reviews for: listing #75327 - Lake Placid, New York House rental

Charming Village home on Hillcrest
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $450 /nt
    $2,000 - $2,700 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Holiday Week!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

Our extended family of 11 stayed in this charming home for Christmas week. First of all, Sam (the owner) was very responsive and easy to deal with; second, the home was comfortable, cozy, roomy and so convenient; and third, Lake Placid is a wonderful place for groups of varied interests. We had some who wanted to ski, some who wanted to shop, some who wanted to tour the Olympic sights, and all was very easy from this lovely house. It was clean, well-stocked, and just perfect. We can't wait to go back someday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in Lake Placid / Helpful owner

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

This is a great house in Lake Placid. Great location to all the convinience in the town. The bed are confortable and the kitchen is well equip whit I've rarely seen before locating other places.

Also, the owner is really helpfull and really courteous.

Thank you for a great stay in Lake Placid.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house with location AND price

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

This is a lovely old house just a few blocks from the Main Street in Lake Placid. Sam was very professional and helpful during the booking process. We arrived and the house had lots of fresh linens, tissues, lotions, dish washing soap, and everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Like the title suggests, you can't beat the location or price which is very reasonable, given the number of bedrooms. One noteworthy thing is that despite having 5 bedrooms, there are only two bathrooms (which is normal in an older home). That was no problem for us because we didn't have a full house, but I could imagine it could get tricky!

Really recommend it for families who are wanting to enjoy the area but like walking into town for dinner and a movie!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comforts of Home

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

The rental in Lake Placid was conveniently located to town, a short walking distance to restaurants, shops etc. Five of us spent four nights on our annual climbing trip to the High peaks. The house met all of our needs. It is clean,comfortable and well equipped. I would not hesitate to return

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We rented the house for a week-end and loved it. It's an old charming house that's well maintained and well equipped.
The location is great, just behind the center of Lake Placid, on a quiet street.
The transaction with the landlord was smooth and efficient.
I would definitely recommend it.
Alex

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

86 Hillcrest

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

My family along with two other families stayed at this rental. The furnishings were lovely and made it feel like my own second home. The kitchen was big so preparing dinner for 12 was easy. Each room had a lot of closet space. The house was very clean and had plenty of towels for us. The location is great, it is only a 2 minute walk to Main Street. We were a skating group so the girls were able to walk to the Olympic Center or get a quick ride down the hill. The front closed in porch was a bonus. The adults drank their coffee and checked email there in the morning, and kids took it over by night while the adults watched the Olympic Games in the main living area. When leaving the girls were saying goodbye to "their bedroom," this showed us that they really felt at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ski Weekend

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We were a group of 8 friends wanting to get in a good ski trip and a weekend of fun. Sam was incredibly easy to work with: he followed-up continuously, was very responsive to questions and had a house that fit the online description and was very well prepared for a large group (cooking utensils and ample towels/plates/glasses). The large dining table and living room made for a great place to hang out and relax after a long day on the slopes. The house very comfortably slept 8 guys and would comfortably fit even more couples. The house was also a short walk from the center of town. I would highly recommend this house if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay in Lake placid and want to be close to town.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Enjoyable Christmas 2011

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

This is the first time for us to actually rent a property for our vacation. We usually use our timeshare to go just about everywhere. There were 10 of us in this trip. Primarily 2 families with our mom. Sam, the owner, is very hospitable and very helpful in explaining to us whatever we asked of him. Everyone got their place to sleep. There were plenty of space to do some cooking, which we did. Having the ability to have breakfast in your pajamas instead of running out to get some if awesome. We did some skiing and believe it or not took our mom (84) for bobsled, which put smile on her face.

Thanks Sam for you patience in explaining and answering our questions.

I would definitely recommend this place to my friend and when we do come back to Lake Placid again, we will contact Sam again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving in Lake Placid

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Every year my family comes together from all over to enjoy thanksgiving together. This house was large enough to hold us all. The layout was perfect for my elderly mother in law as there were two bedrooms and a full bath on the first floor. The kitchen was very well equipped so we could cook the thanksgiving meal. All the plates and glass ware even matched, there was even a Turkey platter, it was almost as if the owner had bought them just for us! There were plenty of blankets and linens. The dining room was also large enough to hold all of us for our meal and to play some of the board games left for us by the owners. The Canadian version of Cranium was quite funny.
We found the owner to be great in his communications with us and he returned our security promptly. The owner even left a bottle of wine and candies for us on our arrival day and called that night just to verify that everything was nice. We think the owner did everything possible to make our stay comfortable.
We can recommend this rental to anyone who wants to visit lake placid. It is an easy walk to the center of town yet the street it is on is very quite.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanksgiving in Lake Placid

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Every year my family comes together from all over to enjoy thanksgiving together. This house was large enough to hold us all. The layout was perfect for my elderly mother in law as there were two bedrooms and a full bath on the first floor. The kitchen was very well equipped so we could cook the thanksgiving meal. All the plates and glass ware even matched, there was even a Turkey platter, it was almost as if the owner had bought them just for us! There were plenty of blankets and linens. The dining room was also large enough to hold all of us for our meal and to play some of the board games left for us by the owners. The Canadian version of Cranium was quite funny.
We found the owner to be great in his communications with us and he returned our security promptly. The owner even left a bottle of wine and candies for us on our arrival day and called that night just to verify that everything was nice. We think the owner did everything possible to make our stay comfortable.
We can recommend this rental to anyone who wants to visit lake placid. It is an easy walk to the center of town yet the street it is on is very quite.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing location, well-equipped, hospitable owners

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We were a group of 11, and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay! The owner, Sam, was extremely accommodating, he answered all my questions and was exemplary with his customer service. He gave us a lot of information about the house, things to do in the area, and he even checked in on us to see if we arrived in Lake Placid and if everything was to our liking.

Home was well-equipped, had all the amenities, all 5 rooms were cozy and comfortable, and even with two bathrooms, we found it quite easy to share the space. Location was extremely ideal, easy to find on GPS, literally only a stone's throw away from the main street. Parking behind the house can easily accommodate up to 5 cars, a real bonus for us.

Check-in is at 4:00pm, check-out at 10:00am. Considering this was the first time for us to stay at a vacation rental, we were very satisfied with the experience, and many of my friends are looking forward to renting this property again. I know I will. Thank you, Sam!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family vacation in beautiful Lake Placid

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

The house was large yet freindly and cozy. Very clean and well maintained. Everyone in our family said how comfy the beds were. The enclosed porch was my favorite, the view is so calming and beautiful, the furniture on the veranda was pretty and comfortable. We had our coffee there every morning and a glass of wine while reading and chatting later in the day. It was very convenient to have a bedroom with a bathroom on the first floor for the grandparents. The kitchen is very well equiped, everything you need to cook a full meal, and a full size dishwasher to keep cleanup a breeze. Great BBQ as well! It is so close to the main strip in town, only a 5 minute walk (uphill on the way back). Lots of shops to browse through and many restaurants to choose from although we enjoyed having our meals at the house in the large dining room. There are 2 excellent grocery stores a short drive away. The house is equiped with WI-FI which we were happy to use to keep up our communications back home. Easy bike ride to Mirror Lake and around the lake. We went to the top of Whiteface mountain, the views from the top were awesome! If you want a nice relaxing vacation or just want to sit around and chat with a glass of wine and still go and explore and take in the beautiful surroundings this is the place to go in the warmer weather. Although I have not been here in ski season, I'm sure it's equally beautiful and a short drive to the ski hills. The house also has a wood burning fireplace in the living room to enjoy at the end of the day.
We truly enjoyed renting this home and had a wonderful vacation, Thanks Charline

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review