reviews for: listing #75305 - Savannah, Georgia House rental

Celebrity Home | Walk Everywhere | Unbeatable Location
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $295 /nt
    $1,700 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Sad condition

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

This house has bugs in the kitchen and in the couches. I ask for an exterminator and was told to put my food in the refrigerator. The air went out upstairs and it was 85 degrees in the upstairs room. The last day and night was miserable without air. I report this to the management and never received a reply. The outside yard was overgrown. Back door would not lock.
Great location but house is not as appears in the photos. A good cleaning of the kitchen is needed and some maintenance and the house could be a real treasury.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Needs some TLC.

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

This property was just as the ad & video portray it ---only some time has passed since it looked this good . It has not been kept up & is rather shabby . It is not "senior or disabled friendly". We found several safety issues : no handrails or grips to get into the large claw foot tub, lights burned out or not functioning, thread bear towels & sheets, No instructions on how to light the fireplaces , the alarm system wasn't functional .The small bedroom armoire closet' easily tipped when putting in clothes, the connecting door was broken & couldn't be closed allowing no privacy to either parties in the connecting bedroom .The only hangers were old metal ones & there weren't enough , there wasn't enough silverware to use for 5 people, the dining table only sat 4 people even though the house states it is big enough for 8 , The garbage disposal was broken . The rooms were much smaller than they appeared in the video (except for the Master bedroom & upstairs bath which were huge ). It was a tight fit for 5 ladies in the living room & kitchen areas.The handheld shower on the first floor didn't work & the window above the tub allowed anyone next door to look directly down into the bathroom. The shower head upstairs badly needed to be cleaned & the towel ring kept falling out the wall. There were no outside lights , the gate was broken off the hinges in the side yard , the yard was so overgrown & unkempt we couldn't even sit out there & enjoy our morning coffee in privacy. Despite all these issues & many more , it was a great location & could truly be a showplace with a little TLC ; but for the price we paid we were expecting more. There were no "house rules " booklet to instruct us in the use of the alarm system, fuse box , emergencies, what was expected of us upon departure (stripping beds, towels ) etc We contacted the manager to advise him of these issues upon arrival but he never contacted us back . We were disappointed because it was way overpriced for the condition it was in. If these issues are addressed ,it truly could become a great place to enjoy Beautiful Savannah & be up to the usual VRBO standards we have enjoyed & expect. .

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Oh no were sorry to hear that you needed things in the home that were not there. We do stock the home with everything that we describe the home as having. We market properties in a very accurate way so that you as the guest knows exactly what you are getting. The walkthrough video and photos of the house do not show anything like handrails that you might have been looking for so if you are someone needing these types of items be sure to ask if the home has them before renting and we will be happy to answer any questions that you may have.

Future guest please be aware This is not marketed as a handicap accessible home. However if you need a home with minimal steps and a bedroom on the first floor this is the home. The bathroom on the first first that is pictured in the video and photos does have a claw foot tub and may not be suitable for some individuals with tub clearance issues.

You will find the dining room table to have 4 chairs as pictured in photos and the video of this home. There are several other chairs around the home that you can bring to the table if you would like.

Guest tend to put inappropriate items in the disposal like pennies, whole bananas, and limes so we ask that it not be used. Although it does work we have a sign asking that it not be used.

This is a big house and I don't think anyone would consider it tight in the kitchen and living room for 5 people. You can easily sit 6-8 people on the couches 2 people in room chairs and 4 people at the kitchen table and it shouldn't be considered tight.

The connecting door in-between the two downstairs bedrooms works just fine. The house was built in 1880 so the door is heavy. The door does not require any aggressive pulling it only requires that you try to shut it.

The courtyard outside is in the video and is not an elaborate courtyard.

As you are shopping around for homes you will realize that this house is one of the most reasonably priced homes of its size and its ideal location less than one block to river street. Most of the homes of its size and location will cost $600 per night and the hotels in the area are $250 for one room so you should find this home to be a steal.

If you call and ask for something while you are here you will find that we will be more than happy to help you. If you wait until you leave to advise us of problems it will only upset the next guest and make it harder for us to fix these items before the next guest arrives

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

My husband, elderly father, adult daughter and her spouse, and son and his fiance all stayed very comfrotably in this house last week. The beds and rooms were spacious, the ability to do laundry for the trip home was great and you just cannot beat this location! It is central to every thing: 1 block from the pirate house resturant, 1 block from the river walk, 2 trolly stops within a block of the house - It was perfect. It sits directly on the square so the beautiful landscape is right out your window. Everyone agreed that this was definitly the way to vacation. The home owner was AWESOME! he was very helpful and responded to any questions immediatley. Rent this house and have a great time!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

The house was great. Great location, easy to get to, well maintained, clean...everything you could ask for a comfortable stay. However, I was dissapointed that we had numerous "chores" that we had to complete before we left even though the rental cost included a cleaning fee.

I was fine taking out the garbage. I understand the reason that needs to be done immediately upon vacating the house. However, we also had to run the dishwasher and put the dishes away, collect all the dirty towels and put them in the laundry room, take all the bedding off of the beds and put that in the laundry room. The agreement we signed only mentioned the garbage but there was a hand written note in the house about doing all the other things. We had an early morning flight so we had to get up early to get all this work done. What was the purpose of paying a cleaning fee?

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Generally speaking, there is a big difference in the type of person choosing to stay in a vacation rental home by owner and the person choosing to stay in a hotel. Yes, vacation rental homes by owners tend to be considerably less expensive per person than a hotel room, but cost is not usually the main reason to select a vacation rental home by owner. The main difference is a person choosing to stay in a vacation rental home by owner wants to feel they have found a “home away from home.” Renters of vacation rental homes enjoy the extra gathering spaces to share with friends and family, the ability to cook their own dinners and the freedom of easy accessibility to their “borrowed” homes.
I am the property manager for the owner of the home you are going to rent. Our home owners have spent a large amount of time, money and effort in providing all the comforts for each guest. Many home owners furnish their rental homes with family antiques and heirlooms. Owners consider renters their special guests. In return for being welcomed as a special guest in each rental home by the owner, guests are expected to be just that…….a guest. Imagine how you would feel if someone visited with you for a week or weekend and they did not treat your home with respect. Owners of vacation rentals expect their renters to offer the same courtesy. Respectful guests put dishes in the dishwasher, towels and linens in the tub or shower and leave the home in an orderly manner.
If you consider the clean-up requests of the owners to be an imposition, then our homeowners suggest that you might be more comfortable in a hotel room. Savannah has many beautiful hotels in the Historic District.
At the end of the day, we want you to have a great time. We want you to come back to see us year after year, but please always remember in a vacation home by owner, you are a guest of the owner.
While you are with us, please let us know if I can do anything to make your stay better.

Helpful votes: 27 / 41

 

Comfortable House in Good Location

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Lots of space, airy with loads of natural light and a good view of the adjoining square. Attractive and comfortable furnishings. The owner was well organized and helpful. In walking distance to the attractions in the historic district.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 13

 

Great House for a Small Group

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Very comfortable and charming house close to many conveniences. Once we figured out the light switches (must have been added over time because they make no sense) and got our parking permits, we had no problems.

Upstairs bedrooms (two) would be a bit of a challenge for older renters.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

This place is a real gem

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

I spent quite a bit of time on the VRBO site for Savannah looking for a nice home to stay in and am very, very glad we stayed here. It is an exquisite property: Spacious, elegantly decorated and yet relaxing at the same time. Nautical objects and antiques are the decor, all done extremely tastefully. Wonderful combination living room and kitchen on the first floor in high-ceiling rooms. Relaxing TV room. Spacious bedrooms. Amazing bathroom with tub/jacuzzi, couch, glass-walled shower. And the property manager, Walt, is extremely conscientious, attentive and responsive. Highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review