reviews for: listing #74878 - Falmouth, Massachusetts House rental

Falmouth Cape Cod
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Davisville
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,800 /wk
    $3,900 - $6,800 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable House

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Comfortable House

July 22, 2014

Spotless, comfortable and nice quiet neighborhood. Ernie and Joanne had been very accommodating. We had a great time and our daughter is already looking forward to going back next year.


Owner's reply:

Angie, thank you we loved having you stay at our home on the Cape. We look forward to hearing from you next year.

Ernie & Joanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

Great Place

August 3, 2014

The Hydes' house is a perfect family getaway. We wish we owned it and will be a design for our ocean area vacation home if we get a chance to do one. It had big bedrooms, living room, dining/kitchen and deck. It was perfect for 4 of us, with Mom & Dad (50's) in the master bedroom and 2 twenty year olds each taking a bedroom upstairs, leaving a downstairs bedroom for a dressing/make-up area. All the utensils that we needed...and everything worked perfectly. Lots of bathroom space. The washer and drier weren't used much over the week but were the right size for quick cleans after beach days. Outside is very quiet and relaxing. There is not a lot of yard space for games if you have a crowd of kids to send outside. There is a school yard, softball field and basketball court (treed for adults to watch) within a 15 minute walk. The neighbors were very friendly. The walk to the beach was 15 minutes, too. The surrounding neighborhoods were cozy and beautiful. So easy to get to anywhere within 20 minutes driving time. We got the beach pass and used it regularly. We were able to do walking tours/shopping in Famouth, Hyannis, Mashpee and Woods Hole. We fished from the nearby sea-pond bank (no luck) and the bridge is a 3 minute drive ( we bet better luck). Working with Ernie was easy. We also met him on Saturday. A truly nice and congenial guy...interested in making things great. He takes pride in the house. Truly a great place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Stay!

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Fabulous stay with all the comforts of home (plus a few more)! This spacious, well maintained, immaculately clean home is modern with; wood and tile floors, leather couches, large tv, Jacuzzi tub, patio deck, comfy beds, fully applianced kitchen, washer/dryer, and 3 bathrooms! The location at the end of a cul-du-sac road was perfect for our 7 and 13 year-old sons. They were able to explore the tidy wooded lot, and walk a few yards to view the water. The options for activities in Falmouth and surrounding towns are endless. From the house we biked to Menahaunt Beach for shell/rock collecting, swimming and sunbathing. We also biked along the Cape Cod Canal Service Trail and the Shining Sea Bikeway, hiked the “Knob” and saw a spectacular sunset, visited the Cape Cod Potato Chip factory in Barnstable, strolled through Woods Hole and visited the (free) Aquarium, and took the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard. One rainy day, we opted to stay in and compete in an 8-hour Monopoly contest that ended with a home cooked lobster dinner. This experience has left us asking, “When can we come back?”

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The answers is anytime you want. Just send us an email with the week you want and we can work it out. We were happy to have you stay with us for the second year in a row.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Rental. Very Comfortable Home.

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

We rented this home so that our family of 6 adults and one infant can stay together while visiting relatives. This is a very clean and comfortable home. Has everything you need for cooking, etc and plenty of room in the dining/living area to relax, talk, read, etc. I especially enjoyed looking through the large selection of books that are available. The house is located on a quiet cul-de-sac and is a short but refreshing walk from the beach. Overall this was a perfect pick for us and we would surely rent again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Donna and William, it is always good to hear what our guests think about the house and their stay.

Ernie and Joanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home for our vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This was a great house for our family vacation with eight people. The house has lots of room for all to sleep comfortably. We liked that we could close the door at the top of the stairs for safety with the small children. The house had everything we needed, even a small table for our granddaughters to draw at in the living room. The house is fairly close to shopping, restaurants, a nice beach, etc. All appliances are top rate, especially the washer and dryer, and we appreciated having two full bathrooms downstairs. For my granddaughters, the highlight at sunset each night was seeing rabbits outside on the lawn. My husband is already talking about returning again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you all back next year.

Ernie & Joanne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our family vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This was a great house for our family vacation with eight people. The house has lots of room for all to sleep comfortably. We liked that we could close the door at the top of the stairs for safety with the small children. The house had everything we needed, even a small table for our granddaughters to draw at in the living room. The house is fairly close to shopping, restaurants, a nice beach, etc. All appliances are top rate, especially the washer and dryer, and we appreciated having two full bathrooms downstairs. For my granddaughters, the highlight at sunset each night was seeing rabbits outside on the lawn. My husband is already talking about returning again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

home away from home

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Having my family come together in an easy, comfortable and immaculate
home was a pleasure. The air conditioning provided a comfortable refuge
after returning from the beach. We are not TV people but the comfortable
living room was just right for many long chats, reconnecting and lots of
laughs.Everything was easy to find and operate. We loved the quiet street
but easy access to the beach (1 mi. away). The home is attractive and
comfortable. Hopefully we will return in 2014.

Joann

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Joann,

We look forward to having you and the family back next year.

Regards,

Ernie & Joanne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

From Ireland to Cape Cod.

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Travelling 3000 miles from Ireland to Cape Cod, one of our most important priorities was to ensure that the accomodation we chose would meet all of our requirements. We were not disappointed! As a group of 7, ranging in age from 60 down to 21 this house suited us all perfectly. It was spotlessly clean, superbly equipped with high quality appliances and very comfortable. It's located at the end of a nice quiet cul de sac with friendly neighbours, just a short walk to the banks of Green Pond.

Ernie was very friendly, efficient and helpful to deal with, providing all necessary correspondance and advice without delay. A big thank you to Ernie & Joanne for the kind welcome gift, which was a lovely touch.

Just a 10 minute drive to ample choice of supermarkets or the beautiful town of Falmouth with great shops and restaurants and 3 minute drive to the nearest beach.

For the bigger picture, we found Falmouth itself to be a fantastic location for driving the Cape or taking a trip to Boston or the islands. There were many highights of our trip to Cape Cod, difficult to choose just one but I guess whale watching would get the vote!

This spacious home provided us with a memorable family holiday and we would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are indeed delighted that the Gough party stayed at our home on the Cape. We hope they return soon. Ernie & Joanne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Immaculate

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

By Mary Kiernan (Salt Point, New York)
We had such a wonderful vacation in this beautiful home on the cape. This home was immaculate and updated throughout. The owners, Ernie and Joanne were a pleasure to deal with. The house is on a cul de sac so would be ideal for little children on bikes or scooters! We enjoyed our week in the cape but wished we could have extended our stay for one more week!!!! We would highly recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Cape Getaway!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This house was perfect. It had all the amenities of home and more! Very homey feeling and cutely decorated. Plenty of room for two families to share this home. We had a great time and our kids absolutley loved the house. They cried when we were leaving, they wanted to stay at the "vacation house" so that's a sure sign we are coming back again next year!

Julie

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We aim to provide our renters with a vacation home they will think of and treat as their own and in this case, I guess we were successful. We are looking forward to having Julie and her family back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Getaway

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this beautifully updated, cozy, sunny Cape home. Plenty of room for a family of 5 to spread out and enjoy their stay. The kitchen was equipped with all the comforts of home. Comfortable beds and very clean.......Convenient location. Nice area to take nightly walks and a quick bike ride to Menauhant Beach in East Falmouth.

We would definitely rent this home again next year. The owners were very accommodating with our many inquiries and to our surprise we were greeting with a warm, cordial welcome letter and welcome gift.

A must see..... and a must stay......

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Outstanding Getaway

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this beautifully updated, cozy, sunny Cape home. Plenty of room for a family of 5 to spread out and enjoy their stay. The kitchen was equipped with all the comforts of home. Comfortable beds and very clean.......Convenient location. Nice area to take nightly walks and a quick bike ride to Menauhant Beach in East Falmouth.

We would definitely rent this home again next year. The owners were very accommodating with our many inquiries and to our surprise we were greeting with a warm, cordial welcome letter and welcome gift.

A must see..... and a must stay......

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best rental I've ever had!

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Very spacious, comfortable, and clean! Loved the location, very convenient to walk and to enjoy the outdoors. Landlords were wonderful to deal with. Overall, the week was great. I hope to return and I would highly recommend it to other family who want a weeks getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful home in a great setting/location!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had a most wonderful time on our Cape Cod vacation and this beautiful home was a big part of it! We can’t say enough about how nice of a place this was to stay. It had every amenity necessary for a comfortable, hassle-free visit. It's location lies in a quiet and serene neighborhood with convenient access to Falmouth, Woods Hole (and ferry to Martha's Vineyard), Hyannis, Plymouth, and Sandwich for easy daytrips. The owners were wonderful to work with and went out of their way to encourage us to feel right at home. A positive experience through and through! ;-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: From our point of view as owners, we loved having this party stay at our home. They left it as they found it and they were also pleasant to deal with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cape Cod - Falmouth

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We rented this Cape Cod home during the July 4th week. We loved the property and it was just what I expected. We were actually surprised at how large the bedrooms really were. The property was clean and well maintained. The only issue we has was that the 2nd floor did not cool properly. The downstairs was fine but it seems like the house needs another ac unit (should be two zones). We did call the owner to explain the situation. He was very responsive. Luckily it all worked out well and we enjoyed ourselves.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: This review is very much appreciated because it is honest and sincere. The air conditioning system was installed in the house in June, 2011 and was never really put to the test for the upstairs rooms, however, the renter solve the problem himself before I was able to get my installer to look at it. By closing off the vents on the first floor, the upstairs rooms cool more quickly and the first floor was cool anyway.

IN AN EFFORT TO UPDATE OUR RESPONSE, WE AGREED WITH RENTER THAT THE AC NEEDED TWO ZONES AND ADDED A SECOND ZONE TO THE SECOND FLOOR. IT SOLVED THE ISSUE.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review