reviews for: listing #7456 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Villa Amelia w/Mt.Views from Private Pool & Spa!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,400 /wk
    $2,900 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

A Perfect Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: August 28, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

I was researching online for a resort/casita with private pool for my husband’s birthday when I came across the website for Villa Amelia. I was a bit skeptical at first because it all looked and sounded so wonderful. I was also concerned about the close proximity to other neighbors and whether we’d feel as though we were secluded. All those concerns vanished the moment we stepped onto your property. It was the most relaxing time we have had in quite a long while.
Our friends laughed at us when I told them when we were coming to Palm Springs (August can be hot) but we were blessed with milder weather and it was fabulous. The beautiful pool kept us nice and cool and we never once had any issues with the heat. That’s really all we did we just spent our time lounging, relaxing and enjoying.
My husband was thrilled with Villa Amelia and is already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.
Rose
San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

loved it!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

I CONCUR WITH ALL OF THE OTHER REVIEWS!! Wanted to book for same time next year but it's already taken..... Thanks Jon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Vacation!

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We simply loved the house and it's well maintained yard. The pool and spa were delightful and easy to use. The neighborhood is quiet and friendly with the convenience of a walkable supermarket! The owner is responsive and friendly, his instructions are clear and thorough. Smooth, smooth, smooth, just how vacation should be!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for what we needed.

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

We were attending a family wedding in PS. Our family consisted of myself,wife,2 daughters and one daughter's boyfriend. With a group like this we did not want to spend 5 nights in a hotel, weather it was one room or two. The house was everything the website showed, no surprises!!!! Great location and and very affordable compared to a hotel. Perfect for 5 to 6 people.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect get away

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

This was a beautiful, clean house:). Pool is amazing!
We had a wonderful family vacation. We would definitely rent again if we were in the Palm Springs Area.
Owner was great to work with(a nice change from some of VRBO listings that are actually unfriendly management companies.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sun Lovers

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We stayed AGAIN at Villa Amelia..our little haven away from home! We opted not to rent a car and took little walks to the Albertsons as needed..otherwise we were completely set. The home is perfect for hanging out and yet just fancy enough to have a dinner party as we did for some friends from Palm Desert.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice house, totally enjoyed it!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

House was great, pool was great, weather was great, what more could you want. The place is teriffic, no complaints. The owner Jon was very helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tastefully decorated Villa...

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Jon, We just wanted to let you know what a great time we had at your home. Three nights were not long enough and we really want to come again. The pool was so relaxing with the waterfalls and tanning shelf. The rooms were all tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. I am so glad we chose your home! Thank You, Elisa Morris and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great getaway

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

We spent 4 days here, very clean house, great big pool - with 4 adults and 4 kids, it was just right. The grocery store is sooo close, so is McD :) and downtown with all the shopping. Thank you!! we had a great time. Love the tanning shelf in the pool, it was very convenient.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review, Katey!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Memories Created"

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Awesome... Everything one could imagine and more!!! A get away for our daughters birthday with some of her friends. The supplies and amenities was just like being home. Privacy all around the pool made is quaint and cozy. Albertsons (grocery) is right around the corner and downtown is approx. a mile or so away. The Tram attraction is a very short drive. A nice neighborhood and well kept grounds around the house. Our family can not "Thank" the owner enough for allowing this opportunity happen for us. Many memories created!!! We will be returning again....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for you kind review, Rhonda!
I hope you and your party were also able to enjoy the new 32" flat screen TV with DVD combo and AppleTV interactivity I installed recently. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely yours,
Jon Hyde (owner)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This house was such a great getaway!! I went for a girls weekend in June and it was great! The house was clean, filled with great amenities in the kitchen, and the Ipod speakers went to great use out by the pool. We spend most of our time outside in the gorgeous backyard, poolside on the sunbathing deck! The beds were super comfortable, and it accommodated six people very comfortably. This house was around the corner from our local grocery story, and only a cab ride away from downtown eating and shopping. I would highly recommend this house for a fun weekend getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Lisa! Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad you had a great weekend. My staff and I hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Cheers, Jon Hyde (owner)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Upgrades and family fun!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

When I arrived to meet my extended family from Southern California, Jon (the owner) had already installed an ew flat screen TV with Apple TV "on demand" capabilities into the living room. There was also a brand new range/oven installed and the pool and spa had been recently cleaned. New rafts were also in the master bedroom closet, as well as nice curtains on the master windows.

I have stayed here before but it seems to get better each time. It starts getting quite hot in the desert this time of year, but I find the Villa Amelia pool is optimal for lounging at this time of year because the air is warm and the pool does not need to be heated.

My young nieces thoroughly enjoyed the pool all weekend. The youngest slept comfortably in the Pack-n-Play. We also loved running around the corner to the grocery store for extra snacks and drinks and even pretty decent take-out pizza.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review, Brian!
I hope you come back and visit Villa Amelia again soon.
Sincerely,
Jon Hyde
Villa Amelia Palm Springs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Getaway

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

The property was well-situated, close to downtown and beautiful mountain views. We hiked in the snow on Mt San Jacinto, the tram was maybe 10 minutes from the three bedroom house. We also enjoyed the spa, and the weather was almost warm enough for the pool. Well-decorated and very clean and well-maintained. Our only surprise was that the third bedroom had only a curtain, no door. Thankfully, our daughter was very comfortable in this cozy room. Our interactions with the owner were outstanding; Jon, who lives near us, was so patient with my e mail questions :-) The kitchen was well-stocked with all the necessities to cook delicious meals, which we shared in this relaxing environment. I would definitely stay here again; we love Palm Springs!

Owners response: Thank you, Susan!
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Cheers, - Jon Hyde

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home-weather did not cooperate!

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

We stayed at Villa Amelia for 10 days and while there were some issues-they were dealt with quickly and or will be. The pool heater broke down and Jon had someone out within 3 days with a new one. The pool area is private and quiet. Lovely Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your generous review, Yvonne. The new pool heater is still operating perfectly, my apologies for the breakdown on the older. Other issues have been fixed and addressed.
Kind regards, Jon Hyde

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely property, conveniently located

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We came to Palm Springs to dry out from the Portland rain and reconnect with friends in the area. We used to frequent P.S. when we lived in Cali and it was nice to get back. Our idea of a perfect weekend included swimming, sunbathing, music, home cooked meals, neighborhood walks, long afternoon naps (drool!), and stargazing from the spa.

The house and decor were quite nice, as was the landscaping. We felt comfortable and at home right when we walked in. Linens were high quality, kitchen appliances modern, and the pool area very private. The owner was professional, responsive, and easy to deal with. We had a late arrival and early check out, and he accommodated this easily.

In the mornings we'd walk the few blocks to Albertsons, grab some coffee and shop for the day's meals. The microbrew selection at Albertson's was disappointing, but how do you really compete with Portland? We opted instead for tequila. :) Sadly, no shot glasses in the house but we managed to make it work. We prefer to sip our tequila anyways. At sunset, we'd walk the quiet neighborhood, enjoying the desert blooms, the breeze, and the mountainscapes.

While the kitchen is well supplied in terms of variety, it is not a "foodie" kitchen. We prefer homemade feasts to dining out most often. The cutting knives were dull and unsuitable for slicing fruits and vegetables, although we finally found one serrated knife that worked well enough. If we had one suggestion for improvement, it would be to add some higher quality cooking utensils and pans, as well as some storage containers with lids for leftovers. We still ate well (perhaps too well!), but this is a primary reason for the 4 stars instead of 5.

Another reason for the 4 stars is that there were a few other things that could've been better. The prior guests left a mound of trash in the garage that reeked, and which we had to drag curbside on trash day (eww!). The stereo didn't work, although luckily I had my laptop so we could crank out some tunes. Also, there was no shampoo, even though the property details say this is supplied (there was soap). It also said there'd be a wine, cheese and fruit plate awaiting on arrival (no), and that there is a telescope (not that we could find). On the plus side, there is a blowdryer with a diffuser (great for curly hair), and a club card for use at Albertson's.

There's a decent chance we'd stay here again. We arrived home tan, relaxed and smiling and the property is A+.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A fantastic rental!

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

This rental provides everything you could ask for in a Palm Springs get away! The home is meticulously maintained and expertly decorated, providing a welcoming atmosphere that you don't always find in rental homes, for a very affordable rate. The house is only a short drive from downtown Palm Springs, but you're going to find it hard to leave with your own personal oasis in the back yard. The owner was very friendly and easy to work with. I highly recommend this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Steven!
I appreciate your kind words! -Jon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

May Getaway

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

After a long, cold, wet Seattle winter & spring, staying at Villa Amelia for a weekend in May this year was truly delightful!

The backyard pool is a masterpiece: nicely tiled, lots of room to float around, with a jacuzzi tub that runs into the main pool via waterfall. There's also a shallow sunning area to stay warm+cool at the same time. Loved floating around the pool, taking a break from some much needed vitamin D therapy (ie. sitting in the sun).

The rooms were big and well-appointed; we slept soundly in the sleigh bed. We had a big group with several pregnant ladies, and plenty of room to move around the house. Bathrooms were spotless, and we never ran out of hot water or towels (washer+dryer on site). Its in a cute, quiet neighbourhood, walking distance from Albertson's grocery store which had everything we needed.

All in all a great place to stay for a relaxing weekend in Palm Springs. We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Daren!
Thank you for the great review. I really appreciate that! And look forward to your return.
Cheers, Jon (CJ)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Amelia

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday in California and after 5 wonderful, but chilly days in San Francisco we travelled down the coast and on to Palm Springs for two weeks in Villa Amelia. We arrived a little earlier than the check-in time, but we rang Durrell at the Management Company and he came to meet us within a few minutes to show us round the beautiful villa. We were all very impressed with the decor and amenities. It was quite hot when we arrived, being around 3pm on a July afternoon, but once the air conditioning had been running for a little while, the villa was lovely and cool. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and didn't want to go home! It has such a relaxing atmosphere, we spent much of the time soaking up the sun and cooling off in the wonderful pool. The scenery in Palm Springs is beautiful and we found quite enough to do to keep us all happy. The trip up to San Jacinto Mountain was definitely worth doing - in fact a couple of trips would have been good as it's like another world up there! Joshua Tree State Park, The Indian Canyons and the Village Fest were all excellent too. Our 16 year old daughter enjoyed the shopping at nearby Rancho Mirage and eating out was very good too ( we especially enjoyed The Cheesecake Factory and The Yard House). All in all a brilliant place to stay and well worth making the effort. We were a little worried that it might have been too hot - and of course it was hot, up in the 110's plus most days, but as it's such a lovely dry heat we found we all coped very well, just be sure to drink a lot throughout the day! We had a little trouble with the garage opener when we were there, but a quick phone call to Jon helped us sort this out. We would certainly recommend this lovely villa to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Villa Amelia stay

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Loved the house and especially the backyard with pool.

Very relaxing even though it was hot, as expected.

Close to downtown and casinos, golf, etc.

We all enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2007   Date of arrival: August 24, 2007

My husband brought me here to celebrate our 6th Anniversary. It was a surprise, and the moment we stepped in - we were thrilled. As all previous guests have said, the Pool was the best part. It really was! This was the perfect get-a-way from our busy lifestyles. This was also my first time to Palm Springs. – We visited the tram which really is a “must see!” And don’t miss downtown and stopping for some Ben&Jerry’s ice-cream.Thanks for making our anniversary so relaxing and wonderful! Next time, we plan to come here with family & friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2007   Date of arrival: August 15, 2007

We were visiting from Orange County, not too far away. We were searching through the net when we found this place, Villa Amelia. The weather here is very hot, about 110 degrees every day which made the pool a desired place to be in. We got to hike some trails when we went up the tramway to the top of the mountain. Beautiful! - It was also about 30 degrees cooler up there than on the desert floor. Thursday evening, we went to the VillageFest. It was fun to walk Palm Canyon Drive (closed to traffic), view the city at night, and see all the interesting craft goodies.

Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing. It was more than any hotel could offer for our big family.

Thank you very much,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2007   Date of arrival: August 14, 2007

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at your Villa Amelia! It was so nice to be able to cool down in the pool and relax in the spa in the private backyard. Love the décor,Kieu

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 14, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at your Villa Amelia! It was so nice to be able to cool down in the pool and relax in the spa in the private backyard.

Love the décor,

Kieu

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

This charming vacation home, Villa Amelia in Palm Springs has provided a fabulous setting for numerous repeat visits now! I have enjoyed friends and family for quick weekend getaways and holiday celebrations. The fireplace is especially enjoyable while sipping wine, lounging on the leather couch, after a refreshing dip in the pool and hot spa. I especially enjoy sitting in the hot spa with the view of the snow capped mountains in the near dastance. Oh, and the new bed linens and towels rival those at any 5 star resort! You can count on more repeat visits from me!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 15, 2007   Date of arrival: May 15, 2007

This is a great place to stay – we loved the pool and Jacuzzi with the mountain views. The house was wonderfully decorated. We really appreciated the duvet in the master bedroom, very fluffy! - Many thanks for the wine & cheese on our arrival; it was a very nice touch.All in all, it was great to be here and it was a real break from a big city like London (where we live). We’ll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2007   Date of arrival: April 5, 2007

What a perfect desert oasis! Your home and all its fabulous amenities made for a terrific Spring break from dreary Chicago.

We enjoyed the tram, Joshua Tree, Village Fest and especially the restaurant, Azul. The sun, Cacti, pool and spa, seclusion and daily visits by a hummingbird all contributed to a wonderful vacation. Exactly as advertised on the internet.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2007   Date of arrival: February 28, 2007

We were quite late in booking for a winter break and were excited to find your home available on the net. It takes a bit of courage and trust to send off our rent to a stranger. We are very pleased with your home and appreciate the supplies that are here.We’ve hiked up the museum trail and the Indian Canyons, seen our first every oasis and enjoyed it all. The big hit each afternoon is the pool and hot tub. A blizzard is in effect at home so this is a great respite.Thank you very much?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2007   Date of arrival: February 28, 2007

We left Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada in -24 degree weather. Landing here the temperature was 70 degrees, quite a welcome change? We have really enjoyed exploring Palm Springs, culturally as well as historically.

The pool and spa were our relaxing moments and when the temperature here dipped to 60 degrees the hot tub was fantastic. I enjoy being out doors and really liked jogging and walking in a safe neighborhood.

We found it to be a surprise that the sun went behind the mountains so early in the afternoon (we are from the prairies where we are used to seeing the horizon). As I jogged through the neighborhood I found the different plants used in landscaping to be so interesting to me. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2006   Date of arrival: August 30, 2006

I was researching online for a resort/casita with private pool for my husband’s birthday when I came across the website for Villa Amelia. I was a bit skeptical at first because it all looked and sounded so wonderful. I was also concerned about the close proximity to other neighbors and whether we’d feel as though we were secluded. All those concerns vanished the moment we stepped onto your property. It was the most relaxing time we have had in quite a long while. Our friends laughed at us when I told them when we were coming to Palm Springs (August can be hot) but we were blessed with milder weather and it was fabulous. The beautiful pool kept us nice and cool and we never once had any issues with the heat. That’s really all we did we just spent our time lounging, relaxing and enjoying. My husband was thrilled with Villa Amelia and is already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 9, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

Wonderful rental with a great pool and Jacuzzi. Had a great time. The property is close to everything and John was fantastic answering all my questions. Will rent again when needed. Had a great relaxing time A+++++
G

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review