reviews for: listing #7447 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina Villa rental

Forrest Beach Villas
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Forest Beach
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $80 - $125 /nt
    $400 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Spotless!

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

Thank you for sharing your condo with us. It was spotless and the location was perfect. Close to everything. We had family staying at different locations through out the island and our place was voted best decor of the bunch! We also had the shortest walk to the beach, the grocery store, the restaurants and shopping. The pool was lovely and the location was peaceful and quiet. Loved being in the corner unit. Very professional correspondence and transaction as well. Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nancy, thank you for the kind words. It is a great location and relaxing. We wish as owners we could enjoy it more ourselves.

Ric and Louise

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Nearly Perfect Relaxation

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Well, now that I'm back I have to be somewhat terse in my review because office chores galore beckon. But in a nutshell this review is easy. The villa is exactly as advertised; interior pretty much spotless, all amenities provided as indicated, and the privacy of the corner top location is Just About Just Exactly Perfect. Ric's service and responsiveness are top notch. Beach access just across the street is easy, and Coligny Beach is a perfect starting point for exploring both up and down island. We never went to the shops in the pay-to-enter Plantation areas of the island. Really no need between the shops and restaurants at or near Coligny, plus a side jaunt over to Bluffton to check out the galleries.

A partial day trip to Hunting Island Lighthouse is mandatory if you dig serious slices of History. Also, a bike rental for beach riding at least on one day.

Michael Anthony's for dining if you like good Italian food and a seriously deep wine list.

We will be back!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. Louise and I greatly appreciate reviews not just on our villa and our management but also on Hilton Head in particular the Coligny Beach area.

Ric

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What A Fantastic Week Away!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Hi There,
My husband & I had never been to Hilton Head Island, or even to South Carolina before. We also had never rented through HomeAway before either.
We're so happy that we chose HomeAway, as the rental went so smoothly, & the other thing that we liked, is the photos & presentation of the villa, were true. We arrived on the Saturday, & our new home for the week, was so nice & clean.
Like so many of the other reviews from previous renters, the location was also a big plus.
Our week was a nice mix of checking out the beautiful area, & relaxing, so the hot & sunny week flew by. We went back home with a tan & lots of beautiful photos to remember the week.
The communication with the owners was also very professional & courteous.
I'm sure we'll be vacationing with HomeAway again.
Sue & Dave,
Ontario, Canada

Owners response: Sue and Dave,

Louise and I are glad that you had a wonderful week at the villa and thank you for giving us the opportunity to give you a pleasant memory of HHI. We look forward to your return.

Ric and Louise Bertsch

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

I recently stayed here and had a wonderful experience! The condo was decorated so cute and beachy!! :) Everything was spotless and clean (and I'm a tough critic when it comes to cleanliness) They offered games that we played on our rainy days and plenty of brochures/menus to local places around HHI. We also loved how close we were to the beach and shopping. We hardly took the car out at all! This was a comfortable place to stay for the week. I would most definately come back and stay here again for my next trip to HHI!! :) :)

Owners response: Julie, Thank you for your kind words. They are greatly appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not Great Beach Weather This Year, But...

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

This was our fourth stay at Ric and Louise's clean, comfortable villa. It seems that, every other year, the beach weather isn't all that great but, that's fine... There are so many other things to do nearby. Within walking distance is Coligny Plaza where you can eat, have a Beverage (or two!) and shop. We make annual visits to The Big Bamboo and Skillets. Last year, we added Bomboras to our list of places to visit, and this year we added Hinchey's. Although not in Coligny Plaza, Hinchey's is only a little more than a five-minute walk in the opposite direction (take a right when you leave the property). Bob and his daughter Katie make you feel right at home.

Not to be missed is Pool Bar Jim's in the rear of the Marriott Grande Ocean, which is a few minutes' walk from Hinchey's.

Ric and Louise continually update/upgrade the decor of the villa; this year, they added new tile in the living/dining area and the entranceway, plus ceiling fans and flat screen TV's. There is a desk where you can sit and write your comments in their Guest Book. There is a terrific choice of novels to read, plus games. You have to see the nautical-themed chess set on the coffee table! Louise's taste for choosing decorative accents is outstanding. Gene and I always joke about 'accidentally' packing the flip-flop mirror in the bedroom.

Ric and Louise are very accessible and respond to your questions and comments almost immediately. They can suggest restaurants and activities, also. This year, Ric suggested Dye's Gullah Fixings; the lunch that we had there was outstanding, and Miss Dye is a hoot.

Our annual Hilton Head vacation is always enjoyable (regardless of the weather), and it's made more so by a home-away-from-home to return to after being 'out and about'.

Owners response: Kathleen and Gene:

Thanks for the wonderful review. We really appreciate your comments and your return visits. Renting to you has always been a pleasure.

By the way we have an electronic tracking device on the flip flop mirror.

Ric and Louise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a getaway before our first child arrives in Oct, so this was what we called our "Babymoon". It was perfect! Walking distance to all the shops and the beach, even for this pregnant lady. The villa was nicely kept and had all the modern necessities. We used the kitchen everyday for breakfast and lunch but wanted to try the local cuisine for dinner. This was a great locale for young and old.

My only "complaint" if you want to call it that, was that the beach chairs that were supplied (which was great to have, esp with the built in backpacks) had some rust on the bottoms and got some rust on our clothes/swimsuits, but that's nothing a little washing can't get out really.

Overall it was a great stay and I hope to go back again. Thank you for a wonderful getaway!!

Owners response: Thanks for the comments and the info on the chairs. I will take care of them immediately.

Ric

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

219191

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Dear Ric an Louise,

Thank you! Our stay at your Forest Beach Villa unit was everything we hoped for. The unit was wonderful, the location was outstanding, and we had a great time. Restaurants, shops, grocery stores, and the beach were all within easy walking distance, and your condo was clean and nicely appointed. I also appreciated your professional manner, and flexibility in scheduling.

Based on this experience, we plan on vacationing on Hilton Head Island again, and will definitely contact you regarding future rentals.

Many thanks again,

Jim Knickelbine

Owners response: Jim and Sue:

Glad you had a great time and thanks for the kind words.

Ric and Louise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Forest Beach Villa #409/ Rental 219191

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We are long time clients of various villa owners at the Forest Beach Villa complex. We are fond of the location of these units, the parking accommodations and the consistency in maintenance/upkeep from unit to unit. We had sought a one bedroom unit for the first time on this visit. We were most pleased with this unit (409). Everything was found to be as advertised. The unit was clean and well furnished.

We are happy to recommend this property to anyone considering a stay on HHI.

Favorite restaruants are Crazy Crab, Alligator Grille, Aunt Chiladas (for all you can eat crab legs), Old Oyster Factory, plus we enjoy exploring new opportunities on each visit. This year's new place for us was Hugo's. It was worthy of a revisit.

Owners response: Donna:

Louise and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and are grateful for your review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

219191

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

It was great! A perfect location for walking, which we did a lot of! Very convenient to everything. The villa itself was very well-equipped and comfortable for our week's stay. One point is that the Levolor blinds behind the sofa kept losing their slats and falling behind the sofa.
All in all, we had a most enjoyable stay and would recommend Forest Beech to anyone who was looking for a place to rent.

Owners response: Alice:

Thanks for your kind review.

Yeah, those blinds. Louise and I were going to replace them this past winter however since the villa will be getting a fresh coat of paint next winter we thought best to paint first and then match with some better blinds.

Ric

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location!

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We spent the month of March 2012 here. Any couple seeking some R&R would be hard-pressed to find a better combination of comfort, location, access and surroundings. Situated across the street from a spectacular beach with all of its amenities; shops and restaurants only a short stroll away, this villa provides for a very relaxing and laid-back vacation. Everything else this beautiful area has to offer is literally within a short 5 to 20 minute drive. Walking and cycling are "de riguer" everywhere you go on the Island and residents are friendly and pleasant. This villa is clean, well-equipped and has been decorated with many interesting and attractive local artifacts. Ric and Louise are the most accommodating and thoughtful owners we have had the pleasure to deal with on Homeaway. Thank you for having us.
Lloyd & Agathe, Gatineau, Quebec

Owners response: Lloyd and Agathe:

Thanks so much for your kind words. We greatly appreciate your review. Hope to have you visit again.

Ric and Louise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and cozy, great location

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of August and had a great time. The condo was perfect for a couple. Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. And the location...perfect! It was our first time to Hilton Head Island and we really enjoyed ourselves. The condo is within walking distance from the beach, restaurants, shops, and walking/biking paths. Once you arrive, you really wouldn't need to drive your car anywhere if you didn't want to.

The beach was really clean and not too crowded - I was surprised at how calm the ocean was. We took a few drives around the island just to see what else was around. The bike paths are a nice way to see the island as well. We enjoyed meals at Reilley's and The Frosty Frog. We absolutely loved The Smokehouse - delicious barbeque.

It was a such a great vacation. This condo is an amazing find. Thank you for sharing your condo with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. They are greatly appreciated.
Ric and Louise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Enjoyable

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

From the time we arrived, to the time we left, our stay was very enjoyable. The condo was very clean, nicely furnished, and has a great view.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfection

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Thanks so much for allowing us to stay. The location is perfect for biking to just about everywhere. I would recommend anyone wanting a peaceful and relaxing vacation to check this property out. It was very clean and the the decorations are so cute. Love the flip flop mirrors. Ric was very helpful with suggestions on attractions to check out. I recommend the dolphin sunset/fireworks cruise it was an amazing experience and the Wreck of the Salty Dog's food was excellent.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tastefully Decorated

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2005

Ric & Louise,

Just letting you know that we really enjoyed our stay in your condo. There was plenty of room for the two of us and was very tastefully decorated. It was also very well maintained with a nice pool and great location. My girlfriend was very happy with the choice of your condo over the Holiday Inn.

Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I got up every morning for the sunrises

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2006

Ric & Louise,
Elaine wrote in your guest book, but I also wanted
to get back to you to express our delight with your
villa. It was spotless, well equipped, nicely
decorated and very conveniently located. We
especially appreciated the proximity to the beach
-- I got up every morning for the sunrises over the
Atlantic. We rented bikes and tried out our roller
blades on the plentiful bike paths. We had a ball!

Though we prepared many of our meals in the villa
kitchen, we also dined in several nearby restaurants
-- we especially liked Signe's for breakfast and
both the British Open Pub and Cafe Europa for
lunch...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Staying Here

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

I just loved staying at 10 S. ForestBeach Villa #409. The villa is cozy, well appointed, well equiped, clean, and centrally located. It was the first vacation that was a bitter sweet leaving. I wanted to go home tosee the children but didn't want to leave the villa and the island. The owners Ric and Louise are very friendly, helpful, down-home kind of folks. In other words "couldn't be nicer" I hope to go there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5* ouf of 5

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2008

We very much enjoyed the stay at 409 Forest Beach Villas. THe condo was clean and cozy. We had our two boys and they were very comfortable on the couch. This is a great unit and I suggest this rental to any couple. It is close to the beach and to many many restaurants and other facilities. We rented bikes and traveled the Island on the bikes. It was wonderful. Thanks for a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spotless!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

Thank you for sharing your condo with us. It was spotless and the location was perfect. Close to everything. We had family staying at different locations through out the island and our place was voted best decor of the bunch! We also had the shortest walk to the beach, the grocery store, the restaurants and shopping. The pool was lovely and the location was peaceful and quiet. Loved being in the corner unit. Very professional correspondence and transaction as well. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 16, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Ric & Louise,
Elaine wrote in your guest book, but I also wanted
to get back to you to express our delight with your
villa. It was spotless, well equipped, nicely
decorated and very conveniently located. We
especially appreciated the proximity to the beach
-- I got up every morning for the sunrises over the
Atlantic. We rented bikes and tried out our roller
blades on the plentiful bike paths. We had a ball!

Though we prepared many of our meals in the villa
kitchen, we also dined in several nearby restaurants
-- we especially liked Signe's for breakfast and
both the British Open Pub and Cafe Europa for
lunch...
Roger & Elaine

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review