reviews for: listing #74966 - Lake Oconee, Georgia House rental

UGA Games /Golf Getaways / Family Reunions / Large Lake Home
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $500 /nt
    $3,200 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

Perfect place for a reunion!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

10 of my closest friends gathered at this house to celebrate the 15 year reunion of our graduation from UVA. What a delightful rental property! The owner was readily available and incredibly hospitable. The house itself is expansive and accommodating and is located in an incredibly convenient plot. The grounds are perfect for bocce, badminton, home run derby, and just about any grass court based game of leisure. The outdoor pavilion and grill made a perfect "picnic" spot just yards away from the house. The private launch and dock are also extremely convenient and there are several nearby marinas for fueling up those long days of water sports. What an amazing property for a large group! If you're thinking about renting this place for mid-May, you'd better do it early - we're definitely considering making this an annual visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Gathering

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at your beautiful house on Lake Oconee. The weather actually turned out better than we expected so the kids were able to play outside and roast smores at night. We ate too much and watched a lot of football! Although we were hoping for an Alabama/USC SEC championship, it was the perfect Thanksgiving/Christmas weekend with our cousins from Alabama (exactly 2 ½ hours for each of us to drive). We are hoping to do the same next year. We will let you know once we decide what we are going to do.

Thank you again for allowing us to share a wonderful weekend with family!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Family gathering from 4 different states {Texas, Kansas, Pennsylvania & Georgia}

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

Directions to the area were easy for our family members who drove, flew and arrived by train. On the day of arrival, it was cold, wet and rainy; however, the view of the home on the lake was beautiful. Once inside, it was spacious, warm and cozy. The photos left out a few "luxury amenities" such as, the hot tub on the lake level floor, and the gas grill just outside the den area on the patio of the second floor. Also, the photos do not show that the kitchen has two ovens, which were needed to bake the many items for our Thanksgiving Feast. There were more than enough supplies to meet the needs of our family and visiting friends {linen, kitchen necessities, towels, bathroom items, laundry room supplies, etc.}. For the season, the property was clean and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The out door pit near the lake severed as a fantasy area for the kids' to roast their mash mellows. The nearby eateries, grocery stores, malls, plazas and movie theaters made our 'Black Friday' experience very memorable. Words can't explain our lake experience, especially the view of the morning sun rise and evening sun set as the fish and geese danced and traveled upon the lake in the mist of other human water visitors. This property has something for everyone's interest; I would surely recommend this property to persons of all ages.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Spot on Lake Oconee

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

We had a guys golfing and fishing weekend at this great house for the second year in a row and plan to go back next year. Last year we had rented some boats to go fishing, but the guys that fished from the property caught the most fish, so we had all 12 guys fishing from the house this year and we caught a ton of fish. The owner can send you pictures that we sent himof the huge catfish we caught. We played golf at Harbor Club which is reasonably priced and about 6 miles away. There are also some great restaurants nearby, especially The Silver Moon and a convenient Mellow Mushroom Pizza a mile away that delivers. There is also a Publix grocery store a couple of miles away, and a great place to buy bait nearby.
The house itself is big with lots of bedrooms and foldout sofas. There is a pool table in the finished walkout basement, and a new hot tub right out by the basement doors. There are multiple TVs with Direct TV also. Theres a dock to tie up your boat if you trailer one there. I don't think the boat rental places will let you keep one overnight. There is also a large covered grill and a gas grill. We would definitely recommend staying there for any type of large group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunshine on Sunday

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Hi Ashton-

We had a great time at "Thunder Valley"....the house was perfect for the family, and the baby grand was a bonus....since we had a piano player in the house. Everyone had a great time. We did get some sunshine on Sunday and were able to enjoy the lake quite a bit. Great location, space, game room downstairs. We enjoyed the hot tub as well.

Kindest Regards,

Amy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Retreat Gathering

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Our group of 12 had a great relaxing time. The home was large enough for us all, and the lake was so relaxing. The owner was so easy to work with and gave great directions and check in info. Our group wants to return later this Fall for another retreat, we can not wait for UGA football Season!

We definitely recommend the large spacious lake front home on Lake Oconee, GA. Summer must be a blast, having their own walk in sandy cove, and deep water dock.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Leadership Retreat

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

The Place was excellent. Very, Very spacious, right on the lake, beautiful home. Home is a older home but well kept. We did not see any bugs. Fishing right behind the house was good and several people caught fish!! I would rate 4 star. The owner was very friendly and got back to me timely. We received our full refund and no problems!!! I would recommend for large gatherings!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun Ladies Getaway

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

The large lake home was perfect for our Ladies getaway weekend. The group of 16 women came from all around Atlanta, and the home was so easy to get to. It was a nice relaxing break, we were able to all gather around, have fun catching up, and even tried our hand at a few games of pool table.

We found the home from one of our ladies, who had stayed the previous summer with her family, she told us that the home had been updated since her last stay, which was great with us, it had everything we needed. We're looking forward to returning for a warm and cozy trip next winter as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Abundant Life Church mens group, "Men Of Promise"

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

We rented this house for our anual fishing trip in 2012. This is truly a great place to be for a few days! Very close to restaurants, bait, tackle, and the Publix shopping center. Plenty of room for boats at the private dock. We had a pontoon and five bass boats there. Big park and boat launch directly across the lake. Looking forward to staying again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review