reviews for: listing #75661 - Islamorada, Florida Cottage rental

Beach Front (2.5 Acres) Secluded Cottages on Ocean
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Millionaire's Row
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $500 /nt
    $1,975 - $3,500 /wk
    $5,800 - $7,800 /mth

sort by:

** Accommodations are Rough **

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 25, 2013

If you have low expectations when it comes to cleanliness the place may work for you. The cottages were filthy. Not a little dust kind of dirty, but other people's grime dirty.

The owners we not prepared for our arrival yet they told us the cleaning lady had just left. Lawn furniture was scatterd about the property, not all of the beds were made and the bedding that was there was grungy. The small wading pool was dirty and vomit from a wedding the night before was still on the patio.

There is a dock for boats and fishing. If you're a hardcore fisherman and are used to camping, want the convenience of a boat out your door then you may like it here.

Overall, if your planning a nice family vacation, a girls weekend or a spa getaway look somewhere else. I would never consider going back and would not recommend it to anyone. We stayed one night and left.

Owners response: Peacock Cottages are the simple Keys Cottages of many years ago updated with; pillow top mattresses, flat screen TV's, Wireless Internet all situated on the beach, and as such they are intended for enjoying nature, the sea breeze, and ocean water and views. The outdoor furniture is "scattered" around the 2.5 acres allowing a "bit of something" for everyone and no matter where the furniture is placed allowing each and every visitor to "make their mark" by personalizing their lounging area in the sun or the shade near the beach or cottages.

The guests arrived "early", and of the women who had booked the property, one was elderly and unsteady on her feet and concerned about special TV Shows and another was elated to "jump in a hammock" and have another drink after arrival at the property from the local oceanfront bar they had spent the previous hours at.

We are regretful they were not happy with their accommodations, however all beds were made, linens clean, floors and bathrooms freshly mopped. "Old" wood floors and walls have a color and character that some people might not appreciate. By the volume of liquor bottles consumed within the one (1) night stay by so few people, and personal clothing left behind no one can accurately say who was sick on the far edge of the patio that borders the beach. It is interesting they state the stay was terrible and yet they did not request a refund at all so one can only wonder what really transpired during their stay.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

The Layed Back Keys

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. The set up of the peacock cottages was great. This is what you call the layed back keys not fancy condos. The owners were very freindly and always went out of their way for us. Their maintance person (Mike) gave us coconuts rignt off the palm trees and cut them to where we could drink the juice and if you want an even better taste, add a little rum....We had everything we needed there including kitchen utenciles, towels, extra bedding and lots of chairs for outside use. Don't worry about bringing your own lounge chairs. The beds were very comfortable and the drinking pool was the best..Lay out in the sun with your fruity drinks and listen to the music and take a dip to cool off. We cooked out almost every night there and the backround of the ocean and trees was excellent with tiki torches lit. We even seen some hermit crabs, large lizzards and lots of peacocks walking around the grounds.
Even though we had some rough weather a few days we made the best of it right there. We will be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Awesome Setting

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

The headline for this property is simple: The setting is simply awesome.

You step out of your cottage in the morning (there are actually two cottages, about 20 yards apart), and there you are, right on the beach, peacocks wandering the grounds -- watch out for the droppings! -- the water sparkling, the dock glistening, the sun shining. There are hammocks strung between the palms . . . a breeze maybe . . pelicans and egrets overhead. It's placid and just gorgeous.

Also, a little funky. Jeorge (yes, he spells it that way), the extremely friendly owner, has his trailer hitched up in a far corner of the property. The lot is large, so you don't feel cramped, and he's not meddlesome at all. But . . . it's there.

Also, the small beach is not immaculate (Jeorge could stand to pick up the flotsam and bits of trash). On the other hand, the water is crystalline and cool, and the swimming is very nice. Lovely, in fact.

The cabins themselves are fine and relatively clean and comfortable but a little spotty on the details. For instance, there are kitchens, or rather kitchenettes, but virtually no pots and pans or other basic things you'd need to make even a simple spaghetti dinner. (To be fair, there is a good variety of terrific restaurants all within an easy drive.)

In the smaller cottage, which contains a large bed, there's no closet or chest of drawers or night table or room to breathe in the tiny bathroom. In other words, it's charming but seriously cramped. (The other, 2-bedroom cottage, where we put the kids, is slightly roomier.)

You do have most of what you need: plenty of towels and toilet paper; lots of pillows; a utility shed with washer and dryer; powerful A/C units; and televisions in every room -- four in all for the two small cottages, which seems like overkill. (Who goes to Florida to watch TV?)

There's also a splash pool in the middle of the grounds that's ideal for younger kids -- it comes up to their waists, more or less, and is perfect for cooling off on a hot day.

I don't want to nitpick. This place is great. To repeat the main thing: The setting is spectacular, the grounds are fairly spacious (more than an acre) and -- best of all, for our family -- you're on the beach in the Keys and not in a big standard-issue resort with hordes of other tourists. In other words, if you value privacy and a beach setting, this place is just great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Idyllic!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This is place is simply lovely. The cottages take you back to a simpler time, but still have ALL the necessary amenities - truly comfortable in every way. The private beach is remarkable, as is the dock with its fabulous views. And peacocks strolling through every day - who could ask for more!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jo

Thank you for your very nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We loved having you and we hope that you will come again soon.

All the best,

Tamara
Peacock cottages

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Thanksgiving in Paradise!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Our family spent the best Thanksgiving ever at these quaint cottages in Islamorda, FL. It was so beautiful sitting on the beach and relaxing by the sea. The property was very clean and the owner provided excellent customer service. My 15year old son got to pull stone crab traps on a fishing boat. The stone crabs were delicious. We ate at Lazy Days on Friday night and I highly recommend that restaurant. Some people walking along the beach were staying at a condo down the beach and inquired about Peacock Cottages. They said they would rather be in the cottages than a condo. I have recommended Peacock Cottages to all my friends. I can not wait to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Pleasant stay

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Awesome: It’s the Keys in old days. Endless view. Very peaceful. A few mins from my favorite diving spot (Hens and chicken). I call the Florida Keys (Islamorada) the Caribbean of the U.S.
Can’t wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review