reviews for: listing #74524 - Glenwood Springs, Colorado Cabin rental

End of the Road Ranch
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $500 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,500 /wk
    $1,500 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Just Extraordinary

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We are a family of four with two girls aged 8 and 10. We rented Kelly's ranch with our friends, another family of four with two young girls. Kelly's Colorado ranch was A+++. We have traveled the country with our friends for going on a decade and this was far superior to any previous summer rental in all measures. First the water is exquisite. Crystal clear Elk Creek runs through the property like this was out of the motion picture "A River Runs Through it" (a film that Kelly worked on with Redford). The water comes right off the Divide with only public forest between the ranch and the highest source mountain. Hiking along the river for miles with no one else around with gorgeous views around each corner was a daily event. Second, the architecture and accommodations are exquisite. I loved being able to show our daughters what a true artist can make being respectful to the land, building with artistry and without ostentatiousness. Resourcefulness (in salvaged materials), excellent masonry work and design were marvels. Third, was Kelly himself. He is the real thing: Hospitable, kind, a great story teller (if you get him talking), and one amazing professional photographer. Fourth, comfort and recreational opportunities were even better than we had anticipated. We had run of most of the buildings with ranch cabins/houses providing many more beds than we needed. There is a sauna house with a small swimming pond next to the river. We took several swims every day in the cold water. As someone of Nordic heritage I must encourage the swims. The cold water produces a day-long swimmer's high. Bookshelves of great literature abound in the main house so reading a good book after a swim with towering peaks in view- was a regular part of the experience. Kelly has speakers wired through the main house for a great acoustic experience and his collection of artworks adds to the aesthetic experience. In short the place and the experience is worth far more than the asking rental price. We have never gone to any summer place twice but today one of my girls implored me to arrange going back there again next summer. Our one- time rule certainly will now be broken. Enjoy, if you make it out there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for a family vacation

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Location was perfect for our family vacation. We loved the hikes, the water, the beautiful views, and the opportunity to catch up with family. It's a beautiful spot and we appreciate John making it available to us and even allowing us to bring pets along. My only disappointment was that we weren't able to ride the horses. From reading one of the other reviews, I thought we would be able to do so.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Me and 5 of my friends were looking for a perfect place to unwind ourselves after a hectic university semester, and the ranch turned out to be the perfect place. Nestled in the mountains, and the greenery all around us........It was a magical place. The sauna bath, green room and the river flowing along added to the charm. the scene looked straight out of the movies (Legends of the fall, A River runs through it). Our host , Kelly is a proper gentleman, voracious reader (exhibited by the tons of books in the cottage) and an excellent photographer. He could go on talking on and on and you wont even be bored for a second. Even though it felt like we were at the edge of the world, the city wasn't faraway. We were able to do visit city and do lots of fun activities. While you are here, I would advise a visit to Hanging Lake. Barbecuing at night while sitting outside among my friends is a experience that I would never forget. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

My best vacation ever

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

End of the road ranch is the most amazing place I have ever been to in my lifetime. The hospitality extended to us was superb ! The owner John was an amazing person with years of experience. He has a big heart when it comes to sharing his property worth millions with strangers. In this world, some people work for money but John works for his passion. The ranch is located a midst the mountains near a beautiful stream, away from any other disturbance. You can really relax and spend a laaazzzyyyy weekend.the only other living things around are the stallions in the ranch. For adventure seekers, try hike starting 100 meters away from the ranch. Taking a dip in the stream isn't less demanding ! you can also ask the owner and ride his horses, we were allowed to do so. thanx to John
In all, we were really happy from the hospitality extended to us and the facilities shared on the property. It felt like I returned to my Village back in my country. I also wanna thank John's friend Tony who helped him during his injured days and prepared the property for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome place

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We were a bunch of 6 guys looking for some forest cottage to stay in over the long weekend and we came across this amazing place. Believe me, the place is even better than what is shown in the pics!! Excellent cottage, superb scenery, the inviting sauna room, the free flowing stream nearby, the barbecued chicken over the drinks in the chilly evening. Add to that the spooky feeling in late evening of being in the middle of no where. Wow,that was some feeling!! One more good thing is that even though you feel like you are at the edge of the world, you still are not that far from the town. Infact, we could easily go for our rafting and hiking outings. The host was really hospitable. We were quite late than what we had told him, but still he kept in contact with us throughout our journey to make sure we found the place. It sure helps when your host is also an excellent photographer! What else could we ask for? Really, one of the very best trips ever!! I would definitely recommend this place to my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"Are You Leaving Yet?"

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

The property was charming, the customer service was not! I rented this property for one evening as a graduation surprise. The owner was not there due to an injury, so I cannot say whether or not my experience would have been better had he been present. Our trip went from bad to worse. We arrived to a greeting of annoyance that we were later than expected, so we were quickly shown the property and asked if we wanted to use the sauna room, which we did. We were never shown it's exact location, but we knew it was "along the stream". It got dark and the flashlights we were furnishes were inadequate enough to see beyond 2 feet and we were unable to locate it. We were charged for it nonetheless!!!! We were also charged for an additional person, though I find it funny that my original reservation was for 3 adults/3 teens that got changed to 4 adults/2 teens.... not quite sure how the "extra person" got calculated, as the amount of beds needed did not change, but I do know the assistant charged me extra THAT SHE COLLECTED FROM MY GUESTS as I got called into work the next morning!! And the cherry on top was when my guests reported to me later that the gal assisting was cleaning/putting away dishes and stripping off beds BEFORE THEY HAD EVEN LEFT, and she kept asking them if they were leaving yet!?....interesting, because when I had inquired earlier about a check-out time, the owner replied that we could stay as long as we liked the following morning...............unbelievable.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

The most amazing vacation ever!

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

The End of the Road Ranch was the most unique and amazing vacation ever. Our hosts Kelly and Mookie greeted us in relaxed fashion that set the mood for our time there. The ranch is rustic, green and beautiful. Our family spent time hiking, eating, reading, riding, taking photographs and did I say eating? The food was fresh and delicious. The wood burning sauna cabin was the perfect spot for a relaxing massage.

Our time, as a family, was one of enjoying each other and reconnecting in a way that is not possible in our busy lives. I would say leave your electronic devices at home and make the best of some real quiet time. Our 21 year old daughter and 14 year old son had the time of their lives.

Kelly is a truly wonderful person who is full of stories and humor. He was great with the kids. His co-host and dog Mookie adds lots of warmth and love.

I wish there was a rating for "better than excellent" because I would check that box!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Idyllic location, Wonderful welcoming atmosphere

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

We had the best time ever! We slept in the cabin with the beautifully spacious stone bathroom. What a joy to walk outside, commune with horses, stroll down to the Sauna cabin, nestled close to the flowing creek. Or take a hike or horse ride up the canyon to a seemingly endless stretch of National Forest. We chose to be 'catered to' for meals, and enjoyed delicious foods, most memorable being the bar-b-ques at the end of full days. For us, coming from the 'light drenched' northeast of the US, the panoramic view of the clear night skies was spectacular. The easy drive to Glenwood Springs for a rejuvenating soak in the huge hot springs pool was a fun event. It is a beautiful area to explore. The people at the End of the Road Ranch were so welcoming, and accommodating to our particular requests. I would recommend this place as one of our best vacation experiences.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review