reviews for: listing #75930 - Princeville, Hawaii Condo rental

Spacious Ocean Bluff Condo, Great for Couples & Family
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Alii Kai
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $129 /nt
    $791 - $854 /wk
    $2,500 - $2,750 /mth

sort by:

Great if there were air conditioning!

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 22, 2014

This unit is immaculate and nicely appointed. It is also very spacious. The location is great and the area very appealing.

There is one BIG drawback there is no air conditioning. If you are used to sleeping in hot, humid conditions, this unit will be perfect for you. On the other hand if you are not used to the heat, you should look elsewhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities

Owners response: Aloha Beleta,
Thank you for your feedback. You are correct there is no air conditioning in my condo- I do not advertise that anywhere, nor is it listed as one of the amenities.

I do wish you had contacted me prior to making your reservation to inquire whether I had air conditioning or specifically searched for air conditioning in the amenities. You could then have booked elsewhere and enjoyed the comforts of air conditioning.

My condo does have ceiling fans in each room and it is nicely situated to catch the daily trade winds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Special touches!

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Our overall experience was great. There were no problems getting into the unit and were pleased to see the special touches to welcome us like orchid blossoms placed in the bedrooms, bathrooms, and kitchen. The size and price for the unit was perfect. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. The North Shore location is beautiful. It was our first time to Kauai and we spent a lot of time on the north shore. It seemed like a long drive to the south shore area, but well worth the drive to see Waimea Canyon and the beautiful sunset. Hanalei is very close and such a fun, laid-back town. We ate there several times and paddleboarded on the Hanalei River. I loved seeing the ne-nes right there in Princeville. I've been to other islands in Hawaii, but never saw the state bird until this trip. Thanks for a stress-free experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Condo & Location!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

This was our third stay to this condo and as always, we had a blast. The condo's complete setup, beautiful location in Princeville, and reasonable cost makes it an ideal choice. The owner seems to make upgrades and add things each time we come (he really "invests" in the condo). I know we will continue to stay here in the future as the opportunity arises.

It has close access (<10 minute driving) to great snorkeling, boggy board, surfing, etc. beaches and has awesome running paths virtually outside the door. Hard to beat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We loved this spacious, clean Kauai condo

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at Manish's condo in Princeville, and it was nothing less than an amazing experience. First of all, this place is pretty large - there's more than enough room to comfortably accommodate four people, and it's like a mansion for a married couple with no kids. Manish's condo feels like a home. We found it to be incredibly clean and lovingly maintained, featuring all the essentials of modern life - flat screen TVs (with Netflix!), media players, super fast WiFi, appliances, etc. Oh, and there's also a gas grill on the back porch, which I used twice to prepare delicious cow and chicken parts.

The condo is nestled at the end of a Princeville cul-de-sac on a bluff overlooking the Pacific. Spectacular sunset views are a 100 yard from the the back door across a beautifully manicured lawn, which we took in with locally brewed IPAs almost every evening. Not sure how many full-timers live in the complex, but the neighbors were super quiet and very friendly. Also, there's a communal pool about a five minute walk from the condo that never had more than one sunbather the entire time we were there.

Princeville itself is awesome. There's a small shopping center with an (expensive) grocery store called Foodland, coffee spot, and several dinner joints. The St. Regis overlooks Hanalei Bay, and is the perfect spot for a special dinner or drinks at sunset. If you're a runner like me, Princeville has miles of paved jogging paths. Best of all, you're close countless pristine beaches, great hiking, and all of your typical Kauai activities (ziplining, helicopter tours, yada yada).

We would totally come back here and take advantage of Manish's stellar condo, and in fact we most definitely will.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation in paradise

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

The condo is nicely maintained and was exactly as the pictures and description stated. The property was very clean. We enjoyed everything about our stay at the condo. We had a terrific stay in this wonderful condo. We will come back - on the other end of the world ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rhine and Barb Preas

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We loved every moment of our stay at your beautiful place. The condo has everything you could possibly want. It was clean, well furnished, comfortable, and lovely. The pool was great and we used it several times when we weren't out and about! We went to a luau in Hanalei, a dinner cruise up the Napali Coast, a tour at the Noni Plantation, and a slag key concert in Hanalei. We had dinner at the Post Card which was great and cooked many meals in the condo. I would recommend this place to anyone and already have!! Many thanks to you and Sarah!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kauai Retreat

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Manish's Alii Kai condo. Everything was as described. The rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed. A number of great beaches were an easy drive from the condo. My husband had broken his foot at the last island where we stayed, and enjoyed doing some bird watching out the sliding glass window using a guide to birds in Kauai that we found in the condo (and we were glad we had chose a place on a first floor). A perfect place to stay in Kauai.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A comfortable and very well furnished Condo in an idyllic location

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful holiday on Kauai and much of it was due to the fact that we stayed in Manish's beautiful condo. The Condo is furnished in great taste and provides all that one would require for a fun-filled holiday (including snorkelling gear and a boogie board!). The beds are very comfortable; the bathrooms and kitchen are functional and spacious. The location is ideal: the cliffs of north Kauai are on the doorstep and one could spend many a calm evening just looking out to sea from this vantage position sipping a drink while the sun sets. The north shore of Kauai has it all: beaches, surfing, snorkelling, trail walking, canoeing and wildlife watching. Despite its relative out-of-the-way location, all practical amenities are easily accessible in Hanalei, including a good variety of restaurants. We really hope to come back soon: thank you, Manish, for sharing your slice of paradise with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Princeville Spot!

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

I contacted Manish last minute for accommodations for myself and a few staff members when our other option fell through. He was quick to respond and work out the details with us.
This Princeville condo suited us perfect.
The location is great- we were close to where we needed to be, near some shopping amenities, and were also able to take some time to visit the beach at Hanalei and catch some sun. The condo is very well priced and comfortable and the neighborhood is quiet and friendly. One of our favorite days was when we went to the Kapaa farmers market to purchase some fresh veggies & beautiful fruit, then to the Hanalei fish market for some fish, and cooked up an amazing Hawaiian feast.
We'll be back!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better Than The Photographs

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

The condo was surprisingly spacious, better than the photographs. The view out onto the lawn and jungle created a quiet feeling. We liked where it was situated in the complex, private too. The kitchen was very well stocked, clean and easy to cook in. Lots of beach equipment that we barely used. My wife appreciated the good water pressure for showering. She even found a book to read. Nice big TV with Netlix streaming. The owner obviously cares about his place and it shows.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Contented travellers

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We have many times been disappointed by property photos, but I can honestly say that this condo was exactly as shown on the website and even more beautiful than we expected. We appreciated the lush landscaping and lovely grounds surrounding the property, and proximity to many beaches on the north side. The condo itself was a comforting oasis to return to each day. It was so bright and cheery as well as well-maintained. So clean when we arrived, with welcoming touches like flowers. We had the chance to talk to other people in the complex who rented through another agency, and when they saw ours they could not believe how much better it was than where they stayed. So easy to deal with the owner and we enjoyed our week there and would not hesitate to tell others about it. Our only complaint was the pool is cold but that is not enough to deter anyone from staying in a delightful place like this!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Saskatchewan Travelers

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

This condo was everything we were looking for and more. The price was fantastic, the accomodation was very clean and looked after. Any questions we asked the owner were answered accurately and promptly. The social director, Jeannie was very helpful. I would definitely recomend this property to a close friend or relative. I believe it is between building 3 and 4, that there is a trail that goes down the cliff to the ocean. The day we went down the ocean was low enough that we were able to go into the cave. We had taken a flashlight along and we found six turles sleeping in the cave; awesome. Kauai is Paradise. I highly recommend if you go to Kauai, that you go on a helicopter ride. We prefer the Blue Hawaiin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Location, Fantastic Condo, Wonderful Owner

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

I was so glad to find this rental unit at the last minute (one week prior to flying to Kauai)! After I dealt with a couple of vacation rental managers from the island whom I would never give my rental units to manage, I found Manish. He is a pleasure to work with - clear instructions, prompt responses and very reasonable. He even allowed us to have a late check out! His condo is spacious, spotless clean and well decorated. Manish stocked his condo so well that he's thought of everything you need on vacation while feeling the convenience at home. We appreciated his recommendations of activities on the island and we tried most of them and would recommend the same to our friends and family. If you like the serenity, this condo has it. At night, the condo is so quiet - you hear the ocean, you see the bright stars and you smell the island. It's about 10 minutes away from Hanalei Bay, known for its world class beaches. Our friends who also vacationed there around the same time rented a home in Hanalei Bay and we met up a few times. Honestly, as much as we love the Hanalei beaches, I would choose to pay 1/2 of what they've paid, for a larger unit in a quiet location only 10 minutes away.

Mahalo Manish! We would love to stay at your place again when we come back to our favorite Hawaii island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully clean, well supplied condo.

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

I just wanted to write a note telling you what a great time we had on Kauai!

The condo was wonderfully clean and well supplied. With the breezes and fans it cooled off enough at night so that we used sheets and even sometimes a light blanket by early morning.

We left things quite clean and tidy, considering that there were five of us showering and sleeping there!

There were a few ants in the kitchen, so we were very careful with food. The cane spider was HUGE, but my mother -- who researches a lot before she goes anywhere -- had prepared us for the possibility of seeing one. We captured it and released it outside. Later we found a dead cane spider also.

The few neighbors that we met were very nice. The back lawn was a great place to watch the sunset and meet others doing the same.

Best snorkeling: Tunnels and Ke'e
Favorite lunches: Dolphin and Kalapaki Joe's
Awesome extra: NaPali Sea Breeze boat to NaPali and snorkeling -- rough, but I didn't get seasick!!

I've attached a couple of pictures.

Thanks so much for helping us to have a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Stay.

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

My Husband and I stayed in the condo for 10 Wonderful Days from May 14th to 24th, 2011. We came to Kauai for a wedding and the Bride's Mother and Sister stayed with us most of the time. As well, the Bride came the morning of the Wedding and they all had hair and make-up done and dressed at our Condo. It was the perfect venue for all of this with lots of room to move around and relax before the Ceremony at Hanalei Bay Resort. It was the most memorable Wedding ever and the Reception in the tent at Princeville Villas was equally as fabulous.
The weather was perfect for our stay and we were able to make use of the beach chairs, snorkel sets, beach mats, coolers, BBQ, etc., etc.
This was probably the most equipped condo I have ever stayed in. It looks just like the pictures when you arrive other than it is even nicer. There were orchids on our pillows, soap dishes and towels. There is a wonderful breeze up on the bluff that just feels amazing. We were able to step into the brush a couple of feet and pick Guava from a tree. Cardinals came to visit us every morning, along with doves and other local birds.
We would recommend this condo to anyone who wants peace, quiet and tranquility at a reasonable rate.
We found the "Ultimate Kauai Handbook" to be the best tour source for information. It led us to the best burgers in Princeville, a the Chevron Gas Station - seriously. Pizza's looked good there too. Nice little eating area a the side of the building. ENJOY!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Alii Kai condo

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in the condo. The condition of the property is very, very nice. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious, there are a lot of room in the closets, the bathrooms are nice. There is a nice TV and blue ray dvd player, nice set of CDs and boom-box. The decor is testful, a lot of towels to use and playground equipment such as snorkeling gear and bamboo mats to use. Although there is no air conditioner, which I was afraid would be a problem, the ventilation was excellent, the sealing fans are so quiet and efficient that we were completely comfortable. The pool area is nice and quiet. The only thing that I can point out for improvements is very old and scratched cooking pans. The stove is electric, so one pan that was usable was thin stainless steal pan, which was too thin to withheld the heat from an electric stove (it is not easy to change temperature gracefully on electric stove, so the pan should be able to hold high temp without burning the food). Another pan was a non stick pan, which was not usable at all. It was so scratched that it is was dangerous to cook on it. Other that that the condo was an excellent choice for us, we enjoyed our stay very much and I would recommend it to anybody.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

We had a great time, thanks! The location near the Na Pali coast is ideal. We found
a few secluded beaches nearby and felt like they were our private beaches. The condo
is well stocked with cooking utensils and a full range of beach gears - beach
chairs, boogie board, snorkeling sets, bamboo sheets, towels, etc.. We brought our
own beach gears, but for those who don't, the condo has everything. We found the
bamboo sheets very useful at beach, you can easily dust off the sands and wipe clean
with paper towel. My only complaint is the beds, they could be a bit firmer (but
again, it is never easy to find a happy medium for everybody when it comes to beds).
The ground is beautifully maintained. Right behind the building, we followed a very
strenuous trail that drops down to Queen's Bath, I had to hold onto the ropes or
tree roots for dear life almost all the way down! Luckily we found an easier trail
coming back. Anyways, it was a fun trip. Thank you for letting us stay there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous Condo MADE The Vacation

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

ABSOLUTELY EVERTHING was PERFECT!! Huge,sunny,impeccable location and accommadations. Very clean and neat. We are talking about and looking forward to another stay here. PERFECT base for exploring the North shore of Kauai. Owner supplies all information explitcitly and it is very easy to understand. Felt like home! Awesome Housekeeper!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a lot, Connie. You are welcome to come back any time! I am so glad you felt you were in your home; that is what I strive for- to ensure each guest is completely comfortable while being surrounded by comfort alongside the pristine beauty of the North Shore.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Manish's condo is beautiful, i dont think the pictures do justice. It is way better in person. It is equipped with everything. We felt right at home. The view in the back yard and around the condo is fabulous. We used the pool also. Princeville is the best place to stay in Kauai. Manish is friendly and very helpful with any questions we had. He installed wireless internet and even bought new TV and snorkeling gear right before we arrived. The condo has everything, cooler, beach mats, beach chairs, towels, water shoes of all sizes, books,refrigerator, laundry/dryer, Stove, microwave, and the list goes on. There is a grocerystore and plenty of restuarants and beaches nearby. I will definetly recommend this place to anyone. Hopefully I can come back in the near future and stay at this wonderful place again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, Kajal! Buying this condo has been a dream come true for me. It is truly my paradise home and I am happy to be able to share it with my guests and promote the Aloha spirit in the garden paradise!

I look forward to having you come back and staying with me again as an honored guest!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Affordable, very pleasant & comfortable stay!

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Felt like my home away from home. I highly recommend it. Cannot be be beat for location, convenience, cleanliness and price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No better place to stay!!!

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

My family and I ( 2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed in at the Alii Kai in July 2010. The condo was wonderfully located, fully equipped with all the necessities and more! The view is spectacular, the grounds are well maintained. There was always a breeze coming into the condo, so we were always cool. The charcoal barbecue was great. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!! Thank you again Manish, and we hope come back again someday!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, Sophie! Yes, the location of Ali'i Kai I is perfect to catch the trade winds. The lush green surroundings, the view of the waterfall, ocean and the mountains re-enforces the Aloha spirit and the feeling of tropical paradise, that Kauai evokes!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

From long-time renters of Ali'i Kai 2101

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

Aloha, everybody,
My husband and I have been renting this condo every year since the summer of 1999. The first time we walked in the door and saw the view of the Hanalei mountains from the living room couch, we fell in love with it. The condo is very spacious and has all the amenities. In the morning, the nene geese often come for a visit. (DON'T feed them, it's not good for them.)
Hanalei Bay has been rated one of the best beaches in the world. It's just a short drive down the hill from Princeville. I love bopping down there for a swim in the late afternoon just before sunset. For a world-renowned beach, it's amazingly uncrowded. It's fun to see the families fishing from the pier, and the outrigger canoe teams practise pau hana (after work).
Ke'e beach, about a half hour drive to the literal end of the road, is so amazingly beautiful that it will always remain in your memory. Great place to visualize if you're having a stressful day back on the mainland. The snorkeling is good in the summer, and wave watching in the winter. The famous Kalalau Trail begins here.
The price is very reasonable, and the owner is very accommodating. My only hesitation in recommending this condo wholeheartedly is that I'm afraid so many folks will fall in love with it the first time they visit, that we won't be able to book it ourselves! You'll want to keep coming back often, too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Annie, thank you so much! Princeville is truly beautiful and Ali'i Kai I is wonderfully located to take advantage of all that the beautiful North Shore of Kauai has to offer! I am glad that my condo provides the right balance of comfort, luxury and price!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review