reviews for: listing #75265 - Joshua Tree, California House rental

Sunfair Salvation
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $170 /nt
    $800 - $900 /wk
    $2,500 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Our stay at sun fair salvation was a very enjoyable and relaxing escape from reality. Relaxing, romantic, rejuvenating, and also very eventful and exciting. The house is very tranquil and is the perfect place to just relax as you enjoy some peace and quiet. Mornings offer a great view of the sun rise over distant mountain ranges to the East. Afternoons offer a perfect escape into Joshua Tree National Park which is just a 15 minute drive away. Hikers, rock climbers, or nature enthusiasts will really appreciate the breath taking sights and activities that Joshua Tree has to offer. Spend the evenings soaking in the hot tub watching the sun set behind the majestic ranges of Big Bear mountain. After spending a romantic evening in the hot tub with your special someone a simple, but fully furnished cozy house awaits to provide a hot shower, a late cup of coffee, a movie, and an extremely comfortable bed. I highly recommend Sun Fair Salvation to anyone looking to get away for a relaxing, romantic vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adorable Desert Home!!!!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

My third trip to Joshua tree and this particular little desert oasis. Super clean and comfy, great hot tub, lots of privacy yet close to heart of JT nightlife, lake and park! Great getaway, beautiful home away from home!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect desert oasis-perfect getaway for anyone!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Clean, private, and homey! Perfect location for privacy yet very accessible to Joshua tree village, national park, lake, and pioneer town! This is my 3 rd visit and every time better than the next! I wish I had a week to stay,,,3 days just isn't enough;( The owner has impeccable taste in interior design and landscape! And the place, not only modern, is super clean! Perfect desert getaway! I miss that hottub;(

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

A perfect place for a quiet getaway and yet close enough to the park! The rental is super fun and the jacuzzi is a great treat after long days hiking in Joshua Tree. I was very impressed with all the attention to detail, like the towels for the Jacuzzi outside, the variety of condiments in the fridge (veganaise!!) and the overall thoughtfulness that went into the rental. I would have no problem staying here again and I would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to stay in the area

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

A perfect place for a quiet getaway and yet close enough to the park! The rental is super fun and the jacuzzi is a great treat after long days hiking in Joshua Tree. I was very impressed with all the attention to detail, like the towels for the Jacuzzi outside, the variety of condiments in the fridge (veganaise!!) and the overall thoughtfulness that went into the rental. I would have no problem staying here again and I would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to stay in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peace and Solitude

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

We were hooked on Joshua Tree National Park during a recent stay at the Twentynine Palms Inn. For our second visit, we wanted a relaxing base of operations from which to explore the Park's great hiking trails. "Sunfair Salvation" was the perfect choice. As you turn off the highway and drive the seven miles to the house (the last two on a dirt road), you get that feeling that you've found something special, a desert retreat to call your own (for the week, at least).

The amenities are accurately and well-described in other reviews. The barbecue and hot tub were great and we made good use of them. The kitchen is well-stocked, including basic food items, and we lacked for nothing. The owner answered any questions we had promptly and the rental arrangements were smooth and straightforward. But apart from the house itself, we particularly appreciated the silence, clean air, and beautiful night skies.

Now that we're back home, we most miss watching the sun rise over the distant mountain range while having that first cup of coffee; walking out into the pitch black night to identify images in the night sky, using the constellation app on our iPad (thanks to the home's wifi); and birds - the yard was a playground for Gambel's quail; cactus wrens allowed us to monitor their progress while they busily made their nest in a cholla cactus only steps from the front door; we delayed doing laundry until the mourning doves nesting above the dryer urged their two offspring into the yard, an event closely watched by a pair of sparrow hawks.

After a day of hiking in Joshua Tree, returning to Sunfair Salvation for the late afternoon/evening feels like you never left the Park. The yard even has a landscaped cactus garden that includes many of the cactii commonly seen in the Park. We cooked most of our meals at the house, and bought groceries at the large supermarkets in Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. For restaurant meals, we can recommend Bistro 29 and the Twentynine Palms Inn.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dessert R & R

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

What a wonderful getaway! We quickly learned how much we appreciate and miss silence. The sunset and sunrise was beautiful as were the evenings with an abundant supply of stars. Close proximity to hiking and other entertainment. The accomodations were very comfortable including outside grill and hottub. The days flew by and we can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great value & a safe bet

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Upon unpacking the car and pouring a cold one we stepped out onto the porch and immediately, the real peace and relaxation of the Sunfair cottage began to work its magic. Absolute silence ruled the air - there was no sound at all! For a couple, this place is perfect. The Sunfair cottage is really just as comfortable as the photos imply, we'd recommend the place to active friends who enjoy hiking and the outdoors. The kitchen is well-provided (although I was glad to have my own chef's knife and coffee) and the furnishings are very good quality without feeling hotel-anonymous. We had nothing to do for four days besides read, make a puzzle, sit in the delightful hot tub at all hours... you get the picture. (Be forewarned about one thing - a colorful swimsuit will bring out curious bees and hummingbirds. The birds quickly learn you're not a snack but the bees will try to taste you.) The owner has thoughtfully provided wi-fi and a range of films for evening entertainment. Without music or television, we remembered how to read aloud to each other, talk, reflect, relax... but I wish I'd had remembered a music player. The dry air also put my fiddle badly out of tune - be careful to pack a humidifier if you bring your instrument!
You are within 5 miles of two park entrances, each of which has a big variety of hiking options. We chose the 49 Palms Oasis the first day, and Window Rock the second. Once you get on the trail it's all amazing. There are three supermarkets in nearby Yucca Valley, so you can stock up after leaving home. In "town," the saloon offers great ales on tap and a range of really interesting local single-serving friends (If you see big Mike, buy him a diet-coke-and-whiskey for us, say hello!), but I can't vouch for the food. Better to go back to your little paradise and grill up your own meal.
For active couples who enjoy each other, fiery sunsets, blankets of stars and first-class comfort at reasonable rates, the Sunfair Salvation is a marvelous retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

JT House

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

We had a great stay at the JT house. The place is very nicely decorated, and is very comfortable. The Memory foam Qeen bed was great. We loved the hot tub and having a top quality gas BBQ was great. Most vacation rentals we've been to have either fairly poor BBQ's or lower convenience briquette BBQ's and since we BBQ every night this is a pain, not so at JT house. Kitchen was well serviced- lots of condiments, spices etc to help you out. Great attention to details, the wi-fi was great and the bonus of being able to connect our computer thru the Plasma TV to the stereo was awesome for listening to i-tunes or Pandora. For 2 people this was great, my comfort with 4 might be a stretch, but that is personal preference only on my part. Great views sunsets and stars, are all to be had. Of course the park is right outside your door and JT house location is central to Joshua or Twentynine Palms entrance which is great. If you eat out a lot, the distance (about 10 miles from town) might be a factor to some, but we cooked in every night so no issues here. The flip side of the distance was the quiet and solitude, which was great. The house is on an elevated plateau, so gets great views of the whole valley. The owner was great and responded to questions quickly. We would stay again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Joshua Holiday

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

We had a great stay at the JT house. The place is very nicely decorated, and is very comfortable. The Memory foam Qeen bed was great. We loved the hot tub and having a top quality gas BBQ was great. Most vacation rentals we've been to have either fairly poor BBQ's or lower convenience briquette BBQ's and since we BBQ every night this is a pain, not so at JT house. Kitchen was well serviced- lots of condiments, spices etc to help you out.

Great attention to details, the wi-fi was great and the bonus of being able to connect our computer thru the Plasma TV to the stereo was awesome for listening to i-tunes or Pandora.

For 2 people this was great, my comfort with 4 might be a stretch, but that is personal preference only on my part.

Great views sunsets and stars, are all to be had. Of course the park is right outside your door and JT house location is central to Joshua or Twentynine Palms entrance which is great. If you eat out a lot, the distance (about 10 miles from town) might be a factor to some, but we cooked in every night so no issues here. The flip side of the distance was the quiet and solitude, which was great. The house is on an elevated plateau, so gets great views of the whole valley.

The owner was great and responded to questions quickly.

We would stay again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review