reviews for: listing #75933 - Monterey, California House rental

Serene Forest Location Close to Beach and Downtown Monterey
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Monterey Bay
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $335 - $495 /nt
    $2,100 - $3,000 /wk
    $4,900 - $5,750 /mth

sort by:

Nice property and location, parking caution

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

The property and location are very nice. The driveway and garage did not work for either of our cars (Toyota Camry & Buick Enclave). The ptich of the driveway is very steep and the Enclave fromt was damaged when trying to use. The Camry bottom of the car scraped when trying to park in driveway. There was parking for the two vehicles in fromt of the house but I would caution future renters to avoid damage to their vehicles.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lovely stay in Monterey

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our week in Monterey and the home matched the description exactly. It was very clean with a well-supplied kitchen. It was very close to downtown and shopping and pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. We appreciated the use of the aquarium passes. The kids loved the rope swing and swing set in the backyard. It was a great place to come back to after a full day of being a tourist! Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lovely stay in Monterey

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our week in Monterey and the home matched the description exactly. It was very clean with a well-supplied kitchen. It was very close to downtown and shopping and pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. We appreciated the use of the aquarium passes. The kids loved the rope swing and swing set in the backyard. It was a great place to come back to after a full day of being a tourist! Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family-Friendly Monterey Vacation Rental

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Monterey, and the house was pretty much as represented. However, there were a few concerns which made the stay a little bit of a concern. Hopefully these comments will be helpful and are intended to be:

1) The blinds in the upstairs twin bed room did not operate which prevented closing them to darken the room. This is difficult for sleeping, especially when it is for young children.

2) The drain in the upstairs master bathroom did not plug and drain didn't seem to be "connected." Also, the fan was not working at all.

3) Biggest concern was the condition of the mattress in the master bedroom. One of our daughters and her husband used that bedroom. The matress was quite lopsided and very obviously misshapen. Our daughter said she had a great deal of difficulty getting out of the bed because of this. (She is also midway through her pregnancy.) She ended up sleeping on the floor using a twin air bed which we had brought for one of the kids.

The pluses were:

The backyard was great for the kids. The living room was very nice. The mattresses in the other two rooms were fine. We used the lovely, open kitchen and were thankful to have this for our family. Some of the dishes were not clean, however. We ran them in dishwasher after we purchased some dishwashing detergent. Also very helpful to have the washer/dryer and appreciated this very much.

The neighborhood was nice and also quiet. Location is convenient to enjoy all the wonderful sights and activities in the Monterey/Carmel area.

Hope this info is helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great family stay

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Two other resident couples and their children and my family spend an incredible weekend in Monterey. The house was perfect - incredibly kid friendly, my infant slept like a baby in the large playpen they have there. The high chairs were perfect, the toys were enjoyed, the back yard was played in. There is not a better place to stay if you have small children. It was 3 couples and 4 children (one infant, two toddlers, and one child) - we had enough room for play outside and great sleep. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Fantastic backyard for kids, great deck, private from neighbors, well stocked updated kitchen, plenty of room, loved it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

New year and Birthday party in beautiful Monterey

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Everything was wonderful......What a great place for a family vacation
Since my wife was from this area, it was a nice trip down memory lane (went back to the Mission Ranch where we originally met) and saw as many of the local attractions as we could......nothing disappointed us. It was as beautiful as ever.
Our granddaughters loved the house and the yard.....The owners have gone out of their way to make it a nice home away from home. Thanks a bunch guys

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptionally kid friendly, indoors and out.

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

We had 8 adults and 3 small children, under 3. We all fit comfortably. Two porta cribs and a stroller were provided which made long distance travel much easier. The 2 year old loved the backyard and the bin of toys inside covered all our age groups and all batteries were in working order. Having to go through a bedroom for the only main floor bath was a little inconvenient. It would have been nice to have the ice maker working better. We had a tree limb fall while we were there and the owner and neighbor were right on it to make sure it did not inconvenience us any more than necessary. While without electricity we just went to Carmel for the day. Our family photo Christmas shoot in front of the house turned out remarkably well. Back in the midwest, I have been talking up this property and even showing it off.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home, Wonderful Neighborhood...

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

The house is big and beautiful, has everything you'll need, is in a great neighborhood, close to everything Monterey, has a 24 hour grocery market in very close proximity. You can't go wrong with this one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Monterey visitors

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

nice little house - well stocked with everything we needed. The 2 passes in the drawer to the Monterey Aquarium were a nice touch!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastico!!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

We loved this house! This home was perfect for our family as it comes equipped with everything you need for kids... including high chairs, cribs, toys, baby bath, a great yard, etc. We enjoyed a relaxing time on the deck bar-b-queing and sipping wine while our children played on the play structure, road tricycles on the patio, and ran around the yard. It was delightful! I recommend this house most highly. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

Four couples spent three days here. The house is generally as described. The kitchen was our hub and we loved being able to cook and socialize in one place as well as have separate bedrooms. Although no children were present, we couldn't help but notice the play area, toys in the closet and kid's dishes which would make this a great place for families. The quiet neighborhood was appreciated too as well as being right in the center of the peninsula between Carmel and Monterey. It was everything we hoped for with a few minor exceptions: there was no bath soap in any of the bathrooms, no can opener (the owner did offer to reimburse us if we bought one), no trash bags (it didn't feel right tossing corn cobs and chicken bones into the bare wastebasket), and the bedrooms got a little chilly during the cool and foggy nights since there were no heat ducts in the bedrooms (the hallway was toasty but being couples, we slept with the bedroom doors closed). One bedroom had vertical blinds that would not close completely and unfortunately, that was the room used by the late sleepers.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Marcia,

Thank you so much for your stay. I really wish you had called me about the items you mentioned here as we could have easily taken care of this. We have a stash of items in the laundry room. After I received your comments here, I went to check and in fact we had a very large Softsoap container, a bunch of Ivory soap bars and trash bags in the cabinets in the laundry room. We also have a fully stocked kitchen (2 sets of pots and pans, all the cookware and bakeware you could want). Items can move around or occasionally "walk away." I apologize if the can opener was not easily located. I appreciate you bringing these items to my attention but wish you had done so while in the home so we could have satisfied your every need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home!!!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

This house is gorgeous. All the amenities you could need. Beautiful area.

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Perfect Rental. The house is just as described. Open, bright, clean and luxurious - and extremely family friendly. We only wish we could have stayed longer! Lisa is a joy to work with and this home is easy to love. We will definately stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Staying at this house was so perfect!!! I was getting married in Monterey and we had family coming in from all of the US. We decided that we would get the most time together if we were under 1 roof! The house was fully stocked with EVERYTHING we needed - baby items, toys, etc and it felt like home!! The home was super clean and well organized. We utilized the backyard that was perfect for BBQ and play area for our nephew! The house is perfect for family gatherings, relaxation, etc! Lisa was such a great person to work with and takes such pride in her home! This home is such a memory in our wedding weekend! Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Lindsey. It makes me feel great to help contribute to a meaningful and memorable wedding weekend. Congratulations! I wish you much happiness.

Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House, Perfect Location

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our family really enjoyed staying here. The property was exactly as described, clean, and is it ever kid-friendly! Lots of toys, and the outdoor play area... all in excellent condition. We had plenty of room and found the home so comfortable, we settled in right away. We were 6 adults and 4 kids under 5 and spent 3 days/nights here. We didn't do much cooking other than breakfast but the kitchen had everything we needed. We went to the aquarium (thanks for the 2 free passes!) which we loved! And while my husband and I took in the beautiful 17 mile drive, the kids and grandkids went to Dennis The Menace Park. They had so much fun there! My daughters and I went to Elysium Spa for massages and a manicure and I recommend this as well. Seemed like everything you could want or do was just a short drive away. Lisa was a pleasure to deal with and the entire HomeAway experience was a breeze. I highly recommend this vacation home, could not have been happier with my choice.

Owners response: Thank you! We'd love to welcome you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent family getaway!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Our family and extended family went up to Monterey for a wedding. We decided to rent a house so we could all stay together. This house met and exceeded all of our hopes. The house is big and spacious with lots of room for everyone. The house was clean and had plenty of kitchen supplies to eat/cook in. The location is perfect, quiet and peaceful with a quick drive to the wharf or the outdoor mall. The master bedroom (where we slept) was HUGE. We had enough room in bed for my husband, son (2 years old) and I to share. There was also plenty of room to fit a pack-n-play for my younger son with lots of space left over. The only downfall to the room was the mattress, it was not the most comfortable thing to sleep on. That's the ONLY reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
The BEST feature of this house (from a mother's point of view) was the backyard!! The yard was great and we spent most of the day playing on the grass or the swing-set. There is a patio, Bar-B-Que, and lots of room to play.

This house was perfect for our trip and we would definitely stay there again if we go back to Monterey.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Linda. We look forward to your return visit! You'll be pleased to know we just ordered a brand new king size bed for the master bedroom. It's a Sealy Posturepedic, firm mattress with two comfort cushion top layers and titanium coils. It should provide a very luxuriating nights sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Monterey.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very nice place

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

Place was beautiful and we did enjoy ourselves. Only critique is that the grill needs to be replaced as it was unusable. Would stay again though.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Jack,

We now have a brand new grill. It's a Brinkman 4-burner grill. Our Bar-B-Que area gets a lot of love so we decided it was time for a new one! Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Monterey Home

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This Home was great. It was just as advertised. We would definitely use this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Terry. Enjoy the summer. We hope to welcome you back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family get away

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We wanted to have a place we could all go - 7 adults and 6 little children, for the weekend as a farewell to one of our children going overseas. The home is east to be in, very kid friendly, great back yard with play structure, wonderful kitchen. Lovely location with trees all around but close to downtown. There are stairs inside but the owner provided a gate to keep the 1 yr olds on the ground floor. Also there were 2 pack n plays, booster seats, and toys.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks, Gennelle. Please come visit us again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We are already planning our next trip!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

The home was perfect for our young family. Our kids thought it was so cool that we had a "park" in the backyard of our "vacation home". Even the rain did not ruin our fun memories or excitement to plan our next trip to this beautiful home. Lisa (the vacation homeowner) was wonderful and extremely helpful.
Thank you again for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Cindy!!! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Already planning our next trip!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

The home was perfect for our young family. Our kids thought it was so cool that we had a "park" in the backyard of our "vacation home". Even the rain did not ruin our fun memories or excitement to plan our next trip to this beautiful home. Lisa (the owner) was wonderful and extremely helpful.
Thank you again for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Three generations of our family - 6 adults and a 20 month old baby - spent a wonderful 3 day weekend in this spacious home.

The kitchen and dining area accommodated our family, and we were able to prepare and enjoy home cooked dinners.

Our little granddaughter had fun playing with the toys provided by the owner. The play equipment was a hit. My daughter appreciated that a crib was also part of the deal.

The bedrooms were spacious, and we were happy that the house has 3 bathrooms.

We were thankful that WiFi internet service was available, and all of the adults in our family were able to use their iPods and personal computers.

The location was perfect. We took advantage of the many nearby attractions including the aquarium - thank you Lisa for the passes - , Jacks Peak County Park, Fort Ord Dunes state park beach, and Point Lobos State Reserve.

Lisa is very professional in her dealings and communication with renters. We found all of her instructions understandable and easy to follow.

We highly recommend this lovely home to anyone wishing to visit the Monterey Peninsula.

Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Barbara! You were a delight to host. Please come back again and ask me about my special value rates for repeat visitors!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Late February Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

My family and I stayed a week in this lovely home. The kitchen was roomy and had most everything we needed. We have a toddler and a ten year old and both kids had plenty of space to relax and play. I especially appreciated the two large plastic bins of childrens toys and children's books for our 15 month old. Our boy was in heaven with a TV in his room and a basketball court nearby; my wife and I enjoyed the king sized bed/400 thread count sheets, and the privacy of the home. As a bonus the house has a nice selection of presidential biographies, art history and contemporary history books.

We used the complimentary Monterey aquarium passes (nice perk - saved us $66) for the highlight of our stay. Check in and check out was a breeze; Lisa passed along the wireless WEP key in advance so our laptop/i-Phone, etc worked when we arrived. The home is located in a quiet, wooded neighborhood and is about a mile from a mall/Whole Foods.

This is a great home for a family vacation - thank you Lisa & David!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you, Greg! I really appreciate your thoughtful review. I'm so glad you found enjoyed the basekteball court and park nearby. Please think of us on your next visit. I offer a special value rate for repeat visitors!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Holiday Stay

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

The property was wonderful. We were close to the attractions but far enough away to avoid the crowds. The house was very clean and tidy. It was also very kid friendly. Would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Rianna. We look forward to welcoming you back for future visits!
Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

We rented this house for a week's vacation with our son and daughter-in-law and 4 1/2 year old twins. The house was clean and well laid out for our family. We had a wonderful week - the kids enjoyed the backyard play area and we loved having the 2 passes to the aquarium (we bought a family membership that allowed 4 of us unlimited entry and the 2 passes in the house brought us up to the 6 we needed.

The house was reasonably well equipped but could use of few more pots and pans. The appliances worked well except for the water dispenser in the fridge which needed a new filter. We let the owner know toward the end of the week and I am sure that it has been taken care of.

We would definitely recommend this house as the location is good and it is in a quiet and pretty neighborhood.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review! We love hearing from our guests. Because of your feedback, we've brought over a whole new set of pots and pans so we now have 2 complete sets of pots and pans to better cater to our larger groups. Thank you for your thoughtful suggestion.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

We had a great stay at a very convenient and beautiful location in Monterey. The house was perfect for our family reunion. We used all four bedrooms and found them to be private and cozy. The kitchen was big enough for several of us to work in at one time, and the dining table held all of us comfortably. We enjoyed watching T.V. or movies in the spacious living room. We had a week of incredible weather, and enjoyed reading on the back deck. We were close to shopping and recreational areas, whether golfing, visiting the Monterey Bay Aquarium, wandering through shops in Carmel, or viewing beautiful scenery on a drive to Big Sur. We will keep this house on our list for future vacations.

Owners response: Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Rental Home

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

From the initial booking to vacating the property nothing could have been handled any better. The home was perfect, very clean and ideally located for the local attractions. We rented the property to stay at during the Laguna Seca MotoGp and would not hesitate to rent the same property next year.
Thanks Lisa!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Chris, for booking again for next year! You beat the crowds. It's always fun to welcome guests back again and again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Property for a Family

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this property in June with our two young daughters (3 years & 1.5 years) along with my parents and it was PERFECT! The size and layout of the home works great for a family and the huge backyard with the play structure is as good as, or better, than a lot of public parks. The home has a very secluded feel but is only minutes away from all of the local attractions. Lisa was wonderful before, during, and after our visit. We will definitely be back and now know where to stay in Monterey!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Casey. You're the best! We look forward to your future visits.

Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful house !

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

This place is highly recommended, great place for family vacation, especially with young children. Nice and clean house. The owner is really helpful too. Good location. Minutes to go to attractive areas like cannery row, carmel, and fisherman wharf.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Sur Marathon Racers/Spectators

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We had 7 adults stay comfortably at this property for the weekend of the Big Sur marathon. The home was close to the bus pickup for the race and a short drive to the 5K start for those of us spectating/sticking with the shorter distances. The house was clean and well maintained and had plenty of room for all of us. It was only minutes from downtown Monterey, a short drive to Pacific Grove and Carmel. We had an issue with the internet and need for another set of keys that were both addressed within 24 hours. Lisa was very helpful when it came to suggestions for places to eat in the area - we had an amazing dining experience thanks to her recommendation! The trip, house and everything were wonderful! Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you! I hope the race was also fun and successful for you! We'll look forward to welcoming you back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything we were looking for, and more!

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

The house was a perfect fit for our family needs. We had 3 generations under one roof (Grandparents, myself, wife, and 3 kids: 4, 2, and 10mos), and were extremely pleased. The room layout worked out great, with the grandparents in the master suite, and another family of 5 occupying the other 2 rooms. It was a necessity to use the safety gate around the stairs (which was a bit tricky to put up and down) but once in, made everything safe for the kids to roam around. The remainder of the house was well kept, inviting, and a perfect venue for dinners, playing board games, and lounging in the backyard (complete with rope swing, and full play structure). The home is nestled in a quiet and safe neighborhood (very peaceful at night), and yet just 5 minutes to the city center, and 10 mins to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The owner Lisa was a great host, and made everything seamless on check-in/out. This will be my preferred place to stay whenever in Monterey.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, DM! We'd love to have you back again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, well kept house, great backyard, OK broadband, multimedia needs update

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

The good stuff:
We stayed here for two nights. The moment we stepped in, we knew this house was well maintained. The house looks great from outside and the has a huge backyard. We could not use that much due to the rain. The kitchen is well-eqipped, and the house is cozy and comfrotable. Our kids had a great time! The location of the house is nice and peaceful, a 10 to 15 minute drive to the town.

The owners are really nice people. We experienced a partial power outage where the powe to some rooms and 2 bathrooms was shut off. After trying to find the electrical panel for a while we gave up and called the owner (left a message) pretty late at night. Eventually we found the panel and there was no problem after that.

There are several books at multiple locations in the house, and my father-in-law was really happy to find that. He spent all his idle time reading.

The backyard has a play structure and swings, great for kids. Their use was limited due to the rain, but the kids enjoyed the backyard anyway. It is perfect for having a dinner outside of the house, but again, we could not do that because of the weather.


Neutral:
The broadband access was included, but the specified network was not available. The internet was not working when we got there. Since we were all techies, we did find the router, power cycled it and were able to use the broadband in an "open" mode. The owner helped us on this as well, but the SSID and the n/w specified in the access instructions was never seen. The router is situated at a place from which the power cord barely reaches the outlet, and therefore, has a chance of getting disconnected.

Could improve:
the media arrangement needs an update. Although the house has several TV channels (i dont remember whether satellite or cable), you may not be able enjoy the entertainment together with your family. The TVs are located in individual rooms instead of the living room (or family room, whichever itis). They are old and an upgrade to LED would be great! There is a DVD player and a receiver (also amplifier if i remember correctly) and other audio paraphernalia in the living room, but no TV to hook up to it. The DVD player did not recognize my MP3 disks which I had cut for this trip. I should mention that it did not keep us from enjoying our stay as we did not want to watch much TV anyway, and we found other ways to play my MP3s.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you, RD. Since your visit, we have placed a TV with digital cable, a digital video recorder, a DVD player and a VHS player in the main living room so guests may enjoy all entertainment options in the living room.

As for the wireless router, I'm not sure what happened but it was somehow reset to factory settings (inadvertently I'm sure, likely from a prior guest). I'm glad we were able to get you on the network. We did reprogram the router after your check-out so everything is working like a charm again (with our preferred security settings).

Thanks for your detailed response.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

My family and I had a great time staying at this house. It was spacious enough for everyone to have their own space. We loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation home

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

I booked the home for a vacation with my family of five. Lisa's home exceeded our expectations. It was clean and well appointed. We're all adult now, but it seems that it would be a good place for younger children as well. Easy access to Carmel and Monterey from the house, great location if you have a car. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend to anyone else!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Janine. I'm glad you had an enjoyable family vacation. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun family weekend

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had a great time at this property. The backyard and grill were excellent for a multi-family weekend with younger kids. It was much nicer for us than a hotel setting. We did have excellent weather, so, we were able to fully utilize the outside features of this house. There is a play structure, rope swing, small grassy area, a couple of places to sit and have drinks and lounge around. The kitchen and grill were very adequately supplied. The location was very nice as well. Between Monterey and Pacific Grove. We were very close to a local grocery store. This location is very residential. You need a car. We were also under the impression from the listing that the house was pet friendly, but this should probably be considered more pets negotiable.

The master bedroom is humongous. It has a very nice bathroom as well. The layout of the house is quite nice. Two of the other bedrooms have some privacy with a separate bath, and the downstairs bedroom adjacent to the kitchen has a bath inside the bedroom. The heating for the house is very very good and if anything, you need to watch out that it is not excessively used.

Overall the property was accurately described by the VRBO listing. It was clean and maintained fairly well. We would definitely consider this place again for ourselves and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Judy. I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit. Thank you for your recommendation!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for families!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

A pleasant and well appointed home on a quiet side street with a kid friendly backyard and lots of space! Lisa, the owner, was very helpful throughout our stay and made the visit so easy! We would stay there again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you, Kim. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Exceptional!!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

I love this place! This is my second time staying in this warm, bright, inviting home. It truly is a great escape... just a mile or two to all the main attractions while still affording great privacy. There are spectacular views from the house. I love waking up to the beautiful pines and the birds chirping with the sound of the ocean and the seals in the background. This is a place we expect to come back to again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!! We love our repeat visitors and look forward to your future visits.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Hangout

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Our group of seven, including a one year old and five year old, was able to spread out and each have privacy in this spacious home. Kitchen was big enough for numerous family meals together. Wasn't warm enough to enjoy the yard too much but 5 year old enjoyed the awesome playground. This home is very secluded, yet less than 15minutes from all the Monterrey attractions. The forest behind the back yard even allowed us to watch a massive pine's final day upright. Doubt that can be guaranteed, however.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Roger. That must have been quite a spectacular site to see an 80 foot plus Monterey pine come to rest. Although I can't guarantee that on your next visit, I can always ensure an inviting, relaxing and well-appointed vacation home to enjoy your time in Monterey!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just as you see in the pictures, good neighborhood

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

This is a clean, nicely decorated, comfortable house that felt like a home. We had our kids with us, who loved the backyard rope swing and play area. Really a nice place, in a good neighborhood, close to town and attractions. We may plan on coming to Monterey at a nicer time of year to take advantage of the backyard space more, too. Also, the owner was great to work.

I didn't give a 5*, because of a few minor things that were fine but not perfect. I kind of doubt that the owner knew about these before.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Juli -

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you back again!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving week stay In loving memory of John D.

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Our stay was excellent. I would do it again, and probably do it next year since we left someone special behind. It was decided that Monterey is a must do every year around Thanksgiving. In loving memory of our Dad. See you next year. Can't complain Thanksgiving dinner was just wonderful, couldn't have had it in a hotel. House was big enough for our family and well taken care and most importantly clean. Thanks the Aguero Family

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Johnny. We look forward to welcoming you back in future years!!
Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for large groups

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

The owner, Lisa, was very accommodating to our group of high school sailors and chaperones. The teenagers enjoyed being able to relax in this spacious, well equipped home after sailing all day and the chaperones appreciated the use of a well stocked kitchen to economically feed these hungry kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place to stay in Monterey

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This is a really nice house to stay at in Monterey. Six of us went for a long weekend and enjoyed the comforts of home, while also being close to Downtown and other attractions. I'm glad we didn't invite another couple, though, as the fourth bedroom is really not suited for two people. One person would have been fine. But if you have a small group and want a nice place in a beautiful city, I recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Kelly! It's great to hear you enjoyed your getaway. We have upgraded the furnishings in the fourth bedroom (on the main floor) to include a queen size bed. We have 4 private bedrooms and can easily sleep 8 adults in beds (1 king-size bed in the master bedroom, 1 queen size bed in the 2nd bedroom, two twin beds in the 3rd bedroom, and 1 queen size bed in the 4th bedroom on the main floor). We also have two sofas in the living room (although these don't pull out) and an aerobed for larger groups as well as two portable cribs for younger guests.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I loved this home.

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

I was so happy with this home, my kids loved the backyard. This house was perfect for us as we had 8 people staying in the home, plenty of room.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Gwen. I'm glad the kids enjoyed the play structure and the great big backyard. It's a great place for a family!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Monterey Property

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

My friends and I just finished a week's stay at this beautiful Monterey home. It was all it was advertised to be and more. The home was spotless, had many basic amenities, and was very conveniently located. The owners were helpful and easy to communicate with. We would love to stay there again some day and would highly recommend it to others.
Signed,
Travelers from Texas

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Pattyann. We really do take pride in our home. We love having visitors from near and far be able to enjoy this unique property. I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review here. Hopefully, we'll see you again... whenever the beautiful Monterey Peninsula draws you back to us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

4 Bedroom in Forest Location

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

We had an opportunity to rent this home during the time the Jazz Festival was in Monterey. The house was on a very quiet road with access to a short hiking trail down the street. The home was spotless and thoroughly equipped for cooking meals, visiting around the table, bar-b-queing and relaxing. There were special touches such as new loofahs and shower gels in the bathrooms and plenty of the necessities that one needs when renting a home. The house is about two miles from downtown Monterey and convenient to other small towns along the coast. We were very pleased with the site and would recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Val! What a great review!

I'm glad you discovered the hiking trails. Veteran's Park (just around the corner) also has great trails that lead up to a peak and give you a 360 degree view of the entire Monterey Peninsula. It's a spectacular view of the coastline and a good workout as there's a bit of an ascent. You'll often find deer as you wander through the forest trails and will also see the Presidio. You'll have to try this one next time!

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments here. Please think of us on your next visit to Monterey!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Our family enjoyed a nice extended vacation at this beautiful home to escape the heat of the desert. This included our two daughters, (ages two and two months), mother-in-law, two dogs, my husband and myself! We found it to be everything we hoped for: A gorgeous home, completely updated with beautiful furnishings, close-to-everything yet away from all the congestion of being right on the beach or on Cannery Row. One of the best features is that not only was it beautiful, but it was kid friendly AND allowed for our little dogs--which is extremely difficult to find! Our daughter enjoyed the fully-enclosed spacious backyard and great playground set while we relaxed on the large private patio. The challenges we encountered were no bedroom on the main floor (MIL cannot do stairs) but there is a futon in the media room which can be used as a bed; and lack of window coverings. This was quickly solved by the owners who were gracious to put up curtains for us, as well as fix the problem of our little dogs escaping the backyard by adding to the gate. Wow! Amazing! This property is incredible, but the owners, Lisa and Dave, truly are the hidden assets of this property--they are wonderful at providing invaluable information about the community, very helpful, friendly and professional--they go out of their way to ensure your stay is comfortable & inviting. We are a family who regularly rents vacation homes each summer and we highly recommend this property and would return again! Thank you again, Lisa & Dave!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, SDP. I want to let you know that we've updated the furnishings in the first floor bedroom. There's now a queen size bed in the private bedroom with an attached bath on the first floor. Please come visit us again whenever you want to escape the summer Las Vegas heat!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Far from the Madding Crowds

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Elegant, spacious, sparkling clean, fully stocked, gloriously remodeled, …all words that describe what we found when we stepped inside this rental home during our recent stay for the Monterey Historics and Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance. All of this nestled so close to downtown Monterey, but without all of the crowds and congestion. The pictures clearly and accurately reflect this property. Its location makes it easy to hop on the freeway and arrive at any venue in minutes. The young owners are wonderfully organized, with eyes to detail, and so accommodating.

We were/are 3 baby boomer couples with the eyes of grandparents, who could see that this would be a great house for family gatherings as there's much to keep the grans occupied and is very child-friendly. We were in fact, surprised to find that a family with 5 young children had been in residence before we took occupancy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you RMQ! We appreciate your kind words and will welcome you back anytime! I REALLY appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review. It means a lot to me. Thank you!
Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Place in Monterey!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

I would definitely recommend this house for people with a large party. We stayed there with our five kids and everything was great. The kids loved the play set and nice sized back yard, and we loved that we were able to cook breakfast and dinner at the house and save money! The kitchen was fully stocked with every pan/plate/etc. that we needed, and there is a very nice grill outside.

The house has a nice laundry room, and there was a tv in most of the bedrooms (none outside of the bedrooms), but Monterey is nice enough that we never used them.

The house is very bright and open with almost no window shades or coverings, which is fantastic for looking out at the gorgeous views, but your kids will be up early unless you put towels over the windows.

The owners were very friendly and were able to get us two pack and plays for our twin babies, as well as 2 passes to the Monterey aquarium. The location was great (central to almost everywhere and right off hwy 1) and we would highly recommend this house for a vacationing family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Allen,

Thank you SO much for your thoughtful review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you'll come back again soon. Also, because of your feedback, you'll be pleased to know that we've added window coverings to all of the bedroom windows. We've also placed a TV with digital cable, a digital video recorder, a DVD player and a VHS player in the living room for convenient media & entertainment for all.

We're always eager to get feedback so we can make our vacation home even better! Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments here.

Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This is a Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Thank you for a great vacation! The house is absolutely beautiful and it's in a great location. It was really easy to get everywhere. Another benefit are the owners. They are really friendly and have great attention to detail. They were happy to answer any of my questions and they provided some great restaurant recommendations. We loved Pacific's Edge at the Highland's Inn. I hope to be back again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! This is fantastic to hear and very much appreciated. I'm so glad your vacation was everything you wanted it to be and that we could help make that happen.

Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Prestine location with many tourist attractions close

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

This property is fresh, updated and very well maintained. The location offers many opportunities for golf, Carmel, Big Sur and so many great adventures. I would recommend this property because of its location and excellent condition. It may be one of Monterey Bay Peninsula's best kept secrets.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, DJ! It was great having you. I really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. This is always helpful for future guests. We look forward to your next visit!

Lisa

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review