reviews for: listing #75026 - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Atlantic Star..stunning, oceanfront, prime location.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $450 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,100 /wk
    $6,000 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Girlfriends Getaway Weekend!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed my stay at the Atlantic Star over the weekend. It was such a cozy house with great energy! The house was amazing, beds so comfortable and just loved the beach!!
Thanks for your hospitality and hope to make this an annual event with the girlfriends!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great spot and location on the beach in JAX

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We stayed here the entire month of February, mainly to get away from the brutal winter in PA. The property on Duval Drive is right on the ocean, you can't find a better place to rent in this area. The view from upper deck in the morning, sipping a coffee and reading the morning paper for an hour is a special time of the day. Long walks on the beautiful beach right in yiru backyard is fantastic, in any weather (and we had days with 80 degree weather and sun, and we had mid 50's with overcast and strong winds. It's great in any condition. You'll love it

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home and location!

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

My family and I rented the Atlantic Star in October 2013 and had an amazing time! The house fit our needs perfectly - plenty of space for our big family and right on the ocean. The bedrooms were big and we loved having the numerous bathrooms. The beach is beautiful and serene and our kids loved playing in the surf! We look forward to coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

College Friends Family Gathering

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

We had our annual college friends family gathering. We have been friends for many, many years and our children have grown up together so we wanted a place that would accommodate several people. The Atlantic Star beach house is "old Florida" and comfortable. We loved sitting outside on the spacious patio. The house was spacious for everyone and we so enjoyed many evenings preparing our meals and gathering throughout the house in the dining room, family room and outdoors!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Atlantic Star -GREAT VACATION SPOT

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This is a fantastic beach property for my family.It was clean and the property managers/owners were very helpful in all areas.We enjoyed every moment and plan to return next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful stay at Atlantic Star

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This is our second year staying at jAtlantic Star and we will be back next summer!! Love it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY 2012

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Our family consisting of three generations enjoyed the week of Christmas 2012 at Atlantic Star. It was the perfect house for our children and grandchildren and we ejoyed every minute of our stay. Our Christmas tree adorned the porch and what fun it was on Christmas morning to sit around the tree, enjoy the ocean and great family time. The dining room and kitchen served as the gathering place for our Christmas Eve and Christmas Day preparation and dining. We look forward to spending more time at Atlantic Star and recommend this wonderful home to those who enjoy family time and comfortable living. It was well maintained and the description regarding the location was right on the mark. Many thanks to the owners for opening this "very special" beach house to those of us who love and appreciate it as if it were our own.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This year we celebrated spring break, my birthday, and a family reunion all in one week. We found Atlantic Star and knew it would be perfect. The house is beautiful "old Florida"; well appointed and comfortable. At one point we had about 25 people over for the reunion and pictures, and no one felt crowded. Plenty of seating and room to spread out. The house is old, but we love that. We found everything and more that we could possibly need; the beds were comfortable and there were plenty of linens, towels, etc. The little ones enjoyed the sand toys, and our teenagers said it was definitley a "do again" - not an easy task, impressing teenagers! We have a new favourite destination and will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ideal Beachfront Home

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Straight out of a Hemingway novel or Rockwell Painting this charming picturesque Beach Front Home was absolutely perfect - to quote our 3 teenagers, this was our favorite rental yet!

Yes it is older and bathrooms smaller, but the living space large, dining area perfect, bedrooms feature 2 double/queen and 3 singles with 4 bathrooms and all very comfortable

The location is perfectly situated on a quiet drive between happening Jacksonville Beach or beautiful Ponte Vedra Beach – and your private beach access right off the yard offers a serene beach which we had all to ourselves

The upper and lower decks were a favorite for enjoying breakfast, quiet time or a cocktail with a magnificent view of the ocean and dolphins at play

A very nice feature is the laundry/separate shower – perfect for cleaning off after a swim in the ocean

This gorgeous home was the perfect blend of price/value/comfort/location and now a favorite of our family

Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Labor day week

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

We found the Atlantic Star just right for the group we had as to size and layout of the house. The beach location was excellent and convenient. The kitchen had plenty of utensils, dishes and silverware. We appreciate Jenny obtaining a crock pot for us. We needed the cable TV fixed and some plumbing work done and she was very responsive even though it was a holiday weekend. We enjoyed the beach chairs and wagon and toys and beach towels for the grandkids. The bathroom off the laundry room was great for cleaning up the kids after returning from the beach. The grandkids loved the porch swing and the thick grass in the backyard. The adults enjoyed the balcony in the mornings and evenings. The only possible negatives would be the floors would not be very good for a crawling baby and the electrical sockets were not three prong plugs. But it was built in the 40's and for a beach house of that age, is in good shape. We could definitely recommend this property for a family beach vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT Location, Ok House

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

The location cannot be beat, and is the best thing about this house. It is in the heart of South Jax / North Ponte Vedra beach, right on the ocean in a residential community. Stores, restaurants, coffee shops, all in walking distance. Great beach, pretty secluded because it is essentially local residents only - no public beach parking anywhere close by. No Lifeguards.

The house is spacious, with big rooms on the main floor and 4 large bedrooms upstairs. Bedrooms are comfortable with good quality bedding and towels provided. The 2 back bedrooms lead out to a open, shared deck facing the ocean with a beautiful view. These two bedrooms each have their own bath, and there is an additional shared full bath upstairs for the other 2 bedrooms. The downstairs is very 'beachy' with nice furnishings. The kitchen is large and fairly well equipped.

There's a large mud room off of the kitchen and 2 fenced in areas off of the mud room on both sides of the house. This arrangement was a perfect place for our dogs to rinse and dry off after the beach. There is also a laundry room with a full sized washer and dryer, and a garage with beach chairs, umbrellas and toys. The back yard is a nice size and the lawn is a great play area for kids and dogs.

This really is a great house, but it is not what you might expect in this area and at this price - you are definitely paying for location and house size. The home is very old, as the vrbo write up indicates. It was clean and everything was in working order. The a/c worked surprisingly well for a home this age. The rugs are very rough to walk on - make sure you bring comfortable flip flops or slippers for indoors. There is a nice porch in the back on the ground floor, but there are no screens in the windows or on any of the sliding doors, so you really can't use the room because it is not air conditioned and is very hot with the windows closed. There are also no screens on the upstairs doors that lead out the the 2nd floor patio, which was a disappointment. I like to have the windows open to the ocean when it's not too hot, and was not able to do this here due to the absence of screens. The only downstairs bathroom is off the back of the garage, you have to go through the mud room to get to it and neither the mud room or bathroom are air conditioned and get very hot in late July when we were there.

Overall, I enjoyed the house, and loved the location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We were very happy to have the Marmion family stay at the home. They were great guests and we are happy they enjoyed the home and their stay. We did want to respond to just a few of their comments. First, there is one set of screens on the back porch sliding doors ... just not along the whole back of the porch. It is a "porch" .. not part of the home ... and is not air conditioned. There is a ceiling fan there, however. The two upstairs Master Bedrooms that have sliding doors out to the beautiful deck do not have screens. That is correct. They just rust out too quickly on the ocean (quite common on most beach homes). Our guests have the option of opening up the sliding glass doors whenever they like. The downstairs full bath is actually off of the mud room/ laundry room and is meant more for a bath to shower off when coming off the beach... never intended to be air conditioned. The rug in the living room is known as a Sea Grass rug, very durable and consistent with the "beach" feel of the home. Never heard any complaints about that before. This home is older or as many of our guests say .."very beachy". It is aways clean, as they agree, fully equipped and in a great location ... our guests enjoy. Rick and Jenny

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation House

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Just returned from spending a week at the Atlantic Star and loved it. The location was great. The backyard was perfect for our 3 grandchildren. The breeze off the ocean was fantastic and the view from the upstairs was perfect. The house was spacious and the owners were quick to respond to any questions we had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review