reviews for: listing #75908 - Marina Del Rey, California Condo rental

Best-at-the-Beach - California Dreamin' - One House to Ocean
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Marina Peninsula
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $159 - $174 /nt
    $1,008 - $1,113 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

A Delightful Place!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

We loved our stay at Best-at-the-Beach. It was a delightful place and we enjoyed being so close to the beach. We would like to return another time and will contact you when we know what our plans are for next year. It's a great location for us, in addition to being a lovely spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stellar home and owners!

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This rental is GORGEOUS and blew away all of our expectations. From the beginning, Jamie and Noi were incredibly helpful and responsive to my husband and I. Upon arriving, we had to check the address twice - just to make sure we were at the right place. We thought there was no way we were lucky enough to be so close to the ocean...the ad is as true to the rental as it could ever be and if anything, didn't do it justice!

The kitchen was well stocked and every detail was thought of. It's apparent that they really care about the property and the people who stay there as guests. Little things like rolls of quarters (in exchange for bills) available for laundry and parking, a welcome guide to help orient you to the house and area, as well as a printer - filled with ink! - in the office area, really made a huge impact on us. We wanted for nothing and it was by far the most relaxing property we could have secured.

If you're thinking about renting this space...STOP! Stop thinking and just do it. You really won't regret it and if you don't do it, you'll be missing out hugely. We've already booked their larger rental space for next year and know we'll be coming back for many, many years to come!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Home!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

Well now we consider this wonderful home of yours our home away from home. Thank you again for a lovely vacation. We wish you a new year filled with all good things.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gezellig!

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

We really enjoyed Best at the Beach. A very, very nice apartment. As we say in Dutch: Gezellig. It has everything you need. It felt so good. Thank you for making a stay at Marina del Rey unforgettable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stay Longer Next Time!

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed Best-at-the-Beach. Everything was perfect and just like the pictures. We especially enjoyed the champagne when we arrived and the fresh fruit. It was also a pleasant surprise to find that we didn't have to drive down Pacific Ave. to get to Washington. We will have to stay longer next time! Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Beach House!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

Your wonderful beach house made our last week of honeymoon perfect. We enjoyed the days on the beach and in the city so much. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Are Coming Back!

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

It was such a pleasant time we had in your house. We loved the beach. Next year we are coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love this location and the accommodations

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

This is our second stay at Best-at-the Beach and we plan to come back.

The location in Marina Peninsula is ideal for us: quiet, private, surrounded by beautiful homes and scenery, steps from the beach and the channel that gives boats access to the Marina del Rey docking facilities (love watching the boats going in and out) yet near to restaurants, shopping and activities, including those of Venice Beach and Santa Monica . We have really enjoyed bike riding to Venice Beach and beyond with the bikes provided by our terrific hosts, Noi and Jamie.

Importantly, we are able to cook for and entertain our two sons, who live in la, the way we want because the kitchen is fully equipped and well appointed. The layout of the space is fine for this purpose. In short, we found the location, accommodations and amenities to be as advertised.

Noi and Jamie are accessible, helpful, responsive and charming. They have made us feel welcomed and comfortable during our two stays.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Brilliant Time!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

We have had a brilliant time here. The place is wonderful in a fantastic location and you have put so much thought into everything. So much more was provided than we expected and little touches like leaving rolls of quarters were brilliant. !Many Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Loved the Best-at-the-Beach, the beach, watching the fireworks, watching the boats in the channel, the Venice Canals, and the long walks on the beach. I didn't even mind the LA driving. I've heard nightmares about driving there. Thanks for making our stay a wonderful experience and we may have to contact you again in the future about staying there or one of your other properties.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll Be Back

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

We love Marina del Rey and were especially impressed with your southwest corner. the quiet neighborhood, the proximity of the beach and channel and the incredible effort you've put into the BATB made for a wonderful week. Thank you so much. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Memories

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Once again we have returned to our "home" away from home! The only thing missing is "you"! Aaron's graduation was just lovely! Beautiful weather and memories we made will be cherished forever. Thank you for the great coffee & especially the champagne! We wish you a wonderful summer!

PS You think of everything a person might need!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

What can we say but "Wow!" We both loved Best@theBeach! Such attention to detail and the thoughtful little extras such a surprise! Your home is delightful, neighborhood so relaxing & access to the beach phenomenal. After our 1st night here we already are making plans to return...often as possible. You made us comfortable prior to our arrival with your prompt answers to all questions & concerns. Thanks so much - this place is Wonderful & so are You!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Getaway @ the Beach

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

My husband and I spent wonderful, much needed 7 days at Best @ the Beach. We wanted for nothing while we were there. Private parking, beautiful views, quiet neighborhood, and the unit was absolutely everything we could ask for. The owners are so thoughtful, and think of all the little details you sometimes forget when packing. The kitchen was well equipped and the rest of the unit was so cozy and comfortable with all the amenities of home. We were within 5 minutes of all kinds of outdoor activities and local restaurants. The beach was beautiful and the Weds. evening promenade of sailboats was just breathtaking. My husband enjoyed biking to Santa Monica on several mornings. Sunrises and sunsets were also great!
Jamie and Noi....you are the best hosts! Thank you so much.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5th Anniversary

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Thank you for welcoming us into your lovely home. We had a wonderful stay during our 5 year anniversary and the week went by way too quick. The coffee beans and champagne were great. Your home had everything we needed during our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Time in Paradise!

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Once again we loved our stay in your wonderful condo. There is so much to do in the area and then we can come "home" and enjoy a beautiful sunset from the deck! Thank you for thinking of every detail when you decided to let people stay here. Even hair curlers, which I just discovered under the bathroom sink! We hope to be back again next year to spend a little more time in paradise!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

I echo what all the previous reviewers stated. It was the absolute perfect location for us. I loved the bed and ended up buying a memory foam bed when we returned home. I also really liked the door locks (no keys), the bikes, the stocked pantry, the magnifying mirror in the bathroom (bad eyes), shampoo and body soap, the fireplace, the champagne and the quick response to a minor problem by the owners. Thanks Jamie and Noi. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More than we ever expected

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Date entered: 01/02/2013

Best at the beach was great!
More than we ever expected.
We will see you guys real soon.
Thanks Noi & Jamie
P.S. Jamie you are such a sweet heart.
Thanks

Guest city-state/province: Alabama

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location of your condo could not have been better

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Date entered: 11/30/2012

Jamie & Noi,
It is hard not to repeat what so many have said before our
stay.
I was a pleasure meeting both of you. Your attention to
detail, the little touches all made us feel welcome.
The location of your condo could not have been better for
our stay for the month of Nov.
Your kitchen was very well equipped, comfortable bed & all
the amenities here when we arrived.
Thank you again & we expect to see you on our next visit.
Take care & Happy Christmas

Guest city-state/province: Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect!!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay for a month, at Jamie and Noi's beautiful condo, while visiting family. We found the condo was just as described, yet better. Every time you opened a cupboard or drawer, you found another surprise. Jamie and Noi have thought of everything, to make your stay comfortable, pleasurable and easy. Having met them, it is obvious that they take great pride in their rentals, and making you feel right at home.
The location was VERY central - 12 minutes drive to Santa Monica, Venice is next door. A short drive to supermarkets, the freeway and restaurants. A nice walk to Starbucks and of course, two bikes to ride along the beach to keep you in shape throughout your stay.
We will be back, and if ever in Haiwaii we would not hesitate to put our confidence in one of their lovely properties.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly the Best!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

Best at the Beach surpassed our expectations. We walked out the door and were steps from the ocean. The cottage was spotless,and beautifully appointed, with complimentary champagne and fruit and coffee.

Jamie and Noi are wonderful, warm hosts and extremely helpful, and the cottage has a collection of books and information about the area.

You can walk to Venice for a delightful beach side meal, but if you have a car, the designated parking space makes traveling a breeze.

Jamie and Noi have provided all the amenities-washer and dryer, barbecue, bikes ,beach chairs, etc.

We were absolutely delighted by Best at the Beach and hope to return soon.

Thank you,
Annie and Rob,NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

These little details made our stay great!

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

Date entered: 10/17/2012

Dear Noi & Jamie-
We really enjoyed our stay. The fresh flowers, champagne & fuit were really great. We really felt at home.
We loved the bikes! I think we will get some at home. One of my favorite things was the wonderful dishes! Thanks so much for the great hospitality. We made some really cool Sand Castles... If I remember, I'll send you a picture. We also really liked not having to remember keys everytime we left. These little details made our stay great! We started to feel like locals and are sad to say goobye.

Again Thanks!

P.S. loved the DVD collection!

guest city-state/province: Wisconsin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's the best location for this.

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Date entered: 10/03/2012

Dear Noi and Jamie,

This apartment is really the Best! We enjoyed to stay here every hour.

You thought about every detail, including the champagne.

We discovered the beach up to Malibu and a lot of places in LA. It's the best location for this.

Unfortunately we could not meet while you stay abroad.

We wish you all the best.
Thanks for everything.

PS. If we have the chance to come back to LA, we will come again.

Guest city-state/province: Frankfurt, Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is so beautiful and in the perfect location

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Date entered: 09/18/2012

Dear Noi & Jamie,
Well what a delightful way to end our holiday and Adrian's 50th Birthday.
You have really thought of everything and made it so easy for us to relax and chill out.
Your house is so beautiful and in the perfect location. The long bike ride and walks was exactly what we needed after the cruise buffetts.
The house is so clean and everything is so comfortable, I knew instantly that you both have high standards regarding convenience and cleanliness.
Once again thanks for making the end of our holiday so memorable.

Ps. Thanks Angelina and kids for your help!

Guest city-state/province: Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Took a lot of the stress out of my busy days!

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Date entered: 09/14/2012

Noi & Jamie,
Thanks for a great stay!
Took a lot of the stress out of my busy days in the studio!
Best

Guest city-state/province: England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your beach house, it really was "the best"!

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

Date entered: 09/07/2012

We had a wonderful time at your beach house, it really was "the best"!
Also the great bottle of champagne was highly appreciated. We couldn't have dreamed of a nicer holiday than this one, except may be your beautiful places in Hawaii. We hope to try one of them as well one of the coming years.

Thanks for everything!

Guest city-state/province: Belgium

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I feel I am once again home!

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

Date entered: 08/28/2012

Dearest Jamie and Noi
I feel I am once again home to a lovely, relaxing, beautiful view and fully equipped condo. The only thing missing is "you" and "KiKi"! (However we did get a surprise from Kiki) I really think she recognized us! the weather has been perfect. I can't wait to return; however I hope we will be able to visit each other! Please know how much we appreciate and cherish your beautiful friendship!

Blessings, Hugs and Love

P.S I want to stay!

Guest city-state/province: KY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best!

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Date entered: 08/11/2012

Thank you so much. We had a wonderful stay.
We will be back.
Best,

Guest city-state/province: New York

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best-At-the-beach really is the best.

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Date entered: 07/23/2012

Many thanks for being great hosts. Your home was a wonderful way to end our honeymoon after 2 weeks on the road. Best-At-the-beach really is the best.

Guest city-state/province: UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Todo estuuo Super 10 puntos!!!!

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Date entered: 07/16/2012

Thanks for everything the house, the food and everything. We had a blast in the loft and in the house. And when we came back we will call you to use this house. We loved it. It's Beautiful. Thank you for everything Jamie.

Gracias por todo, Todo estuuo Super 10 puntos!!!!

Guest city-state/province: Miami, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best equipped vacation home we have ever stayed in

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Date entered: 07/10/2012

Noi & Jamie,
After a long hot drive through the desert, it was such a pleasant surprise to find a chilled bottle of champagne in the refrigerator! Our stay was far too short, but that only means we will have to come back for more. You are perfect hosts. This was the best equipped vacation home we have ever stayed in.

Thank you very much!

Guest city-state/province: Denver, Colorado

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A "home away from home" for us!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Date entered: 07/07/2012

Dearest Noi and Jamie.
Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. We have enjoyed our stay as newlyweds. This home is so inviting, organized and layed out in a thoughtful manner. We appreciate the thought you have put in to making this home a "home away from home" for us!

We had a great time
God Bless! We'll be back soon!

Always,

Guest city-state/province: Gridley, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bike riding by the sea!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Date entered: 07/07/2012

Beautiful Location
Excellent+ Dining
Summer Sunsets
Timeless
~at the~
Bike riding by the sea
Exciting Adventures
Amazing Memories
Cozy home
Hot dogs with everyting on 'em

Guest city-state/province: Gridley, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We've never heard about a more well equipped place

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Date entered: 06/27/2012

Dear Noi & Jamie

We had an absolute amazing stay here. We've never heard about a more well equipped place!

After 8 days it feels like our home. We'd certainly like to come back.

We had an amazing day when we got married on the 2Umbrela in Marina Del Rey, on June 26rd.

See you again

P.S. I (Ralph) swam with some dolphins right on the beach here! Icing on the cake!

Guest city-state/province: Sweden

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Finally found THE place that we can come back to!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Date entered: 10/28/2012

Hi Noi, Jamie,

We just wanted to let you know that we enjoyed the Best at the beach so much! We used to live in MDR before we moved to Japan. Since then, we have been visiting (coming back to) LA at lease once a year so we have stayed at many different hotels. We feel that we finally found THE place that we can come back to! Thanks for taking care of all the details remotely. We hope we get to see you in person next time!!

Thanks!

Guest city-state/province: Japan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best...in every sense of the word!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. Everything you could possibly want was here for us to use. We loved the location, the peace and quiet of the neighborhood, and the special hospitality of the owners. This visit has secured our love of Marina del Rey. So, so wonderful...thank you so much....we will return.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your apartment was a real home from home for us

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Date entered: 07/27/2012

Firstly can I say that me and Amy really enjoyed our time at
Marina Del ray, your apartment was a real home from home for
us, and was a welcomed break from the 2 weeks of travelling.
We enjoyed using the bikes, and used them most days.

Guest city-state/province: England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

To do en la casa 10 puntos

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Date entered: 07/18/2012

The vacation was fantastic , wonderful . todo en la casa 10 puntos , next time we are going to hawaii . l working in real estate in Miami , i recomending you home for my client and my friends .if you caming to Miami call me.

Muchas Gracias

Guest city-state/province: Miami, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

But you guys are the Best of the Best !

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Thank you Jamie & Noi for your warmth & kindness from the
start. But most of all for the wonderful home away from
home you created at 12 Westwind St. Your attention to
details & the consideration you've shown us during our
fantastic stay will always be remembered.
12 Westwind St may be the Best of the Beach - But you guys
are the Best of the Best !
Warmest regards,

Guest city-state/province: Floral Park, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great people!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We just got back from this wonderful place and we miss it so much already! Thank you Jamie & Noi for your warmth and kindness from the start. But most of all...for the wonderful and comfortable home away from home you created at 12 Westwind St. Your exceptional attention to detail and the consideration you've shown us during our stay will always be remembered. This impeccable little loft may be the best at the beach...but you guys are the best of the best! God willing...we will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It really is the Best at the Beach!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

Noi & Jamie,

Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation. We had a ball and loved your place. It really is the Best at the Beach!
We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic vacation home

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

Dear Noi & Jamie,

Thank you so much for your fantastic vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

With this get 5 stars ***** !

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Dear Noi & Jamie,

With this get 5 stars ***** !

Friendliness : *****
Furnishing : *****
Cleanliness : *****
Position : *****
KiKi the cat : *****
Noi and Jamie : *****

Best at the Beach
is the
Best at the Beach

Thanks for the beautiful vacation
Danke

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AMAZING!!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

All we can say is
AMAZING!!
1. Great location
2. Great people
3. Beautiful home
&
WE WILL RETURN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The place and the house are the BEST!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Noi & Jamie,

Thank you very much for your kindness, we enjoy an excellent and relaxing stay. The place and the house are the BEST! Will recommend and hope to return.

Best regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The apartment is the BEST accomodation!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

After the trip, which was very exhausting from San Francisco to Las Vegas and finally to Los Angeles, the apartment is the BEST accomodation!
The bed, the kitchen, the bath and this cozy couch...
There are so much details, which filled out our stay...
We would like to say thank you for a wonderful stay in your amazing apartment!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I'll be back

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Arnold Schwarzenegger said in - Terminator - "I'll be back"

So we will do !!!

Thank you again

Dankeschon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's a really fantastic vacation home

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

Noi & Jamie
We are so glad to stayed here. It's a really fantastic vacation home with everything we needed and much more. Thank you for prepared everything so lovely. We really felt like being home. We will come back, when being in California!

Thank you very much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is lovely and had everything we needed

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We had an outstanding visit to L.A., thanks to this beautiful place to stay. The house is lovely and had everything we needed for comfort, cooking and entertainment. We enjoyed watching some of your DVD collections too. We ate out on the patio.
We walked the beach, out to the jetty, the canals and rode the bikes up to Santa Monica.
Our son works at Marina Del Rey in Mendocino Farms (good restaurant) so he was close by to visit too.
Thanks for the fruit & champagne, what a nice friendly touch!
We will come back on our next visit to LA. We loved this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location and a wonderful home from home

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

What a beautiful holiday home! All the little touches & attention to detail made it extra special.
Great location and a wonderful home from home.
Thanks for the emails, restaurant suggestions etc... Nice to have such a personal contact with you.
We will definitely recommend BATB to others, and will give you a gleaming review online too!

Thanks for everything!

Guest city-state/province: UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your attention to detail is outstanding

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Date of review: Feb 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your great hospitality! As mentioned by others, your attention to detail is outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would heartitly recommend your house to anyone.
Much Thanks,

Guest city-state/province: PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A quick getaway

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

I scheduled this unit as a last minute getaway. It was the best thing I could have done. The unit is spacious, nicely decorated and immaculately clean. The location is literally a few steps from the beach on a quiet street and they have thought of everything. From beach chairs to bicycles to directions and things to know about the area, there is easy to find information in a binder. No thinking or guessing required. It was my first time in this part of LA and I definitely plan to do this again. It is well located to everything I wanted and the beach is lovely. This is the perfect stress-free getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you so much for a beyond perfect stay.

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

We booked Best-at-the-Beach for a chilled out week in the middle of 3 months worth of traveling and I genuinely don't believe we could have found a better place to have picked. You will not find more perfectly helpful, personable, kind, warm and pleasant owners than Jamie and Noi.

From the enquiry about booking this house to the day we left they were in constant contact through email, offering advice of places where to go and checking that we were enjoying our stay. They went above and beyond what is expected when renting a place like this, and this is by far the most impressive experience we have had in 8 years of renting vacation homes.

The house itself is great, fully equipped with EVERYTHING, and I literally mean EVERYTHING you could think you might need from home. From a fully stocked spice rack to printer to print out any documents or tickets. Even little touches like supplying fresh toothpaste, razors, shampoo, or how about a roll of quarters for convenience when it comes to parking for local beaches? EVERYTHING! I can't even recall how many times my wife and I said "wow, they've even got..." or "no way, look, they've even thought to provide..."

It was spotlessly clean and tidy, the bed was very comfortable, the TV was huge, the kitchen was modern, towels were supplied as well as toiletries, even beach towels. The bikes came in handy for visiting Venice and Santa Monica beaches.

You are about 15 footsteps away from sand, and the beach is one of the nicest, and we visited them almost ALL of them locally. The area is close to some great locations like Venice Beach, Santa Monica Pier, with lots of great restaurants/cafe's or even plenty of local supermarkets to choose from if you want to make something yourself. Very quiet and friendly neighborhood, and I went for a jog every morning, and everyone I passed smiled and said 'good morning' back (something you certainly don't experience in London).

In short we couldn't be happier with our stay, the only downfall was having to leave. But we are already making plans to return again. Thanks again for everything Noi and Jamie, literally PERFECT!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best of the Beach

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

This is an adorable place for two! There is plenty of room. The owners have thought of everything! We liked the fact that there were spices, foil, etc. It made it so convenient (when you go to the grocery store).
You have the option of walking 1/2 block to the ocean or about a block the other way to watch the boats come out of the marina. Having bikes provided was also a perk! We are planning to book for next year soon. Thanks to the owners!!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place.

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

Thank you Noi & Jamie for our amazing stay in The Best at the Beach, The place is perfect, quiet and very good taste furnished, Near the beach and close to important attractions. Highly recommended!!! Ana & Arny - Buenos Aires - Argentina.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have really enjoyed our time here!

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

You have a wonderful place and location, and we hope to come back. We even did some advertising for you yesterday. A young woman rode by on her bike just as we were getting ready to leave for a day on the bikes with our daughter. Her parents saw your place online and asked their daughter to check it out. We spent several minutes telling her all about how it has everyit has everything you need, and is just overall great! Since she wanted to know if it would be good for her parents, yes!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Special Holiday Treat Dec 17-28

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

As former resort owners, we look for the special touches that make a vacation rental memorable. Our recent experience at "Best of the Beach" over the Christmas Holiday met our expectations. On entering, we appreciated the touches of Christmas in the tastefully decorated living rooms, complete with a lovely fruit basket. The generous pantry is well stocked from condiments to coffee and was an extras plus.
The unit is outfitted with everything you might need - from cotton balls and toothpaste to a tool kit and chopsticks! And very much appreciated was the generous amount of hangers for clothes.
The quiet neighborhood and only steps from the beach was wonderful. Particularly important to us
was the private secured parking for our car.
"Best of the Beach" is a lovely place to stay. The gracious hosts see to you every need.
We highly recommend this special spot and look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Never stayed at a place that was as well-equipped

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

Date entered: 01/24/2012

Dear Jamie & Noi,

We really enjoyed our visit and I have never stayed at a
place that was as well-equipped and organized. It was just
like being at home except cleaner & much better-decorated!
I would certainly recommend your lovely condo to anyone
visiting the area. If Harry and I return to LA or find
ourselves visiting Hawaii, we will look for your places to
rent.

I also appreciated the staples of spices & sugar etc in the
kitchen and dishwasher soap, etc. The coffee was fantastic
(although I was a little nervous about the pot.)

Thanks again.
Kind Regards,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Condo-'Best at the Beach'

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

This beautiful condo delivers on everything that is promised in the listing. The kitchen is very well equipped with excellent pots, appliances, etc. There are many spices and other staples already stocked in the pantry. The furnishings are very attractive and comfortable.

The owners were very helpful in answering our questions and were extremely pleasant.

This is an excellent location--right off the beach and quiet; yet it is very close to many good restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This time we hit the jackpot!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

Date entered: 01/18/2012

We have been coming to LA each Jan. for the last few years
to visit our son - & This time we hit the jackpot! This apt
is so lovely, & all the attention to detail a beautiful
reflection of your efforts to make your guests feel at home.
We have truly enjoyed each day here, & Thank you for all your
efforts!

Guest city-state/province: Columbus, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxed Stay

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

What a wonderful place to relax. Nicely appointed decor, clean and luxury linens. Sleep until you feel you will never sleep again. Quiet. Walks on the beach and boardwalk a totally relaxing place to be. Close to everything. Thank you and thank you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely the best at the beach!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

This was our best vacation rental ever. The attention to detail from the owners was superb and the location was excellent. We rode our complimentary bikes all over Marina Del Rey and loved being on the beach. We’ll definitely return.
Charles and Joanna visiting from Massachusetts

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Date entered: 12/17/2011

What a wonderful time we had here. The place is so clean
and beautifully furnished and decorated. Well done!
We hosted our children for a candlelit dinner and everything was here to prepare and present a classy meal.
Wonderful vacation home,
Wonderful hosts,
Thank you!
Guest city-state/province: Washington

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was perfect

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

It's time to go, and we are a little bit sad to leave this
flat in Marina Del Rey. Nevertheless we keep in our head, the
very good time here. Everything was perfect. But the best in
all was the friendly welcome of Noi & Jamie. All the best to
you and see you soon.

Guest city-state/province: Normandy, France

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Noi and Jamie have thought of everything.

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

It is a great location. Quiet but close to everything. We were surprised and impressed at how nice it was. It was very clean and well maintained. We could not believe their attention to detail including fresh flowers and fruit. The furnishings were very nice quality and they had everything we could want or need. From the beach chairs, beach towels and bicycles to the business center with supplies and even quarters for the laundry and an incredible video library if you wish to watch a movie, It was just very well planned and organized so all that we had to do was relax and enjoy ourselves. We appreciated the map book, the Venice book and the Walking Tours of L.A. We followed a couple of the tours in the book and one day walked the beach all of the way to Santa Monica Pier. Most of all, we were thankful for the Guest Book. Again, they thought of everything. We used their directions to the grocery store and visited some of their suggested restaurants. Every question I could ask was answered in that book and it made the orientation to an area we had never visited a very easy transition. They saved us a lot of time trying to get our bearings. They even provided the manuals for every appliance in the condo and replacement batteries and light bulbs. Each day we discovered something more that they provided. We were both very pleased we chose to stay with here. We travel five or six times per year and we have been staying in private residences instead of hotels for several years. We have never stayed in a place that was so clean, so well maintained, and so accommodating to our needs. Nothing was lacking.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have thought of everything!

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

We have really enjoyed our honeymoon here at Best at the
Beach. Our daily bike rides and walks on the beach were
fantastic!
You have thought of everything!
Thanks so much
Guest city-state/province: Scotland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Wonderful!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

I was wonderfully surprised at all detail Noi and Jamie put into their Beach House. All you needed was your clothes! The bed was extemely comfortable and cozy. The location was great, close to stores, restaraunts and freeways. Close to Public Transit as well, if you chose not to drive! Upon leaving, very little cleanup, all was included in the cleaning deposit, this I really loved!! Overall this was one of the Best Vacation Rentals that I have stayed at. Even my friends complimented how nice the house was kept. Great place, I WILL BE BACK!!!! Thank you again, Noi and Jamie, Thank you!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful place to stay

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

Sorry we've been so long sending this review! My wife and I stayed here in April 2011 at the end of a two week trip to Las Vegas, san Francisco and Los Angeles. It really is a beautiful place to stay, so close to the beach and the water. It's incredibly clean and very well equipped, and in a very quiet area. The 46" TV is fantastic! Also, the outdoor area at the front was nice, as it wasn't right next to the roadway.

We walked along to Venice Beach one day. You could walk to Santa Monica Beach, but it's a few miles, so we took the car.

We didn't find any grocery stores close by, but we had a rental car so we were OK.

Recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tot ziens

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Thank you for a wonderfull vacation.
This apartment felt home faraway from home.
We enjoyed staying here.
In the Netherlands, we say:
Dank jullie voor alle goede zorgen. We hebben genoten van en in dit apartement.

Tot ziens,
Erik and Carla
Nederland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very special end to an amazing holiday!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

Thanks very much for a fantastic stay at your lovely home.
It made a very special end to an amazing holiday!

We will leave some great reviews for you on the websites
when we get home.

Thanks again,
Trisha and Kevin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Biked north & south

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Noi & Jamie - Thank you very much for a stress - free
wonderful weekend. We biked 20 miles north one day and 20
miles south the next and got a great sunburn - swam in the
ocean.
You are so kind and generous and we would love to come
again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly what you expect

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We are just back from 3 weeks vacation at Best-at-the-beach.

We really appreciated the apartment, it is simply what you expect: the perfect space for 2 persons with all what you need and in perfect conditions. Noi and Jamie know how to organize a home and what people need when on holiday. From the kitchen accessories to the wi-fi and the printer, even laundry detergents and beach chairs...you have simply to put your garments in your luggage and fly to California!

The location is ideal: a step from Venice, but at the same time in a quite and elegant part of the city. You can reach Santa Monica by bike or in 5 min by car.

You can practice any kind of sport just in front of the house.

We really felt at home for 3 weeks and would absolutely recommend this location for a short or long stay.

Noi and Jamie own some properties in Hawaii as well, unfirtunately too far from Italy, but if we plan in future to organize a vacation in Hawaii, I know where to go...

Thanks to Noi and Jamie (and Chris!) even for the kind support concerning all the practical issues during our stay.

Our favourite breakfast: Urth Cafè on the Main to Santa Monica
Our favourite restaurant: ...to difficult for Italian people to evaluate US restaurants...sorry
Our favourite shopping: WholeFood

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bonjour Noi et Jamie

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

1 August 2011

Bonjour Noi et Jamie,

We had an amazing time here.. We especially enjoyed the quietness of the area... Waking up with the birds... The bbq.. The bikes to the beach..Etc. Thank you again very much for your hospitality. Merci beaucoup encore pour touts... Dave & Michel Montreal

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing! Perfect! Beautiful!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Everything at this rental was amazing! Nothing was left out in the decorating and anything that you needed was included! The owners are friendly, helpful, and would be there if needed very quickly. The view is beautiful, the beach is within walking distance (1 block), and venice is far enough enough away to keep away the busy, but close enough to get there on a bike within about 15 minutes.

The kitchen appliances and non-perishables included were great! So nice to not have to worry about spices and oils when renting a vacation home. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom had excess towels and amenities.

Everything was perfect! We enjoyed our stay so much that we want to go back as soon as possible.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

From: normo <normo2000@blueyonder.co.uk>
Date: Sat, Jul 16, 2011 at 4:55 AM
Subject: RE: Best-at-the-Beach
To: Noi Phanucharas <noi90292@gmail.com>


Hi Noi and Jamie

We had the most wonderful holiday at your apartment – we loved the decor and your attention to all the small things that mean so much. We made good use of the boogie boards and the bikes.
It was like home away from home and we would love to come back sometime.

Also thank you for returning our deposit (within one day).

Kind Regards

Maureen and Norman
United Kingdom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful with everything

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

This wonderful quiet apartment comes with literally everything you could expect in a vacation cottage. It is perfectly appointed and very clean. Even my German wife loved it. She typically spends the first hours of vacation cleaning so that we can unpack and feel comfortable but that was not needed here.

We loved the location, almost on the beach and next to the marina jetty. The included bikes got us to Venice and Santa Monica for all the shopping and restaurant activity we wanted. We didn't even need a car because of the nearby beach bike path.

The bed was very comfortable. All the kitchenware was clean, complete, and a joy to use. Every spice we wanted was already there, along with oil, vinegar, sugar, condiments, and other non-perishables. We even made one meal just from what we found in the pantry.

There is an on-site coin laundry that we used and detergent is provided. There was even a roll of quarters in the pantry that we were invited to use (and pay for) to make it easy.

This is truly a wonderful, modern, tasteful, comfortable, and welcoming apartment that we will certainly return to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our best stay ever

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

First a big "thank you" to Noi & Jamie.
The description is not fulsome. We found a really perfect place to stay.
We can definitely agree to the other guest reviews. The
apartment is beautiful and you have thought of everything. We hope that everybody take the same care like us, that the Best-at-the-Beach will always be the best.
Thank you so much for our beautiful stay.

Nun noch etwas in deutsch:
gemeinhin neigt der Amerikaner ja etwas zur Übertreibung, aber hier kann man wirklich sagen, dass die Beschreibung untertrieben ist. Es erwartet einen ein wirklich komplett eingerichtetes Appartement, wer Lust hat zu kochen, backen oder was auch immer in der Küche, kann sofort loslegen - es ist alles da.
Mit den Fahrrädern und den Boogieboards kann man auch seinen Spass haben. Von dem BBQ ganz zu schweigen.
Kurz gefasst, das Best-at-the-Beach trägt den Namen zurecht.

Hoffentlich weiß das auch jeder zu schätzen, dass das auch noch lange so bleibt.

@ Noi, we will definitely come back

Angela & Dirk
Germany

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

04/17/2011 date entered: 04/17/2011

homeowner-added comment:
Thank you for a wonderful vacation at your wonderful
apartment. this was our last stop on a very long holiday and
we enjoyed relaxing by the beach and spending time in the
apartment. We only wish we had had longer here. The
apartment is beautiful and you have thought of everything.
Love, Stuart and Avril, Southport, UK
guest name: Stuart
guest city-state/province: Southport, UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

04/05/2011 date entered: 04/05/2011

homeowner-added comment:
Review #1409210 Awesome Loft!

The loft is modern, beautiful and well appointed. In the kitchen we found everything we and everybody else need from cookware, pan to flavoring and oil… The gas fireplace with remote control was great! In the evening the dvd-plaver with a huge dvd-collection was a nice variety. The owner takes care of everything and should there be a problem…you can’t look so fast like the owner take care of it! The location is very good and safe and just a few steps away from the beach. With the provided bikes you can have a very nice ride at the beach from Venice Beach, Santa Monica to Malibu. We absolutely recommend that loft – we would immediately go back and we will definitely rent this loft again if we’re back in L.A. And the owners are wonderful. It was our pleasure to stay at “Best at the Beach” – it is not just a slogan, it is the best at the beach!
guest name: Randel
guest city-state/province: Norderstedt, Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

12/30/2010 date entered: 12/30/2010

homeowner-added comment:
"We just loved your beautiful beach loft.. it was so fresh and clean, beautifully appointed with all we needed to make our stay a perfect vacation. The long stretch of white sand just outside our door... the sailboats and kayaks going out to sea... were all just steps away from our door. We walked everywhere or ride the bikes you left for us. We spent the days cruising Venice Beach and
Santa Monica. Being close to LAX made it so convenient.

It was so awesome waking up to the sunshine at the beach.. the bed and linens were so beautiful it made our romantic getaway so perfect. Having coffee and breakfast in our own kitchen with your new trendy accessories was so fun. We loved the fireplace at night and the big screen TV. The wireless Internet was also useful for keeping up with business at home.

Thank you so much for beautiful memories."
guest name: Trisha
guest city-state/province: Kona, HI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal location

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at numerous VRBO properties and this is definitely the "Best of the Best". The unit had everything we could desire, including a great and well stocked kitchen, very comfortable bed, great selection of DVD's for evening entertainment, lots of light. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet. We enjoy morning and evening walks and this was perfect location for varied and scenic walks. We also enjoyed the use of the provided bicycles and rode up to Santa Monica. To sum up our only regret was that we had to leave after only a week. We look forward to staying again on our next visit to CA and will highly recommend it to all of our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Loft!

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

The loft is modern, beautiful and well appointed. In the kitchen we found everything we and everybody else need from cookware, pan to flavoring and oil… The gas fireplace with remote control was great! In the evening the dvd-plaver with a huge dvd-collection was a nice variety. The owner takes care of everything and should there be a problem…you can’t look so fast like the owner take care of it! The location is very good and safe and just a few steps away from the beach. With the provided bikes you can have a very nice ride at the beach from Venice Beach, Santa Monica to Malibu.

We absolutely recommend that loft – we would immediately go back and we will definitely rent this loft again if we’re back in L.A. And the owners are wonderful. It was our pleasure to stay at “Best at the Beach” – it is not just a slogan, it is the best at the beach!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay near the beach...

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

I just wanted to take a moment and tell you how much we enjoyed staying at 12 Westwind. I've travelled all over the world and stayed in many different vacation homes, and I have to say that yours was one of the best outfitted places I've come across. There was literally not one thing I would have added or needed during the stay. Very unusual for a vacation rental. I also thought the living room furniture and bed were very comfortable. Last but not least, we also really enjoyed the location. The Silver Strand of Marina Del Rey was not an area we were that familiar with and really enjoyed the day and night beachwalks. Hard to believe we were in a large city as we rarely saw that many people. Very relaxing. It was very nice to be in a quiet area but so close to the restaurants on Washington and Abbott Kinney which we enjoyed. Thanks for the hospitality and for creating such a nice place to stay while we were in the LA area. Best, Charles Wolford

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beach Getaway

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this cozy vacation rental by the beach in Marina del Rey at the end of January.

The one bedroom loft was very beautifully and tastefully decorated with contemporary furnishings. We loved that it was completely set up with everything we needed for our home away from home. The kitchen had everything for cooking at home.... cooking oils... host of spices for the gourmand.. sauces.. rice cooker.

It was a nice quiet residential neighborhood.

The WiFi HIgh Speed Internet was really useful for staying in touch with family and friends. Big Screen TV was a nice touch.

The location was fantastic.... just steps away from the white sandy beach at Marina del Rey in the Marina Peninsula. We could walk along the jetty and watch the boats go by or walk along the strand on the beach to nearby Venice. The bicycles that the owners provided were ideal for biking to Venice and Santa Monica beaches. Great places to eat, people watch and shop all just minutes away.... close to LAX airport and all the best of LA's Westside for shopping, dining, and sightseeing.

The owner are very professional, courteous and responsive.

We are looking forward to returning for another Beach Vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review