reviews for: listing #74553 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Comfortable and Peaceful Condo, Walk Downtown, View of Bay,
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kona Pacific
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $120 /nt
    $665 - $840 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect & reasonably priced base location

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 weeks stay at this unit. The condo is very clean and you can tell that the management is doing more than a good job to make sure that all is taken care of to have a comfortable stay.
The unit has spacious bedroom, comfortable king size bed and a nice shower ( the unit has a bath tub too). The kitchen is fully stocked but a little bit small.
The air conditioner in the living and bedroom does make a difference especially this time of the year.
The unit proximity to Kona downtown make it a nice base location if you are staying on the west side of the islands. It is just few minutes walking distances to shops and restaurants. You don't need to eat or buy anything but you can certainly enjoy the beautiful sunset and evening or morning walks.

Most of the nice beaches on the west side are short driving distance from the unit ( ranges from 5 to 10 min). The northern part of the island is a 30 to 40 minutes drive if you wish to visit some of the resorts and use their beaches.
There are many things to do and see in the Big island don't stress your self whether you are staying few days and 2 weeks you cannot see and do all just relax enjoy your stay and take it easy.
Enjoy your stay

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazingly Quiet and a great location near Alii Dr.

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

If you are looking for some R&R this is the unit. The condo had everything we needed as for comforts and the pool area was quite nice too. Great location - We took many walks down Alii drive to eat and take in the views. The Big Island has a lot to offer, and this condo location made this possible, and easy . Can't wait to come back.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Location and Comfortable Condo

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We had a great stay at Kona Pacific B511! The location is just right - about a block off the main road through the village and a couple of blocks away from the village. It was quiet yet very conveniently located. The unit was spotless and very well equipped. The two patios were wonderful for eating and just sitting. There were plenty of ceiling fans, and AC when we needed it. The parking garage and building were also very well maintained. Wheelchair access was adequate. The doorways were wide enough, and the shower and tub accommodated a shower chair OK. The bed was a bit tall for transferring, and the garage had some steep angles, but with a little assistance were workable. Overall, this condo is an excellent value, very comfortable, and in a great location. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kailua Kona Komfort

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at the Kona Pacific condos. We were there for our daughter's wedding at the Royal Kona Resort and the condo's location was perfect. The downtown area with its restaurants, farmer;s market, and shops were also just a short walk away.

We enjoyed the spacious bedroom and bath with the delightful shower and having the extra bath was great for our daughter and her guest. The kitchen was well stocked with basics for making breakfast/meal or eating some take-out food. We found the condo to be noise-free and with a nice view of sunsets from the lanai.

There was beach equipment available and even a blue icepack in the freezer that came in handy when we packed a lunch to go to Hilo and Volcanoes National Park. Having an assigned packing space was very convenient and made it stressfree anytime that we returned to the condo. We found the entire complex clean and well cared for and would love to stay again another time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

We truely found the property to be a home away from home,from the time we arrived until the time we left. We had our own under ground parking stall for our rental,a shopping cart at the elevator doors to cart all our stuff(saved many steps). The room was very clean and well appointed,it had everything we needed.The Kingsize bed was comfortable and there were no shortages of ceiling fans to keep you cool at night.The rooms had A/C but we never turned them on. We loved the walkin shower,nice touch,and that there were 2 complete bathrooms.
The pool area was very quiet and very well thought out I thought.We never stayed there during the day as there was alot to do and see around the island. When we returned from our daily activities there were 3 barbeques for your conveniance and a pool to dive into to cool down at night or you are within walking distance to the many restaraunts on the main strip.
I could go on and on, but we had a great vacation in Hawaii and the condo we rented was fabulous and when we return we will stay at the Kona Pacific.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Way Cool!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 10 days at Bruce and Kathy's condo and found it to be very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The listing information was quite accurate and actually the unit exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed the easy walking access to Wailua village and took advantage of the many fine restaurants. Favorites included Fish Hopper for Ono fish and chips, Kona Inn(just go there and see what we mean) and you can't beat Huggos on the Rocks for toes in the sand relaxation, good music and an applauded sunset over a cold beverage.
And the beaches...nothing like a Hawaiian beach and the crystal clear Pacific ocean.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Get Away

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

A very nice get away. Everything was grand. You have a lovely place. Very comfortable and well appointed. It had everything we needed and more. The beach stuff, chairs, umbrella and board were a welcome surprise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice!

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We were very comfortable and happy with this unit. Everything we needed was there, clean and in working order. The furnishings are comfortable and tasteful; the bedroom is huge, and the King bed is very comfy. The lanai view of the Kona pier is pretty both morning and night. The elevators made getting to the pool and to the designated parking spot easy and quick. Kona village restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We had a great time and highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great comfortable place to stay

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the property a great deal. It has everything and is actually nicer than the photos. The building/complex is very nice as well. Very good location with just a short walk to the main downtown attractions. You will not go wrong renting this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review of our condo. We appreciate the kind words. Each year when we visit we do some project to keep the unit clean and comfortable for our guests. The proximity to Downtown Kona is one of the nice features of this unit, yet it is quiet. In just a few minutes you can be at the Farmers Market and the Royal Kona Resort is very close for a nice, reasonably priced meal at their ocean bar/restaurant.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

We stayed at Kathy's & Bruce's condo for 6 weeks. It ended up being our home away from home. It was everything she said it would be. We were steps away from pool and parking garage. You really didn't even need a vehicle with the exception of getting groceries or if you wanted to do some sightseeing. Pool is beautiful and rarely used, 3 big weber grills, and eating area above pool. Never had to wait for grills. All in all it was a great experience and would go back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

What a Great Location

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

We go to Kona every year and usually stay at a resort. This time we chose a condo for a new experience. This condo was a gem. Huge 1 bedroom unit with 2 seperate lanai's. Everything we needed was included. Multiple ceiling fans everywhere which was really nice. Big walk in shower in addition to a bathtub in 2nd bath. The complex was very quiet, beautiful with underground parking and lovely landscaping. Kona village with shops and restaurants was just a 5 minute walk down the road as was a beach. Since we love walking into the village the location just couldn't have been better. Farmers market just minutes away where I could buy the best papayas. I would recommend this condo to anyone and we were so sad to leave....

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You Can't Go Wrong With This Unit !

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

This unit lived up to our expectations from the photos and description of the unit. It is tastefully decorated, yet has a very comfortable feel to it. Two bathrooms is clearly a plus and not something you often find in a 1 bedroom unit. I slept on the sofa bed and slept like a log. Wait till you see the large walk-in shower in the master bathroom ! Very unique. Lots of books and games and videos, but who wants to be indoors in Hawaii? Unit is quiet and free from road noise. Unit has its own assigned under the building parking stall which is secure. Elevator is convenient if you have groceries or are just dog tired from the days activities. This is an excellent property over all. It is well kept and reflects pride of ownershiop. It's close (a half mile or so)to picturesque Kona proper and closer still (down the hill and around the corner) to another developing business/activity area filled with a wide variety of restaurants representing international cusine, shops, art stores, coffee shops, ice cream, everything from beer to wine, eat inside, eat outside and an ABC store for anything you forgot to bring with you. Owners use a management company and the rental process went without a flaw. Anyone interested in scuba diving, I would recommend Honu Sports. Captain Lisa takes only small groups, no more than 6, on her boat. She's a delight and is a wealth of knowledge about every fish in the sea. Her excitement and enthusiasm is contageous. She can take snorklers as well. Honu Sports is on Alii Drive in town. The shop sells crocs and dive gear as well. We wouldn't dive with anyone else. The Canoe Club in town is our favorite because the food is great and well priced and you can eat outside and watch the ocean as you eat. Don't forget to visit the Sea Horse Farm out by the air port. That's a once in a lifetime opportunity and is worth the price of admission. We have stayed in 3 different units at this property and definitely recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We found our "Home Away from Home"!

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

This was our 9th trip to Kailua-Kona and the 3rd time at Kona Pacific. This was the best condo we have ever stayed in! From the amazingly comfortable bed to the walk in shower (newly remodeled - kudos!) this place was the best. It was stocked with everything we needed and more. The complex is clean, quiet and completely SMOKE FREE! We only went to the pool area a few times, but found it immaculate, relaxing and quiet, with a lot of beautiful flowers surrounding it. It even has shopping carts located by the elevators to haul your groceries up to your condo.

The complex is conveniently located just off Alii Drive and a few minutes walking to great restaurants and shops. There is a little beach a few walking minutes away and Kahaluu snorkel spot is just a few minutes by car.

The new Wifi in the room was not working but with a call to the property managers it was up and running by the time we got back from the beach.

We have certainly found our new "Home away from Home" in Hawaii.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

October in Kailua-Kona

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in October 2010! The condo had everything we could have possibly needed (beach chairs and towels, boogie boards, etc) and was very comfortable and well maintained.

The location was ideal. We could walk into town for a morning coffee, window shopping, or a snack, yet felt secluded when we went back to the condo. The pool was great, too! The local farmers market from Wednesday to Sunday was great and was right in town.

Making the reservation was very easy. There is a local property manager, which is nice to know, although we never needed anything.

We'll definitely return and recommend this condo to families or couples.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stress just melts away

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

What a great property: location, location, location. Short drive from airport with underground reserved parking space for rental car. Eleavator up to condo and you're home. Wonderful gift basket from owners filled with assortment of goodies. Property was clean and well-maintained. Wonderful balconies with partial ocean view and fans everywhere. Awesome shower in bathroom and what a great bed for sleeping! Short walking distance for shopping, restaurants, entertainment, ocean views and don't forget cocktails. You can always just relax at the wonderful pool and use the BBQ's to fix some wonderful Island fish. Yes, I recommend this property and the price was great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reality melts away

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

What a great rental. Short trip from airport. Parking space available for rental car and then a quick trip up the elevator to paradise. Property located within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, and watching the ocean waves come ashore. A beautiful gift basket from owner was a great surprise, filled with fruit, macadamia bread, and coffee. Wonderful balcony for outdoor relaxing and a fabulous shower in Bedroom. Fans in all rooms are great. Pool at property was wonderful.

Would recommend this property to all.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review