reviews for: listing #75301 - Savannah, Georgia Cottage rental

Walk Everywhere | Historic District | Sleeps 2-4 PVT PRKING
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic District
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $125 /nt
    $700 - $850 /wk

sort by:

NOT WHAT IT IS MADE OUT TO BE

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Price is more than stated with cleaning fee and tax. WiFi is no good. Only works part time. TV is not High Def., and small, Futon Couch is uncomfortable. Fireplace does not work. No dishwasher. We had to ask for wash cloth and face towels. Linens are lacking. Would never rent though this agency again.
Would not recommend!!!

Helpful votes: 17 / 20

 

Great Place to experience the city inexpensively

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This was a great deal and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

We had initially planned on driving and was part of the reason for choosing this rental, however in the end we ended up flying. It was about a $35/cab ride to this location and getting in/out was a breeze.

This property is definitely within the the historic district and is located 2 blocks away from several of the lower public squares. We walked everywhere and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! This is both a compliment to the location of the property and a warning to those who don't like the idea of walking over 10 minutes. The location is close to a coffee shop, a great (but pricey)french restaurant and a grocery store.

Inside, the carriage house is well taken care of and had everything we needed. The only item we needed to go out and purchase was toothpaste.

The only minor complaint about the property is that since the garage is shared and also right below the bedroom- when the neighbors leave early in the morning, you will hear the noise of the garage door.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Very nice, affordable place near/in Historic District

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

This is a carriage house, essentially a garage with a small apartment built above it on the 2nd floor. My wife and I stayed there around Memorial Day with our 4 year old. In my opinion, it was plenty big and clean, though the tiny table in the dining nook barely seats two. My wife was disapponted that the air conditioning consisted of a single window unit far away from the bedroom. If we left the bedroom door open and ran the AC all day (it was in the mid 90s all week), the whole place stayed cool. The bed was a queen, very comfortable. I'll disagree with the other reviewer regarding the unit being within walking distance of the Historic District...you are either in, or maybe less than a block from it. We walked a lot, just leaving from the house. The alley the unit is located on is unimpressive, but at the end of it you are right at the Beach Institute. The garage is somewhat narrow, but we drove a compact car and had no problem getting in and out. And having a place to park your car anywhere near the Historic District is invaluable and emphasizes what a great value this property is! We walked to Clary's for breakfast, and I walked from the house to Forsyth Park at the opposite end of the District. The house is at the edge of the District, you will be hard pressed to find more affordable accomodations anywhere close by. This place is perfect for one or two adults who are in decent health and really want to walk in and around the Historic District. Walking to public transportation is also easy. As far as recommending this property for a romantic getaway, the property itself is not romantic...but the Historic District of Savannah is. Really romantic digs in this town will cost you an arm and a leg...but this place will cost you less than any hotel in the district and throws in free parking. Let the city provide the romantic ambiance, and spend some of the money you are saving on lodging on experiencing the city's many charms.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Hey

Thanks so much for the nice review. Im really glad to see someone appreciate the home! Your right this place is a bargain and we just like to rent it. Its meant to be affordable and clean so that folks can spend the extra money on eating out and entertainment in the Beautiful city of Savannah!

Let me know if you ever make it back to Savannah

Thanks so much

Helpful votes: 22 / 23

 

Good but be aware of a couple of things

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

The property was very clean and perfect for two people. One should note that the garage door is only 8 feet wide so don't bring a big car! There is no other place to park since the house is on an alley. I was disappointed there were no wash cloths or hand towels so bring your own. Also bring your own hair dryer. Not really walking distance from historic district but we had no problem finding parking. Would recommend as long as you have a car.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thanks so much with staying with us. Im so sorry about the washcloths we are usually spot on when inspecting homes and rarely miss this kind of thing. Next time you stay with us be sure to use the phone number on the fridge magnet that ask if you need anything or missing anything while you are here to be sure and call us and we are always more than happy to bring you anything that was missed including a hair dryer and washclothes.

This home is actually in the Landmark historic district which is as deep and as far as you can get in the historic district so not really sure how to fix that one. This home is definatley in the Historic District of Savannah and future guest shouldnt have a problem walking every where that they need or want to.

For future guest I would say that as long as you are driving a car that is the size of a ford explorer and under you shouldnt have any problems getting in the garage. The owners of this home drive a ford exporer and am just using this as a reference as this car is in the Garage when they are in town.

If you have a car bigger than the explorer you shouldnt have any problems finding parking on the street in front of the home on Harris St

Glad to hear yall had a great time

Thanks

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review