reviews for: listing #76048 - Manhattan, New York Townhome rental

Townhouse One Bedroom Suites in Heart of West Village
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $190 - $300 /nt
    $1,300 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Exactly as Promised; Highly Recommended

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

I am a seasoned traveler and VRBO aficionado with certain expectations. I am delighted to report that 28 Cornelia is as described and much more. I highly recommend it.

The beds are incredibly comfortable, the water pressure is excellent and the kitchen is perfectly stocked from the espresso cups and coffee maker to the thoughtful array of dinner and glassware. The decor is spare and charming, the linens and towels are comfortable and plentiful.
The apartment is light filled, spacious and secure. (including a dead bolted, heavy door at the entrance). While it is 3 floors up, we had no problems carrying 20 pound suitcases. Street noise was muffled by the air conditioner and quiet from midnight on. I'd recommend earplugs if you are not used to city sounds.
There is plenty of room for a family of 4 or in our case, a couple and a teenager.
I so appreciated the homage to the apartment's age and character; the slope of the floor, the exposed brick, the gorgeous fresh flowers--all added to the aesthetics of the experience.
An additional bonus was the lovely dinner at Palma's restaurant, a quintessential West Village destination with an excellent reputation. The meal was delicious, the service impeccable.
I plan to use 28 Cornelia on my frequent visits to the city. I only hope that Palma, an engaging and gracious host, will have room for me on my next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great apt, great location, great welcome!

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

My husband, 19-year old daughter and I stayed here 4 nights and LOVED it. The apartment is adorable and cozy. The area is simply fabulous. Palma - the woman and the restaurant - are both incredible. Had a great welcome, very receptive to any request and a genuinely wonderful spot. Would definitely go again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location in Manhattan!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

This was the perfect New York experience! I brought my girlfriend to New York for her 30th birthday but we were determined to avoid staying in one of the over-touristy areas. After a great deal of research, we were lucky enough to happen upon this absolute gem in the heart of the West Village.

Maura and Palma were excellent in their communication with us before our arrival and our check-in and check-out went very smoothly. They even allowed us to stow our luggage in the restaurant on the ground floor until our flight on our last day.

The apartment is old... but spacious, quaint and well equipped. Unit #6 is extremely quiet as it faces onto the courtyard and not the street. Even the nearby church bells were but a faint echo as we began to stir each morning. The bed is comfortable, there was plenty of storage space and never any issues with hot water supply. Worth noting is that despite the full kitchen, there is no microwave in the suite... and as it is an older building, no elevator. Neither of these were an issue for us.

But the real star of this show was the neighborhood. You are a short walk from 2 different subway stations which support 3 of the major subway lines which will get you to about 85% of the island without even having to change trains! The diminutive Cornelia street is lined with restaurants and cafes from end to end and that's even before you turn the corner onto world famous Bleecker Street. There are enough original shops, delis and watering holes nearby that you could easily spend an entire week within a few square blocks and never run out of things to do or wonderful places to eat! The area is also (seemingly) completely devoid of tourists. We honestly did not see a single other suitcase in our entire time here.

All in all... a wonderful trip... and a fantastic apartment! We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It couldn't have been better

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

With all due respect to the folks from Alamo, CA, if you're basing your decision to stay here based on their negative review - please don't, because this West Village apartment is the real thing if you want an authentic Greenwich Village experience.
My now-wife and I stayed here for our elopement and honeymoon, and we could not have been happier. Both apartments are in a classic city walk-up. That means a front door between Palma's Restaurant and a Laundry, on a village street, and 2 to 3 flights of stairs up to your apartment. We stayed in #6 on the top floor, and the pictures on the website are accurate. It is a roomy and friendly and bright one-bedroom that feels like a cottage. Both apartments face the back courtyard, and for NY the apartments are very quiet. In the evening you will hear the restaurant crowd down in the courtyard, because the ground floor of the building, the courtyard, and the 1810 carriage house in the back are all part of Palma's restaurant. But you're in New York! And you're in the Village, so the hum of the crowd is a beautiful part of the experience. And if you're in the apartment at 10pm watching TV and don't like the noise - shame on you. You should be out enjoying the city at night.
You are right off Bleecker Street, a block away from John's Pizza (whole pies only), 2 blocks from Bleecker Street Pizza (by the slice! best in the city), 3 blocks from the Waverly Restaurant (a great diner!) on 6th Ave and Waverly, and 3 blocks from the 1-2 train at Christopher St and the A-C-F-V trains at the W 4th/Washington Sq stop. You're a five-minute walk from about a half-dozen bars and jazz joints, including the Village Vanguard, and across the street from the Cornelia Cafe, which hosts jazz as well. You're 2 blocks away from Washington Square and you have all of the history and charm of the West Village at your fingertips.
And Palma's family! You're in for a treat if you have a chance to meet any of them. They are a special family. We were lucky enough to meet Palma, the owner, as well as her daughter and her brother Joseph, who greeted us when we arrived and provided us with the keys. They are all very charming and will do whatever they can to make sure your stay is comfortable and memorable. All ya gotta do is ask!
So if you're looking for an authentic Village experience and want to feel like a local, you can do no better!
A very heartfelt thank-you to Palma, C-R, and Joseph! We look forward to next time!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Disappointing

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Be aware that the apartments are 3rd and 4th floor walk-ups by a moderately steep stairway. The restaurant noise is boisterous when the garden roof is retracted. Linens were adequate, but hardly exceptional. There were no fresh flowers or mineral water. A letter sent to the owners:

Your apartment #4 is in a wonderful location, there was plenty of hot water and good internet service, but otherwise we were dissatisfied with many aspects of the property.

Your daughter brought us up to the apartment, but did nothing more than point to the information book (not a warm welcome). There was no explanation about such things as the appliances, intercom or location of the second set of keys. The info book was pretty useless. There is mention of a phone which doesn’t exist (not a real problem, but a symptom of neglect).

The living room furniture is not only shabby, but quite uncomfortable. The floors were so dirty that my socks turned black after just a few hours. The walls need plaster work and painting. The living room window has no screen - to get fresh air we also get flies and gnats. Ceiling lights over a reading area don’t work and multiple electric outlets don’t work or are plugged. The TV is old with a worn out picture tube; the images are fuzzy. There’s no list of TV cable stations. The single window air conditioner is old and very noisy.

The TV didn’t work for the first 2 days - not your fault, but we did pay for 14 days of TV. I wouldn’t have mentioned this if it weren’t for all the other deficiencies.

The toilet frequently keeps running after a flush, requiring a return to jiggle the lever. Several times the lever in the tank became disconnected from the chain and wouldn’t flush without fixing it. The toilet seat hinge is broken, the entire seat coming out of position on occasion. Less than 2 weeks’ supply of toilet paper. Even with clean strainers, the tub doesn’t drain well and when showering there can be water up to the ankles.

Dishware is sparse - e.g. only 2 coffee cups and dinner plates. We met friends for dinner nearby and would have had to share cups for coffee afterward. No sharp knife large enough to properly cut a bagel or loaf of bread. Not enough dish towels. No extra plastic trash bags.

We were dunned for the final payment weeks after you had received and deposited my timely check. I had to request return of our security deposit since it didn’t arrive during the 15-day period in the contract.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Apartment, Sweet Apartment!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

What an amazing getaway this is! The neighborhood couldn't get any better!! It's amazing with oodles of choices for food, drinks, shopping, and music within close walking distance! The options are endless. The owners are kind and welcoming as are those who help maintain the place. There was a thorough information packet in the apartment with recommendations for the area as well as WiFi information. The restaurant downstairs, named after the owner, Palma, is delicious and beautiful - - also comfortable and cozy!

The kitchen is well appointed and we were able to cook a few of our meals in, although we chose to go out most of the time since the weather was gorgeous and everything was convenient. I would have liked to have more knives but made due with what was there. The bathroom is small, but adequate. The water pressure and temperature in the shower is wonderful - - always something I look for in a hotel. The refrigerator is huge and there was ice for our drinks already in the freezer. Palma is so thoughtful and thorough - - there were even fresh flowers everywhere! My favorite! The bedroom is tight but again, adequate. And we apologize to our downstairs neighbors, but our bed squeaked...a lot! But it was comfortable and the room was beautiful. Slept like babies.

Everything about this place is wonderful! A second-story walkup, you might want to pack lightly with that in mind. And thank god for the A/C because it was brutally hot most days. The TV worked only on a few channels but we think that might have been a cable company issue, and not the TV itself...

It was always so nice to go to our favorite bagel store around the corner, go to the park and drink our coffee, and then be able to "go home" after a long day out and about! We took full advantage of the location and the space and were sad to leave! It truly feels like home.

Thanks for a memorable stay! We loved it.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous! Better than we could have hoped for!

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Having only stayed around Times Square/5th Ave/Bryant Park on previous trips to NYC I didn't really know where else to stay............. and now I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else, except Cornelia Street. My mother and I took the subway and found the West Village cute, fun, and stress free without mobs of people. The townhouse was easy to find (less than 2 blocks from the subway) and located on a quiet, cute street with several small restaurants that all looked enticing. We walked up the 3 flights of stairs, opened the door to unit #6, smiled, and fell in love with our charming "home away from home" for a weekend trip. It's simply adorable with a Pottern Barn flair. The unit was spotless, had good light, all the ammenities we needed, and the bed was heaven! Highly recommend Palma's restaurant downstairs to relax with wine and delicious food... don't forget to check out the cute courtyard! Big thanks to Maura for making the reservation process fast and easy.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great spot in the Village

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

The West Village has become my favorite place to stay when in NYC. These apartments are in a great location, close to subway options, restaurants abound (including, of course, the one you're staying on top of). Had a great meal at Palma's (eat in the garden if you can). Love living like a local, not a tourist. My own apt was clean, bright and lots of "Village flavor". And, if another Sandy hits, you can take comfort knowing you're not in the mandatory evac zone!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

wonderful

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the apartment. The location is perfect and the atmosphere is just everything you hope for. We were with four people, you have to know eachother pretty well to say with four but it's possible. With two it's more convenient, but we had a great time. Thank you Maura.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a wonderful place!

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

My husband and I had a delightful time in New York this past spring, due in large part to the wonderful apartment above Palma Restaurant. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere, from the cute shops on Bleeker Street all the way to the waterfront and Battery Park. But even nicer than the terrific neighborhood and accommodations was the welcoming attitude of Palma and Pierre. They were so hospitable plus the food and service at the restaurant is the best. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Location!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

We just returned from our trip to NYC and we already want to go back. Our experience in NYC was amazing, and one of the prime reasons was the amazing property we stayed at. The listing of the property is a very accurate portrait of what is seen at the apartment. The property was very clean and well maintained. The bed was excellent! I was meaning to ask about what kind of bed was in the apartment but I never got the chance:( We desperately want to find out the make of the bed because the one we have right now doesn't even compare to the luxury we got to sleep in. Everyone we encountered at Palma's restaurant was so nice and accommodating. Our view of the back garden of Palma's restaurant was also a huge plus. I am so grateful that I was able to show my family why I love NYC so much, and this property gave me the opportunity to show how NYC is on a day to day basis!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unbeatable Location for Exploring the Ture NYC!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

We arrive in the late evening but no difficulty for checking in the apartment at all, Palma's restruant is downstarir and always provide everything I need. The location is extremely convience with major MRT connected to all attraction spots. For Jazz fans, BlueNotes is just right on the corner of 6th Ave and you can always stop by in 3 mins. Bars and restraunts are all on the 1 mins walking distance and you can't miss Banana Hotdogs and Joe's Pizza definitely! Great hostibility you can find in NYC for long stay!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place & location

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

My wife, myself and 20 month old son stayed at Palma's apartment for two weeks. It's a great place in a fantastic location. A wonderful area that makes you feel like a local, wonderful places to eat and the subway is just around the corner. We also ate at Palma's restaurant downstairs a couple of times - great food and feels more like Rome that NYC in the courtyard!

I would highly recommend the apartment, the area and Palma's hospitality

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

My husband and i stayed here in February 2011 and i can't recommend it highly enough - we simply couldn't have had a better location.

teh apartment was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed - there were even a few beers and soft drinks left in the fridge for us on our arrival which were an absolute godsend after our long trip to NYC from the North east of england.

The apartment was the perfect base for exploring the city - subway just around the corner, walking distance to everything you could need - restaurants, shops, bars.

And to top it off - the food in palma's restaurant was superb - go to NYC, stay at palma's apartment and have a wonderfuil time.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just perfect...

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

My parents and I stayed in Palma's apartment for 5 nights. The apartment is very tastefully decorated and spacious for the three of us. The staff at the restaurant, Maura and Palma made the whole process very smooth and accommodated everything we asked for - hotel level of service!

The location is fantastic and perfect for anyone who wants to walk and explore the Village. I could not recommend highly enough this apartment. Anyone who decides to stay here will not be let down.

I hope we can stay for our next family reunion!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Can't Beat The Location!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

We loved this little apartment, the area was great (loved Washington Square Park nearby) and we loved how close it was to the subway (we always used W4th station). Great restaurants nearby as well (Sushi Mambo on the corner and Cornelia Street,Cafe are the two closeby that we tried). We didn't eat at Palma's but it looked beautiful. Didn't have any problems getting our security deposit back either. If you are looking for a place to stay in New York and really want to live like a New Yorker don't hesitate to stay here. We had 3 in our party and we found we had enough room, although we didn't spend much time in the apartment. Probably not recommend if you have trouble with stairs as our apartment was on the 3rd floor. This wasn't a problem for us though.

When we come back to New York I'd love to stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect location for a wonderful city

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

The accommodation we found to Palma's house was perfect, the area of the city was amazing and the apartment was really what we were looking for: very clean with enough space for two person, located in one of the most wonderful places of Manhattan.

Palma was also very friendly and her restaurant was gorgeous. I am Italian and I can say I eat even better in her restaurant than in other places here in Italy.

If I am going to come back to Manhattan I will choose this solutions again.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely apartment in a perfect location

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We had a great stay. Palma and her family were very warm and friendly and we felt right at home. In fact, Her daughters babysat our 15 month old son on the 2nd night of our stay and they were great with him.
We had allot to do around the west village so the location was perfect for us. The apartment is comfortable and beautifully decorated. The windows face a courtyard so there is no street noise. There is noise from the restaurant but it was that kind of white noise that is easy to sleep through. I am a very light sleeper and always use earplugs but my husband and 2 kids slept very well. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant but I did have some wine at the bar and the atmosphere was great.
We will absolutely choose Palma's place again when we come back to NY.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment - perfect location

Review submitted: May 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

We’ve just returned from a 5-night stay in this charming apartment. It’s well furnished with a very comfortable bed and more than enough space for two people. The owners have taken the trouble to include some quaint furnishings which give it a special touch and elevate it above the usual standard of vacation rentals. The kitchen has everything you need if you want to cook – but with so many restaurants nearby you probably won’t want to eat in. The owners were very welcoming and kindly let us stay a bit later on our last day.

Location is perfect. The apartment is on a quiet street and overlooks a leafy courtyard with plenty of morning sun. There’s at least half a dozen good quality restaurants on the same street, including Palma’s which is right below the apartment and operated by the same owners. Turn the corner and you’re on Bleecker St with a huge variety of restaurants, bars, cafes and shops. You can easily walk to many of the surrounding neighbourhoods such as SoHo, Chelsea, LES, Little Italy, Chinatown etc. The subway is less than a block away when you need to go further.

We had no problem at all with noise from the restaurant courtyard below – in fact we found the hum of conversation and clink of glasses to be quite soothing. We ate there on the last night and can thoroughly recommend it.

Can’t wait to come back!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A cozy apartment in a great neighborhood

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this homey West Village apartment for five nights in early April while visiting our son who is attending NYU Law School. The accommodations were very comfortable and we would certainly recommend this accommodation to our friends as a delightful place to stay while in New York. A few steps from the heart of Greenwich Village and bustling Bleeker Street, there are a myriad of shops, restaurants, etc. in the immediate neighborhood. One restaurant we highly recommend is Perilla, just a short distance from the apartment. About two blocks away is the West 4th St. Metro station which we used to head uptown to visit the museums and downtown and Brooklyn for other interesting parts of the city. All in all, a great property in a wonderful location. We would definitely stay at 28 Cornelia the next time we are in Manhattan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

We just left this vacation rental a few days ago and we can’t wait to go back. The location was excellent! It is ½ a block to the hip Bleecker street, which has restaurants, shops and specialty food stores. ½ a block in the other direction to the Subway which made it easy to navigate through the City. The rental was charming, clean and comfortable. The unit was in the back of the building so noise was not an issue and we even slept with the windows open. Cornelia is a small quiet street which doesn’t have much traffic. On Cornelia you also have a number of cute little restaurants.

The owners of the rental live on the first floor and operate the restaurant below, "Palmas". Palma & Pierre are very nice and fair. They are very accommodating and in no way intrusive. I only had contact with them upon check-in and check-out. Upon checkout my deposit was returned to me with no headaches. I had an excellent experience and I highly recommend staying here!!!!!!!

Peter Strauss
Los Angeles

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Place in the Village

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

The apartment was fantastic. We had a great stay on this quiet street in the heart of the Village. The service was present but not intrusive, and the staff was very helpful and attentive. We arrived a bit early on our first day and they were kind enough to hold our bags for us, and when we arrived before dinner they were already in our room.

Having a kitchen was a great plus, and the shower was one of the best we've ever used. The closet space was great and the couch and the club chair in the living room were a real plus; not to mention the dining table and chairs.

If you’re looking for a great place within walking distance to the subway station(s), great restaurants, bars and shopping, then this is the place for you. Great place for a couple looking for a get-away!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 2, 2009

We stayed in this apartment from 10th to 17th October 2009.

We loved this apartment. It is beautifully decorated and we felt immediately at home in the West Village. Palma, the owner, made us feel very welcome and nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

The location is amazing, right in the heart of the Village, which had a great vibe to it. Take the time to wander down Bleeker Street and discover 'your' Village. Also stock up on bread from Amy's, cheese from Murrays and wine from the wine shop in Jones Street.

We will definitely stay in this apartment whenever we are in New York.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good location

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

The updsides: The apartment is in a fantastic location - right in the centre of the action in West Village, walking distance to lots of restaurants, bars, shopping. We walked to meatpacking district, soho, financial district, union square without much trouble but we do enjoy walking.

The apartment is clean. Although we didn't cook, the kitchen had all the utensils/plates etc.

The owners are very friendly, we got our deposit back straight away, no dramas.

The downsides - it's impossible to sleep in the morning as the bedroom window does not have proper curtains (to block out the sunlight). The bedroom is also above the restaurant courtyard so the restaurant morning activities wake up light sleepers.

The plumbing in the shower (which is in a bathtub) was not the best. The owners use a strainer, which needs to be emptied frequently otherwise you end up standing in the dirty shower water.

Also, the couch was not the most comfortable, particularly for two people to sit together.

I would recommend this for people who don't intend to spend too much time in the apartment and want to be located near good food/bars.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Very Charming Apartment

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful one-bedroom apartment in one of the city's best neighborhoods and we can't wait to go back. The apartment is clean, lovely and quiet. The nieghborhood is safe and filled with some of the best restaurants and shopping.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review