reviews for: listing #74504 - Owasco Lake, New York House rental

Luxury Lakefront - Best Value on The Lake
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Auburn
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $375 /nt
    $800 - $3,000 /wk
    $2,200 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Nothing lacking here.

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

The house is large and beautifully furnished. Everything you need is provided.My grandchildren loved playing in the yard and they caught fish right off the dock.We would recommend this house to anyone,We would like to return in the Spring and bring our canoe.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation on Owasco Lake

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Just enjoyed a great vacation on Owasco Lake at this beautiful lakefront home! Between fishing, swimming, boating/tubing and seeing friends and family, we couldn't have asked for more. We loved the open floor plan on the first floor and the upgraded kitchen. It was sad to leave, but we hope to be back for more next summer! Thank you for providing such a great spot for our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great girls getaway

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

This is the second time we have rented this vacation home and we enjoyed ourselves once again! We are a group of quilters who stay for a week to sew, relax and laugh. It is the perfect house for us! The layout is great and it has everything we need. We are hoping to make this our yearly quilting retreat house. And as always, Nina's is the place to go for great chicken wings! Thank you once again Rebecca and Heather!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks again Virginia! We look forward to seeing you all again next year!! Kind regards, Rebecca Simmonds.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

even better than what we expected!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

the view of the lake was amazing. well-heated, clean and well-maintained. ample space for the 8 of us. tastefully decorated. found rebecca and heather very helpful.
definitely would like to return and highly recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

better than what we expected!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

the view of the lake was amazing. well-heated. ample space for the 8 of us. tastefully decorated. found rebecca and heather very helpful.
definitely would like to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

We were two families with young kids (3-9yrs) and we all had the best time possible. The kids loved playing in the snow outside, we enjoyed watching them from the warm and cozy inside and we'd love to come again in the summer if it'll be available.

The communication with the owner and the property manager was very nice, they are both kind and generous and that gave us a very welcoming feeling. The price is very fair too.

Our experience was 100% positive and i highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect House!

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

Hi Rebecca – Your lake house worked out perfectly! We had 6 family members stay there on Friday night and my mother & father-in-law stayed there as well on Saturday night. The house is very nice and the family enjoyed it a lot. We would definitely rent your house again if there is occasion to.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I rented this beautiful home on the lake with a few of my girlfriends for just a short getaway. We absolutely loved this home!! We had everything that we needed right there so we didn't need to bring anything from home. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and the view right out front was breathtaking. We had all the comforts of home. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for just a short period of time but hope to return again in the near future. It is just a wonderful place!!!

Thank you, Beth Petrosino

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lake Owasco Getaway

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay in the house on Lake Owasco. The house was very clean and the layout was just perfect. We had many dinners out on the patio overlooking the lawn and lake; the perfect setting for a meal...or coffee in the morning. The layout of the property with the large yard and dock were perfect for our 3 little kids who loved to run around and discover nature. The fire pit got a lot of use...smores! My only suggestion would be to add more Adirondack chairs. (there was only 1). I can't say enough about the house and the wonderful memories we made in that house during our vacation. It was the perfect spot to have a quiet and peaceful vacation and watch the kids bond together before the craziness of sports and the school year begin. Thank you to the owners and Heather for providing such an ideal lake house!

Owners response: Hi Lindsey! Thank you so much for the warm comments about our lake home. It is so great to hear when people are having a great time there as it makes all the effort that we put in worth it! I will definitely be looking at getting some more outdoor furniture next year, so I hope that we will see you and the family again next year! Tell your friends!! Kind regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Stay in a Beautiful Home!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The other reviews are truly spot on- clean, modern home with all the amenties you need...quiet, relaxing property with nice neighbors...owner and manager are a pleasure to deal with...it has it all!

Some of the nice touches-everything is new (appliances, furniture, etc.), spacious patio with grill, table and chairs- (overlooking the lake), toys, games, and DVDs for all ages, and even a kid's fishing pole which was a huge hit with our 3 year old.

From swimming, to fishing off of the dock, to campfires with smores, my family had a wonderful time and we hope to be back soon! Highly recommended!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Like-Side Getaway

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We had a great weekend at this house. The house has recently been redone, and is very clean and comfy. As advertised, it is right on Lake Owasco, and has a spacious backyard and a beautiful view. The owner and property manager were very friendly and made things very easy. We highly recommend it for a peaceful, relaxing getaway!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Like-Side Getaway

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We had a great weekend at this house. The house has recently been redone, and is very clean and comfy. As advertised, it is right on Lake Owasco, and has a spacious backyard and a beautiful view. The owner and property manager were very friendly and made things very easy. We highly recommend it for a peaceful, relaxing getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Owasco Lake House was absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Rebecca,

Our stay at Owasco Lake House was absolutely perfect! The house and the property were just beautiful. The view of the lake was wonderful and the grandchildren loved swimming and skipping stones all day long! The home was immaculate with almost all new interior and appliances. Every detail was considered from furnishings, toys, books, games, kitchen supplies, bathrooms and bedrooms.

Obviously, we had such a great stay and we would highly recommend the home to anyone who is considering renting it.

Thanks so much.

Nadine

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A lovely cottage

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

The cottage is very new and clean, looks exacly like the pictures. It has full supply of everything we need. Great view of the lake, huge back yard. The owner and property manager are very nice and accommodated. I highly recommand it.

Owners response: Hi Anita, thank you for your recommendation of our property! Regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

March Break getaway

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Drove down from Canada with two families (4 adults, 4 kids). Weather was amazing (where did all the snow go?) and we were able to do some bbq'ing and the kids even had a dip in the lake. The ground floor seemed much larger than depicted in the photos... and bright with natural light! The older kids slept on the living-room pull-out but they didn't complain much as this allowed them to stay up late giggling and watching youtube videos all night (thanks to the wifi). Good times.

Check out the photos by searching for our blog entry title, "March Break at Finger Lakes". Cheers.

Owners response: Thanks again for going out of your way to submit a review Bryan, much appreciated!! Great to hear that you enjoyed your time in our beautiful lake house! Regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful house for a girl's getaway!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Five of us rented this house for a week of quilting and relaxing, and it was perfect! It is very open and spacious, plenty of room to set up our sewing tables, extra ironing boards and cutting table. We especially liked that we could unload our vehicles right into the attached garage and not have to navigate any stairs. The views overlooking the lake were so nice to look at as we were sewing! We loved the updated kitchen and appliances, not to mention the front loading washer and dryer. Everything seemed brand new, so nice! So any quilters out there who may read this review, do not hesitate to rent this house! You will not be disappointed. We hope to return for another fun week sometime in the future. Thanks Rebecca and Heather! (Oh, and we highly recommend Nino's for their great chicken wings!)

Owners response: Hi Virginia, thank you for taking the time to review our lakehouse! Great to hear that you were happy with the amenities and that you all had a great week at the house - sounds like a lot of fun! We are really proud of the house, so it's wonderful to get feedback telling us that we are doing a great job! Thank you again. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Rebecca Simmonds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rent this property!!!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

My sister and I rented this beautiful home with our husbands.
The "wows" started as soon as we opened the door,
The house is immaculate and appears to be new.
The spacious open floor plan allows for water views from just about every seat.
We hosted dinner for our parents and 6 additional family members There was ample space for everyone. One of my sisters uses a wheel chair and she had no
problem getting in the door and once inside had the run of the first floor.
The owner and property manager are great to work with.
The location is convenient to Auburn and several wineries.
The back yard is large enough for children to play outside. (it's right on the lake so supervision is advised) The lot is relatively flat without the 20 or so steps usually necessary to get to the water.
We would all recommend this house for families or small groups of friends.
Looking forward to visiting again during warmer weather.

Thanks again!!!
Lori Keene

Owners response: WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review Lori! Greatly appreciated! Heather and I work hard to make sure the home is near perfect for our guests, so it is great to hear that our efforts are appreciated. Thank you again. We look forward to hearing from you in the future. Regards, Rebecca Simmonds.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time with family

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

All six of us (ranging in age from 5 to 83) had a great time at the Owasco Lake House. There is plenty of room, the house is very clean, spacious and well equipped, and it is right on the lake. We had plenty of room for friends and family to come visit for the day. The house is close to grocery stores, restaurants and conveniences, and has wireless Internet service.

The swimming is rocky and shallow, but that's the same we have found elsewhere on Owasco (get water shoes if you don't have them already).

Rebecca is great to deal with for setting up your stay and Heather is very helpful once you're there. And it's wonderful that they handle the cleaning at the end of your stay so you can make the most of your vacation time.

Grandma and Grandpa did have two requests for next year -- better hanging space in the closets, and a little more of a railing or other assistance getting down to the dock and then into the water would help for older people and small kids. Also note that the bedrooms are upstairs.

We had a great trip and we plan to come back again next summer. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michele, thank you so much for taking the time to write the review, I sincerely appreciate it. And thanks too for the feedback on what we can do to improve the home. Since your stay, we have installed a railing on the dock, and I plan to buy some new closet furniture before the summer season hits. Thanks again. Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Large and comfy home

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

THe home was very well equipped. Everthing looked brand new. My 3 children, wife and I loved it.

I recommend it!

Owners response: Henry, I'm happy to hear that you and the family had a great time at our beautiful lake house! Thank you so much for your recommendation, I sincerely appreciate it! Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Blessing

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My sister and I, along with our husbands and kids, rented this property during our Thanksgiving break. From the moment we walked through the door, we knew we had made a good choice. The house was modern in its furnishings, appliances, and decor, as well as warm and inviting. The view of the lake was spectacular- you couldn't get any closer. Everything in the kitchen was new, which made cooking a large meal a breeze. (The smoke detectors work really well, too!) We had a slight incident with one of the beds (manufacturer's malfunction) and the property manager, Heather, and her husband, came that day to check it out. She was very friendly and helpful. Everyone in our family enjoyed having the wireless connection since we had 3 grad students among the group who needed to do homework, as well as teenagers who needed to stay connected. The traditional family board games also provide some good family fun. The whole rental transaction was easy and uneventful. We are hoping to return next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Karen, I just noticed that I hadn't responded to your review of our property and wanted to say a huge THANKS for doing it! I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and its good to know that the kitchen can handle a Thanksgiving feast - that was one thing I really wanted to achieve (I can't stand staying in places that have the bare minimum in kitchen supplies)!! Anyhow, I hope we see you all again. Regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to getaway from it all!

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We loved our retreat to this beautiful house on the lake. The Finger Lakes are a wonderful place to visit - you can relax and get away from it all or keep busy with plenty to do. The location of the house is perfect for both and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Everything was new, clean, and updated. The view was gorgeous and so serene. Thank you for being such wonderful hosts and sharing this home with us! We can't recommend it enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Amy, thank you so much for your review! It always warms my heart when guests go out of their way to submit a review, so it is much appreciated! Also glad to hear that you enjoyed your kid-free weekend in our beautiful house too! Hope to see you again in the future! Regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great View

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We attended a wedding at the Springside Inn and decided to rent this house right down the road for a few nights. We were very impressed with the house and how well appointed it was. Very clean, comfortable and loved the lake views! Thanks again.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review of our property, it is greatly appreciated! Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Spacious

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We enjoyed ourselves and the stay at your lake house. The interior was very beautiful and spacious, and the property was nicely maintained. I would also like to add that Heather and her husband were also very nice and responsive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Sunrises!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We had a great time at the lake house. Heather is an excellent caretaker. The house was clean and well stocked with linens and kitchen utensils. This is located at a wonderful spot on the lake. I really enjoyed the sunrises. I hope that we will be able to return sometime. I will definitely keep this place in mind if we rent again in the area. I will also recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was PERFECT!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Hi Rebecca -

The house was PERFECT! We had a fantastic week at the lake.

The level lot was great for games and perfect for the kids to run around playing. And given the heat wave that we had during our week, all of the trees on the property really helped out!

The house was wonderful - clean and comfortable, with every amenity we needed and then some.

Heather and her husband were wonderful as well. So nice and accomodating!

If our family vacation brings us back to the lake next year, we will be sure to rent your house again.

Thank you so much for a great experience from start to finish!

Amy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

STOP !! What you see REALLY IS what you get!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

I think we were one of the 1st. if not the 1st. to rent this property, last year.
My sisters and I have rented lake side properties for the last 16yrs., all in NY State. We always stay in the fall for 4days,3nights (Oct.) .
My sisters and I all agree this home is at the very top of our favorites list. I'm not kidding!! The homeowners and caretakers are very nice people.
This home is Beautiful !! Easy entrance (with all your stuff). Very clean.Comfortable beds and furniture. Great kitchen everything you need (we cooked every meal in).They have everything you need , just bring you personal stuff. Don't Forget Your Camera, the views are Fabulous. We can't wait to go back ! " Sister's 5 "

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sandy, your review almost bought tears to my eyes given that it has almost been a year since we saw you! Yes, you were one of the first and we can't wait to have you all back some day. Thank you, thank you for such a glowing review - it's great to know that all our hard work is appreciated! Warmest thanks, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great place on the west side of the lake

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We stayed at this property when we came to town for our niece's graduation. The house and location was perfect! The house is exactly as described in the ad.

The upsides are: The house was newly remodeled. It looked as though it was totally gutted and fully rebuilt. The house was very well equipped, especially the kitchen! The linens were very nice--big thick bath towels and nice soft sheets. The location was great-- almost exactly mid-point on the lake. The yard was deep and level with tons of shade trees. There are nice neighbors on both sides, who are permanent residents (no crazy loud partiers next door like you can get at some lake rentals). Great spot for fishing.

The downsides are: no air-conditioning. The road in front of the house seems to be a thoroughfare for large trucks which makes a lot noise at night.

We loved this house so much that we booked it again for next year.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your positive feedback Christine! Coming from a seasoned vacation-renter like yourself, I was proud that our house was enjoyed by you and your family! Thank you, we'll see you again next year. Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Lake House!!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Thank you Rebecca for sharing your beautiful lake house with us. We had a wonderful time and Heather was very attentive. The house was spotless when we arrived and had everything we could possibly have needed. The house is so well maintained down to the towels, bed linen, etc. We will certainly consider renting again when we come to Owasco Lake.

Best regards, Bonnie

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Don't Pass This One Up

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

I never, never write reviews and I am making an exception this time. The place is great - everything is new, very well equipped kitchen, great views and easy access. The owners and caretakers could not be more pleasant and accommodating. If you are looking for a great west side place to stay stop looking you just found it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great house!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We loved the house. We loved the beautiful views of the lake! We stayed over Christmas time, so it was cold and snowy outside, but my husband and I and our 6 kids who stayed in the home were very comfortable. We can not wait to come in the summer when we can enjoy the lake and big yard even more!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the recommendation! We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again! Regards, Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Don't pass this one up

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

I never, never write reviews and I am making an exception this time. The place is great - everything is new, very well equipped kitchen, great views and easy access. The owners and caretakers could not be more pleasant and accommodating. If you are looking for a great west side place to stay stop looking you just found it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your warm recommendation Randy, I sincerely appreciate it and am glad that you had a great time! Hope to see you again in the future! Rebecca.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review