reviews for: listing #76091 - Julian, California Cabin rental

Piute Trail Lodge Lake Cuyamaca
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Cuyamaca
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Loved It~Perfect mini-vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

My family, including four generations, had a great time at Piute Trail Lodge! My 4 grandchildren had plenty of space to play, and had fun exploring around the cabin collecting "woley poleys" and playing hide and seek. No electronics involved! The wind in the afternoons was great for kite flying! Easy walk to take the kids to the lake to explore. The adults spent most of the time relaxing on the huge, beautiful front deck, looking at the great views of lake and mountains. We hope to be able to do it again, soon! With a little flexibility, we slept five adults and four kids 4 to 7 years old, easily! Plenty of space and a beautiful cabin. SO RELAXING! Thanks so much John and Maria!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most relaxing vacation

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the cabin again. This was one of our favorite get away place. As always the cabin was clean and pleasant. We brought our grandchildren this time and they loved to run around the wrap-around deck and to watch the wild turkeys roaming. Sitting on the deck, breathing pine-scent air, and looking at the lake was relaxing. The nearby Julian town's famous apple pie was good. We rented a Pontoon boat on Lake Cuyamaca and caught 5 crappies for dinner. The large kitchen had every utensils we needed. The gas grill was so convenient that We used it daily to grill steaks, chicken, and hamburgers. We had 5 adults and each one of us liked to occupy our own bed, so we used three of the roll-away beds, and they were surprisingly comfortable. My daughter who was usually picky about beds slept soundly on the roll-away bed. The owner John and Maria were very considerate. They had floor fans prepared for us in case the weather gets too warm. Both of the bedrooms also had ceiling fans. I will recommend this place to my friends and we will definitely come back again in the winter to enjoy the cozy fireplace in the living room.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway Cabin

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

My husband, preschooler, toddler and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at this cabin! It is always daunting traveling with small children, but I found the cabin very child-safe, clean, and comfortable. Our hosts were very accommodating and we had everything we needed for a great stay- plus beautiful views during the day (lake) and evening (stars). A real find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best New Year's Ever!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Our family was so excited to return to the Piute Trail Lodge again, and celebrate the new year together! We range in age from 1 to 62 and fell in love
with John and Maria's beautiful cabin last February. We counted down the days and everyone wished for snow. We stopped at Dudley's Bakery and loaded up on breads, picked up Mom's apple pies, had lunch at Wynola Pizza and pulled in to the cabin just as John was stocking us up on wood. The house was as cozy and clean and perfect as we remembered, with flannel sheets on the beds, lots
of fluffy towels in the bathroom and tons of blankets! We hiked around the lake, and up the hill above the house, and just as we hiked home, it started to snow and it snowed all night long! We awoke to a winter wonderland and sleds on the front porch for my grandchildren (John thinks of everything!).
2013 is going to be a fabulous year...our family is quite sure, with this absolutely wonderful start! The 10 of us were so well-spoiled and comfortable, we are already planning our next trip up the mountain to John and Maria's beautiful cabin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very clean, spacious, relaxing get away.

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Stayed here two days after Christmas with my daughter, son in law and two grandsons, ages 3 and 1 year. As soon as we walked in we felt a warm, comforting feeling. Everything was so clean and avaialable. Very toddler and baby friendly.Set the pack and play in front of the large window and the baby enjoyed looking out the window at all the birds and water. Large fireplace with all the wood we wanted. Large kitchen with everything we needed. Plenty of places to take nature walks and explore.
To sum it up...wonderful, lovely, relaxing time!
We will be going back in the summer...the three year old can't wait to go fishing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time with our family in cozy Piute Trail Lodge. We have no complaints. John and Maria take very good care of their home. Heaters work well in winter. Rooms are larger then they appear here in pictures. It was very nice to have a full size kitchen to cook Christmas dinner for the family. We traveled with a toddler and a small dog who is very well trained. We felt right at home. We made happy memories at Piute Trail Lodge and we look forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Thanks John and Maria!
This was such a relaxing vacation. The weather was perfect! We were able to see beautiful stars out on the deck. The babies had so much fun watching the wild turkeys roaming around the cabin. Thank you shipping back the items we left behind. You are truly a blessing. We can't wait to come back! - Alice, Cliff, Elaine, Sung

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was a great experience!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

John,

Just wanted to say thanks for our time at the cabin. It was a great experience! Definitely cool and quiet at night which was a welcome change. The kids enjoyed being able to see all of the stars from the deck. The grill worked quite well for hot dogs and corn on the cob. I appreciate your son coming by to make sure all was well. We were blessed in being able to stay there. All the best to you and your family! - Brian & Ericka

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mike's 60th

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Dear John and Maria,

Yesterday morning I sat and watched the sun rise over the lake...this morning, getting ready for work, I closed my eyes
and pictured it again....thank you so much for everything you did to make the cabin so warm and cozy and welcoming!
We had the best time, and everyone absolutely loved being all together to celebrate Mike's 60th in such a perfect and
beautiful place. You live in paradise!

The kids are already planning for when they can all get away again and come back to sit on the deck! Thank you again!

Chris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful, cozy cabin

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at the cabin. We couldn't have asked for a better view of the lake both from the huge wraparound deck and from the living room. The cabin is cozy, clean, and well equiped. The fireplace was set up and ready for us to just light and enjoy. We also appreciated the satellite TV and wireless. The location is perfect for visiting Julian or the parks. Wonderful getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just outside Julian, find your peace & quiet

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Perched just above Lake Cuyamaca, this cabin is a perfectly peaceful getaway. Two apple trees are in bloom just off the patio. The view is lovely. There is lots of hiking in the area.

For a small family or two couples, this is a great getaway. I wish I could have stayed longer and made full use of the patio and BBQ.

Also worth mentioning, the owner is really easy to deal with. Though I never really challenged him with requests, I got the feeling that he would do anything necessary to make sure my stay was enjoyable.

NOTES: Bring your own shampoo and system to play music. Other than that, most everything else was provided for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing trip...

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

My husband & I spent a few days here for our mini-honeymoon. Cabin is great; really clean & has everything you need. We cooked dinner several nights & the kitchen had all the needed dishes/pots/etc. The deck is great to hangout and relax and enjoy the peacefulness. Each day we were greeted with deer and wild turkeys, which was nice. The deck looks out onto the lake and has a great view. The lake is just across the highway. Julian is only 8 miles away and has great tourist shops, restaurants & markets. We also did an offroad drive into Anzo Borrego one day. This is a really cool location because it is kind of in the middle of alot of options; a day on the lake, a drive in the desert or a day of pie and shopping in Julian. The owners were very easy to work with for rental, and they both stopped by for a quick hello & to make sure all was well (without being intrusive by any means!)....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piute Trail Lodge

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

What a wonderful cozy cabin experience! John had the fireplace ready for us so all we had to do is just light a match. there is a beautiful view of the lake, and a great wrap-around porch to view the wild turkeys from and just sit and relax. The cabin was even better than the photos. We hiked the Azalea Glen trail and explored Julian.I highly recommend this clean, well maintained cabin to anyone looking for a great getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Anneversary Stay

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

Enjoyed a romantic anneversary in the mountains with fantastic views! We were greeted upon arrival by a flock of turkeys under the tree in the front yard. Blue jays visited the porch while we watched majestic eagles soaring over the lake. The fireplace lent a romantic warmth to our celebration and the gas grill provided perfect steaks for our supper. Excellent experience and would highly recommend this wonderful cabin in the pines!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What A Week!

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as a celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place. The house is perfectly situated to sit on the deck and enjoy the lake view. Even though it rained Monday and Tuesday, it was still wonderful. We enjoyed watching the family of wild turkeys walking around, the bald eagles flying overhead and the white and blue herrons on the lake.

John and Maria have thought of just about everything you will need. We have never rented a cabin, so we weren't sure what to expect. We were very pleasantly suprised. The beds were very comfortable and it was so nice to sit in the living room and enjoy the view of the lake.

The weather was perfect while we were there. We enjoyed the breeze through the open windows and sitting out on the deck was so enjoyable, regardless of the time of day. We decided to go to the Safari Park one day and that was a mistake - boy was it hot! But we were so glad to get back to the house and relax in the nice weather.

The house is only 8 miles from Julian where there are a few restaurants and, of course, Mom's Apple Pie, which you MUST try! Their apple turnovers and sinfully delicious.

We happened to be hit by the major power outage that hit San Diego County, but John and Maria made sure we were taken care of. Maria brought us candles and told us if we needed anything else, to let her know. If we were at home, the outage may have been an inconvenience, but it was rather nice sitting on the deck, enjoying the evening.

This relaxing week was exactly what we needed and I am so glad we chose the Piute Trail Lodge as our first cabin rental. We are definitely hooked and will be staying here again.



This

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful get away 2

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

This is an addition to my previous review. The owners' names were John and Maria (not Paul) Sorry about the mistake. I also forgot to mention that the cabin was only 7 miles from the lovely little town Julian, where we enjoyed their candy apple, apple dumpling, and their famous apple pie. My family stayed a week at the cabin, that gave us plenty of time to enjoy the serenity of the surroundings, visit to the lake and the nearby State Park. When we left the cabin, we failed to bring our charger and some stuff with us. John emailed us and offered to mail them to our address. I couldn't believe my eyes. What a courteous gesture! Btw, after we came home, our dog Smokey miss this place so much that she'll sit out at the balcony and gaze far for a long time. (something she never did before this "nature visit")Thanks again John and Maria for a wonderful stay! We will definitely come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful get away

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

This beautiful cabin was better than we imagined, clean, well-maintained, and spacious. Owner Paul made sure that we had every thing we needed. We spent most of our time sitting on the front porch enjoying the spectacular lake view. At night, we star-gazed on the wrap-around deck. The gas BBQ was fun to have. I especially appreciated the full size kitchen with a big fridge, abundant cookwares, and utensils. The new WiFi and cable TV are also nice to have. While spending time on the deck we saw a family of wild turkeys and two deers. We asked Paul about winter season, he said there are chances of snow and if we come up, he'll have snow board ready. We loved the idea and will definitely come back to the cabin and enjoy the fire place when it's cold.

Many of our friend saw the pictures I posted on Facebook and are fascinated by this place. They wanted to reserve this cabin too. I was happy to give them all the information. Thank you, Paul and Maria for your hospitality. We will see you again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved This Cabin

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We stayed at the Piute Trail Lodge for one night and loved it. The views of the Lake and surrounding area were breathtaking. There is a great deck that you can sit out on and enjoy the beautiful views. The cabin has a big fireplace with a very generous supply of wood to burn. The kitchen is very well stocked and we cooked breakfast with ease. The cabin was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We took a bubble bath in the big cast iron tub - there was plenty of hot water to fill it. We noticed there were extra foldaway beds in the closets with extra pillows and blankets - giving enough beds for up to 8 people to sleep. John, the owner was very gracious and called to let us know we could check in early since the previous guests had checked out early. This worked out really well, since we had got up to Cuyamaca early. He came down to introduce himself to us on the Saturday morning and to see if we needed anything.

We were spending the weekend with friends at the horse camp ground and the cabin was very close to the camp. The lake was across the street with a store and restaurant. It's also close to Julian.

We will definately stay here again, but for longer next time.
Richard & Rosaria
Norco CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Birthday Ever

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

After deliberating about what to do for my 30th birthday instead of a hotel downtown which seemed to be a big headache to try and put together my friend suggested we book a cabin in Julian. Finding this gem on the first shot after looking on Craigslist. I was so happy about speaking to John who made my stay even more pleasant with answering all my questions before my trip making sure we were going to be taken care of.
The beautiful hour drive from San Diego ended at the Piute Trail Lodge which was even more perfect than I could have imagined. This lodge has a beautiful view and wrap around deck which we made sure to make use of by setting up our large kiddy pool! The cabin was perfect for my guests. The rooms were surprisingly bigger than i thought and come equip with roll away beds, extra bedding and comfortably slept all my 10 guests.
There was no outside firepit but we did have a fireplace which was stacked and ready to be lit along with having extra firewood to keep it going for the last couple of hours during the night.
The next morning we decided against a hike (too tired imagine that) and decided to drive to rent some paddle boats on Cuymecca Lake. John so graciously offered that we could stay until we wanted on Sunday making this little adventure even more accessible considering we didn't have to pack up and leave at a certain time. After breakfast in Julain (which is just a short car ride) and an hour paddle boat on the Lake we went back to the cabin for one last bbq lunch hung for a bit.
This was a perfect remedy for having a great, intimate birthday party with all my closest friends in the seclusion of Julian. I was overly happy from first booking this place till the time we left. I for sure will keep this place in mind for future gatherings.
Thank you John and Piute Trail Lodge for making my 30th Birthday party one to remember!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An AMAZING family vacation!

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Our family enjoys going on short trips around California throughout the year. This was one of our favorites. The property was EXACTLY as described, even better in person! The house was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The kitchen was great. Everything you need to make a meal at home or create a quick picnic. Our two kids, ages 7 & 11, loved the home! They loved the deck the most. They spent a lot of time playing there and using their binoculars to look for animals. They spotted a lot of birds and a deer! We used the fireplace twice, and the kids loved making toasting marshmallows and making smores! The owners were very friendly and helpful! The home is in a perfect location! We were just minutes from fishing at the lake, hiking a trail, and visiting the town of Julian. It was a very relaxing trip, and it was great to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The view out the living room window is very serene and calming. We definitely plan on visiting again soon! The kids can't wait! I would definitely recommend it to my friends. In fact, I already did, and we've only been home a few hours.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay at Piute Trail Lodge!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Piute Trail Lodge is wonderful! Enjoyed a comfortable two days in this pretty little place. Beds in the bedrooms were very comfortable. Lots of water pressure in the shower -- always a plus. Sat out on the deck for coffee -- great view of Lake Cuyamaca. Used the fireplace, too, one night; very relaxing.

Lots of pots and pans in the large kitchen made cooking in easy.

Got to see wild turkeys on the side lawn -- that was a lot of fun.

Only a hop and a skip from Julian, where we enjoyed looking through all the shops (loved the book store).

It was too short of a stay; would definitely love to come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Surprise around the Corner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

My sister and I took mom for Mother’s Day weekend to Piute Trail Lodge. We had a delightful journey through Julian and then down the track to Lake Cuyamaca to begin our adventure. Soon we turned a corner and the surprise of beautiful Lake Cuyamaca lay before us. After returning home from Piute Trail Lodge, our experience still lingered. I went back online to read all the reviews in place for this lodge and EVERY WORD is true. The only thing I found not quite up to scale were the pictures on the Web site depicting the view from the cabin. The pictures on the site and the actual view are out of synch! The actual view is to DIE FOR !! When we arrived at the cabin, we sat our articles down and turned to look out the large window to the lake. We were speechless, literally, for several minutes. It was STUNNING! My mother and I had spent a week in the English Lakes many years ago and it was nearly an exact replica of the Lake District at Derwentwater! A mixture of haunting fingers of fog and impossible blue drank up the lake during our stay at Piute Trail Lodge. Upon our arrival, John (the owner) came by to make sure all was well. A turkey walked across the sage green-colored field awash with wildflowers (yellow lupine) just beyond our window. Mesmerizing! Mornings found the scrub and Stellar jays poking their noses (beaks) in our window wondering where the peanuts were. And one night a raccoon came to visit at the back deck. A short drive from the cabin is a nature reserve area where we turned off and saw a herd of deer, California quail (tons), an Osprey with fish in talons, a gobbling group of turkeys (one beautiful male in full display), swiftly darting swallows, the melodic call of the western meadowlark (long gone from our neck of the wood in Los Angeles), acorn woodpeckers EVERYWHERE and myriad other birds and types of wildflowers. There was a wonderful grill on the cabin deck, which gave an added dimension to our time away from home. We grilled salmon one night and yummy steaks the next. We lunched one afternoon at the restaurant on the lake and the view from the restaurant is a very hidden gem in that neck of the woods! The folks in the general store there next to the restaurant were very friendly and came to our rescue more than once when we needed butter and ran out of wine. Every night we cozied up to the fireplace, well stocked with firewood. The beds were very comfortable and extremely warm! Ahhhhhh! Piute Trial Lodge – we shall return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing experience

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

My wife and I had a great three days at the cabin. Everything was outstanding. It was clean and everything we needed was there. Fireplace was wonderful. Make sure you try the chicken fried steak at the Lake Cuyamaca store and restaurant. It is fantastic

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piute trail lodge

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

The cabin was fantastic! It was bright, cheery and the view from the wrap-around deck was spectacular! My friend and I decided that when we want to stay in Julian again, this is where we want to stay.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great cabin for family

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

This is a perfect cabin to use as a base camp for exploring Cuyamaca and Julian. Beautiful view of Lake Cuyamaca and the mountains from the deck and the family room. The fireplace is the central figure in the cabin and is well stocked with lots of firewood. The two full bedrooms made it perfect for a family of four with small children. The owners were super friendly and very helpful. We will definitely come back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great get away

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

My son and I are no strangers to the outdoors, both of us being born in Colorado and both of us are experienced campers. This was a beatiful little piece of Colorado (in California) for us to just relax and enjoy. The cabin is absolutely the nicest one I can ever remember staying in, and the hosts were some of the nicest people you will ever meet. We had all kinds of wildlife show up during our stay, some deer, rabbits and even a couple of racoons came to visit. My son is 8 and we actually went an entire weekend with no WII or XBOX and believe it or not he still had a good time!! I have and will recommend Johns home away from home right on Lake Cuyamaca to everyone.
Master Chief Mickey, Nicholas and Sadie the Labrador

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Well Needed Getaway

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

John & Maria, My family and I REALLY enjoyed ourselves. Your place was lovely and jut what we all needed. Allowing us to bring our little dog Wongja made the experience even more enjoyable. Even the last day while on a boat fishing we watched as the weather rolled in and listening to the wind and rain that evening just topped off the experience. Waking up to ice on the deck and picnic table was soo cool.You are both beautiful hosts and made us welcome and comfortable. Be assured that we will let everyone we know about our experience at your cabin and recommend your place to all.

I want to thank you again for allowing us to stay at your cabin and look forward to staying with you again.

R/
Joel & Kyona & Jessica

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Cabon

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We stayed in this cozy cabin in November. The cabin was filled with character, the bedrooms were perfect and the fireplace and living room were wonderful. The weekend that we stayed it stormed all weekend. It was perfect for our family we played games all weekend. It was great bonding time. The owners were wonderful. Upon arrival he came and checked to make sure everything was perfect. He took my son and husband deer hunting and they had a great time. Seen two deer and some turkey's that weekend but all were in the state park. The cabin has a view to die for the mountains and lake are absolutely breathtaking. Will stay in this cabin many more times in the future.
Thank you for a wonderful time.
Dennis and Josie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Cozy Cabin Experience

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

We couldn't have been more pleased with this cozy cabin. The location right off Lake Cuyamaca was ideal, and the view of the lake and Stonewall Peak through the living room window was beautiful. The heaters and fireplace kept us very warm the entire time. The kitchen was spacious and had everything we needed. The bedrooms were very cute and beds were warm and comfortable. It was very cold and stormy during most of our stay, and this cabin helped us enjoy the ideal cozy cabin experience. Nice deck around three sides of the cabin with a great sitting area for enjoying a lunch. DirecTV and DVD player were nice. Owner was very gracious and we found the cabin to be very clean upon arrival. Wood was well stocked inside but also plenty in the woodshed outside. Owner had the firewood set up perfectly in the fireplace, complete with kindling and newspaper, so fire was easy to light and maintain (no gas). We all loved it, including the kids, had a great experience, and highly recommend. As a side note, we enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast at the Lake Restaurant nearby and would recommend it as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review