reviews for: listing #74724 - Luray, Virginia Cabin rental

Secluded Cabin With Mountain View! Ask About Specials!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Shenandoah Ridge
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $205 - $205 /nt
    $1,230 - $1,230 /wk

sort by:

A Comfortable Scenic Oasis

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

We fell in love with the Falling Leaf cabin. It is a comfortable, scenic oasis. The cabin is quaint and the furnishings well appointed. It felt like home. It was an ideal setting to celebrate our recent engagement. I am sure we will be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Cabin Getaway

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

My husband and I were delighted to stay here just before Christmas. The cabin was very picturesque with all of the snow on the ground. It was perfect for a weekend of relaxation and beautiful scenery. We loved being able to hear the sounds of the river when sitting out on the porch and in the hot tub.

The description in the listing and the photos were very accurate, the property was clean and well-maintained. We have recommended this cabin to some friends, and Luray Caverns, Skyline Drive, and hiking are nearby activities that we would recommend.

We will be back to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing time

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Falling Leaf for three nights of total mountain relaxation. Beautiful, cozy, and inviting. Loved the fireplace, pot bellied gas stove downstairs, hot tub overlooking the river......and on and on. Had an awesome time and we WILL be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

The cabin was as described. Very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Cute and pretty cabin with lots of privacy

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Falling Leaf Cabin for two nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The cabin itself is in prefect condition and very comfortable to stay in. The kitchen has all amenities needed to prepare your own meals: pots, pans, quality stove, fridge, coffee maker, you name it. Coffee and some tea provided, but we brought extra, as well as all our cooking ingredients.

We enjoyed the deck with the rocking chair and rocking bench and the outdoor hot tub was a fun extra. There is a bedroom downstairs and one upstairs in a loft. We brought a travel bed for our little daughter who came along and rented linens from Andrea.

The location was excellent: a short drive to Shenandoah National Park and the Skyline.

All in all a great stay and we would love to return some day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Picturesque cabin in a pretty setting but a bit over rated

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

The cabin is in a great location, pretty setting and is quite nice - quiet and relaxing. That said certain elements of the cabin were disappointing. The cabin is adorned with signs of “do’s” and “don’ts” that are a bit extreme – sweep/vacuum the cabin before checkout, empty ashes from fire pit etc. Every other place I’ve stayed isn’t worried about such things. If you need sheets/towels there is a $30 up charge and you still have to make the beds upon arrival. The owner makes it clear that the 2 kitchen trash bags are complimentary along with the toilet paper and small hotel bar of soap. I’d expect these things for the room rate and don’t need to be reminded by the owner that she provided them. The upstairs bed isn’t very comfortable and you will hear the mattress squeak when someone rolls over in it – even if you are downstairs! The hot water pressure in the bathroom is also quite low though the water is hot. The river access – according to my odometer is .75 miles away not .25 miles– and don’t expect a pretty beach or a way to wade in the water from the access point. It is more of a canoe launching pad. Outdoor grill uses briquettes and you are expected to empty it after using.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mountain Whisper Cabins prides itself in providing a beautiful, comfortable and clean cabin. The cabin is not adorned with signs. There is a friendly Welcome Letter with the Check Out List. We ask customers to sweep or vacuum, wipe down kitchen counters, and put your dishes away. The upstairs bed is brand new and no previous customers have complained about it being uncomfortable. Crisp White Linens are provided upon request for a fee. However, customers are welcome to bring their own Linens. It clearly states on our website the River Access is 3/4 mile, not 1/4 mile. There are no beaches on a river, and we advertise it as River Access, not river beach. It is a great spot to walk your dog to, fish and enjoy the river. As stated by the Customer... "The cabin is in a great location, pretty setting and is quite nice - quiet and relaxing."

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

So perfect!

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

We loved the cabin. It was so cute and clean. We loved the hot tub and saw a meteor shower on our first night in it. The sound of the river is so relaxing. We ran down to the river, but walked up the big hill for a nice bit of exercise. Luray was close enouogh to go out and have a nice dinner. We traveled on Skyline Drive and came home to make a nice fire and relax. I love the downstairs bedroom with the gas fireplace. I wish I had another couple to stay with us. I reccommend a walkway from the hot tub deck to the back porch. It got a bit muddy. We di enjoy the deck off the kitchen to sit in the morning. We will return!!!!! Kathy & Bart

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wonderful to hear you loved the cabin! Funny you mentioned the walkway... There is a stone walkway being done this week. I look forward to having you back in the future. Andrea

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a much mini-vacation in your lovely cabin! Everything was perfect and just as described! The cabin was secluded yet very close to Luray. We enjoyed everything about our getaway and would visit again tomorrow if we could!!! Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with us :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Escape In A Beautiful Quaint Cabin In The Woods

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

My husband, children and I spent a few days in Falling Leaf Cabin and we had a fantastic time. The cabin was immaculate and much, much more than we expected. We were hike a short distance to the river and fish with our little boys. Each day our boys caught (and released) at least 5-6 fish. We also experienced great bird watching! Falling Leaf Cabin was a great place for us to escape to nature and enjoy the quiet and serenity of the forest. We can not wait to go back and "Dream and Believe!" Thanks so much Andrea for providing us a cabin in the woods to escape to!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Not as advertised, and a profiling land lord!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

This cabin visit started as a great location with another married couple who are friends of ours. Upon arrival, we found the cabin to be "not as advertised on the webpage" but nice none the less. Upon further investigation, the "1/4 mile walk to river access" advertised on the webpage was actually a 15 mile drive upon calling the owner. We got over that and found other activities to do, including hiking in the surrounding areas along with relaxing on the front deck of the cabin. I should say that during our booking process, that the owner "Andrea" repeatedly told myself that she would be "Checking in on us." I saw no trace of her, nor received any communication from her, but upon checkout was charged unseen charges. She said that based on our alcohol consumption that we had more than 4 people at the cabin, which is a complete, and outright lie! If she were so concerned then why not stop by to verify the 4 people there. We were quiet, polite, and respectful of the local residents but yet received additional charges for "taking out more trash than 4 people produce." I wish I would have seen that in the rental contract as I would have never taken the cabin to such an anal person. Upon arrival there were approximately 200 flies to which we never complained, but instead took care of due to fear of her "thinking that we allowed them in." During out stay we experienced a broom breakage and was told upon checkout that that would be an additional $20 for the broom because she only purchased "high quality brooms." Apparently high quality means breaking the first day upon arrival. I do not mean to sound unappeased as the hot tub was nice and the amenities were good, but the owner of this cabin profiles if you sound young and not have a deep raspy voice. I feel that the additional fees were included from the beginning of our stay. Next time, I will stay somewhere that has accurate photos of the location, the amenities, and local area. Hopefully, next time, four 25 year old professional individuals will not be profiled by their trash. Apparently, trash means a cleaning fee, so be obedient of it and take it with you! Also, do not expect to be near the river, the location of the picture is private property and guests are not allowed there! Hopefully this review can keep someone from experiencing the bad times that we did! ALSO, DO NOT EXPECT 2 BEDROOMS! One of these is a loft and non private!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

A piece of heaven

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

My stay at Falling Leaf was exactly what i expected from all the information that was provided on the website and the pictures were great but the cabin was so much more than depicted! If you ever need to get away from it all and just find yourself this is the place to go.I hope to go back again this summer and next Christmas.
Thank you Andrea

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A special place

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

The cabin was wonderful! We had such a fabulous, quiet, weekend relaxing by the fire and lounging on the porch. We will def be returning! it is a perfect place for a special weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

This cabin was welcoming on my arrival. I have stayed in many cabins in the area and Falling Leaf has a great atmosphere and is very clean. My favorite part of the cabin was relaxing in the hot tub nestled in the woods. I could have spent all day enjoying the scenery. I will definitely be returning next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

our stay in

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

The cabin was seclusive but easy to find with help of the GPS system.

The rooms and beds are comfortable, the kitchen functioned well and we found all the firewood we needed to heat the cabin. It was fun to do our own cooking; but in the USA we missed sorely the butcher and the bakery. There seem to be only supermarkets. This is not a comment on the cabin!

On warm days, the attic was too warm to sleep up there, but we just moved to the lower cool floor. This is the luxe of having a 2-couple cabin for just the two of us.

We had a great time. Luray caverns and the skyline drive are the main attractions in the region. We have been hiking in the hills from the skyline drive and this cabin is well placed as home base. Upon arrival, all trees were still barren, and we watched the leaves budding during our stay. Nice.

The cleaning of the cabin can be improved a bit. We are talking about little things like the corners of the kitchen table (sticky at the underside) and the hot tub filter (not emptied after last tenant's stay). It is not easy to find the switches for all light appliances. We could not get the main ventilator working. The fridge is noisy at night, when everything else is quiet. So we switched off the fridge when we went to bed. Consequentially no ice cubes. The locks on the doors and windows seem to be flimsy. The house would be easy to burgle. But of course, there is no crime in the mountains.

Overall it was neat, adequate and we feel that we got a good deal. We recommend the place to our European friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Falling Leaf Cabin is privately owned and family operated and we take great pride in providing you a very clean cabin with all the comforts of home. The hot tub is cleaned and shocked after each customers stay. We have never had a complaint regarding the refrigerator, but will be sure to have it checked. The cabin front door has a dead bolt and all windows have standard locks. The winter months the loft will warm with the fireplace going, easily remedied by opening the window allowing the cool winter air into the cabin. The Falling Leaf is a beautiful and exceptionally clean cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Birthday Get Away

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

I rented The Falling Leaf Cabin for my boyfriends birthday. It was a surprise for him. It was the most amazing weekends that we have had. We loved everything about it. The wonderful fires through out the day and evening, making a fire in the fire bit, and sitting in the chairs and just relaxing. The hot tub was wonderful and so relaxing. We dont have anything bad to say about it. We loved every thing. We will definitely be using them again and even staying at the same cabin..we didnt want to leave...very secluded and wonderfully peaceful.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming mountain cabin on the river

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our 2011 new year's transition at this lovely little spot tucked neatly in the saddle between Massanutten Mountain and the Shenandandoah River. We journeyed to Shenandoah State Park during the days, built fires every afternoon, we uncorked champagne, we read Kay West poems, we made butternut carrot ginger soup, and we watched our favorite classic movies to nestle in on the cold winter nights. It was a joy to celebrate the new year in this special wood home, and I would recommend it to writers seeking a quiet place collect thoughts or old lovers rekindling after years of raising kids and seeing them off to college. Whatever the story, I think you'll like Falling Leaf cabin and the river that runs far under its roots.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great quiet retreat!

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

we went for a long weekend over Christmas with our puppy. We had a great time! Relaxing in the hot tub, grilling outside, sitting by the firepit and reading by the fire! The hiking books in the cabin were great and we took a few- even in the snow! Definitely recommend this place. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sept. 2010 Virginia vacation - Falling Leaf Cabin

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

This was probably the most relaxing vacation. The cabin was wonderful, especially the covered back porch. We spent most od our time there, reading, bird watching and just enjoying the serenity. The cabin was just right for the two of us and our small Schnoodle.
The kitchen had everything needed, and was clean, as were the bathrooms. It was great having a washer and dryer in the cabin, though the water pressure for the washer was very low. The upstairs loft was so nice for sleeping, and having 2 skylights to open was wonderful. The matress on the bed in the loft could be replaced, as it was not very comfortable. The only thing missing was having something to hang clothes on, or put in. The 4 wooden pegs just were not enough. A screen door on the front door would also be nice. We were closer to the Thorton Gap entrance for Shenandoah National Park than we thought. The drive to Lauray is nice, and we loved exploring the town and it's restaurants. We also found a couple of nice wineries. We hope to return during the winter time to take full advantage of the beautiful fireplace and coziness of the cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We at Mountain Whisper Cabins are always looking to improve our guests' experience. We have since fixed the washer/dryer. We have also added new dressers and a new front deck. A mattress is very subjective, and they are all new within the last two years. There is a screened door leading to the back porch. We take great pride in presenting our guests with a clean and comfortable vacation cabin.

Andrea (Owner)
Mountain Whisper Cabins

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay at the Falling Leaf Cabin

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Coming from Wisconsin, my husband, sister and myself stayed at the Falling Leaf Cabin in late June of 2009. It is a beautiful cabin that well exceeded our expectations. The owner, Andrea was very helpful and informative of all questions we had about the area and our travel for the first time to Virginia. Now in 6 days we will be returning to the cabin for our 2nd trip, and are very excited to be there again. I highly recommend stay at this cabin, it will be a vacation you'll never forget, and will want to return to for years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review