reviews for: listing #75762 - Boston, Massachusetts Condo rental

Little Italy North End Condo in Historic area
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $225 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,350 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Best trip to Boston yet!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

I am so happy that we found this apartment! We have stayed in Boston various times, but always in a hotel. Staying in an apartment in the North End was the best experience we have ever had. We could walk everywhere and see everything. The apartment was just the right size for two adults and two preteen boys. And having a kitchen was so helpful when trying to not spend so much money on food. The apartment was clean and in good condition. It was quiet even on a Friday night when the North End was hopping with crowds of people roaming around. We felt safe and got to know the neighborhood pretty quickly. The owners were very helpful and flexible about our check in time since we drove 12 hours to get to Boston. We will definitely be using this apartment again when we visit Boston. I have to say that we were spoiled by having such great amazing food, activities and history so close. We definitely will miss our nightly walk to Mike's for dessert!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute place, perfect location

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

This was my first time using vacationrentals.com. I was in Boston for a family event that was to take place in Martha's Vineyard; we wanted to come early and play in Boston first. This is a small but well appointed apartment in the heart of the North End. The best things about this apartment are:
- location. It's just off Salem Street so close to everything, but on a quiet side street, so no noise or traffic problems
- fully stocked with amenities in the bathroom, nice soft towels, plenty of soap
- kitchen very well equipped for a vacation rental, including coffee maker and wine glasses, as well as dishwashing soap
- fold out couch; we weren't sure if our adult son would join us, so we wanted this just in case
- living room is good sized for 2 or 3 to hang out in
- the apartment was absolutely spotless
- Mark and Caroline (owners) were very helpful and easy to deal with. Caroline sent us directions and info that we needed in advance of our arrival, which was great.

Not much on the downside but, there is construction going on next door. What used to be an apartment upstairs is being gutted and the downstairs space is a restaurant being remodeled. Not sure what time you can start working in Boston, but the construction started at 7am on Monday and Tuesday. My guess is that it wasn't supposed to be that early. Depending on when you plan to stay, you may want to check to be sure they are done with the work. Oh, and I would have liked a dresser in the bedroom so we could unpack; there is only a closet.

Other than that, we really enjoyed the apartment. I've been to Boston many times, and this is easy walking distance to tons of things you want to do as a tourist, as well as a T stop and lots of great restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you
You were great guests as well. Left the place in great conditions and we were very pleased to deal with you too.
We are sorry about the construction that was taken place, unfortunately we had no control over that building that is at the corner of the street ( it's a restaurant building a second floor) and it's Boston so The City allows them to start at 7 a.m. and we can't refute the City. In any case there is going to be some noise around sometimes since we are in the Heart of Boston closer to all the sites, restaurants, shops, parks, tourists sites, water park and the public transportation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

this place is perfectly placed for our needs

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

Thank you, this place is perfectly placed for our needs. If I plan better next year, I hope for a longer stay with you. Cheers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed our stay in your apartment!

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

Dear Caroline,
we had a great time in Boston and enjoyed our stay in Boston and especially in your appartment very much! Thans again for renting it to us.

Maybe we will be back in Boston next year - so if you don't mind, we might get back to you....
Kind regards
Kirsten

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was perfect for our family of four!

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

It was a perfect spot for us. My cousin got married at the Museum of Science, and we decided to stay at Caroline and Mark's place. So glad we did! This place is in the middle of everything! Restaurants, bars, grocery, Mike's Pastry, a water park, The Garden, a farmers market, a water park...all outside the door, literally.

The layout was perfect, our girls slept on the pull out and loved it. We stayed in the bedroom in a very comfortable bed with nice pillows, soft sheets, and overall the decor of the place was very tasteful and relaxing. The kitchen was ready to rock, the bathroom was clean and recently redone, and there is a lot of storage space throughout.

There were a lot of little details that add up to make it feel like a home...cute compartments in the bathroom for towels, extra shampoo/soap/stuff (there was really decent first aid kit for when my kid cut her foot at the water park!), artwork, the decorative pillows, the rug in the front room was comfy, the armchair was a super place to relax.

And Caroline, who met us with the key, was just lovely. She showed up everything, she gave us recommendations, and she was basically a lovely human being, which to my wife and I is a big part of the equation.

If and when we return to Boston, we will definitely be calling up Caroline again. Since we went to a wedding, we didn't get nearly as much time exploring the neighborhood as I would like. But it is what it is. It's a good excuse to return!

Thanks so much for letting us use your place :)
Andrew & Maya

Owners response: Thank you Andrew for staying with your family at the apartment. You guys were the perfect guests, polite, friendly, respectful of the property and respectful to us. I would love to have you back at any time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Italy

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

Great location, clean, and wonderful location. We could walk everywhere and delicious restaurants. Very pleasant owners.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Sheree - it was a true pleasure meeting you guys

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great North End getaway

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

I stayed with my brother and husband at this cute north end one bedroom. It is furnished with a sofa bed for the third person. Location is key , close to all the restaurants. We did not need a car . Furnished with utensils and kitchen stuff if you need to cook, but we ate out. Felt safe in the area, and the apt itself was quiet. Easy to find , check in and out with very helpful owners. Clean on arrival with extra pillows, towels and blankets provided if needed. Would stay again if in the Boston area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Radha,
we are very happy you enjoyed staying at the apartment. You guys were also great guests, neat and respectful to the property, you guys are welcome to come back any time.
c

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Close to everything. Very walkable distances to all the Boston sites. No need for a car. Very comfortable apartment. The owners anticipated everything (except a clock!). Would go back again because of ease of getting around. No need to venture far for good food - a stone's throw from the front door. Groceries 1/2 block away.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Rita for your nice comment. We really enjoyed also having you there.... and yes, we did have a clock before, but it seems that it was liked very much by ONE of our guests and since nowadays people use their phones to look at the time it was not never requested and we didn't replace it. We will take your suggestion :)
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great apartment, excellent location

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at this apartment. The Blagdens were very helpful from the beginning via email and upon our arrival. We stayed here with our infant son and there were even able to provide a pack and play for him to sleep in. The apartment is a little small (but just right for our family) but the location makes up for that. We were within a short walk of all of the North End, Faneuil Hall and the waterfront. There's a great array of restauarants and bars in the area.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Adequate for 2 people

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Nicely located, very clean, and new furnishings. That said, it is small, poorly air conditioned, a neighbor who smokes and smells up this unit, and was very tight living for us and our 2 kids.

Owners response: There is absolutely no smoking in this unit or in the building, there are people who might smoke outside in the street and sometimes during summer with the windows open there is smell coming from outside the streets. Boston is an old city and the smell they referring to was from pipes they were working on across the streets, the issue was long time resolved. The apartment has windows and is very well ventilated. All our guest have been always happy with our service, the location and the apartment. Once in a while you do get people who might have preferred to stay in a hotel with hotel prices. We serve families and people who appreciate our location and we are very proud about it

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Alternative to a Hotel...convenient location, safe, added amenities

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during a recent trip to Boston. We were in town for a basketball tournament and wanted to stay away from the crowds at the tournament hotels. This apartment was perfect. Being in the North End it was convenient to restaurants and shops and was within walking distance to TD Garden and close to historical/sightseeing landmarks.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great stay in Boston

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

This condo is in such a fabulous and convenient location! Mark may have easily been one of the simplest home rental owners we have ever dealt with. Everything about renting this condo was easy and carefree. We had one problem with a very strange odor coming from the hallway, but my husband called Mark who was extremely concerned about it. We never heard what happened, but the next day the odor had diminished. We highly recommend this condo for the way it looks, its location, and the ease of dealing with the owner! Thanks Mark for helping to make our Boston vaca more enjoyable!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful, convenient, friendly

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

My dad and I stayed here for three days in June, and it was perfect! I don't think I'll ever stay at a hotel in Boston again. As others have noted, this apartment is clean and has very modern fixtures, and the location is amazing. The building does have a slightly funky smell, but I got used to it very quickly and did not notice it after a few minutes.

The owner was so helpful in giving us tips for nearby attractions, and answered all my questions quickly--so helpful, friendly, and easy to work with!

The North End is a beautiful neighborhood to wander around (so much good food!), and it's easy to get to all other parts of the city. One day we actually ended up walking all the way to Fenway, stopping to see the Boston Commons, the Prudential Center, and Newbury Street along the way. We did not have a car and it was absolutely no problem--walking, cabbing, and using the T were all really easy.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Location - Near Everything

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

OK, so renting on-line is always a leap of faith, but this condo did not disappoint! It exceeded our expectations! My husband and I and two teen-age children stayed here for five days and we all wanted to stay longer. The great location can not be emphasized enough! We drove to Boston and were able to park our car in a lot close to the condo and we did not need it for the week. It is a short walk to everything historical in "old city" Boston. Plus it has easy access to the T-line, tour trolleys, harbor attractions, groceries, and numerous restaurants. We were surprised that everything seemed closer together than it appeared on a map. Boston is an amazing city and I would highly recommend Boston as well as this condo to anyone for a visit.

The condo was very clean, decorated nicely, and well maintained. We felt very secure in that there is a locked entrance to the building as well as a lock on the condo door. That said, the neighborhood seemed very safe even at night. We often saw women walking or jogging alone at night. The neighbors were very quiet. We didn't even see them in five days. It is located on the fourth floor, but we didn't mind the quick climb up and down the stairs. The owners supplied an abundance of linens and an easy to use air mattress if you need extra sleep space. The kitchen and bathroom were very clean and modern. It was a pleasure to stay in this lovely condo. I would definitley stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Boston Condo

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

This condo was perfect! We LOVED the North End location with close proximity to all the North End restaurants, Faneuil Hall, and T Stops. The condo was very clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. It had lots of character with exposed beams and bricks. We would definitely recommend this condo and location!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location and charm

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The North End condo was truly our home for one week! Very clean, modern with old-world charm (brick walls and beamed ceilings), small but very livable. Perfect location for enjoying the Italian cafes, pastry shops, etc., and close to the T station. We truly enjoyed our stay! Only drawback (and reason we didn't give 5 stars), the condo is not very soundproof or odor-proof. But would recommend to any traveler with some flexibility who will see that the pluses are greater than the drawbacks! Thank you Mark for your helpful suggestions.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: It was nice having Gildo & Louise stay with us. Our unit, like all of this neighboorhood is made up of more than 100-year-old former waterfront warehouses constructed of brick and heavy wood beams... and it is true there is no way to make these units totally soundproof without covering up the beautiful old walls and ceilings that make the place attractive in the first place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Quaint North End Apartment

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

A very nice apartment, located steps from Quincy Market and the North End restaurants. The apartment is perfect for 1 person or a Couple looking for a romantic getaway.
The place was clean and well maintained. The interior is quite a surprise, with nice wood flooring and granite counter tops. The bathroom is quite spacious as well.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Peter and his wife live were lovely visitors. They live in Western Massachusetts, in the country - and had a little get away in Boston. Just goes to show that the city is a nice vacation destination, even for people who don't live far away.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review