reviews for: listing #75883 - Santa Barbara, California Cottage rental

1920's Classic cottage Heart of Downtown 2 blks to State St.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown/Riviera
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $189 - $285 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,421 /wk

sort by:

Our Home Away From Home

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stays in this lovely cottage during the month of February of 2014 and during the month of January of 2013. It is the perfect location for taking self-guided walking tours of some of the historic neighborhoods of the City, which we love to do. It is also half a block from one of the most beautiful public buildings in the United States, the Santa Barbara County Courthouse and surrounding arboretum. The many fine restaurants and shops along State Street also are well within walking distance. Being mid-westerners, the weather has been sensational for us both times. The house is clean, bright and comfortable and perfectly suits our needs.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding weekend rental.

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

If your looking for a nice clean rental getaway in Santa Barbra, this is the place. The owners were very accommodating in letting us have 5 people say there. Close to State St and only blocks from the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cottage in Paradise

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

My three daughters and I were on a mission. San Miguel Island was our destination but we had more than a week to explore Santa Barbara. We found all the places our family had lived and the friends we made in the late 70’s – 90’s while studying landscape evolution on the California coast. The cottage was in the perfect location, quiet and peaceful, nicely decorated, and fully stocked for cooking. We walked to the farmer’s markets, restaurants, art museum, and shopping. Short drives to the botanical gardens, Arts and Crafts festival, natural history museum, piers, mission, parks and beaches made our visit complete. My daughters even jogged to the beach every morning and enjoyed the run (I think it was just over a mile). We had to wait for the fog to lift on the day of our flight to the island but everything worked out perfectly—blue sky and flowers everywhere. We wish to visit again and hope to stay in this lovely cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cottage in Paradise

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

My three daughters and I were on a mission. San Miguel Island was our destination but we had more than a week to explore Santa Barbara. We found all the places our family had lived and the friends we made in the late 70’s – 90’s while studying landscape evolution on the California coast. The cottage was in the perfect location, quiet and peaceful, nicely decorated, and fully stocked for cooking. We walked to the farmer’s markets, restaurants, art museum, and shopping. Short drives to the botanical gardens, Arts and Crafts festival, natural history museum, piers, mission, parks and beaches made our visit complete. My daughters even jogged to the beach every morning and enjoyed the run (I think it was just over a mile). We had to wait for the fog to lift on the day of our flight to the island but everything worked out perfectly—blue sky and flowers everywhere. We wish to visit again and hope to stay in this lovely cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved!! Great home!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We loved the quaintness of the home, the outside seating which we used for every meal and found the location awesome for walking all over. It was off a very quiet street and worked well for the 5 of us. We found the home had everything that we needed for cooking family meals including using the outdoor grill twice.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect spot for a stay in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

We were coming from Minnesota, and looking for a place to hang with our son who lives in LA, for a few days. This was a perfect place for all of us. Very clean, and comfortable, and perfectly located. We easily walked to the Mission and other historical sites, the beach, and the great restaurants on or near State Street. Owner/landlords are very easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

Cottage was incredible! There were four of us, and we all had such a great time! I would recommend bringing your own knives, because the ones provided were not very sharp, but overall, we had a great experience and look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location, location, location

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

I rented this cottage with my mom and boyfriend for my brothers's wedding in SB. The location is so close to the court house and downtown, it made our downtime really easy. Having access to wifi and a parking pass made the stay very convenient. The house is incredibly quiet, surrounding cottages are very quiet too, makes for great sleeping. Great use of space in a small house. Santa Barbara and the surrounding hills are beautiful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Just returned to cold and snowy Chicago from a long weekend in Santa Barbara with my sister. This charming home was perfect for us -- it is beautifully updated, well maintained and amazingly clean. The location is AWESOME...walking distance to everything State St. has to offer, a little longer walk to the Wharf, and just a short drive to the Santa Ynez Valley for wine tasting or cute coastal towns like Summerland. We loved our time in Santa Barbara and we were very comfortable coming home at night to a great sleep in this comfy home. Thank you Tom and Sasha for making our stay so enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Weekend in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

The house was very nice, clean and comfortable. It was in a wonderful location and close to great shopping and restaurants. I would definitely recommend it.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and very comfortable!!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We loved this place! It was very convenient to everything. The beds are soooo comfortable! This little cottage had everything we needed! We'll definitely be coming back here to stay!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Happy travelers slept here.....

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

This is an adorable little cottage perfect for our time in Santa Barbara. We felt it was a PERFECT location for all the places we needed to be around our son's wedding in Santa Barbara. We ate at several restaurants, did lots of walking on State Street, found the Farmer's Market, took the trolley to Stearns Wharf and beach areas, and visited the top of the courthouse all without needing a car. Since we did have a car the parking permit that came with the rental was a tremendous help! Thank you for letting us use your darling cottage...you were extremely helpful and easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

We recently stayed at this Downtown Santa Barbara Cottage, and were so pleased with it! If anything, it is even more lovely than the pictures on the site show. I estimate that the cottage is about 80 years old, but has been completely redone within the last few years. The bed is the most comfortable of any that we have found in a rental. The kitchen was is compact, but has a gas stove, refrigerator, a dishwasher, and a disposal which created such a functional room.

The location is just great, and is within 2 or 3 blocks of State Street, which is the heart of a very fun, trendy Downtown area. The architecture in the area is stunning, and there are movies, shopping, and so many restaurants within walking distance. What fun in our car-driven world!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

This was my first time in Santa Barbara. The property was just as pictured in the listing. Great little cottage for our group of 4. The owner is great, and met us at the property, even though our flight had been 4-5 hours delayed. We had a rental car, but everything we wanted to see was in walking distance. The cottage was clean and well maintained. I would certainly recommend this cottage to a friend or relative planning to stay in Santa Barbara. Loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming and comfortable SB cottage

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

This little cottage, just a couple blocks from the heart of downtown, was perfect for our needs. Beautifully renovated, with all the delight and charm of old Santa Barbara, it was also very clean, well furnished and supplied. And even though close to downtown, it was quiet and situated in a private location. To top it all off, the property manager couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating for all our needs. I hope to return for a stay when I am next in Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

immaculate, charming, amazing, fun!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

I found this gem online and hoped it would be perfect for my friends and I to stay at... it was more than perfect!! It was spotlessly clean, fully furnished, incredibly comfortable! I would highly recommend this charming cottage to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Santa Barbara Cottage

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

I recently stayed at this cottage with some friends for a long weekend. We loved the cottage! It was a little cozy with 5 people, but the owner had warned us of that before hand, however, it was great for 5 close friends. Everything was clean and worked easily. Loved the style of the place. Definitely recommend this place to others! Close to State street, shopping, restaurants and urban wine tasting. If you are willing to go for a short walk you can also get to the beach without a car. We cooked most nights in the kitchen which was very nice with newish appliances.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Cute house in a great location

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We were a little skeptical about the size of the house, thought it was too small for 3 adults and 1 child. However, its amazing to see how this cute house accommodates everything in such a small place. It has everything you need and its very nicely and tastefully done. Best thing about the house is its location, its right in middle of down town and still quiet. Easy walk to several interesting places in downtown.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

We stayed at this cottage the weekend prior to Thanksgiving with our two kids 8 and 13. It was just perfect. The cottage is very cozy and has been beautifully redone. It has all the modern amenities we needed but still had the charm of an older cottage.

The best part is the LOCATION!, you are two blocks from States Street and are able to walk to everything. We walked to great restaurants, shopping, movies and more. It was so nice not to have to worry about taking the car out every time you wanted to do something.

Sasha and Tom where very accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Little Cottage

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Beautifully redone cottage. We had great stay. It was an easy walk to State Street for our family (kids 3 & 6) and everything we needed to make it feel like a home away from home.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From email

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

I cannot begin to tell you what a wonderful time we had and that it was all made possible by the wonderful accomodations at your little cottage on Figueroa.
Everything was just perfect. I can't believe that we discovered this treasure right in the heart of Santa Barbara!
You will definitely be hearing from us again on our next visit to California and I am spreading the word among our many relatives of your darling Santa Barbara cottage.

Many many thanks for making it so nice for us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review