reviews for: listing #74565 - Durango, Colorado Townhome rental

Durango Sunhouse Make Memories Here!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Parkside Terrace
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $169 - $259 /nt
    $1,175 - $1,695 /wk
    $2,750 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

What a great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

I had such a nice time in Durango. Greg and Amy's home was just perfect. It was sunny and very clean with all the amenities one could possibly want. It's an end unit so it was very cozy and warm with bright sunshine streaming in from all directions. It even has a yard which most units don't have. I walked into town in under 10 minutes and didn't even need my car until we took a trip to Great Sand Dunes National Park. I even walked to the grocery store and Farmer's Market! The king bed was really comfortable and there is a washer and dryer there as well. The couch was very comfortable to sit and relax, whether reading or watching television. What else is there to say - a great place to stay and a great town to visit (with many really good restaurants to choose from)! I'll be back and will recommend their place to every one!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Second Stay

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

This was our second stay and we enjoyed it as much as the first. Great looking exterior. And the interior had been upgraded, we even had a BBQ grill we didn't have the first time. The condo is very pleasing to the eye and all our needs were provided for. It's Close to everything in Durango. We Took several day trips to Telluride, Silverton and the surrounding mountains. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic place and fantastic little town

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

I had a great stay in this property and really loved the town of Durango which is within walking distance. The place has all the conveniences you would expect from a modern property and was very well kept. I did some road and mountain biking while there, there are some great rides.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rental in durango

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

The location was great,being able to walk to the park and the river with two children was great....It just wasn't as clean as I would have liked.....There was lipstick on the glasses in the cabinet.....And the dispensers were empty...I would have cleaned the glass dining table top for guests if there had been some glass cleaner.....that bottle was empty also....

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Barbara,
Thanks for your input. We have always gotten great reviews in cleanliness, so I will address your issues with my cleaning staff right away!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Good Vacation

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We were a family of seven, spanning three generations, and the townhome felt spacious. The dining and family room were the center of activities.

The townhome location is close to the center of Durango.

The townhome was clean and every appliance worked properly.

The check out time of 10:00 AM was inconvenient. The time needed to shower, make breakfast, pack personal items, and leave the unit in good condition required an early wake up time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You'll Love This Place!

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

A beautiful home in a terrific town -- what's not to love?! We had 4 adults and one 2yr-old, and we had plenty of space! The garage held both cars, and the neighborhood was quiet and friendly! The house itself is gorgeous, and you'll want for nothing while you're there! If you're thinking about paying for 2 hotel rooms in Durango--DON'T. Stay here instead...you won't regret it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

You'll Love This Place!

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

A beautiful home in a terrific town -- what's not to love! We had 4 adults and one 2yr-old, and we had plenty of space! The garage held both cars, and the neighborhood was quiet and friendly! The house itself is gorgeous, and you'll want for nothing while you're there! If you're thinking about paying for 2 hotel rooms in Durango--DON'T. Stay here instead...you won't regret it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent condo not far from the historic district

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We were here on a family vacation (6 adults and a 16 month old) and found this to be the perfect place to spend 5 nights while in Durango. The house is exactly as the pictures indicate and is only about 8 blocks from the historic district with almost anything else you need for your stay (drug store, supermarket, liquor store, etc.) not much further. It's located in what appears to be a newer development in a part of town that appeared to be inhabited by college students (since Fort Lewis College isn't far away).

The bedrooms were more than large enough for all of us and the "living" space is a little small for 7 people but none of us ever felt cramped or complained. We also had everything we needed for cooking. My 16 month old daughter really liked the curtains in the living area because it made her feel like she was entering her stage just like Johnny Carson used to do back in the day :)

We had no real issues and would gladly recommend this townhouse to anyone looking for a place in Durango.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WYSWIG, What you see is what you get

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This condo was exactly as advertised: clean, spacious, conveniently located near Durango's downtown amenities and filled with beautiful photos taken by the photographer owner.

The condo had everything we needed to make a nice home away from home with our two small children. It provided a great base camp from which to base our explorations of the area.

The owner was very responsive and easily contacted and helped facilitate our visit. The unit came with a guidebook composed by the owners with recommendations on activities, dining,etc. which was very helpful.

The only downside at all was that in the height of summer, the condo did get a little warm on the second floor as the temperature sensor was on the first floor, but we weren't around during the day and during the evening, the ceiling fans helped cool it down to a comfortable temperature.

In short, I would recommend the condo to anyone and would love to stay there again, next time we are in Durango.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review and comments. I'm thinking of moving the sensor, but it might have the opposite effect in the winter!
Greg Parker

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Getaway

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

My family and I stayed in the Townhouse over Christmas weekend and we were very pleased with the place. It wasn't quite as close to town as we had hoped, but definitely within walking distance if you don't mind a little hike. My mom and I walked the trail along the river, which was great! The house itself is in very good condition, great pictures on the wall. There were a few kitchen utensils we were missing, but that may have just been because we were cooking a complete Christmas meal. There were A LOT of rules to follow and consequences ($$$) if they were broken, so we were a little nervous having my 2 year old niece in the house. Luckily we didn't have any problems! It would have been more convenient to have more than one key, seeing as we had 6 people staying in the house, and we did have to call for extra pillows and toilet paper. Overall we were very happy with our stay and for the price over Christmas weekend it was very reasonable. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review Meghan! As to your suggestion about having another key - sounds good, and I'll take it up with my property manager. There are a few more responsibilities for our guests, especially when compared to a hotel room. It is one of our homes after all. So far (three years) we haven't had to charge anyone for anything, because all our guests, like you, have been awesome! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ski Vacation

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Our family stayed here over the christmas 2010 break to go skiing and we realy enjoyed the townhouse. Clean and warm and close to town was just what we were looking for. An easy short trip to Durnago Mountain Skiing even when it was snowing. Would recomend this rental to anyone who is looking to get away from the bustle of the big city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Townhouse in a Great Town!

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: September 19, 2008

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Durango, and this was a perfect place to stay. The owner obviously takes a lot of pride in this townhouse and it shows -- the furnishings were modern and stylish,
clean and well-maintained. There wasn't a single item that we needed that wasn't available, and there were even ones we wouldn't have thought of! Our bed was quite comfortable and there was plenty of closet space, etc. There's a great balcony with a view of the mountains, perfect for reading the morning paper or relaxing at the end of a day full of activities. And all the activities are within easy walking or driving distance--the house is right at the edge of town, and a great trail starts about 3 blocks away, and downtown Durango (full of restaurants, shops, cafes) is maybe a 10 minute walk. A beautiful paved bike path runs for several miles right through town and is easily accessible (down the hill) from the development. There are tons of other hiking trails, mountain biking, rafting/kayaking, skiing, Mesa Verde National Park, the historic train to Silverton (it's also a beautiful drive), etc. I'd never been to this area before but many friends and family members had praised it, and I"d have to say it was one of the most beautiful and pleasure-providing places I've ever been. Even Utah or New Mexico are relatively close! I would highly recommend Durango as a destination, and can't imagine any housing option that would be better than this townhouse.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Absolutely worth it!

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

We loved the townhouse. It's well-appointed with great amenities. The kitchen was complete from A-Z; linens and towels were plentiful with the convenient washer and dryer in the garage. Our bed was really comfortable, too. It's a mere 5-minute walk to 'downtown' Durango. And Durango is a great town - wonderful restaurants and fun shops, with an outstanding community center. There's lots to do - right in town - whether you want to hike in the mountains, walk by the river, bike ride or go river rafting. And easy day trips - Ouray, Mesa Verde National Park, etc. The owners were friendly and helpful - aiding us in places to go, eat, and enjoy. And the weather was perfect. We'd recommend this lovely townhouse to everyone with kids or without!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Family Accomodations

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 2, 2009

We have two kids and a small dog. This condo was perfect for a snowboarding vacation. It was nice to have a quiet place to relax at the end of the day. The drive to the mountain was just 25 minutes.The pictures are very accurate. The backyard is fenced and our girls had a good time playing in the untouched snow. We really liked that the kitchen had everything we needed. We also discovered some great restaurants and shops downtown. The property manager and owner gave us some great information about activities. Our kids actually had a blast at the Durango Community Center. They have a climbing wall, waterslide, whirlpool, and ping-pong. It was just 3 or 4 dollars for a day pass. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Delightful Spring Break

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: March 16, 2008

Our church recently went to Durango on a ski-trip and we were looking for a place to stay. We had never been to Durgango, but we were encouraged to stay as close to downtown as possible. We found this place and were absolutely thrilled with:
1. It's cleaner than your average hotel room
2. It's roomy
3. The furniture is VERY nice, including the squishy mattress in the master bedroom
4. All kitchen supplies were readily available
5. It's a 60 second drive to downtown, and most importantly 30 second drive to the Starbuck's.
6. 30 minutes to the slope

When we return to Durango, it will be an easy decision to pick where we stay.

Thanks!

Tom and Melinda

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Great Place to Go and Stay!

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 21, 2008

We had a great time in Durango. We thoroughly enjoyed Mesa Verda National Park and the Narrow Gauge Railroad. It was a great place to journey out for the day and come back to a comfortable home away from home. Durango also offers many great dining experiences and shopping.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow, Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: December 29, 2007

This townhouse was on the edge of everything. The view was incredible, the garage was so necessary. We are from Florida, with 3 girls. Durango was amazing- The Train, Dog Sled Ride (My Fav), Durango Mtn. Resort (Ski, Snowboard), Lessons were great for us and the kids, and allowed for babysitting too. We did old fashioned Sleighride with horses, and the Trimble hot springs were awesome.
The town is a lot of fun too, plenty of Antique shopping, and fine dining.
I would strongly recommend this as a vacation spot, and this townhouse was a great place to enjoy it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review