reviews for: listing #74864 - Blue Ridge, Georgia House rental

Riverview Retreat a Million Dollar Property
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $400 /nt
    $2,500 - $2,500 /wk
    $9,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Riverview Retreat for a week and it is one of the nicest VRBO homes I have ever rented. Bruce (owner) was great and incredibly helpful during our stay. We had 12 adults and had plenty of room! The pool area was fabulous - we spent most of our time there. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow what memories

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We rented this home to be close enough to attractions but far enough away to feel we had privacy. It gave us all, plus we had Four adults and Four children and everyone had enough room to spread out when they wanted to. We had access to the two car garage to store the golf cart and two motorcycles we had with us. Dragons tail just 96 miles away. White water rafting, Super Truxx extreme mountain climbing, horse back riding, canopy tours, zip lining, canoeing, helicopter tours all within 5 - 25 minutes. We loved the professional kitchen my son is getting ready to go to culinary college and he had a hay day making us wonderful creations on the 6 burner, double oven, with griddle. I would recommend this home to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation place!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

This place was perfect for our family of 13, plenty room for everyone. Great mountain view along with the river, also used the pool a lot. We also really took advantage of the huge deck. Blue Ridge is not far away, along with grocery stores. "Ingles" The owner could not have been more helpful, always asking if we need anything. So glad we found this property, made our vacation great! Thanks Bruce...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We had a large group with multiple families and this was a perfect setting. There was plenty of room for all. Everything we needed was furnished. It is a nice home that is convenient to the grocery and cute towns. We definitely hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A serene retreat

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Riverview Retreat proved a perfect venue for our ladies' weekend retreat from the city! There were 11 of us in all, and we found there to be plenty of space for eating, sleeping, and enjoying ourselves. The view from the house is magnificent, and it's close to local attractions. We enjoyed spending time by the river and hope to return in the summer when we can enjoy the pool and outdoor area more fully.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Great 8

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Excellent in every way.
Awesome area.
Beautifully and efficiently built property with every needed amenity.
We will return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great space and layout

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

This was a great place for our extended family. We comfortably fit 8 adults and 5 kids. The only heads up is that it appears from the pictures that the pool and pool house are adjacent to the house when, in fact, they are down a steep driveway and across the gravel road.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great family vacation home

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Our family group of 13, ranging in age from 64 to 3 years old, spent a week at Riverview Retreat. The house was spectacular and the amenities were great. Our four grandchildren, ages 3 to 15, had a great time in the pool and roasting marshmallows at the nearby fireplace in the evening. The full size pool, foosball, and air hockey tables were enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. The large screened-in porch was a great space for reading and dining. The large kitchen with its high-end Viking gas six-burner stove and double ovens made meal preparation easy. The owner was very friendly and helpful, inviting us to contact him at any time, day or night, if we had questions. Even with 13 people, we never felt crowded. The property was very clean and well-maintained. The Ingles supermarket twelve minutes away was great and had everything you might possibly need. The nearby town of Blue Ridge is delightful, with a wide variety of shops and restaurants. We would highly recommend this property to any family looking for a great place to spend a week.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

extended family of 12

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

the property was amazing! there was plenty of room for our extended family of 12. the set up was perfect and the house was very clean. the house was on a hill so the view was gorgeous and the pool was a definite hit for us. my husband fished every day in the river that the property sits on. the kitchen was gorgeous with all high end appliances. there was plenty of towels and a very nice laundry area. the owner was very accomodating and helpful. he called to make sure we had everything we needed and made sure we knew he was available 24 hours a day if we should have any questions or issues. i cannot say enough good things about our rental experience and would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The views are stunning from this house. We were very pleased with the stay we had here. Your really out in the middle of nowhere but within a reasonable distance from all the attractions. The road leading back to the house was a bit questionable especially when it rained heavy. Would suggest a 4x4 or AWD type vehicle to be on the safe side in our opinion. Our family would stay here again if given the chance in the future. I think we have found are retirement area of the north Georgia mountains.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My family spend the week at this awesome home with state-of-the-art kitchen, huge screened porch, awesome master bedroom and bath with steam bath. The home is well-built, roomy and well-kept. The pool area has it's own kitchen with huge fireplace that we enjoyed along with the grill having a night of burgers, swimming and roasting marshmallows. The wireless network was flawless and all of us with our ipads and computers were able to stay connected with others sharing pictures of this place. While it was sometimes a warm day and humid, the air conditioner kept the home nice and cool on all levels. Ceiling fans in all of the rooms added to the comfort. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and playroom with the games, billiards and TV. Lots of room to sit down and eat. Everything anyone needs for resting and relaxing is in this home and then some. Loved watching the kayakers and tubers come down the river and we even tried our hand at some fishing. The nearby towns are quaint, and the people are warm and welcoming. We found ourselves going to Mercier's Orchards several times, and loved the nearby Chinese restaurant. So much to do, so little time. It was fun having a large picture puzzle on the table on the porch so we could come and go sitting down to work it and visit. We celebrated Father's Day with a picture show on the large HD TV in the main living room, looping the pictures throughout the day. We had loads of laughter and the very best vacation ever! This is the place to bring your family and friends for the most enjoyable amenities and peace and quiet. Thank you owners for a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Getaway!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

My extended family of 10 stayed here over the Christmas holiday. We had plenty of room to spread out and the teenage boys loved the basement playroom. The kitchen was great and made cooking our meals a pleasure. The home has everything you could possibly need. Highly recommend the property!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Holiday in the Hills

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

The house was very well equiped, clean and beautiful. We were all very comfortable in the home with plenty of space for the adults and young adults. The only issue we had was with the internet- it keep "kicking us off" which complicated being able to work from the home. We had to contact the owner about a concern and he was gracious and very quick to respond and follow up. Overall, the house was great and would love to return during the warmer weather to enjoy the outside living space and fun on the river. Thank you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home - Great location - Top notch owner - Private and comfortable

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This is the 2nd year in a row our family of 14 has enjoyed this beautiful and well cared for house. We have been to several cabin homes over the years, and this is our favorite by far. Hence why we knew last year that we would be coming back again to enjoy it this year.

The house has 3 levels and all of the amenities you could ask for. The house is up on hill, giving it wonderful views and much privacy. Sitting on the porch in the mornings was enjoyed by all. Our family loves to cook and used the state of the art kitchen and grill every day. Flat screen televisions in all areas for movie nights, etc.

The pool area was heavily used by our family. Large gazebo with refrigerator and double sink. Bring a blender, what else do you need? There is also a grill at the pool area and built in fireplace.

One of the top amenities to this location is the owner. He is an extremely friendly man and goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. He stops by every morning to clean the pool and remove the trash for you. Anything you need to know about the area, he is happy to help you out with.

Regarding a few mentions on other reviews:
- Yes, the driveway to get up to the house is steep. However, the owner installed deep concrete strips that makes the incline effortless. Our family had 3 mini-vans and had no problem getting up and down during our stay.
- Our family had no issues with the beds in the house.

SBBWOTS - we miss you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Happy Family

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We had 11 members of our family ranging in age from 12 to 72 stay at this AWESOME mountain retreat. The owner is very accommodating and helpful. He came each morning and cleaned the pool. We enjoyed the lovely views, awesome amenities, and relaxation we find in this great hideaway. We hope to return next year to make more memories. Thanks for a great vacation. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer vacation for Texans - thrilled with cool mountain air

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

My son, daughter in law, 2 granddaughters, Maggie the dog, and I were able to spread out and enjoy this big, beautiful home the first week of June, 2012 - right after school was out in hot, humid South Texas. Our drive was pretty much torture - it is a very long way from San Antonio, TX to Mineral Bluff, GA - but we made it fun and Riverview Retreat was well worth the time! All had a grand and relaxing time, can highly recommend this wonderful home for family gatherings. All pictures are right on the money, and house is so comfortably furnished, very well maintained and lovingly cared for by the local owner. Our weather was outstanding - cool, clear mountain air is my new favorite. Granddaughters loved the Queen's Room; loved playing pool, foosball, and very much enjoyed the "freezing" pool and "hottest" hot tub. We cooked steaks on the deck and also down by the pool, built a fire in the outdoor fireplace, told "ghost" stories and caught fireflies. Toccoa River was clear and fast flowing, right down the hill - yes, good thing we had trucks to negotiate the driveway up to the house - glad my elderly parents were unable to make this trip - they may have had bit of struggle up and down the driveway to the pool and river areas, but we younger folks enjoyed the exercise - loved our hikes! There is also an awesome Italian restaurant on the main road in Mineral Bluff when you tire of cooking for yourself in the extremely well appointed kitchen. Would definitely make a return trip to Riverview Retreat and cannot say enough about agent and owner in processing and hospitality for our GA mountain vacation experience. Great memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ROAD TRIP

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This house really is a great place to stay. The location is great! The owners have thought of everything, you can tell that they have taken the time to make this home very warm and welcoming. We did have a couple of minor issues, one of the bedrooms mattress was worn out. I told the owner about this and he said he would be buying a new mattress. There was an issue with the pool, we were able to swim in the pool the owner was very concerned about this and very apologetic. The owner was a joy to work with. He is so very kind and helpful. He came to the home to let us know that he was available 24 hrs a day for us!! We love this house, it is great for large families or groups. The house is very well taken care of and very clean. To us the pictures do not do the house justice! This house is very, very nice, clean, beautifully decorated, well stocked. The house is way up on a hill, we would recommend a truck getting to the house. Overall the house is wonderful and we are going back in the fall and next summer!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Gathering

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

The property was just as described online. We had family from several states meet us there for a long weekend. The waether was great and the owner was very nice. Our only complaint was the beds. Several beds were not firm at all or parties rolled to the center of the bed. The river access was nice but be careful of snakes along the river bank. I would not let childrn play un attened along the rocks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic holiday

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We had 14 family members including my husband and I for 5 days over Christmas 2011. The house was absolutely large enough for all of us to be comfortable. The decor and Christmas decorations added to the celebration. It was absolutely fantastic! The owner was out of town for the holidays but I needed to call him to ask a few questions he was always very helpful and always asked if we had all we need. Everyone loved it and would love to come in the summer months do we could enjpy the pool and also go tuning. It is well worth the money! Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home - Everything We Needed!

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Our extended family spent the weekend at this beautiful home to celebrate our Father's 80th Birthday as well as an early Christmas. There was plenty of space to spread out and make everyone feel comfortable. I especially was spoiled by the kitchen amenities and the wonderful kitchen table that was able to accommodate our family! Bruce made it clear that if we needed anything he was there for us, which was much appreciated. We may go back in a few years if it's still available for a Summer visit to enjoy the pool area and the river.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Get Together

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time over Thanksgiving in this beautiful home. Very spacious and comfortable, and the owner was kind and most accomodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

carol

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

The pictures were spot on! Everything was clean and we all enjoyed the home. There were 10 of us and we all had room to spread out. Beds were comfortable and the house had everything we needed and more. Thank you Bruce for the experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks from The Alabama Family

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

What a great vacation! We had 11 adults and one baby boy and there was PLENTY of room for everyone to spread out and have their own personal space. You won't be disappointed with this cabin and location. Mr. Weber was very accommodating in every way. He picked us up at the cabin and took us to the dam to so we could tube down the river back to the cabin. FYI.. about a (4) hour tubing trip when the water is at typical flow. We would definitely recommend this cabin and the next time we vacation in this area with the whole family we will stay here. Thanks to the Webers for sharing their beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Group

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Met kids, grandkids there. All had a great time. The cabin and river views are beautiful! Watch out for the driveway. It's an "E" ticket ride. Had no idea how steep or long the walk to the pool was. Tough for us old folks, but we made it. Location is great for shopping, rafting, tubing. Bruce was very helpful. Would definitely rent again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST VACATION...COMING BACK NEXT YEAR!!!

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our family has rented in NH, NC and in North Georgia in past summers. This has definitely been the best. Everything is better than advertised. The adult "boys" loved the morning talks with Bruce (owner) when he came every morning to clean the pool. Everything was right there.....pool, fishing, tiki bar, hotub. Bruce even took us to the dam to show us where we could tube back to the house. Already booked for next year!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect base for our family whitewater rafting vacation

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

The Riverview Retreat is almost beyond verbal descriptions. The views of the river and sunsets are nothing short of inspirational. Extremely spacious, we had plenty of room for our family of ten. The top of the line kitchen is amazing. The kids loved the pool table when they were not swimming in the fabulous swimming pool with slide. The beds are so comfortable.Everything is clean an new.The only possible downside was the steep gravel driveway and short walk to the pool area and river, but the owner assured us that the driveway was to be concreted as soon as there was an open stretch of time. The owner, Bruce, cleaned the pool himself daily and was one of the most friendly and helpful people you will ever meet. We are looking forward to our next family vacation there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing inside and out!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

WOW!! is all I can say. We plan group trips to Blue Ridge, 3 to 4 times a year, and had the priviledge of staying in some amazig cabins. However, this has by far exceeded ALL of them. The pictures listed here on the web-site do not do this house justice, from the amazing chef's kitchen, to the spacious master suite with amazing master bath. To the complete pool area on the river. We had 9 adults and 2 kids and it never felt cramped, Bruce the owner was absolute great, he even came and cleaned the pool out every morning before we were up, talk about impeckable service! We will definitely be back to this jewel!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

It was really a pleasure to stay at that beautiful house. Everybody, from my 8-month old grandson to my 92-year old father, had a wonderful time. We also hope to do it again in the future. Atlanta, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

River retreat and so much more!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Thank you for sharing your retreat! We especially enjoyed the screened porch and outdoor fire pit. Your attention to a renter's needs such as 2 dishwashers, 2 refrigerators, 2 coffee pots (we have some who drink decaf), plenty of towels, an abundance of indoor and outdoor seating, along with quiet spots if you wanted to get away from the group was much appreciated. Extremely clean, inside and out. We hope to stay with you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

We loved it all. The walk up and down the hill to the patio area was a little steep. The pool facility was great though and we enjoyed spending time there. Everything worked fine and the accommodations were lovely. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review