reviews for: listing #75307 - Savannah, Georgia House rental

Sleeps 2-16 | Private park | Historic Home | By Forsyth Park
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Victorian District
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $400 /nt
    $2,400 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

WOW!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

I stayed here with my Girl Scouts and we had a BLAST! The pictures and video don't do the house justice. Everything was just perfect. There was plenty of room for everyone.Thanks for letting us stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Beautiful Home!

My husband and I rented this house for a large group that was in town for our wedding. The house was large, spacious and beautiful. The space is even better than the pictures depict. The owner did an outstanding job remodeling the place. We enjoyed having two floors: downstairs was an activity area and upstairs was more for relaxing. The house is conveniently located near many sites in dowtown Savannah, many within a short walk or drive. We would definitely rent this place again if we need space for a large group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay !!!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

My 8 family members from CT, MD, NY and PA gathered at this lovely home for a long weekend trip to Savannah. We had a wonderful time together and the house was perfect. It was clean, the beds were comfortable and the location was great. The house is full of sunlight upstairs and having two living rooms worked out perfectly for our group. The group who wanted to watch the sports programming had their own TV room and the rest of us could talk and relax upstairs.
The pictures don't do this lovely home justice. The location was also perfect. Took no time to drive into the heart of the city and the bus station was very close too. Everyone thought it was a great place and a great value. (And playing pool was a lot of fun.)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

awesome!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

we had an awesome time. Pictures do not do it justice. The first night we stayed in because I HAD to cook in the wonderful kitchen! There is an Italian restaurant a few blocks down, Leoci's, that was delicious.

Highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

This home made our weekend birthday bash UNFORGETABLE!!!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

I decided to surprise my boyfriend with a weekend gathering in Savannah with friends & family. I wanted a place that would not only provide us with a comfortable place for 13 people to sleep, but also a place where we could entertain and enjoy drinks & socializing before heading out in the evenings. Walt's home FAR EXCEEDED all of my expectations. The pictures do not do the home any type of justice- simply beautiful, comfortable and amazing. There was more than enough room for everyone to be comfortable, plenty of extra linens, pillows, towels- we never ran out of anything. ** The beds & linens were so comfortable & plush. I took note of the sheets that were on the bed I stayed in (king bed) and will be running to get myself a set! And the comforters on the queen beds in the shared room where a little piece of heaven!

The location as well was wonderful. Far enough away from the hustle but close enough to walk. We walked to River St several times, Forsyth Park is just a block away and a grocery store also within walking distance. But for those that don't care to walk, the DOT provides free shuttles around the historic district and there is a stop about 3 blocks away.

Not a single person on our group had anything negative to say about the home. It was delightful from the moment we walked in. Morning breakfast in the upstairs kitchen provided us with a place to gather and discuss our days events and evening drinks & pool in the downstairs area was the perfect way to start our nights. This home has everything and we couldn't have been more pleased. I look forward to returning to Savannah and when I do- I will only rent from Walt!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

WAY Beyond what we expected

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We had expected the house to be nice from the pictures online but they truthfully don't do it justice! We had inclement weather the first few days but it didn't bother us as the house was very accommodating. We were able to gather around the graciously sized island upstairs and play games or play pool down stairs. The amazing recliners upstairs are so inviting that you almost have to pull yourself away from them so you can go site seeing. They were great to come home to after a good day out in Savannah. I would honestly recommend this home to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable, homey place to stay on their vacation. Not only was it clean and comfortable but it was truly a home away from home. Thank you Walt for opening your doors and letting us experience Savannah in comfort.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

First vacation rental for the family

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

The vacation rental was a christmas gift for my siblings. We went in May when the weather was very nice, and had a blast. As appealing as the pictures are on the website, the appearance in person is even better. Every family member was impressed with the home as soon as they entered. Posh accommodations is right! It's stunning, lofty, spacious, and entertaining for the whole family; you can tell it was created with much love and care. My family gave me much love for sharing it with them.

We cooked breakfast in a well equip kitchen, played pool, gathered around the bar to socialize, walked to the park accross the street. People were gathered at the coffee shop and pub across the street though we did not try either. The walk to the tourism area with all the shops and resturants was just over a mile. It was a shady, scenic route with lots to grab your attention. Most of us didn't mind the walk, but a few did (the teenagers actually). Nice bikes were available, but the parents chose not to let them ride. We enjoyed touring Savannah just as much as the house. It's a great place to visit. I much prefer a house rental than a hotel. It just offers so much more. In fact, one of my family members stayed in a hotel room during our visit. Her husband and she was very disappointed in there accommodations once they saw ours. If your family size exceeds the maximum occupancy for this property, I highly recommend renting the property next to it. It's managed by the same the person. My family was talking about returning before they left there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A beautiful home away from home.

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

My friends and I were in Savannah last year in October. This house was the most beautiful vacation home we'd ever stayed at. It's sophisticated and elegant as well as modern and comfortable. The natural lighting during the day is absolutely gorgeous. It is also convenient as everything is within strolling distance. Whenever I am back in Savannah this is the place I want to stay. It was just another reason I fell in love with the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldn't possibly get any better!

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

Once a year our Cousins from several states meet for a girls' mini reunion over a long weekend. This year exploring the sites and history of Savannah seemed to be a great idea so the search for lodging possibilites began. Pleasing 7 women with suitable accommodations can certainly be a challenge! Apparently our timing was perfect for Walt's place (both upstairs and downstairs) was available and immediately captured our atttention. Walt was readily available to answer all of our questions and we felt great with the decision to book for this year's get together in November. We were not disappointed upon our arrival.
The accommodations were everything as represented and more.
Walt came by soon after our arrival to check on our comfort. He could not have been more accommodating and it was pleasure to meet him in person. The amount of space available in the rental was amazing. Although we could have managed comfortably with only the upstairs
rental, the additional downstairs space provided even more living comfort, not to mention the fun of the pool table. Location within Savannah's historic districts was so convenient to sightseeing. The Oglethorpe Trolley Tours was fabulous with stops in close proximity to
the Loft. Adam and the crew of Oglethorpe could not have been more accommodating to our transportation requests with the 2-day tour ticket (highly recommended). During the evening we had actually planned on partaking of the city's exciting nightlife but were not able to actually pull ourselves away from the comfort of the Loft (and the outstanding reclining leather furniture) after a busy day of sightseeing. The unit was equipped with everything we could possibly have wanted or needed from the kitchen, baths and bath linens, plush bedding, TV and audio systems, utilities (AC & heat), very attractive decor and furnishings, and a grill we put to use.
Parking was available in both the street directly in front of the building and in 2 reserved spots in a lot across the street. Overall convenience was superb. We have only one regret that being our time went by too quickly! The Loft is truly a "Homeaway" the entire group could have enjoyed for many more days and hope there will be another opportunity for that to happen in the future.
I can't imagine anyone being disappointed in these beautiful accommodations!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much I truly apreciate the kind words. I really miss living in this home. I like that so many people have taken to it the way that I have.

Thanks
Walt

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

perfect

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

stayed here in september 2010 for a long weekend the place felt like a home it was brilliant and big enought for having all the family together in one room and not get under each others feet, we had 11 people staying there which had plenty of room, upstairs and down. we came to savannah to spread my fathers ashes as he loved savannah so much. so at such a sad time this house was just perfect nothing for us to worry about, we all loved the whole feel of the house, could not fault it at all. I also love the fact the owner had the same dog as me a Vizsla and i to got met their dog he was sooo cute lol. oh love the comments book to great idea.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

EXCEPTIONAL SPACE!!! INCREDIBLE VALUE FOR THE PRICE!!! WOW!!!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

I had rented the upstair space for my parents and siblings to stay at for my Savannah wedding. They were absolutely delighted and incredibly surprised by the spacious modern loft with the old southern charm of the exposed bricks. My husband and I had rented another house up a few streets for the rest of the family; but I ended up spending most of my time here, because the open floor plan provided me with better workspace for my wedding preparation. Both my father and one brother are chefs, so the enormous kitchen was without a doubt a pleasure to their eyes. The huge seating bar was perfect for the whole family to hang out and also functioned as a great work table for our last-minute wedding projects. The open living room space with the AMAZINGLY comfy leather sofa and chairs, made it hard for anyone to leave after a tired day of enjoying downtown. Not to mention, the large flatscreens in the living room and throughout all the bedrooms...no man would be unhappy here. My husband was jealous that he didn't have the same great amenities to enjoy at the other house. The modern amenities made the place so user-friendly. What is listed and what you see in the pictures is what you get but BETTER! There are lots of large windows offering great natural sunlight in the living/kitchen space. It was a perfect location for us to host the hair and make-up session and tea ceremony on the day of the wedding. The location was GREAT...close to downtown, one street over from Forsyth Park, and around the corner from the groceries store...what more can you ask?! Thank you Walt for creating such a wonderful place for us to enjoy on our special weekend and making renting such a breeze. I highly recommend it to anyone for all occasions. We look forward to coming back and enjoying the WHOLE HOUSE next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Would put my house up for sale and move here in an instant!

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

We stayed here at the end of Sept for 3 nights, we were 2 couples and just loved the idea of renting a loft vs. 2 hotel rooms. It allowed us to make breakfast before heading out for the day and having a happy hour before dinner in one common area. The lay out of the loft is great, the very open concept was great for hanging out, watching TV, eating and socializing. We even invited Walt and Summer up to join us for drink one night..... there is a TV in each room eventhough we only turned the one on in the main room...the rooms were comfortable.... bathrooms were clean.... kitchen had everything you needed and more.... we even left behind a few bottles we didn't finish to add to the bar collection. The one bed was very high so you kind of had to have a bit of a run to jump to get on it but what ever....the design and decor was great and the two recliners you see in the picture were just the most comfortable chairs ever!!! For those considering staying here I would highly recommend it, you will not be disappointed!

- 2 Canadian couples

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Pictures wortha a 1000 words--is an understatement

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

This place was gorgeous-from the décor to the convenient location. It is located in the center of Savannah and came well equipped. We had Wi-Fi, very COMFORTABLE LEATHER RECLINERS…space for days…and a gorgeous kitchen. The heated floors were a plus and the flat screens in every room were a bonus. With no hesitation we will be back to visit anytime we are in Savannah. Walt the landlord was very nice and professional. It’s not often you get southern hospitality for a reasonable price.
We had the pleasure of staying for a WEEK and the loft made the stay worthwhile. If you are looking for the three C’s- comfortable, cool and convenient, then look no further. You will find all this and more at this beautiful decorated loft.
Our only regret is we didn’t rent the loft downstairs as well—but for sure the next time.
Word of advice—stop clicking the mouse looking and comparing prices –I GUARANTEE this place will suit all your needs.
Thanks

The Widemans ?

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Charming Place

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

We were so pleased when we walked into our Loft. It was just as we expected from the photos.
It was also located exactly as he had said ---parking was great---no problems at all. Photos were terrific and just like each room. They were perfect.
Every room was just lik the renter had said and the agreement. An absolute perfect place that was very spacious with lots of amenities. Large kitchen that was well stocked and even some groceries.
Every room was cleaned to perfection and well stocked with linens. We were so overwhelmed with the Loft we enjoyed just resting there lots of times.
I had several questions after renting so I emailed the owner. He responded to every question almost immediately. Even ask if there was anything he could do for me. I have a problem with steps and he as very nice about that. There are steps but no problem at all.
The Loft was located in the historic downtown and very accessible to all of the houses and other areas. Forsyeth Park was just behind the Loft. We were surrounded by great restaurants and even grocery stores. Very close to Tybe Island which we also enjoyed. So convenient too everything.
We were within walking distance to so many things that we wanted to visit or ride the trolly.
I would strongly recommend this to a friend or a family member. It was a great pleasure to stay in this Loft.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, spacious apartment. The combination of old & new with its brick walls, wood floors, granite counter tops, new appliances, antique furniture, & modern art was fabulous! The large, open living & kitchen/dining areas with its huge uniquely shaped bar and amazingly comfortable furniture, was great for entertaining. Great amenities, especially all those big, thick, & soft towels! And it was very conveniently located, with a little coffee shop & whole food store right around the corner, & just steps to the beautiful Forsyth Park. And our host & owner, Walt, was so gracious, hospitable, & helpful, responding immediately to our calls, requests, & just general questions about Savannah. I definitely plan to be a return guest at this gorgeous apartment again, & highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a spacious, comfortable, luxurious, & wonderfully convenient place while visiting the beautiful city of Savannah.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

When you look at the pictures here, you ain't seen nothin' yet!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

My husband and I went to Savannah with our best friends for a long-overdue vacation. We deserved the best and we got it! From our first contact with Walt, he was incredibly accomodating and welcoming. The loft was perfect when we arrived...meticulously clean, beautifully decorated, with all the comforts of home and then some! Walt has taken great care to provide everything to give you a great stay. (Except he does need to add "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" to the video selections!) We met Walt, his beautiful wife, Summer and their sweet dog, Mason and they gave us great suggestions for things to do and restaurants to visit. It was a pleasure to come back to a comfortable, quiet home with great beds after a long day of sight-seeing. Those huge showers did a great job removing the Tybee Island sandy grit, and I wish I could have taken that marvelous kitchen home with me. Parking was ample and convenient. I hope to return to Savannah again...when I do, Walt will be getting a call!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this place!

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

Our Senior Girl Scout troop stayed in this awesome loft, and we all loved the place. Location is GREAT, Walt was alot of help to us, and we loved Mason! (thanks for letting him visit) There are plenty of movies, magazines & music cd's. It was easy to get anywhere in the area from this location. Parking is directly in front of the loft with more across the street...very convenient. The interior design is current and beautifully intetgrated with the Savannah elements such as the exposed brick. The loft is just as described, only maybe a little better! We give it 14 thumbs up (there were 7 of us), and recommend that you stay here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

This was one of the best rental places we have had in years, Mr. Freeman was so nice in helping us find good places to go and places to eat, very relaxing place, the loft was exactly like the pictures and more, so close to the park and good places to eat, we could not have had a better time. It was so nice to meet the owner and his dog of course, you have to be a dog lover to go to historic savannah, there were dogs everywhere in Forsyth Park and it was great. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you. The McNabb family
June 2010

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Place, Excellent Location, Easy Rental

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

Overall, I can not think of one thing that this place lacks except for a large outdoor area. That doesn't matter though being so close to the park.

It includes everything and is almost like staying in a hotel except the place is quite large. We had a get together of locals and out of towners and with 14 people eating, the place didn't feel cramped at all.

I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome time Easter Weekend 2010

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

There were six of us that stayed and had a GREAT time. The place is even better than the pics show. All of the amenities one could ask for. There was a pantry with food stuff, some alcohol in the cabinet. (We left more) Everything you could need even toiletries. Will be contacting Walt to stay there again. BTW Congrats on your forth coming wedding Walt!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This Place was GREAT!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

My friends and I stayed here just a little while ago. This was my 2nd trip to Savannah and a friend of mine it was his 5th and one other guy in our group it was his 3rd time, and we all agreed this was much better then when we had stayed at the Hyatt which I had always heard was the best place to stay. I will stay here again on any other future trips to Savannah as long as it is available during the time I will be there. The owner was great as well he knew we had a little larger group and he brought us an air mattress to borrow as well. Needless to say we had a great stay couldn't ask for more and highly recommend you stay here if you are going to stay in Savannah, Ga

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

"Stunning" is the perfect word to describe this place. EVERYTHING was perfect. We would love to go back there next time we visit Savanah.

Owners response: Hey Thanks so much for coming you left the home in Perfect Condition. Yall are more than welcome back anytime.
Thanks so much
Walt

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

This place is amazing! We had a great time. The pictures do not do it justice, you have done an incredible job with it. Thanks for all your help with us getting in so late Thursday night. It was a great weekend.

Owners response: Thanks so much for coming. Yall are welcome back anytime.

Many Thanks
Walt

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review