reviews for: listing #75815 - Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Villa rental

Casa Mario--Closest Private VILLA to Medano Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Colonia Medano
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $395 - $495 /nt
    $2,765 - $3,465 /wk
    $8,000 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Location! Nice, Large and Well Maintained

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

I stayed here with 5 friends, on a Guy's Trip. The location was great, being a few blocks to the beach, and a 5 minute walk to downtown Cabo. We carried a cooler full of beer, limes and guacamole to the beach everyday with no problem. Also, lot's of great restaurants close by for breakfast and lunch. The house itself is spacious and in good condition. There is a large wall surrounding the property, so it is private and secure. Also has a place to park a car inside the property. We rented a car, but only drove it once to the supermarket to load up on beer. Otherwise there would be no need for a car, given the great location. Not necessarily a place for families with young children, given that the stairs are a bit steep and the pool does not have any kind of gate around it. Otherwise, I would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jeff,

Glad you guys had a good time and hope that you plan to come back again sometime in the near future. We really like the fact that you don't need a car to get around...makes it really nice and makes me want to live my older years someplace I don't have to drive! Thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Sincerely, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We appreciated the amenities at Casa Mario. It's a very well equipped house (lot's of bottled water, modern kitchen, great bbq, books, games, etc,) with lots of space and a good layout. There a lots of places for folks to sit and read, or congregate to eat, talk or play games. We were greeted with tequila and champagne, which we appreciated and enjoyed all week.

The location is a bit of a two edged sword. On one hand, it is well positioned - less than 5 minute walk to the beach and about a 10 or 15 minute walk to the marina or town. On the other hand, Paseo del Pescador is a busy street and serves as a primary access between the beach and rest of the area. As a result, there is considerable street noise from passing buses, trucks and cars. The house is also flanked by two properties that keep dogs outside, and they bark. Not all day/night, but we were very aware of them.

So, great house, great amenities, great access, but not the quietest spot.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Larry,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about Casa Mario. I hope that your trip was an overall success and that you rang in the New Year with gusto.

We have owned the house for the last ten years and made improvements each year, as money allows. The last job was the kitchen--which I haven't even seen yet but will in a couple of weeks.

NEXT on the list are new windows and doors for the bedrooms. Sound proofing the bedrooms has been on my mind for a few years now, and I am aware that the street can be heard at times--it was a lot quieter when it was sand! Dirtier, but quieter. You're right that it's a two edged sword, being close to everything has a couple of drawbacks, sound from the street being one of them.

Give me a ring before you plan your next trip, and I'll be able to let you know if we have the sliding doors and windows done by then.

Thanks again, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING TRIP...AMAZING PLACE...AMAZING RENTAL HOME

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

I have wanted to go to Cabo for the last 20 years so we did a lot of research. So glad we did, the trip was amazing! I am a true fan for life. When we arrived at Casa Mario from long travels we were greeted by Tim's staff of wonderful people. Waiting for us in the kitchen was a case of beer chillin' in the fridge, bottle of tequila and 6 shot glasses with fresh limes...mmmmmm. Little did we know and came to understand later, the fresh limes were really fresh because there are two lime trees by the pool out back!!! Also there was a shirt with the Casa Mario logo on the front and the words "best kept secret in Cabo" on the back. The house was perfect for our stay of 9 days. You literally can WALK to the best of everything that Cabo San Lucas has to offer. The info that Tim provides you on what to do in Cabo is priceless. If you follow everything he says on the move in sheet you will be guaranteed a fabulous time. The house had free internet, awesome remodeled kitchen, great yard and pool, BBQ grill for all the fish, great rooms and beds, washer & dryer, and you also feel secure with the walls of privacy. We did rent a car because we wanted to explore and there is parking behind closed doors at the house, perfect! Tim also turned us on to a local real estate expert and partner in a fishing charter. We took him up on the offer and had the time of our lives. 11 Dorato, 1 tuna, and a 130 lb. Marlin later, well what else needs to be said. The name of the boat was Rantin & Ravin with captain Havi and crew...true professionals. The restaurants, the beach, the great times, all due to my new friend Tim Davidson and Casa Mario. Do yourself and your friends and family a favor, RENT THIS HOUSE!!!!!!! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! Did I say you can WALK to everything that is worth seeing in CABO...ok just checking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Paul,

What a GREAT review! I think you are in first place...thank you. It's all true and I am glad that it is you saying it instead of me!

Thanks again, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location with all the facilities

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We took our 5 teenagers to Cabo for the first time this year. We needed space and activities to make it enjoyable. Casa Mario had it all. Everyone had their own bed, there was room to move throughout the property without being crowded, and the facilities of the house made it a true holiday without the hassle of a hotel. The location could not have been better for what we wanted, The beach was a three minute walk, the mall maybe 5 minutes and with another 2 minutes, you were in the middle of town. We shopped at the City Club at the end of the street - great for supplies although some bulk packaging left some waste behind. Restaurants were close by - the steak house literally across the street from the house our favourite. Highly recommended for larger groups that want to do their own thing in their own time. Thanks Tim

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am glad that your trip was deemed a success, especially since you traveled farther than most--Australia. Hope to see you again in future summers. Thanks again, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip With Friends!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

First things first, Tim the owner is a great guy and helps you step by step. The house is exactly what it looks like in the pictures, except better! The price is really great for how many people it can hold and the house comes fully stocked with everything you need to have a great trip. the best part about this house is the location of the house its two blocks away from the beach and the city club (like a Costco) and its 4 or 5 blocks away from the Cabo nightlife! The pool at the house was also very nice so we could relax in private and have a nice time by ourselves. Go to the mango deck for fun during the day and at night go to Happy Endings for the best drink specials around (2 double shots of tequila and 2 pacificos for $5) Overall the house was great and another trip is already in the works to stay at Casa de Mario!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

bachelor party.

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

This was my bachelor/birthday party weekend, and what a great time we had. The house was user friendly and the proximity to the beach and town were it's best features as far as I'm concerned. We had some great outdoor barbecue's and some bar hopping excursions. My family from New York said they would love to make this a yearly event, it was worth the travel. I've been coming to Los Cabos since 1983 and I can't remember a better trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Armando,
Thanks for taking the time to submit your review...they are very helpful to those who may be going to Cabo for the first time. I think that's a great testimony that you've been going there for 30 years and had your best trip yet. Awesome. Thanks again, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelor Party - Cinco de Mexico

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

We had a group of 10 guys that were ready to have a memorable time sending off one of our closest friends. With such a diverse group it was challenging to find a place that was accessible to all the fun that Cabo has to offer, but wasn't going to break the bank. Then we found Casa de Mario. What a hidden gem. I even contemplated not writing this review to prevent us from using it again in the near future.

First, feel confident that you are dealing with a reputable owner, Tim Davidson. He was a pleasure doing business with. Very helpful in his recommendations to restaurants, shopping, and activities. Also, he was very helpful with coordinating our visit and handling the accommodations (ie. being the middle-man with the maid-service and the property management).

When it comes to being in the mix of it all this is the best value you will find in Cabo . We walked less than a 1/4 mile to the beach everyday and mixed it up with all of the talent at the beach. It was as if we were staying at the high-end hotels without paying their high-end prices. We used their bars, pools, and many other amenities.

Casa de Mario was perfect for a big group (8-12). Everyone had a place to sleep comfortably. There are plenty of showers and toilets. The maid keeps the house very clean and it is stocked with the essentials. We literally only purchased alcohol, snacks, and bottled water (although the house was supplied with filtered water, it was easier for us to take the bottled waters with us). The rest of the time we went out to eat at the many great restaurants that were recommended.

You will not be upset with Casa de Mario. I received a lot of kudos from the party before and after we arrived. Tim, we all appreciated your guidance and look forward to staying at Casa de Mario again real soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Wow, that's a great review Justin and somewhat humbling to be honest. Very kind of you to write in such detail. I am very glad that your trip was a success and encouraged to hear that the rest of your group all had a good time. Thanks again for the kind words, and hope to have you back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't Get Any Better!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Mario's. It is right in the mix, convenient to everything...but you are not living next to a club (thank god, you can't be at the club your WHOLE visit!). The beds were all super comfy and everything was clean and fresh. The a/c worked great and we had a blast at the pool which was always refreshing. This place has all the comforts of home...movies if you want 'em, karaoke by the pool if that is your deal, plenty of pots, pans and plates etc. if you love to cook fresh fish or try your hand at the local flavors. Thanks Tim for the cool t-shirt..I kinda hope it remains the best kept secret!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bryan,
Glad to hear that everybody had a good time and that they are already "pining" to go again. It does get under your skin you know. Hope to have you back sometime soon. Thanks again, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kyle

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

The house was incredible! My friends and I spent a week in Cabo for our spring break, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The house location was unbelievable. Just a 2-3 minute walk to the nearest beach, and a 5-7 minute walk to downtown Cabo. It was also a very well maintained place. Tim was great, he was very helpful throughout the whole process, giving us all of the resources we needed to have a fun and successful trip. By far the best experience we could have had in Cabo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Kyle,
Glad you had a great time on your vacation. Hope to have you and your friends back for many years to come. Thanks for the kind words and for taking the time to post them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Mario and Cabo great experience

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Great house and great location. Everything you could want at the house and you can walk everywhere. We were met at the house by the property manager to show us around. Everyone was easy to work with. Perfect house for 3 families or 7-10 on guys/girls get away. Short walk to a great beach. Tim had great recommendations for fishing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dave,

Glad you and your group had a great time. Hope you guys can and stay with us again sometime soon. And thanks for the nice review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent centralized location

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

Literally 2 blocks from the beach and very private. We were met at the door on arrival by the cleaning staff and a bottle of tequila! That was the last time I remember seeing either. We returned every afternoon to a clean house. Location x3. From the house it is an easy walk to most of the best restaurants in cabo san lucas, beach and the marina. It is an easy taxi ride but a very doable walk to the nightlife and clubs. The house is spacious with multiple areas for lounging and all the necessary amenities. I will be back and have already recommended to friends. The owner was extremely helpful with a list of restaurants, attractions and helpful tips we used throughout the trip.

Recommend: coffee, breakfast and diner at Bar Esquina. Breakfast on the sand at The Office. Dancing at Disco Mandala and Pink Kitty. Sailing with Captain Bob, Day Sail Cabo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Greg,

Glad you had a great time and really glad you will be back, and really-really glad you are already referring your friends! Awesome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Very nice house, clean and plenty of room to relax, perfect location to everything from the beach to downtown Cabo. Close to fantastic restaurants. The private pool was a life saver due to the hot weather day and night. Tim (the owner) was extremely helpful with suggestions for activities, food and everything else you could think of. Completely satisfied with our stay and look forward to staying there again !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Christina,

Glad you had a good time and glad you plan on coming back to stay with us. We love it for all the same reasons. Hope to see you soon. Thanks, Tim.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven like Villa

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We went there on Memorial Day weekend 2011, and we loved it so much that we returned it again in 2012. We still love it, a lot!

The place is a two stories building, with three bedrooms upstairs and a large living area downstairs. We had 5 people the first time and 7 people the second time, and we can easily add a couple more: there's plenty space (and bathrooms!).

The place has its own pool. While we were not at the beach, we could just hang out near our pool, and chat under the lovely shades and mild morning sun.

The house has satellite TV and internet and of course phone, so we stay connected with America. The maid came every day, all the towels that we took to the beach were washed, and the place is kept really clean. It has a full kitchen, which we did not cook enough, but we made plenty drinks!

The location cannot be better. We can easily walk to the beach (it's only 5 minutes away). It was right next door to CaboMe, so that provided another interesting shortcut. We also loved the restaurants near by (all within 5 minutes walk, if not right next door): Peacock, where we had two birthday dinners; Jelina, recommended by the house owner, and it did have the best shrimp taco in the world; and our new found breakfast place. It's also only a 10 minutes walk from the "downtown" bars and restaurants, if we did not want to take a cab.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jie,

Very happy to have you again, and glad to hear that you are learning your way around the neighborhood. It really is good eating right at your doorstep. I am excited myself as I am heading down this week to take it all in. Hope you and your ever-expanding group come back again and again. Thanks again, Tim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay - convenient

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Lovely house and great maid. Convenient for everything and we had a brilliant time. Breakfast and lunch at the Office are fantastic as are the other recommendations for eating out. My only grumble is to please upgrade the mattresses - two of the twin beds have springs coming through - and the other beds are really hard so that would put me off coming back! The cheap but good massage on the beach sorted out the aches though! Thanks Tim.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Emily,

So sorry to hear of the beds. Our last guest made us aware of the problem and we didn't have time to replace them before you arrived. We will have both twins replaced this week, one with a twin and one with a queen. The queen will be a little softer for your next trip. Promise! And I will pick up your tab at The Office for your inconvenience. Wish we were able to get them replaced before you had arrived.

thanks, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house with the best location in Cabo

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

This place was truly amazing. As soon as we got there we were met with the property manager to show us around and answer any of the questions we had. The place was just as we pictured, but open space downstairs, and 3 great bedrooms upstairs all with their separate bathrooms. The outside was phenomenal. The grill is perfect and we used it every day. Around the corner to the pool was amazing. Margaritas and lounging by the pool was an every day ritual. With just a 5 minute walk to Madeno Beach you could not make it any easier. Breakfast at The Office, and day parties at the Mango Deck really made the trip. The maid was great and she cleaned everyday for us, even when she did not have to. If you are looking for a great trip to stay with a good number of people this is the perfect spot. Tim made booking this trip very easy for me and he was very helpful with all the little details.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Ed,

Glad to hear that your trip went well and that you enjoyed the house. It's always good to hear back from guests, and get confirmation that it really is that much fun in Cabo! Sometimes I think it's just me, but then I hear back from you!

Thanks again, and hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

casa mario review from the week of 3/18/12

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Great time had by all. Tim's advice was spot on for negotiating our way around Cabo. Acess to everything was easy and you really don't need a car. If you do, just go next door to Melia resort and rent one for $50/day, simple. Medano beach is awesome, and breakfast @ the Office was a daily ritual (french toast is to die for).
Please consider upgrading the beds or maybe adding gel foam mattress covers for a more comfortable sleep. The springs are coming thru on a couple beds. Other than that, we'll see ya next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Bryan,

Thanks for the heads up on the mattress. I was just there and didn't see any problems and nobody else has said anything. I will have the property manager replace any that are damaged. Glad to hear that you had a good time, and glad to hear that you are coming back next year.

Sincerely, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Cabo Vacation Pad

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

What a great place to stay! As soon as we booked it, we receive an info packet from Tim with ideas of things to do. That was so helpful.If you are looking for a great place for 3 couples to stay...look no further. We stayed for one week with 3 couples at this house, and it was awesome.The house was fully stocked with everything that we needed in the kitchen to make breakfast, lunch and dinner. The beds were very comfortable(and I am really picky!), there's plenty of living space for everyone to spread out, the dinning room table was large enough for 8 people, and the washer and dryer are a great plus.
The location is great. Really close to everything, but not too close.If you are looking for the best margarita in town go to the Monkey Business Bar. It is the best margarita we have ever had. Made completely from scratch with real fruit. WOW!! We also found an awesome place for $20 per hour massages. What a treat having a massage every afternoon followed by an awesome margarita.
We rented a van at the airport for the week and felt very comfortable with having a parking place that was behind a gate and never had to look for parking. We always felt very safe.The house is so close to everything that we only used the van to go grocery shopping, to get back and forth to the airport and for day excursions.
The cleaning lady was great. She would come whatever days we wanted her. She did a great job. She even did our laundry. We really wanted to bring her home us us.
The property management people met us at the property when we arrived on the first day and showed us around and were very helpful. They showed us how everything worked and where everything was. They even had the cable music channel on with Christmas music....that was odd as it was 80 degrees outside.
We will definitely rent this house again, hopefully for longer than one week next time. Thanks for sharing this great house, with a great location with us.....it was a very memorable vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Craig,
I am so glad you had a great time. If you can believe it, I haven't had THAT margarita yet, but will definitely do it next month when I go down. Need to get that massage info too for our future guests. Thanks again, and hope to have you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

cabo hidden gem

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

i am not the kind of guy who writes reviews, but tim (the owner) is such a great guy, and the casa de mario is such a perfect vacation option, that i want to make sure it continues to be available for rental. The location is ideal for going to the beach,shopping,and dining,( and drinking) downtown. the house has all you need for a relaxing stay. i have rented it on numerous occasions and tim keeps adding new touches. on my recent visit there were new couches in the greatroom, a new gas grill, and a safe in the bedroom. all were very much appreciated. the pool is great for a refreshing dip on a hot day. most importantly. tim, the management team, and lenore (the housekeeper) can always be relied on to handle any problem that may arise. peace of mind on vacation in mexico is a real plus in my book! tim, thanks again and keep up the good work!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Jeff,
Glad to have you and keep coming back! We look forward to taking care of you and your group year after year. Thanks again for the kind words.

Sincerely, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Epic Weekend in Cabo

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We recently stayed at the Casa de Mario to celebrate a 30th birthday and bachelor party. All of us had a fantastic time and really enjoyed the condo. Pictures, descriptions and conversations with the owner were all very accurate. In fact, the accomodations were actually better than expected.

Location and amenities were great. Safety never felt like a concern as the house is very secure. The owner of the property had great recommendations for all kinds of great activities and food. Promiximity to the nightlife simply can't be beat...close enough to easily walk to and from the bars but still out of the way enough to be peaceful and quiet if need be.

I would highly recommend any group of 6 or more people to stay at this house. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Tony,
Glad to hear your trip was a success. Thank you for the kind words and we truly hope to have you and your friends and family come back and stay with us. We are always trying to improve the property and your vacation experience. See you soon, we hope. Thanks again, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Oasis in the heart of Downtown!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

This house has it all, location, amenities and an owner who makes sure you enjoy your stay! The staff are incredibly friendly and courteous keeping everything pristine and comfortable, the pool is perfect and the brand new outdoor grill is the best place to grill up your catch of tuna or dorado. This was my first trip to Cabo and having the beach, marina and party district all within an easy walk really made the difference. We had very successful fishing trips catching yellowfin, dorado, wahoo and Striped Marlin! So unfortunately we didn't frequent the many fine-dining restaurants within a two block radius of the house but next time I go I am going to leave the cooking to the cooks! Thanks for the great house Tim and I will be sure to tell everyone I know about this killer deal!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: That's a great report James. I love it when a plan comes together! It really is a great location that allows you to maximize your fun time and minimize your transportation costs. We look forward to having you back again. Thanks, Tim.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT HOUSE. GREAT LOCATION

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

Just got back yesterday from my bachelor party weekend with 10 guys. Tim's house had plenty of space to sleep us all very comfortably. The swimming pool, brand new grill and all amenities were just perfect. The kitchen had all the things we needed to cook up huge meals. The house is also super secure & well protected. We all felt very safe. The location is also perfect. Literally just steps away from the beach bars, great off-the-beaten path restaurants and the swanky Nikki Beach Pool Club right next door. Couldn't have asked for a better location and all of Tim's personal recommendations were right on target

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: That's a great report Rick. If you do Cabo right, it gets under your skin and you have to go back again and again. That's how we ended up buying there! Glad you had a good time and look forward to taking care of you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You have got to stay here!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

We brought our kids and their friends (aged 17 - 22) to Cabo for Spring Break and stayed at Casa de Mario. Seven people total. Everything Tim said about the house was absolutely right: great location, great price, great weather. The casa had everything we needed: beach bags and towels for day trips, the City Club two blocks away for stocking the fridge, a home-made travel guide for where to go and what to do, games and movies for early nights in, and much more. Of course, the kids enjoyed the mall - while Mom and Dad enjoyed the casino! We made a big breakfast every morning and went out for fabulous meals at night. We would have paid much more for two or three resort hotel rooms; it was so nice to all be together. I highly recommend Casa de Mario.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Linda,

Thank you for your kind words. We love it too. If you really want to taste Cabo, then this house is a good fit. Hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely, Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location and plenty of space

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

I took an extended weekend trip with four friends of mine to Cabo and we stayed at the Casa de Mario. The house was perfect. There was plenty of space and each bedroom had at least two beds. The housekeeper was nice and even washed our clothes. The location is perfect because you are about halfway between Medano Beach (the main beach in town) and the city center where all the nightlife is. This way you end up saving money on cabs because everything is a block or two away. I would recommend this to anyone looking to book a group trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Introduction to Cabo

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

I've stayed twice at this property. The photographs show exactly how comfortable and well-maintained it is. If you want any of the action in Cabo, you'll find the main part of the town is just a few minutes's walk away as are the beach and the port. If you want to be away from the action, the house is private and completly secluded behind high walls and an easy to open gate to allow you to protect a car should you have one, although a car is hardly necessary. I've recommended this house to everyone I can imagine who would enjoy a week or two in Cabo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time - can't wait to go back!

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

great time was had by all; good food, drinks, weather and company!!!! Your house is set up perfectly for renters - love the writing on the drawers and cabinets. Location, location, location - perfect,
perfect, perfect. I enjoyed the walks to Starbucks in the morning for coffee, street vendor down from the fire station had the best hamburgers; may have to return just for a burger. Thank you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelorette Trip

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2008

My girl friends and I were planning a Bachelorette party, and we didn’t want to do the same old tired trip to Vegas. So we decided to head down to Cabo San Lucas and spend a few days in the sun. We chose to stay at Casa de Mario because it offers a great deal for a big party like ours (eight people), and is within walking distance to Medano beach and lots of clubs and restaurants. We didn’t have to worry about renting a car or catching a taxi, which would add up for a large party like ours, so that was a total plus. The house is very spacious; our party of eight had plenty of room to spread out. The house has a pool, which offers private lounging and sunbathing. Each bedroom has a full bath attached to it, and there is an additional half bathroom downstairs, which allowed all the girls to get ready to go out at the same time.

The house is located just around the corner from the Melia, which is one of the nicest, high-end resorts in Cabo. The girls and I spent a lot of our time hanging out there, lounging at the pool and at their nightclub.

Casa de Mario is in collaboration with the hotel Marina Sol (just around the corner), so when we had any questions regarding excursions or trips, they were very helpful. They helped us plan a day trip to Todos Santos and horse back riding on the beach. We stayed for four nights, and every morning we would walk to the beach and have breakfast at the Office or the Melia. We liked eating on the beach and watching the waves, but there are so many restaurants to pick from in that area. In all, I’m so glad we found this gem, and would definitely stay there again when returning to Cabo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great reasonably-priced option in Cabo w/fantastic location!

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

If you're looking for an alternative to another cookie-cutter hotel room & have between 3-9 people in your group, Tim's house is a fantastic choice in Cabo. As others have mentioned, the location is truly ideal-- just a couple blocks from *the* beach in Cabo with the fancy hotels/fun bars. We had 5 folks in our party, and the 3 upstairs bedrooms (w/a queen + single bed in each) + 3.5 baths were great to give everyone their own space. The upstairs can get a little warm during the afternoon sun, but don't be fooled-- it cools right down at night; we didn't even use the A/C in our bedroom.

The main floor has loads of space-- 2 areas with couches + a big table + open kitchen + private pool are all great common areas for socializing with your group. The kitchen had everything needed to whip up some meals/snacks, though we followed Tim's recommendation of breakfast at "The Office" both mornings we were there!

To that end, Tim provides a helpful document outlining all of the details about the property & the area, complete with various restaurant tips. The vonage phone at the house was a nice touch to be able to chat w/friends in the States during our stay. The whole place was very clean, and both the maid & pool guy stopped by during our stay.

I investigated other house options around Cabo before booking with Tim, but I didn't find anything else that could match this very reasonable price point with your own pool + the ability to walk to all the restaurants/bars in town. If you're worried about not having a property right on the beach, we solved that by negotiating with one of the security guys at the fancy hotel beach clubs & secured lounge chairs on the beach + use of their massive pool all day for $100 pesos-- a much better deal!

In summary, definitely worth staying here if you want to be close to all the action in Cabo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

close to the beach

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2008

Great location. We never needed a car. Walked to the beach( where the best bar/restraunt is located and jet ski rentals), restraunts and the harbor. It is funished very nice and the rooms and the kitchen are great size. Felt luxurious. Small pool but never needed to use it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sorry this review got entered three times...haven't figured out how to remove other two

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best In Cabo

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2009

Stayed for an 8 day period and had an amazing time. The house is in a prime location for food, the beach, nightlife, and pretty much everything you would want to do in Cabo. House is very spacious and has all the amenities you need. Very well decorated and the maid comes by everyday to keep it clean. The pool is great after lounging at the beach or for a late night swim. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in Cabo.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Ricky...I appreciate you taking time to write the review of our house. I hope you can make it down to Cabo again sometime soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay!

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

Casa De Mario is the perfect place to stay in Cabo. Whether you're going with family, for a mellow and laid back vacation or with friends looking to party. Not only is the location is impeccable (it is literally less than a five minute walk to the beautiful and only swimming beach in Cabo, but it is also walking distance to ALL the hot spots--food, clubs, bars and the mall.) The house itself is beautiful and contains all the appliances you'll need. The pool is aaaamazing! Housekeeping is also something you can inquire about, this was convenient as well. I would highly recommend this house for anyone looking to vacation in Cabo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Rebecca. Sorry to hear that you couldn't make the follow up trip this coming summer. Maybe in the fall?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST POSSIBLE LOCATION IN CABO!

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2009

I have stayed at this house a couple times now and will stay here every single time I go to Cabo. The house is so close to EVERYTHING. You can walk to the beach, walk to downtown, walk to the mall, walk pretty much anywhere you need to go. The house isn't just close to everything, it's also REALLY, REALLY NICE. The pictures don't do it justice, you have to be there to get a feel of just how awesome this place is. Checking in and out is really easy and everyone there is extremely nice and cares about making sure you have the best possible trip. All in all an easy 5 stars.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

One of my most fun vacations - EVER. The thing I liked best about the house is the home like atmosphere. The amenities are great, the entire creature comforts of home. (Well stocked kitchen with supplies, not food. But groceries are close by at City Club). The casa does not feel synthetic like hotels or resorts. It is as cozy as home. Saunter down the stairs in the morning, make your coffee, lie on the couch, watch TV or take your coffee outside to the pool area. Mornings are beautiful in Cabo. Walk down to the beach and have a traditional Mexican breakfast at the Office or have a late breakfast at Gardenias. Their fish tacos cannot be beat. Casa de Mario is close to everything. If you walk slowly, it is just a 10 minute walk to the beach, mall or night life. If you are a people watcher, then check out the Mango Deck during the afternoon. The Mango Dick is right on the beach, and next to the Office, it is a great source of entertainment. Get there early and partake in the games. You will meet people from all over the world at Mango Deck. Pack lite and take a hat. Do not forget to hydrate, hydrate and hydrate. Humidity is high, but fabulous. Only 83 more days until my return. YIPPEE!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

Place was absolutely perfect. Only day we needed a car was to go deep sea fisihin. A short walk to teh beach and the same to the clubs and Marina. Plenty of room for the 6 of us a pool in the back fresh water. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Owner was very helpfull as far as setting us up locally as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review