reviews for: listing #74881 - Everglades City, Florida House rental

Island Oasis & Outdoor Adventure
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Club Everglades
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,300 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,800 /mth

sort by:

Great base for exploring the Everglades

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I, (both of us are 23), recently returned from a great trip staying at this property. The owners and staff on the island were a pleasure to work with and provided great advice on where to fish and go bird watching. The property was clean, comfortable, and felt just like home. From our porch we saw multiple manatees, dolphins, and tarpon swim by. Fishing off the dock was great fun and we rarely had to wait long for a bite thanks to the plentiful sea catfish. I was even lucky enough to hook into a few juvenile goliath groupers which were great sport! My girlfriend, an avid bird watcher, was able to add 12 new species to her life list in the national park nearby. It’s safe to say we’ll be coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for Relaxation!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent the most relaxing vacation we've ever taken here. The owners were a pleasure to work with and their accommodations are so comfortable and clean. We enjoyed a lot of porch time watching all the birds, reading, and sipping on margaritas. This is a great location for exploring Everglades National Park and Big Cypress National Preserve. The island concierge is very helpful and ferried us back & forth, providing us with lots of good information. Next time we think we'll rent a canoe from him though so we can come and go as we please and also explore some of the Ten Thousand Islands.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for Total Relaxation!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent the most relaxing vacation we've ever taken here. The owners were a pleasure to work with and their accommodations are so comfortable and clean. We enjoyed a lot of porch time watching all the birds, reading, and sipping on margaritas. This is a great location for exploring Everglades National Park and Big Cypress National Preserve. The island concierge is very helpful and ferried us back & forth, providing us with lots of good information. Next time we think we'll rent a canoe from him though so we can come and go as we please and also explore some of the Ten Thousand Islands.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Picture don't do it justice

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Stayed at this property for one week from 3/10 to 3/17/2012 with my wife and two young daughters. Brough our boat and had it docked less that 100 yards from the front door. Went fishing 6 days and had an amazing time. We saw manatees, dolphins, sea turtles and all sorts of birds including bald eagles. My daughters counted 19 species of fish caught during our stay. The owners were very responsive before our arrival. The people who take care of the island, including transportation, are very knowlegable and helpful. The property is gorgeous and the decor is what every fisherman dreams of. This is not a fishing cabin but a small luxury home that is well taken care of. Everything you need is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Picture don't do it justice

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Stayed at this property for one week from 3/10 to 3/17/2012 with my wife and two young daughters. Brough our boat and had it docked less that 100 yards from the front door. Went fishing 6 days and had an amazing time. We saw manatees, dolphins, sea turtles and all sorts of birds including bald eagles. My daughters counted 19 species of fish caught during our stay. The owners were very responsive before our arrival. The people who take care of the island, including transportation, are very knowlegable and helpful. The property is gorgeous and the decor is what every fisherman dreams of. This is not a fishing cabin but a small luxury home that is well taken care of. Everything you need is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place, awesome vacation!!!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We were looking for a unique spring break, which we found!! Found this rental property on the Internet. After talking to the home owner, and looking at the pictures on the Internet, we decided to give it a try. Our experience from then on was fabulous!!! Dealing with the homeowner was easy and what a gracious person!!! We were stunned when we got to the house. The pictures we had seen on the Internet did not do the place justice at all!! It was soooo much better than we had expected!!! We felt right at home. Everyhing was so comfortable, from the beds to the awesome wrap around screen porch to the cozy livig room!! We used the yard to grill out on, and We used the clubhouse pool and workout room almost every day. It was always clean and well kept. The sight seeing in the area was amazing. The nature and wildlife were In abundance!! We had a great experience and look forward to going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

manatee hangout!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

By far best location on the island! the only house with side and front screened porch, from where we saw over 25 manatee and many dolphin. The interor of the house is a good houskeeping showplace. Wade the caretaker an ferryboat captain was great! Everything execided expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review