reviews for: listing #75277 - Scottsdale, Arizona House rental

Entertainer's Dream House, Prime Location,
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Triple Crown
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $450 /nt
    $1,895 - $3,000 /wk
    $5,995 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

Golf Trip

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

House was awesome! Very comfortable and lots of room. Hanging out in the backyard oasis was very relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas in Dream House

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

The house is beautiful. To enjoy your stay the owner needs to explain how to work everything. Lights were confusing, electronics set up were a mess- could not get some to work. TV in burgundy king BR did not work all week. Karaoke did not work. Try cooking and cleaning with a broken kitchen faucet- it was unexcusable! Kitchen was not organized and not equipped well. Only 6 coffee cups? Recycle trash completely full! We had to bring it to the curb. We appreciated the extra tables since we had 14 people. Everyone loved theater and the putting green. Extra aerobeds were great. Could easily hear the stools at kitchen bar-- made a ton of noise. Hard to sleep below the kitchen. The cleaning crew left a Stinky soured mop. Ironing board left out and unusable. Treadmill stuck in middle of king Bedroom. The owner did not check to make sure it was ready for our weekly stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A family wedding

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

My niece was getting married in the Phoenix area and we were looking for someplace comfortable for my wife, myself, our four sons and their sigots and finally our infant granddaughter.

Wow, this place did not disappoint. Spacious and comfortable, this place fit the bill. The kids enjoyed football on the big screens, while we grilled burgers and hung out by the pool.

In short, this place rocked for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Home We Have Ever Rented

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

It was a last minute business / family vacation that landed us in Scottsdale. It was a short stay of only two nights, but I have to say the home was incredible and me and my family will definitely stay at this home next time we come to Scottsdale. My family and I travel a lot and we stay in a lot of vacation rentals and I have to say this one is the best we have rented.

There are a lot of electronics not normally found in vacation rentals, but they are so worth having. The Karaoke system was a blast, the movie theater was amazing and I our kids hung out there most of the time when they weren't in the pool.

The house was super clean, and the beds were so comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked and the location of the home is excellent. Having the awning and the misting system on the back patio was a must since we stayed at one of the hottest times of the year.

I would highly recommend this to everyone, its an amazing home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Home We Have Ever Rented

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

It was a last minute business / family vacation that landed us in Scottsdale. It was a short stay of only two nights, but I have to say the home was incredible and me and my family will definitely stay at this home next time we come to Scottsdale. My family and I travel a lot and we stay in a lot of vacation rentals and I have to say this one is the best we have rented.

There are a lot of electronics not normally found in vacation rentals, but they are so worth having. The Karaoke system was a blast, the movie theater was amazing and I our kids hung out there most of the time when they weren't in the pool.

The house was super clean, and the beds were so comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked and the location of the home is excellent. Having the awning and the misting system on the back patio was a must since we stayed at one of the hottest times of the year.

I would highly recommend this to everyone, its an amazing home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Location with Some Kinks

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

This was our fist time using Homeaway.com and we were apprehensive about the whole process. The registration was easy and the owner very helpful through email. We had looked for a house that would meet all of our needs. We needed a large house that would accommodate two families. I had read all of the prior renter comments. After several months, we decided this house was perfect for us. Our first impression when we walked in the house was that it had plenty of space, lots of gadgets, the décor was nice and it was in the perfect location. The neighbourhood is clean and safe. There were some elements of our stay that were not idyllic such as it would of been nice if we had been greeted in order for us to know how to operate items. I had called the owner on his cell phone and he was helpful. The house needs to be better maintained to address some of the issues we found. Outside near the pool there were broken pool toys which needed to be thrown out. The pool also needed shade over it as the temperature was quite warm. The hot tub was unusable as it was excessively hot and we had no knowledge of how to turn it down, as well as, the cover needs to be cleaned or replaced as the interior as a build up of dirt. We had used the barbeque two times before the propane needed to be refilled. The owner was very helpful over the phone assisting my husband in getting the barbeque to work once the tank was reconnected. It was a little later to our surprise that we found another propane tank with a note and a receipt on it from a renter in June who had bought a new tank for the barbeque. There must be something wrong with it even though the owner said it had been recently serviced. The cupboards under the sinks were cluttered and need to be cleaned out. If there are children the wires for the electronics need to be secured. I found numerous remotes without batteries. For us this wasn't a huge deal as we didn't use many of the electronics available. The basement bathroom has to be looked at as it has wood rotting near the shower and the main bathroom under the sink must be leaking as it has a container and what looks like mould under it. Additionally, the master bedroom needs to have the carpet replaced as it has large stains on it. This house must have been quite lovely at one time and can be again with a little (TLC) attention.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Scottsdale house

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Great property!!!..... the location is excellent for hiking, shopping, and eating. We really enjoyed our time here. The house is exactly as it appears in the pictures!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury,entertainment and relaxation

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

After consecutive years of spending 2 week vacatiions in this terrific house, we can assure any prospective renters that this is the perfect place for a large family gathering. We have hosted our 3 adult children and their families for varying periods during those stays. The first year included the obligatory trips with the grandkids to the zoo, train museum, spring training games,etc. This past year it was difficult to take the 7 grandkids away from the pool, putting green, hot tub and the theater. What a great way for the cousins to spend time with each other and a great method to eventually get the kids to bed! Plenty of time in the pool , a cookout dinner, s'mores by the firepit and then play one of their favorite DVDs and you have a recipe that assures that all will fall asleep before the end of the movie allowing ample time for the adults to enjoy drink and conversation under the clear star-lit Arizona sky!

The owners, Sal and Anna, are a nice, friendly couple that are easy to talk to and were there to greet us on our first trip and were always available to answer our questions(especially about the audio-video equipment) and address any concern that we may have had.

The home is in a safe, quiet neighborhood with several park areas that have playground equipment and play areas for sports including basketball and sand volleyball as well as picnic areas. The home is centrally located within a few blocks from a super market, drug stores, Starbucks,restaurants, etc. with easy access to the major streets and highways putting you just 5 mins from the Kierland/Scottsdale Rd area.

The best endorsement that we can give is what my wife and I said to each other after this recent stay: "This place is starting to feel like our "home" away from home!!"

The Reebs from KC



t

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This was a great house for us and another family that visited. Location is great, house was great, Sal was very helpful. We had 4 adults and 6 kids under the age of 9 and felt like we had plenty of room for more. House is larger then it appears in photos, and we were very pleased.

I am from AZ originally, so I was familiar with the location, but if you are planning a trip to AZ and want to be 5 minutes from Shopping, Golf, Dining, Nightlife or just relax in a beautiful house and unwind, I would choose this one.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home for a really fair price.

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

Sal was super easy to deal with and the home was perfect for us. We had a great time and would recommend the home to anyone who is staying in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Week Away

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

This house really was great. Close to amazing shopping, restaurants, etc. The pool was really fun, our kids never got out of it! It is a little smaller than it looks in the pics. The house, however is huge! The beds were very comfortable (very important for my family). We had no trouble finding our own hideouts in the house to get some downtime. Theater was amazing. We loved it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We just returned from a week at Sal's property and we were so pleasantly surprised. We have rented a number of properties throughout the US and this was by far the very best. You always wonder if the place you rent will have everything you need...well this one did. The location is amazing with the Desert Ridge Mall only 5 mins away. Restaurants were great and we even needed to visit a med clinic which was 2 mins away. The backyard is truly an oasis witht the pool, mini putt and patios. The misters were a welcome relief from the hot summer sun. If I were asked what would the house need to make it even better I could not think of anything. I felt like I was at a resort with the quality of all beds, the theater room and outdoor living space. If you check out this property do not think twice about booking...it is worth every penny. This property was extremely clean with the comforts of home at your disposal. The pool was well maintained with early morning visits from pool maintenance. We were never disturbed by a ringing phone and did not encounter one problem while we were there. Everything was in great working condition. We plan to return again and will tell all our friends who are looking for a place to unwind and relax.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

If you are looking for a great house in a convenient location, look no further. The photos of the house do not do justice as to how nice this place is. The house is very comfortable with many great features. The electronics are over the top, whole house music, tv's in every bedroom and the living area. Of course the star of the show is the home theater which everyone enjoyed thoroughly.

We fully utilized the pool and enjoyed all of the furnishings outside while there. The house is very well landscaped and the backyard is like a private oasis with the pool, large patio area and putting green.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything we needed. It is a nice kitchen that lends well to entertaining and is really quite nice.

We had two families in the house with 5 adults and four kids during our stay. There was more than enough room for all of us, and everyone was very comfortable.

This was our first time to rent a home while on vacation, we were extremely happy that we did. The transaction was very smooth on the website, and the owner was very responsive. Great place, Thank you Sal!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow!

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

My husband and my daughter celebrated "milestone" birthdays this May! We rented this amazing house for 5 days for our whole family. We had the time of our lives. We cooked, barbequed and never once went out to dinner! Why leave when the house was like a resort! There were 10 in our group from ages 1-60! The house was perfect for all of us. We had all the equipment we needed for the baby and the putting green, pool hot tub, theater room,pool table for everyone else. The kitchen was stocked! We needed nothing!

The owner was available to answer the few questions we had about the the externsive sound system, etc. The location was perfect. Near Cracker Jax and Kierland (for shopping).

Already planning next year's trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic House

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

We stayed at this house for my son's wedding in Scottsdale. The prictures do not do the house justice. It is beautifully decorated and makes you feel like you are at a resort. The house has something for everyone. The rooms are large; the master bedroom is incredible. The Owner is very easy to work with. The house is located near everything. We would choose this house again. We had a great time.Thank you Sal.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

What a beautiful house this is. Just spent a vacation there with girlfriends. It has everything you need. We spent most of our time by the pool. Sal was very nice to work with and made sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for a place to stay in Scottsdale.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful vacation

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We rented this home for our family vacation along with 2 other families. In all we had three couples with a total of 5 children ranging from 6 mo - 6 years old. This home had it all. Beautiful backyard and very well maintained. This house has everything you need. We enjoyed the movie theatre on more than one occassion, and the kids absolutely loved it whenever we could get them out of the pool! Sal is a very friendly guy, who does what he can to make sure you enjoy your stay. We will definitely come back to this home again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Far Exceede our Expectations!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of renting this wonderful home while visiting the area for a family reunion. We had many family members who stayed at the home. Everyone was awestruck when they first came in. The place is gorgeous!! Beautifully decorated, full attention to detail right down to the high quality linens and mattress toppers. We had the most pleasant and care free time while at the house. Sal has left nothing to chance and everything you could possibly need is there. It is perfectly set up for entertaining. The electronics are superb and the furniture is comfortable. We would highly recommend this site to anyone wanting to come to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. Its conventiently located to everything we needed to get to as well as in wonderful and quiet neighborhood.Several in our group will be renting this property again if they come back to the area...Hats off to the owners!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Far Exceeded are Expectations!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of renting this wonderful home while visiting the area for a family reunion. We had many family members who stayed at the home. Everyone was awestruck when they first came in. The place is gorgeous!! Beautifully decorated, full attention to detail right down to the high quality linens and mattress toppers. We had the most pleasant and care free time while at the house. Sal has left nothing to chance and everything you could possibly need is there. It is perfectly set up for entertaining. The electronics are superb and the furniture is comfortable. We would highly recommend this site to anyone wanting to come to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. Its conventiently located to everything we needed to get to as well as in wonderful and quiet neighborhood.Several in our group will be renting this property again if they come back to the area...Hats off to the owners!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Far Exceeded our Expectations!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of renting this wonderful home while visiting the area for a family reunion. We had many family members who stayed at the home. Everyone was awestruck when they first came in. The place is gorgeous!! Beautifully decorated, full attention to detail right down to the high quality linens and mattress toppers. We had the most pleasant and care free time while at the house. Sal has left nothing to chance and everything you could possibly need is there. It is perfectly set up for entertaining. The electronics are superb and the furniture is comfortable. We would highly recommend this site to anyone wanting to come to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. Its conventiently located to everything we needed to get to as well as in wonderful and quiet neighborhood.Several in our group will be renting this property again if they come back to the area...Hats off to the owners!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Brilliant!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

Just completed a week-long stay at this fantastic house. We could not speak more highly of the home, the location, the amenities and of the service we received from the owner. We were there for a family vacation with 10 adults and 8 kids under 5 years old. The house was ideal for us as we could keep the kids entertained all day without ever having to leave. The house was clean, the beds are incredibly comfortable and the electronics (including the movie theater) were over the top. We would definitely return and, in fact, hope to very soon. Sal was very responsive to calls both before we arrived and during our stay and we could not have been more happy.. Thanks for a great week!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House Great Location

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

I go to Scottsdale 4-5 times a year on business and always stay in the North Scottsdale/Kierland area.
This time we combined business with a family get together and this house was perfect for our stay. The 5 bedrooms gave everyone a private space and the kitchen/family room was our favorite gathering place. The electronics in the house are amazing and one group could watch movies in the Media room while another had a big screen for college football.
The property provides great access to North Scottsdale shopping plus a short drive to Desert Ridge resturants and shopping. Also the large Paradise Valley shopping mall is a relative short drive down Tatum from the house. The house was in great shape when we got there and Sal met us a short time later to go over the entertainment systems and the other features of the house.
A great house for larger groups.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Best Family Vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This house was amazing!!! The kids loved the theater room, putting green, and especially the POOL which we all enjoyed!!! The kitchen is amazing with everything that you need. Excellent for large family gatherings. The men loved the Pool table! The outdoor patio was wonderful with the misters and retractable awning, it allowed us to be outside all the time. There was plenty of towels and bedding.... OH YA the beds were SOOOO confortable!!!! There was tv's and music EVERYWHERE you went in the house, inside and out. The area had great shopping, and easy access to get around town. The owners were very courtious and kind, and was always making sure we were doing okay and if we needed anything. The landscaping and the beautiful lighting at night made the back yard an oasis. Thank you for the opportunity to make a memerable family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Mom's 80th Birthday

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

My sisters, aunt and I wanted to make Mom's 80th birthday trip extra special (her bucket list included a trip to the Grand Canyon). The home was absolutley incredible. The pictures do not even do the property justice...we thoroughly enjoyed all of the amenities. The fhome furnishings, pool, the movie theatre, the bedding, plush towels, every kitchen appliance, beautiful dishes, glassware all made us feel pampered - it was so relaxing. Loved the "mister" and we enjoyed the outdoor patio and hot tub daily. Great 5 star restaurants closeby made the " dinner reservations" even better. I am recommending to my friends and colleagues as the best place to stay in Scottsdale. Our thanks to the Abbate family for affording us the opportunity of a first class stay while visiting the beautiful sights of your great State. We look forward to another visit already! Kind regards, "The Buffalo Gals"~

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Two Week Vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We wanted to thank you for opening your home to us. All of us had an incredible vacation. Coming from the cold weather of Canada, it was a very much needed vacation.
You home is more beautiful then the photos and so comfortable. Everyone loved watching movies in the theater.

We loved the location and it was so easy to get to all the fun things we like to do.

Your wife is so nice and congratulation on your new baby boy. He is so cute.

Thanks again we had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, but Not Smooth

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We are 5 high school buddies from class of 1982 who get together yearly to escape cold weather and reality. This is a beautiful, well appointed home and the owner Sal is a nice enough guy. The video and sound systems really provide an outstanding entertainment experience. But at this price point ($4k total for 9 days) we expected a hassle - free experience.

We came home one night to find the water shut off by the city for non payment. The hot water tank was leaking upon our arrival and had soaked the carpet in the master bedroom closet, making it unusable. Sal assured us it would be fixed IF it got worse and it was fixed about halfway through our stay. However, by that point it was completely shot and we were without hot water for a day. Several light bulbs were burned out inside the house and there were loose wires, old outlets, light fixtures, etc strewn about the yard.

Some of these points may sound like nit picking, but we have rented other vacation homes at lower rates without experiencing these types of annoyances. This property could be outstanding if better managed and maintained. Until that occurs we could not recommend this property at the rate we paid.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Casa de Heaven

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

I had 11 women at the house. We sang Karoke, played pool, swam in the pool, sat by the outdoor fireplace, played music on our IPod all over the house and watched TV on coolest HD 72 inch screen. The house was tricked out beyond belief. On a more practical level, the house was very well equipped for a large group with 4 of the 5 bedrooms with king size beds, plenty of dishes, pots & pans, bowls, glassware, silverware etc. The outdoor area could not have been nicer with the furniture, awning and misters. I would rent the house again without question. The house was warm the first day and the owner had the a/c repair guy at the house in two hours to solve the problem. The owner was wonderful, communicative and very easy to work with. It was the best experience I could have imagined. I promise you and your family will not be dissappointed. The was centrally located and it was easy to get everywhere from the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We wanted to thank you for opening your home to our family. The home was incredible. We have been renting vacation rentals for several years and this is by far the best home we have stayed in. Your hospitality was great and my kids loved the movie theater. We all enjoyed singing Karaoke (what an incredible system you have) . The bedrooms and linens were EXCELLENT and also the location was great. Thanks once again, you made our visit to Arizona so much better.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review