reviews for: listing #75306 - Savannah, Georgia Cottage rental

Cute | Courtyard | Classy | Walk Everywhere | Hist/District
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $120 /nt
    $700 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful, cozy and comfortable!

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the carriage house for our honeymoon. After staying in a couple hotels in Savannah, and many other rental homes during other destinations, this was by far our favorite! Walt worked with us (long-distance) throughout the rental arrangement, and check-in was a breeze. Not only was this quaint little spot clean, but it was stocked with most things we would need (linens, kitchen utensils, etc.).

The size of this little cottage was perfect for two, and it's in a great location for anyone willing to walk around town. Make sure to catch a Sandgnats game, and don't miss out on Clary's Cafe just around the corner. We were extremely impressed with our stay, and recommend Southern Belle to anyone traveling to Savannah. We have this cottage booked for our anniversary next month, and cannot wait!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Perfect for Couples

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

We loved this carriage house for our recent getaway in Savannah. Everything in the unit was perfectly clean, comfortable, and appealing. We especially enjoyed the quiet and privacy of the shady patio. Savannah is all about walking, and the carriage house's location made it easy to see most of the important sights. (River Street is a little farther; on the evenings we went there, we drove about halfway to avoid the parking and traffic headaches.) Parking near the carriage house was always available.

The kitchen is small but well-supplied, quite adequate for breakfast and snacks. You'll probably eat out for most meals; Savannah has loads of great restaurants (and not just the famous ones). Note that you will need to be able to navigate stairs to the bedroom and bathroom.

Walt was a pleasure to deal with. We appreciated his very detailed directions -- including a photo of the door -- since the location is a little hard to find the first time.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again. Great choice!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Anniversary Special

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary and she has always had a desire to see Savannah after reading Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. I love to explore new places and had never been to Savannah previously. This apartment was absolutely wonderful for its decor, location and comfort. It has everything you could possibly need and is located within easy walking distance of the historic district. The outside shared patio was never frequented by anyone but us and we had our evening wine and conversation her most every night. We brought our bicycles and took them on day trips to Tybee Island, Isle of Hope and Beaufort, SC. It made for a great way to see more of these wonderful communities. We had a few of our meals at the apartment and all the necessary amenities were available for that but there were so many great restaurants to try and so little time to hit them in but we tried our hardest. Lunch at Vic's on the River was excellent but pricey a better value was at Six Pence Pub, great fun at Jazz'd Tapas Bar, delicious breakfast at Goose Feathers and our favorite dinner the week we were there was at 17 Hundred 90. From our experience I would say avoid Mellow Mushroom unless you like cigarette smoke and a really loud atmosphere. Can't say enough good about the apartment though, having laundry facilities was especially nice and everything was spotless. The queen bed was very comfortable and there was lots of reading material available to choose from. With all the walking and biking we did this is the first time I've come back from vacation and actually lost two pounds! And we never skimped on food or wine. Try this place, you'll love it. We did and will definitely stay here again if we return to Savannah. Oh yeah, watch out for the no parking signs for the street sweepers. I did pretty good until our last night and ended up with a $15 ticket, well worth the free parking we had all week long.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Very Nice Little House in the Heart of Savannah

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This little carriage house was by far the nicest and cleanest house I have rented for a vacation. It is nicely located between Forsyth Park and Downtown Savannah. We were able to walk everywhere in Savannah from the house. Driving to Tybee Island was also very easy from the house. I enjoyed using the court yard in the mornings for reading. The bed was very comfortable, more so than my own (I may have to buy one just like it). One note the picture of the door and window is from the courtyard. The actual entrance to the house is from an alley, which is not a problem but did make it slightly confusing trying to find the house. Parking was pretty easy on Lincoln, Taylor or Jones St just watch the signs for when each street is swept.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in this delightful carriage house. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to explore historic Savannah. We parked our car (no meters, just watch sweeping signs) and walked everywhere. Carriage house had everything we needed. Linens were fine!(Not sure what the other reviewer had for his stay) Place is around the corner from Clary's, good breakfast place. We walked down to River at least once each day. Felt very safe to walk everywhere, even at night. Thank you Walt and Mary! We were sorry we never got to meet you.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Charming Carriage House

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

My husband and I prefer rentals rather than hotels when we travel, finding the additional space and opportunity to dine-in more desirable. The Carriage House was the perfect choice during our week in Savannah...size, price, amenities and best of all, location. We walked to most of our destinations and quickly found our way about the town. At the end of each day, it was a joy to return to our home away from home. The Carriage House is spotless and well-appointed.

Walt made the transaction simple and Mary provided suggestions for locations that would be of interest to us. It was comforting to know that she was just across the courtyard!

As first time visitors, we chose the trolley tour to learn about the city's history and logistics. From the guide's information, we decided which houses and landmarks to visit. We also enjoyed River St. and found The Cotton Exchange and One Eyed Lizzy's great lunch choices. We attended Summer Nights and The Savannah Tenors at the Historic Savannah Theatre...fantastic musical productions.

We left a little of our hearts in Savannah. Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

A WONDERFUL PLACE!!!!!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

After a disappointing accommodation in Charleston, we arrived at this beautiful coach house and were so pleasantly surprised. The place is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, with a wonderful bed and comfortable chairs in which to relax. Every detail for a visitor's convenience has been thought of including a basket of items you might have forgotten (i.e. toothpaste, aleve, etc.). The location within Savannah's historic district is perfect. We were picked up right at our door for sightseeing tours and dropped off again and found an abundance of restaurants nearby. If I were to return to Savannah, I would definitely stay here and will recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Great location, comfortable carriage house

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a one week stay in this unit and would recommend it to others. It's small but very comfortable for two people and is in a great location in the midst of the historic district. Many attractiona and restrauants are within easy walking ditric. On street parking is free and plentiful. The coutryard is quite private and lovely. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much I really apreciate yall staying here. I truly think that that this is a really speacial home in savannah! Hope to see yall soon

Thanks
Walt

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

The perfect location in historic Savannah.

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

This carriage house is tiny...it looks much bigger in the photos. But it was clean and suited our needs perfectly. The decor could best be described as eclectic--funky, yet somehow charming.

Don't expect high thread count bed linens or fluffy hotel towels--that is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. (If I could, I'd give it 4-1/2 stars...) I think it is obvious from the photos, but be aware that the property is 2-story, so if you are not comfortable with stairs, this is not the place for you.

The owners thoughtfully provided books, guides, and magazines about Savannah.

Parking was a breeze (no meters) and we felt perfectly safe walking from the carriage house to everywhere in the historic district. We almost felt like locals!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for the review. This home is in the perfect location and we strive to keep it in top notch shape. You definatley can tell when you walk in the door that a lot of detail goes into the cleaning and the maintaince of the home. I really thought the the towels and sheets are really nice as there are replaced with new ones quite frequently. If you ever need a place to stay be sure to give us a call when you back down this way. Thanks for the great review.

Walt

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Fantastic Location

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

I recently booked this cottage as a part of a surprise weekend in Savannah for my husband's birthday. I looked at other hotels and b+b's, and kept returning to this listing. Hesitant to pursue for the lack of reviews, I called the owner Walt, and he answered all of my questions. He even recommended local spots for dining and maintained excellent communication throughout the stay.

We were impressed at first sight. The location is quiet, clean, and beautifully decorated. Most of our needs were satisfied down to the small details which made for a really easy stay. After full days of dining at restaurants, sight-seeing and stomping around the riverwalk, we felt like we were returning "home" at the end of the evening.

To sum it up, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage to a friend visiting Savannah and will be checking the availability here for our next trip south.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love the review. If you ever need a place to stay when you are back down this way please let me know

Thanks
Walt

Helpful votes: 58 / 58

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review