed this time, and the cabin is perfectly suited for more people. There is one more thing worth mentioning: the trains! There is a nearby railroad and throughout the day and night trains are frequently heard. This was not disturbing to us in the least, as we are thrilled by the sound of their whistling! What a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer get away

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

The cabin was cozy and as advertised. We loved the large covered porch to bar b q and watch the monsoon storms roll through. Low 70's all weekend while my friends in Phoenix fried in the 100's. The great little town of Williams was only 10 miles away with a ton on mom and pop shops and cafe's. Keyhole sink trail nearby yielded ancient Indian carvings on the walls. All around great trip and the cabin was kid friendly.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get away!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

If you are looking to escape the Phoenix heat, this is your place! Nice quiet retreat into the forest. We visited Bearizona in the rain and had so much fun watching the bear cubs play! This cabin has everything you need to feel right at home. We can't wait to return during the winter months to use the fireplace and play in the snow!! Worth every penny!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

This is a fantastic place! In stark contrast to where we live, Raccoon Ranch is very remote, cozy, and a quiet location to “unplug”. Raccoon Ranch has all the comforts of home and more, and is perfect for two families of four with children ages 6-11. We were able to spot jack rabbits and deer throughout our stay, heard coyotes cry at night, and found places to star gaze. Proximity to Flagstaff, Sedona, Williams, and the Grand Canyon made this home a great location to establish a “base”. We arrived with plenty of daylight time to locate the Ranch and shop in Williams for food and drink, and would recommend this approach to others. Looking forward to visit this place again, hopefully sooner than later, and would highly recommend it for people who want to be away from developed areas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely cabin - exactly as described!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend here with our adult son and his girlfriend. We found the house to be clean and very comfortable for 2 couples. We especially appreciated the fully equipped kitchen, large comfortable couch and the large selection of DVDs, books and games. The location is perfect for day trips to The Grand Canyon, Flagstaff and Williams.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice review. We're so happy you had a great time and hope you stay with us again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

My friends and family members all had a wonderful time at the cabin. It was a magical experience sitting by the fire and watching the snow fall all around! Thank you Amy and Steve for this amazing experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Racoon Ranch

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

This was ideal for day trips to our desired destinations. We planned on visiting the Grand Canyon and Sedona. Each trip was right at an hour from the cabin. The cabin is well maintained, clean & cozy. Everything we needed was right there in the cabin. We stopped at the store on the way to the cabin, picked up some groceries and ate most of our meals there. Almost like being at home. I would recommend this for anyone who is tired of the hotel scene. This offered much more space, yet was quiet and serene.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Retreat

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

My family and I have stayed at Moose Manor in the past, this year we enjoyed a couple of days at Raccoon Ranch. The property is exactly as advertised...very clean, convenient and well equipped. The area is beautiful and a great place to just kick back. Young and old in my family enjoyed the experience together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Work Retreat

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Everything was excellent, it felt like home only more peaceful. Our team got a lot done and we enjoyed the beautiful surroundings including the trails. We look forward to renting again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fall Break

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

We stayed at Raccoon Ranch for our Fall Break this year, and loved it! The boys (ages 5 and 2.5) had a blast on the "playground" out back (that's what they called the swingset....) and mom and dad relaxed on the deck in the cool pines. Perfect!

We've stayed at a few locations before, mostly in Pinetop, but this setting was much quieter and more relaxing! The cabin itself is a perfect blend--very cabin-like on the outside with a wrap around deck that is perfect for enjoying the weather (so you feel like you are camping), but with all of the conveniences and comfy accommodations inside! We loved all of the extras that Steve and Amy provided--including the fan and port-a-crib! It was so nice only having to pack clothes and ourselves!

The location was also great--spent alot of time in Williams, and enjoyed walking through the "neighborhood". We made it to Bearizona, too, and loved seeing all of the animals! It is very nice that the cabin is situated back from the freeway, but still very accessible to everything.

Thanks for a great fall outing! We'll be back for sure!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so happy that you all had a great time, made lots of memories and look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Daniel Ortega

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Amazing cabin in a amazing location. The pictures in the ad dont do it justice. Cabin is spacious and clean throughout. Trees all over and only about 20 minutes from flagstaff, 10 minutes to Williams, and a little more than an hour to the Grand Canyon. Took a family trip for labor day weekend and we all enjoyed it and had an amazing time in the cabin. from cook outs outside on the deck, to walks around the Forrest, or just sit back and watch a movie in the living room this cabin has it all. Steve and Amy were a pleasure to work with also and will definitely be staying in one of their cabins again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great cabin stay

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

My family had a wonderful time staying at Raccoon Cabin over the weekend. It is a beautiful and comfortable property, and although we could have used another bedroom for our family of 8, it was certainly a great experience, with plenty of maneuvering space and a lovely open kitchen. Amy and Steve were easy to work with and accommodated us very well for a last minute stay as we got out of the valley heat. We would be happy to visit again and hope to in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Racoon Ranch

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

The cabin and the surroundings were beautiful. I loved the furnishings. It was fully stocked with pots and pans and linens and movies, and surround sound! The owners were great to work with. The transaction of renting the property went very smoothly. It was everything I had hoped it would be, except for a few things. There were a few items that had plainly been skipped over when the cabin had been cleaned before we checked in. Lots of dust build-up on the fans, the kitchen sink was not clean, and one bath tub had not been cleaned at all. The other issue involved pet hair. This cabin was designated as a non-pet cabin. I believe the owners have another cabin where they do allow for pets. I booked this particular cabin because pets were not allowed. Well someone clearly brought their pet anyway, so it was not pleasant spending the time in the cabin fighting allergies. There was pet hair on the couches and on the carpets and on the bathroom floor vents, and unfortunately we ended up bringing pet hair home with us on our clothes. Like I said, overall the cabin was beautiful, and I would totally recommend it to others. I know there is probably no way for the owners to monitor people and what they bring to the cabin, but for families with allergies, it could potentially be an issue. This pet hair was the main reason I didn't give it an Excellent rating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review and for pointing out how beautiful the cabin and surroundings are. We also appreciate you letting us know about the dog hair issue. As you said, some people may not abide by their contract and may bring their pet along anyway, without our knowledge. We will find a way to deal with this issue. We also have contacted our cleaning crew about their oversight and are taking immediate action in making sure this cabin is thoroughly cleaned. We take pride in offering our guests 5 star accommodations, so they leave with fond memories and become a return guest. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great place!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

I would recommend Raccoon Ranch to anyone and everyone!! My family and I really enjoyed our stay! This cabin is very homely, clean and has all the amenities one would need!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

The six of us

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay while visiting the Grand Canyon. We cooked steaks on the BBQ, we watched dvd's played a few games took naps etc... One of our most memorable family vacations as our children are getting older and will soon leave the nest. Amy and Steve were so kind and great to work with. There was plenty of linens and blankets. Oh don't forget to read all of the directions the first day we all had cold showers because we did not read about turning up the water heater ha ha.
It was great to be able to cook or eat out. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a nice family retreat in a peaceful setting. We loved not being in a hotel because we didn't have loud neighbors to contend with. The property was clean and very well maintained.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What we needed, and more than we expected

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Ya never know what you're getting into when you rent a private cabin! This rental was for my Wife and I, 4 kids, and my parents. We wanted something other than the "usual" hotel experience. Let me tell ya, we got SO much more than we expected! We arrived early, and the cleaning lady was just wrapping up. She was a sweetheart, and very helpful! When I walked through the door, it took my breath away. It was so appealing and lovely that I had to tell my kids to back off so they could all experience it together. Racoon Ranch is a true treasure. The pics don't do it justice. From the obvious things like the woods, the awesome patio and hammock, the giant windows and complete kitchen...to the little things, like the superior carpeting and furnishing, and plush racoons everywhere....and even the flatscreen with DVD and satellite, and screaming fast internet! Plenty of linens, books and DVD's to use....I could go on and on. I have nothing negative and EVERYTHING wonderful to say about the property, it's location, and the owners. As a footnote, my daughter got very ill (had a seizure) a couple of hours before we had to leave, and the owners couldn't have been more helpful or sympathetic. A classy cabin, with classy people. LOVED IT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Family Stay

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

What a comfortable, homey cabin. The cabin slept six (which included two kids) very comfortably. The kids had a great time trying to count the tens (hundreds?) of "raccoons" throughout the cabin (stuffed animals, pictures, signs, all things raccoon). Very conveniently located to Williams, Sedona, Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon. A no brainer for our family when compared to a hotel. Would highly recommend for families, particularly groups of 4-8 with kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

My family ages 7 months to 83 had a great time at raccoon ranch cabin! We will definetly be planning another trip. I love the fast responses from Amy. I can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay @ the Raccoon Ranch (by Classy Cabins)

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This is the first review I have ever written and I am happy to take time to write this review for Classy Cabins and their owners. My family (my wife, sister, brother-in-law, and parents) took our first road trip vacation this Memorial Weekend with the purpose to visit the Grand Canyon. When I found the Classy Cabin website I was impressed with the previous reviews. In addition, the owners were extremely friendly, informative on the phone and answered any questions I had prior to our departure.

When we arrived on that Friday afternoon at the Raccoon Ranch, we instantly fell in love and it felt like our home away from home. The cabin itself was in such a wonderful area just east of Williams secluded enough to feel like the forest was your own but near enough to other cabins to feel like you were not totally isolated. The smell of the trees and the sound of the breeze was magical. In addition, for those planning family trips to the Grand Canyon, I found the location to be excellent and strategically located for multiple day trips.. It was an hour away from the Grand Canyon National Park just due south and about an hour away from Sedona. Williams (5 min) away has all the restaurants and shopping you need and the train station if traveling by train is part of your plans.


When we entered the cabin, the place was completely clean and in place with all the amenities for a family that loves to cook as well. We cooked every night and barbecued one night. Everything was in place and the instructions were helpful. I had a few questions for the owners and they immediately answered my calls and even called again to check if we found everything we needed.

We will be returning back to have a family vacation at the Raccoon Ranch for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

May stay

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

We picked this property because of its central location between the Grand Canyon and Sedona. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The major negative of our experience was the total lack of closet space or bedroom dresser space. Only a few hangars were available hanging from the doors of the locked bedroom closets. We have stayed at several less expensive VRBO properties and have always had closet space and bedroom dressers for our clothes. Other than that, the property was as advertised in the listing.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: We're glad you had a good time and found the location and accommodations to your liking. We are sorry you didn't have enough closet space. That was a temporary situation, and as of now it has been remedied. We've moved everything in those closets to our newest cabin which has much more closet space. There is now LOTS of closet space available at all our cabins. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Cabin - would definitely recommend to all

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

We celebrated my sister's 50th birthday with a trip to the Grand Canyon. I happened upon this cabin while searching the internet and it was exactly what we wanted. There were 7 sisters who were all pleased with the accomidations of the Racoon Ranch. Directions to the cabin were great - we passed Elk and antelope when driving to the cabin. The cabin was clean, well kept, and had a good selection of dishes to use for making a meal and enjoying a glass of wine. I would definitely recommend the cabin to all. Families with children would certainly enjoy this cabin as well. The owners were great to work with and got back to me quickly with any questions I had. We rode the train from Williams to the Grand Canyon, which was a fun train ride. The town of Williams is only 10 min. from the cabin. William is a nice town to explore as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home base for northern Arizona get-away

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

My family of 4 spent spring break at Raccoon Ranch and used it as a home base for visits to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Flagstaff and Jerome. We spent a fair amount of time driving, but Williams was a good, central location for the many things we wanted to do.

The cabin is very comfortable, with nice furniture and linens. The kitchen is well-equipped, and we also enjoyed the large DVD selection. It's nice to stay at a property the owner stays in on occasion, because we find those are the best-equipped. The cabin was just the right size. We did not get cell phone service at the cabin (our provider is ATT), but we were able to get a phone app through the wi-fi service.

The owner, Amy, provided clear instructions on how to open and close the cabin, as well as how to get there. She handled the rental very professionally. I recommend Raccoon Ranch!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grand time at Raccoon Ranch!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

The cabin was absolutely beautiful! Spacious and extremely comfortable for our group, with close proximity to the Grand Canyon and Route 66. Amy and Steve were a pleasure to rent from and communicated with us every step of the way. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Accomdations for our Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

My husband and I had been trying to find a cabin for a quick trip up North since before Christmas. We currently live about 3 hours south in Scottsdale and coming originally from the East Coast, were looking to get some cooler winter weather in. We were having a hard time finding anything that was both in our price range and allowed dogs. We came across Raccoon Ranch and thought by the pictures, it looked just like the type of place we were looking for - secluded but still having all the modern day necessities. Unfortunately, it noted that pets were not allowed. However, after speaking with the owners, they so courteously allowed us to bring our small dog with a refundable pet deposit. We arrived at the cabin and were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness. There was plenty of room to lounge on the large couch, an easy to operate gas fireplace, a spacious kitchen with plenty of cookware, 2 bedrooms with over-sized beds and plenty of raccoon memorabilia to hold up to it's name. The cabin was also stocked with spices/varying foods, movies, magazines/books and games. We are looking forward to planning another trip there in the future!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Family Vacation at Raccoon Ranch

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

My family and I wanted to get away from our normal routines to do something special. My husband researched cabins for rent in Arizona and found Raccoon Ranch. The owners, Amy and Steve, responded quickly and answered all of his questions. He proceeded with renting the cabin for two nights. Prior to our trip, we were e-mailed a map and a code to the cabin. The cabin was very easy to find and the location was absolutely beautiful. As we entered the property, pine trees surrounded the cabin, providing the magestic feel of winter.
Upon entering the cabin, our whole family was very impressed. It was absolutely picture-perfect and beautiful. Our favorite part was there was an eloquently decorated Christmas tree in front of the windows of the living room. It was nice to be able to play outside with the kids in the snow. Also, there were times where our two oldest boys were not ready to come inside and it was nice to be able to watch them through the large windows.
The kitchen is well stocked with everything needed to make meals, bake, etc. In addition, there is a Safeway about 15-20 minutes away, where you can buy food. However, if you want to go out to eat - there are many options. Our favorite was the pizza place in Williams, located on the main street.
While we were there, we all experienced The Polar Express. The atmosphere was amazing and the kids had the best time! By the time we got back home, the kids were exhausted. After they went to bed, it was nice to relax on the sofa, with the fireplace glowing and the tree lit.
The next day, we visited the local deer farm. I would suggest buying some of the food to feed the deer. The experience was one of a kind as they gathered around us for food. There are also other animals, such as caribou, lamas, birds, etc. Later that afternoon, we went to Wing Mountain to take the kids sleigh riding. They have hills for all ages and flat lands to play in the snow.
Overall, this was a memorable vacation that our family will always remember. We are looking forward to visiting again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amezing Place to be with the family.

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

My family and I (6) expend New Year Eve in this cabin. We had a really great time; the facility is amazing since you can count with everything: Dish Network, WiFi, Appliances, Hot Water, etc…
My kids enjoyed playing around the cabin, jumping, running, and signing, and eating marshmallows at night when we turned on the fireplace.
I really recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

The cabin was beautiful, inside and out! It was very cozy, clean and well kept. There were many amenities. We enjoyed the games, the sleds, and barbeque grill. The space was just perfect for 4 adults and 3 children. The trains were heard, but was not a big distraction nor did it interrupt our wonderful famly time or sleep. This cabin is high recommended and we're looking forward to staying again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Raccoon Ranch

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

When we arrived at Raccoon ranch we just fell in love with the property, the cabin is cozy and the interior decoration is warm and homely, the finshing touches and furniture really gave us that complete cabin experience, the cabin was most definately child friendly and extremely clean and smelt fresh ! The Snow views while sitting by the fire and the girls playing in the snow outside, it was just a remarkable time! We brought everything we thought we would need but just as a home would have Ann and Steve had this place prepared for anything, we needed nothing but to sit relax and just enjoy our weekend without the supplies! Just minutes from the snow play park and Williams we really loved this location and hope to return and visit EVERY year!! Thank you for your hospitality we truely felt we were in your home and it was our pleasure to leave it as we found it! this is a MUST STAY even if its a romantic getaway!! Loved it -

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Raccoon Ranch - beautiful cabin in Williams, AZ

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We stayed at Raccoon Ranch with friends for 3 nights and had an excellent experience. The cabin was perfectly comfortable and beautifully decorated. We visited the Grand Canyon, Flagstaff, and Sedona - all of them very worthwhile. On the second morning we had a 5" snowfall which made our vacation even more magical. We definitely will return and recommend this cabin to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Both Fun & Relaxing

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We had a great time at Raccoon Ranch. Everything was just what we had hoped! The location was perfect for trips to the Grand Canyon, Williams, and Flagstaff, but was remote and peaceful. The house was clean and well-decorated with lots of personal touches that we all (especially the kids) loved. The kids spent hours on the play set!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cabin fun

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

my family and I had a wonderful time at the Raccoon cabin. we felt very comfortable and it made us feel like we were home. everything was kept up very well and we had no issues with the cabin. the only thing that was a little annoying was the trains that came by. On our first night, there was a 2 hour window where they blew the horn every 10 minutes, but after that the rest of the time they were not too bad, maybe an occassional whistle within the half hour to hour or sometimes even longer.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Cabin!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

Raccoon Ranch was the perfect cabin for our Grand Canyon trip. My wife and I, along with another couple were very pleased. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. The kitchen was fully equipped with all necessary utensils and pots and pans. The cabin has a brand new grill out on the porch that looked like it had never been used. There was plenty of space to accommodate (4 adults) us with room to spare. Great LCD TV with surround sound along with plenty of movies and games for entertainment. No air conditioning, but not an issue for us. The cabin stayed very cool at night with all the windows open and fans going. A short drive to local grocery store and restaurants, and about a 45 minute drive to the Grand Canyon South Rim entrance. We would definitely book this again for a ski / hike trip to Flaggstaff or Grand Canyon. The owners were very responsive to all questions and provided plenty of information about the cabin and local area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely spot in the pines

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

This is a wonderful cabin in the Ponderosa pines. The location is perfect for exploring the Grand Canyon and Flagstaff. After spending the day touring, the covered deck is a great place to unwind from all the activity and enjoy some conversation with friends My husband is an excellent cook and found the kitchen to be very well stocked. The beds were soft and cuddly; perfect to fall into after a day of hiking. We had a question about the WiFi and Amy was so prompt getting back to us with the answer. Thanks Amy...and thank you for accommodating our special needs. If we have guests wanting to visit the Grand Canyon again, we will be calling Classy Cabins.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Frequent and loud train horns spoiled our stay

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

The property was comfortable, spacious, well-equipped and clean, as described in the listing. The owners were prompt in responding to our questions and confirming our reservation, and thorough in providing directions and access to the cabin.

All closets were locked, so were not able to properly unpack our clothes, which was one of the attractions of staying in a cabin for the entire stay. Upon inquiry, we were told that the closets were being used for items from another construction. While we understand the reason, we do not agree that this should impose on full-paying guests.

The major issue that we had was the many freight trains (3-4 per hour) passing through on dual tracks, close to the house (<1 mile) and blasting a very loud horn. Keeping windows open at night was impossible, and the horn was loud even with closed windows. Our sleep was interrupted several times each night, and after three nights we requested and were denied an early departure. The owners seemed more concerned that they would not be able to rent the cabin out for the last night of our six-night stay, than their failure to accomodate for an undisclosed shortcoming. They said that we were the first to complain of this issue, which I find amazing - the trains are very loud and very frequent, affecting all four family members each night. They offered to "investigate" the situation, but that was to be on our last day (too late to do anything about it). We have not yet learned of the outcome of their investigation.

The listing should disclose the disruptive trains, and we feel that we should have been allowed out of the contract early as requested due to the undisclosed disruptions.

Owners response: Thank you for the compliments on how beautiful, clean and comfortable our cabin was. We are sorry that you felt that there was too much train noise. This has not been a problem for our guests, as you can see from the other guest comments below. Most people think it's very quiet and peaceful at the cabin. We've inquired of the railroad if there was extra train traffic during your stay. We also asked our neighbors and both said no. We are over a mile away from the train tracks and most people can not even hear them. As far as the locked closets go, we provide our guests with luggage racks and hanging space with hangers, while we are constructing our new cabin. This is a temporary situation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Raccoon Ranch

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

A lovely cabin in the woods. It was very clean and comfortable for the 4 of us. We liked how it was pretty central to all the big tourist attractions around, just approximately 1 hour in either direction to get to them. A good place to stay that we would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxury Cabin in the woods!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

The property was very appealing to the entire family as we arrived! The older kids couldn't wait to explore, the young kids wanted to visit the playground equipment and the adults wanted to relax and enjoy the delightful environment!

The description of the property is very accurate. We are very selective when we stay away from our own home, but this luxury cabin felt as if we owned the property. Everything was carefully thought of when this owner built the cabin and cared for since then.

We can't wait to return next year and hope to plan a winter trip as well.

Thanks to the owners for making our vacation an experience to remember.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Chris,
It was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests! We also truly appreciate your kind words. Having 3 children of our own, we build and furnish our luxury cabins with families in mind. We look forward to having you and your family as our guests again in the future.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Base for A Grand Canyon Trip

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Amy & Steve's cabin is truly a delight! Our group of 6 stayed for three very comfortable nights during our trip to the Grand Canyon and it really felt like home. The large deck was great for dining and and a bit of relaxation after a day of exploring. Their recommendation of Pine Country Restaurant for a great breakfast was also spot-on. We look forwarded to staying again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such kind words. We are happy you had a great time and look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Thank you. Amy & Steve

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, quiet and comfortable.

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

My family and I stayed the week of July 4th. We found the cabin with a little effort in the pitch dark. It was everything it advertised it to be. Good location, clean and very comfortable for our family of 5. Nice to see the place stocked with movies and games and wi-fi for all your Internet needs.
A couple of suggestions to the owners: the outside grill is a little on the overused side and the burners are shot, plus the hammock appears to be at the end of it's life. I didn't dare try it. Might end up on the ground. I would of liked to see a little better sin age out on the road and an outside motion light at the security door. Very hard to navigate in the dark.
That's a couple of little things. Not much to complain about. The location, furnishings and overall vibe of the place is great. I would stay there again in a heart beat.
I hope to be back in a few years and when I do. I will be calling on these folks again.
Thanks for making our vacation a very special one!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you had a wonderful, memorable family vacation at our beautiful cabin. Thank you for making us aware of the grill and hammock. We strive to keep our cabins immaculate and will be replacing both this week. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful setting

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

The cabin was beautiful and very comfortable. We saw a lot of wildlife---elk, deer, and jack rabbits. Close to Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kate W

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

I had originally tried to make a reservation in the Grand Canyon Park but was too late. We are very happy to have had the chance to stay at Racoon Ranch instead. My husband and three kids,ages 24, 21, & 17 had a wonderful 4 night stay. We didn't mind the 45 min drive to the Grand Canyon when we could look forward to the peace and quiet of the comfortable accommodations of Racoon Ranch at the end of a busy day. It was so nice to stretch out in the hammock or lounge in the lovely living room. We were able to cook some dinners and enjoy the comforts of a home. The house was well stocked and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the Grand Canyon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL Cabin in GREAT LOCATION

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

We are two couples who enjoyed 5 great nights in this fabulous cabin. SUPER COMFY BEDS and truly EVERYTHING you could need to stay in or go out. The location is great -- just off I-40. We went to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Lake Powell, and Antelope Canyon. We HIGHLY recommend this cabin, and will look for excuses to go there again soon!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic!!!!!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Our stay at the Raccoon ranch could not have been any better. The owners went out of their way to be accommodating. My wife and I needed 2 cribs for our twin girls to sleep in and they went out of their way to go out and purchase two for us to use with no additional cost to us. The cabin was clean, and comfortable, and you really felt at home so many miles away. I would recommend to anyone!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun at Racoon Ranch!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

A perfect place for family and friends to gather and enjoy each other and all that nature offers! Super location, close or within reasonable driving distance to the many wonders this part of Arizona offers.
Amy, Steve and family were fantastic to work with and offered many ideas for what to do upon your arrival! Thanks!

Mary S. and family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable Base for Exploring Area

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Arrived at 7P in a raging snowstorm with a foot of fresh snow on the ground. Thankfully, the driveway and roads from I40 had been plowed. Kids had a great time playing in the snow. 1 hour drive to Grand Canyon or Sedona via Oak Creek Canyon. Surrounded by national forest, but roads were too wet to venture on. However, we did take some nice hikes through the pine forests. Well equipped kitchen, sattelite TV, and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute drive into Williams for groceries at a large Safeway.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

We had a wonderful family vacation over spring break! We rented out both the Raccoon Ranch and the Moose Manor to accommodate our three families each with two small children. The cabins were roomy, clean and comfortable. We had a great time relaxing inside as well as taking advantage of the local attractions including Elk Ridge Ski Area (the most amazing welcoming people I might have ever met - they opened up the tubing area just for us!) and Bearizona. Amy, the owner of the cabins was a pleasure to work with - very accessible electronically which I appreciate as a busy doctor and mother! We will definitely be back either for the summer or the winter or maybe even both! We simply loved it.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

My family of four recently stayed at Racoon Ranch with another family of three and we had an amazing time! We love the close proximity to Williams and Flagstaff. It is close to the Polar Express/Bearizona and other Williams, AZ activities, Grand Canyon, Sedona, etc. We all slept very well and were very comfortable during our stay. It is very nicely decorated and it was perfect for the little ones (ages 4, 3 1/2 and 11 months). The kids could play on the playground, watch movies, play in the loft area, etc. It had everything we needed and more. Thank you for the wonderful stay - we'll definitely be returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Grand Canyon for Thanksgiving

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed Raccoon Ranch. We had two families (4 adults and 5 kids, ages 8-14) and the cabin fit everyone comfortably. The booking was easy and Amy, the owner, was responsive and helpful. The cabin is in the woods, about 10-15 minutes from Williams and about an hour from the Grand Canyon. Although the cabin is in a community of other cabins, the orientation and views make it very private so that you feel like you have the woods to yourself. The cabin is very clean and the decor is nice for the parents, but very durable for the kids. Plenty of movies, games and a great satellite TV big-screen. Overall, a great place to stay. We hope to return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and Cozy Family Getaway

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

The cabin owners were very accomodating on our request to reserve the cabin just a few days before our stay. They even allowed for us to bring our two dogs with a deposit(even though it is normally not allowed). The view is beautiful and the cathedral windows in the living room provide great natural light. It was very homey...we had all the utensizl and kitchenware needed to cook a gourmet meal. It was very clean, inviting, and provided plenty of extra blankets and pillows for our large party. Our nights were spent by the firepit roasting marshmallows and sipping cider. We only regret that we couldn't stay longer! We plan on visiting again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Forest Retreat

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

I love that this vacation rental really captures the spirit of a cabin, but has all the conveniences of a regular house. It easily fit 5 adults and 3 kids. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was that the futon in the loft didn't convert into a bed, and we were under the impression that it did. I think you have to just put the futon mattress on the floor. Everything else was perfect. We saw the stars at night, enjoyed the outdoors, went to the Grand Canyon, and had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear SVP,
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are sorry we didn't have instructions posted on how to convert the futon into a bed. It does indeed fold down without removing the mattress and putting it on the floor. Now that we know it may not be clear how to do it, we will put an instruction sheet in the welcome book.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2006   Date of arrival: July 13, 2006

We just returned from our July vacation at the "Raccoon" cabin. What a joyous time! We

were amazed of all the items supplied in the cabin -- felt like we walked into someone's

home. FULLY furnished is an understatement! We brought our food, water, and clothing,

and we were set for a wonderful time. We invited along two of our massage therapists

friends, and let me tell you, the front "cathedral" windows looking out into the pine trees

made a powerful "healing" experience for everyone!

A little plug, if you need a "gifted" (and I mean it!) licensed and nationally certified

massage therapist for such a vacation (or for the local Valley, Phoenix AZ), give Amy a

call at 480-221-2050 (cell). Her professional massage therapy summary includes: Swedish,

Therapeutic, Aromatherapy, Reiki, Reflexology, Lymphatic Drainage, and Oncology.

Massage, bodywork and somatic therapies could play an important role in your life, as it

has in mine. Give her a call, you won't regret it! Cheerio! :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

The cabin was incredible!!! The cabin is brand new -- easily slept the seven of us. The smell of pine, clean air and cool temperatures where wonderful -- it was 104 in Phoenix that weekend.
All of the ammenities were available --
we cooked a great breakfast, barbequed, and ate like pigs.
Overall, I would rate the cabin, the area, and the surroundings as first class. We will be back!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

I recently stayed at Racoon Ranch and I have to say this is one of the nicest cabins I have ever seen! The decor, amenities, cleaniness and area are absolutely awesome. If you want to relax, hear the wonderful sounds of nature and stay in a place that is considered "home" away from home, then Racoon Ranch is it. All you have to bring with you is a change of clothes and food/beverages of your choice. The owners are very nice and accommodating and you can see how much work and creativity they put into making Racoon Ranch one of the nicest places to vacation at. I give this an A+. I'd definitely go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review